Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It's clearing off a bit now though. Thankfully, it's mechanical work, not detailing. The coat of Megs NXT I applied at the weekend is making it bead very nicely outside my window :)

fan2010951.jpg
    540649_3530100764750_1793986792_n.jpg
    south-park-i-just-came.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

i'm 21 not 40!

Don't ask why but I've always imagined you were in your late 20's/early 30's.

Edit: I heard the most incredible DC5 today, don't suppose anyone from here was blasting off from the lights by Tallaght village on the N81 at about 3:45?
    What I'd do to hear that again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

CianRyan wrote: »
    Don't ask why but I've always imagined you were in your late 20's/early 30's.

Edit: I heard the most incredible DC5 today, don't suppose anyone from here was blasting off from the lights by Tallaght village on the N81 at about 3:45?
    What I'd do to hear that again...

If you lived out here you'd hear them every night, tearing down the straight and back again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

gollywog wrote: »
    Thats crappy MM, I got the car all sparkly at half 8 this morning,
    just cause the weather is so unreliable!!

It's clearing off a bit now though. Thankfully, it's mechanical work, not detailing. The coat of Megs NXT I applied at the weekend is making it bead very nicely outside my window :)

Ah sure not as weather critical so! Good to hear it's beading well, we should have a "bead off" thread, be craic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

gollywog wrote: »
    Ah sure not as weather critical so! Good to hear it's beading well, we should have a "bead off" thread, be craic!!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=79294532#post79294532

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2159100/Taxi-driver-Brian-Holmes-clocks-1m-miles-16-year-old-Ford.html

One million mile Mondeo. A lot to be said for the simplicity of older cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2159100/Taxi-driver-Brian-Holmes-clocks-1m-miles-16-year-old-Ford.html

One million mile Mondeo. A lot to be said for the simplicity of older cars.

Crap images but wear doesn't seem to have set in too badly on the wheel, window sill etc...

Fair play.

dgt wrote: »
    Have to trim down the collection. First on the chop list: escort... If anyone wants parts before it goes, let me know, its going on sat!

I wasn't joking!
    Image2126.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Is that a chainsaw on the ground? LOL

Interesting way to remove parts anyway :pac:

Is that a chainsaw on the ground? LOL

Interesting way to remove parts anyway :pac:

Nope...
    Image1895.jpg

I FÚCKIN love that consaw :cool::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

You just love tearin' sh1t up don't ya dgt...:D

166man wrote: »
    You just love tearin' sh1t up don't ya dgt...:D

Never a dull moment up here :pac:

You should have seen how much I laughed as the engine was tore out using a tractor and a chain :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Can't beat a consaw. That would make a fine cabriolet out of any car. Great for removing clamps too. Put an ad in the small ads for services available :p. It must be like scrap heap challange up there.

Hal1 wrote: »
    Can't beat a consaw. That would make a fine cabriolet out of any car. Great for removing clamps too. Put an ad in the small ads for services available :p. It must be like scrap heap challange up there.

More like Mals museum of motoring disasters :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

So yea def need to sort the bearings in the back
    New back pads, front seem to have loads left (which is strange)
    Sort the annoying squeaking from the engine bay
    Remove the rattley heatshield
    Two new tyres & sort the wheel alignment
    An oil & filter change
    Also need to change the radio (which I think is draining my battery)...

The list is never ending, but it's worth it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Do any of you guys/gals have a 12v inverter?
    Im looking for one for a friend of mine and im wondering, where did you get it? How do you find it as in advertised vs actual load rating? Im not sure what size He needs (its for a small compressor, and battery charging for power tools) ill work out a constant load required when I get home.
    Thanks.
    Ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

pred racer wrote: »
    Do any of you guys/gals have a 12v inverter?
    Im looking for one for a friend of mine and im wondering, where did you get it? How do you find it as in advertised vs actual load rating? Im not sure what size He needs (its for a small compressor, and battery charging for power tools) ill work out a constant load required when I get home.
    Thanks.
    Ed.

You would want a very sizeable one for that work!

They're not cheap by any means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

You would want a very sizeable one for that work!

They're not cheap by any means.

Yeah I know, the price is not really a problem (still needs to be good value, but ya know what i mean) its going to be easier than bringing a generator for pumping wheels (the compressor is about the size of an Aldi one and pumping wheels etc is all it will be used for, not running air tools) and charging batteries for drills.

I see that lad who went missing at the Euros has been found dead in a river.

RIP :(

@ Fiona

I know it's not the correct spelling but.........

559488_313383215402394_1107403605_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Finally finished my LC! Thanks Fcuk! Now to damage my body :pac:

Well done man - hope all went well! :)

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Well done man - hope all went well! :)

Thanks!

It went well enough for the amount of study I did :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Quick question, I presume lights on the dash are simply a visual re-inspection on the NCT?

IE, come back with them extinguished and there's no charge?

Thanks!

It went well enough for the amount of study I did :p
    I know that feeling lol, I'm sure it went grand!

Quick question, I presume lights on the dash are simply a visual re-inspection on the NCT?

IE, come back with them extinguished and there's no charge?

Depends on the lights - amber usually won't cause a fail (ie. brake pad wear light), lights indicating serious OMGYOURGOINGTODIE faults.... yeah :P

Hmm, I have 3 oranges, traction control and brake lights caused by the DSC pump. Test is on Friday and got the pump this morning, just wondering what happens if I don't get the time to put it in.

Have you access to any software that will cancel them for a certain length of time and do it right before the test and hope they don't come on during it?

That's not gonna work - they should all show on start-up then go out.

Mine failed with the exact same symptoms (among other things) a few weeks back. I have an ABS sensor sitting in the passenger seat ready to fit that will hopefully fix the problem.

Yes but if they're cleared, it should allow a bit of time and a few start-ups before they stay on again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

They'll fail you on anything brake related that needs the reuse of the lane.

Yes but if they're cleared, it should allow a bit of time and a few start-ups before they stay on again.

Depends on what it is, I had mine cleared by ND and I was no sooner on the M50 and they were back on again

Yeah but you've no guarantee they won't come back on once the tester gets in to your car.
    They'll fail you on anything brake related that needs the reuse of the lane.

I was thinking they would probably have to redo the brake / slip test?

I wouldn't think so, I mean even if it's disabled ABS, It's not the sort of situation where ABS is needed. It's not actually altered the braking performance for the test so I don't see any reason for it to be retested.

Congrats! :D

You must have been doing something out of the ordinary to be in this long though... I did chemistry an it dragged it out! :mad:

Roll on the summer and enjoy the time out :)

This bugger has to find work placement... *sigh

Does anyone know of a company that does Ultrasonic cleaning?

Do you need to have your jewels cleaned!?!

Ah jesus lad, that's taking this detailing obsession to a whole new level :D

Spotted this on the bookface

532678_10150901597382358_1122910055_n.jpg

No ye fecken smart-arses!! I've been looking into this knock retard thing and it turns out that the most likely cause isn't to do with petrol but could be noisy injectors as the knock sensor in the car is very sensitive.

It has been proven that ultrasonic cleaning solves this problem.

OSI wrote: »
    Maybe try playing some Bjork really loud on the car stereo for a while.

I play dead...it stops the knocking :D

No ye fecken smart-arses!! I've been looking into this knock retard thing and it turns out that the most likely cause isn't to do with petrol but could be noisy injectors as the knock sensor in the car is very sensitive.

It has been proven that ultrasonic cleaning solves this problem.

I always clean my jewels after a bit of knocking - don't you!?!:eek::eek::eek:

dgt wrote: »
    Congrats! :D

You must have been doing something out of the ordinary to be in this long though... I did chemistry an it dragged it out! :mad:

Roll on the summer and enjoy the time out :)

This bugger has to find work placement... *sigh

Thanks! Yeah, had Chemistry yesterday and Economics today. Wasn't too bad. Economics could go either way though. Not too bothered about going to college anyway so wouldn't be too bothered if I did badly.

Go for college! Tis great crack and you get to do so much... Don't end up like I did, just putting things back right while it's not too late! :D thinking of where I could have been by now sometimes saddens me :(

While not in college, I did work on a fúckton of cars though :pac:

On another note, wednesday afternoon drinking while trying to do oragami and Zep blaring on the stereo. Never a dull moment :pac:

I rather work on a fúckton of cars then waste time in college.

Hal1 wrote: »
    I rather work on a fúckton of cars then waste time in college.

If you did Automotive Engineering in college, you'd kill 2 birds with one piston :D

Ah it's just college was a farce for me. All I'll say is computer science. That was 12 years ago :o.

My lights are off on ignition, the only time they come on is at the 2000rpm mark, which is then the DSC pump kicks in, hence the fault.

Should get it done tonight, hope it fixes the problem.

My lights are off on ignition, the only time they come on is at the 2000rpm mark, which is then the DSC pump kicks in, hence the fault.

Should get it done tonight, hope it fixes the problem.

Mines definitely not the DSC then - thank fook for that!

ABS/Wheel speed sensor probably shat itself, tis common enough on all bmw's afaik.