Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Debs Disaster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

Our teachers went to our grad* - 'twas great craic. :D I'd hate if the parents went though. Boycott it to feck!! :P

*not the debs

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

GarIT wrote: »
    We haven't had teachers at ours ever before. I dono know about this year, because parents can buy tickets so teachers might too.

Oh parents usually aren't allowed to go in mine. And it's the debs commitee which organises it then the parents do the graduation . Parents shouldn't be allowed to go it's the students night not there's. How many parents would be going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Patchy~ wrote: »
    What the hell.

Our 5th years who did TY arent allowed to go because they'd be tired in school the next day - stupid yes, but I dont really care, I never liked them. :L

But that isnt a debs, that's a 5 year old's birthday party by the sounds of it...I'd boycott it, wouldnt be giving my money to a venue like that, how the hell are they expecting customers with those policies?!

I realize its the law but there is a line between responsible and overbearing.

Its not the venue at all, I have heard they don't care about ID at all, its the parents association.

We arranged our own unoffical grad night, its next week and we even arranged with the bus company that we are allowed drink on the bus. So 6 months after a completely mad night when were all older at the debs we have a super controlled night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

any chance you could call up the venue and sneakily change the night? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

Baha, imagine a load of parents showing up at some other school's debs.

It's gonna be a sick night bitcheezzz!! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Cruel Sun

Anyone under 18 must either a) be escorted onto the bus and collected from the bus by a parent

lol, that's actualy hilarious.

Oh parents usually aren't allowed to go in mine. And it's the debs commitee which organises it then the parents do the graduation . Parents shouldn't be allowed to go it's the students night not there's. How many parents would be going?

The Debs committee organises ours too, but the debs committee is just the full parents assocation + the principal + 3 of our prefects. Were completely outnumbered on the decisions. I doubt any parents will go. The letter we got says parents are allowed go this year too but I would move out if my ma tried to go to the debs.

We have 3 nights grad night, graduation night and the debs. Grad night and graduation are seperate because of incidents a few years ago. For grad night we got together with the nearby girls school and are getting 10 busses to the other side of the country and have a nightclub rented out for the night to cater for up to 600 ppl. Its completely unoficial there won't be a parent in sight. Then we have graduation night the last day of school, we have a mass in the school and then most students and some teachers go to a pub near the school. Debs is the mess that im talking about now.

Patchy~ wrote: »
    any chance you could call up the venue and sneakily change the night? :pac:

Id try anything, other people are saying just tell the parents assocation to F off on the night. Myself and two other lads seem to be the only people willing to do anything to sort something out. Everyone else moans on Facebook all day and does nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭biohaiid

Very happy we dont have a debs now!haha
    We have a grad, waaay more laid back.
    All the teachers come and parents/families too, but its not a problem. Its even better really. :)
    No rules about underage drinking or anything, one or two teachers always buy you a 'congradulations' drink
    All the graduates get into the nightclub and we all stay in the hotel that night.

I cant wait. :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,234 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The venue are the ones lose their licence if underage drinking is going on, I would be very surprised if they 'didn't care' about underage drinking, particularly such a large well-known establishment.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

spurious wrote: »
    The venue are the ones lose their licence if underage drinking is going on, I would be very surprised if they 'didn't care' about underage drinking, particularly such a large well-known establishment.
    Why don't they just insist everyone have Age ID cards if they wanna buy drink? I've yet to ever meet anyone with a fake Age ID card, and you can only get them when you're 18. I doubt the venue would take such a drastic measure as to get the parent's association involved - after all, why they want to be responsible, they also want to students to have a good debs.

The whole parent escort thing is absolutely ludicrous. Imagine getting off with someone in front your or your friend's mother/father? I know if I was under 18 anyway, I definitely wouldn't bother with it, and if it was very expensive, I wouldn't bother with it regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭kitty9

just go fcukin mental at it, and try score as many wives as possible.

flash them ur arses, flapp the helicopter at them.

MAKE THEM WISH THEY NEVER CAME

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

My school leaves it all up to the students and don't want anything to do with the debs!

They are dead right - it will be madness

OP I feel for ya.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

As glamorous as the Red Cow is, why don't you just not go to the debs and do something else that night instead? It's just a debs ffs.

Because its your last night all together ever, its like all your childhood relived in one night 3 months after its over. Its just after the last summer you have with your childhood friends. Everyone is too scared to do anything incase they end up splitting into groups.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Because its your last night all together ever, its like all your childhood relived in one night 3 months after its over. Its just after the last summer you have with your childhood friends. Everyone is too scared to do anything incase they end up splitting into groups.
    Is this a joke?

spurious wrote: »

I meant compared to the over reaction, they obviously care. But they aren't the ones that say you need written permission to go in if your under 18 and that your mates parents have to keep an eye on you. Its going to be particularly awkward for me because my mam's friend is going to be there.

Is this a joke?

Nope that's what I've been told by everyone. No one wants to make our own debs because they are worried that half will go to one and the other half to the other one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

I meant compared to the over reaction, they obviously care. But they aren't the ones that say you need written permission to go in if your under 18 and that your mates parents have to keep an eye on you. Its going to be particularly awkward for me because my mam's friend is going to be there.

Aside from the problems with hotel licences and underage drinking etc etc, nobody has forced any of you to go to this debs, yet it sounds like all of your year have bought tickets and now are moaning. why did you buy tickets?

Everyone wants to go to the debs but it could have been organised better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭finality

You only have one chance to go to your debs, it's not just another night out. I think "you don't have to go, stop moaning" is a cop out, the OP is right to be annoyed about this. The debs should be a great night but it isn't going to be if it's being treated like a children's birthday party.

I think what's happening with our debs is that over 18s will get a wristband at the door and after a certain time those who are underage will have to go to a separate room or something like that. I mean, it's not much fun for those who are underage, but it's a hell of a lot better than having someone's parents watching your every move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

finality wrote: »
    You only have one chance to go to your debs, it's not just another night out. I think "you don't have to go, stop moaning" is a cop out, the OP is right to be annoyed about this. The debs should be a great night but it isn't going to be if it's being treated like a children's birthday party.

I think what's happening with our debs is that over 18s will get a wristband at the door and after a certain time those who are underage will have to go to a separate room or something like that. I mean, it's not much fun for those who are underage, but it's a hell of a lot better than having someone's parents watching your every move.

They didn't have to go to the one the school organised, they could have organised their own, like a lot of leaving certs do. There is nothing to stop them, particularly if a hotel does not have a requirement for teachers/parents to be there in a supervisory role. Our leaving certs organise their own every year, the school have nothing to do with it, and want nothing to do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Atomicjuicer

Wouldn't stand for this tbh