Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bar-staff / club-staff..... Do they hate us all?

• 01-05-2012 9:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I've often wondered if the staff serving hundreds of tipsy / drunk / LOCKED customers in clubs and bars until 2.30am every night are mentally stabbing every single customer in the eye with a hot, sharp piece of metal.

To all the bar-staff and club staff out there, do you hate the drunks you spend hours serving?

Or do you like your jobs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Like all people that work with the public anywhere, yes, every single one of them hate the people they have to deal with with the intensity of a hundred thousand suns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

As a barman in a previous incarnation all I can say is..........

Closing time is easy pickings for a sober man who has access to unlimited booze :)

Drunk sluts

YEE Haw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

whirlpool wrote: »
    I've often wondered if the staff serving hundreds of tipsy / drunk / LOCKED customers in clubs and bars until 2.30am every night are mentally stabbing every single customer in the eye with a hot, sharp piece of metal.

I would be, if I worked in a bar or club. Thankfully I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

I'd nearly prefer to deal with drunks, because you could almost forgive their idiocy for, you know, being drunk. For those working with the general public in a customer service role in the cold light of day, well i salute each and every one of you for not going all Michael Douglas a lá 'Falling Down' on them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Everyone who has to encounter them in a sober professional capacity hates drunk people. They're all completely useless and completely unfunny.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I'm sure if I worked in a bar I'd slowly start to hate the human population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,037 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I only worked in a pub for six months, in London, but when we had lots of drunk people in, we were too busy to have any kind of emotional response. You all sort of blended in to this amorphous mass of stupid people, but as long as you kept shovelling the cash over the bar, it didn't matter. You'd need to do something really, really stupid to be remembered at all. :rolleyes:

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I hate you all. Every time I see a new customer walk through the door I swear a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

The DJ hates you too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Yes, hate everyone

I'm not a sheepdog, don't whistle at me
    And I'm not a French waiter, don't click your fingers at me :mad:
    And why do you order a large round..........oh and a pint of Guinness??

OP, get over to Ranting and Raving forum and Cries of Retails thread
    Best thread on boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

The DJ hates you too.

Don't think anyone cares about a Dj tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The DJ hates you too.

nightclub djs are just human shuffle modes on ipods to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

As an Ex Barman i have this to say

You are all arseholes i hope you go to hell!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

I'll put it this way: I never had the need to hit someone before I started working in a pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭chimmy chonga

Everyone who has to encounter them in a sober professional capacity hates drunk people. They're all completely useless and completely unfunny.
    ....and so easy to give them the wrong change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭branbee

I remember being under the influence of something that wasn't drink- not my proudest moment i will admit!- and i kept apologizing to the poor bar man for ordering water instead of buying alcohol! He kept saying its grand but i was nearly crying with guilt every time i went up to the bar and kept saying sorry! Fair play to him he was lovely! still feel bad now!
    God love bar/club staff putting up with **** like that!

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭Organic Cavity

Yep, but it's a tough ass job watching people have the craic and get pissed when your working behind the bar for fúck all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭ArtyC

....and so easy to give them the wrong change!

Oh ffs
    This is what makes life so difficult!!!!!!!!! We just want to get through our shift. I have no need to rob your stupid change- also nightclubs are so heavily CCTV-ed it would be impossible even if someone wanted to. Please, thank you and common courtesy for staff and other customers make working in a nightclub good Craic but that's becoming less and less common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

It's a pretty tough job physically too which alot of people don't realise - having to lug kegs and drink crates around. Also spending hours upon hours on your feet is no fun. Plenty of times i used to wake up in the morning unable to walk after a long weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Mickey Dazzler

I used to work in Havanas Browns in Cork as a young man and actually punched a customer in the face at closing time who was wrecking my head.

The second it happened I roared over to a bouncer to tell them said customer had hit me first and he got hauled out screaming that I had hit him, whilst I just stood there shaking my head trying to look traumatised. Fucking Cork people.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭touchwood

Eye drops are great for annoying drunks!!!!!
    :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭Feisar

I done it though college. Still do the odd shift when the owner gives me a call for the craic.

I loved it. Young persons bar, I looked after the tunes etc. People used to wait to get served by me. Fecking ice down girls tops who propped their tits up to get served etc. Mental craic.

Definitely miss the buzz.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I work in a hotel bar. In the residents bar and a busy cocktail bar. What annoys me the most to be honest is Americans talking shite. You kind of blank out the annoying drunk people after a few years!

No, I did not water down your pint

Why do people say this?
    How would I do it anyway? Inject water under pressure somehow into the pipes?
    Sounds awful complicated

So stop telling me I watered down your pint
    It's a myth, it doesn't happen

Probably because you're drinking Bud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

mikemac1 wrote: »

Why do people say this?
    How would I do it anyway? Inject water under pressure somehow into the pipes?
    Sounds awful complicated

So stop telling me I watered down your pint
    It's a myth, it doesn't happen

Probably because you're drinking Bud

Put water into the bottom of the glass before pouring. Ive seen it done. Not in Ireland i hasten to add

Why do people say this?

Maybe you're just shit at pulling pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Especially when they order some complicated, time-consuming shíte... read: Latté, Cappuccino, cocktails, et al. I swear, most people only order this kinda shíte to appear 'sophisticated' and posh in front of their snooty friends. I've never actually had someone come in on their own (ie. without an audience) and order some of this stuff. It's just a sin how often a whole table of people will come in and order this kinda crap. Crap that they would never order under normal circumstances, ffs.

Or just posh, stuck-up, middle-aged women in general and their expectations to be treated like freakin' royalty by the one member of staff who's on. Sorry, luv... But when I've a rake of other tables to serve (with people on them who are more likely to give me a nice tip), and you've "THAT" face on you all the time... haha, not a hope. G'luck... Get a clue, people...

Drunks I can actually handle. Just nod and say "Ah yeah, sure it's all good!" at regular intervals.

Lia_lia wrote: »

Yes, the sober barman is wrong

The roaring drunk is right I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

touchwood wrote: »
    Eye drops are great for annoying drunks!!!!!
    :):)

Only if you don't clean the toilets too;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Lia_lia wrote: »

I've had loads of pints of stout pulled in loads of different ways, and regardless of what diehard stout drinkers will say, there is no difference except perhaps in appearance. Even a pint pulled dirty won't taste much different.

The only way there will be a difference is if it's a bad batch (not gonna really happen) or the taps are used very infrequently.

^ I was joking. My Father has a bar and I've worked in one for years.

The only way there will be a difference is if it's a bad batch (not gonna really happen) or the taps are used very infrequently.

Or if the kegs are miles away from the bar!

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

Yes, hate everyone

Best thread on boards

This! 1,000 times this! Those three things are by far in a way the most annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Fucking Cork people.

I hear yaaaa boyo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Thefirestarter

Work as a barman myself part-time while in college.

Anyone here who works as a barman will know the frustration of taking an order one by one when the place is heaving with people. i.e

Customer :"Pint of Carslberg"

Me :"Grand" *Pulls pint, brings to customer* "5 euro please:)"

Customer :"oh and a pint of Budweiser"

Me :"Riteo" *repeats same process as above* "Now, tenner when yer ready"

Customer :"...and a G&T with a brandy and ginger ale."

Me : "Ok..." *walking away* "...anything else?"

Customer :"No, I think I know what I need, I don't need you asking"

Me: "Ok :confused:" *Brings drinks over* "Right, all together that will be-"

Customer :"...and a pint of Guinness"

Me : :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I have to admit OP I'm starting to hate you a bit too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Only fella I remember ever serving out of 10 years of serving is the 1 guy who swung at me because I told him he'd had enough - I Radio'd security - I actually feel sorry for that guy sometimes - he got f**king murdered that night!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Croke park, league final day, dozens of people queueing at bar - one guy kept ordering massive rounds and getting pissed off with me because I was too 'slow' ummmm 7 staff, 5 taps and dozens of yee and you're ordering about 10 drinks?!

Last time I worked behind a bar. 7 years ago. Would rather live on the street than work behind a bar again.

He kept walking off without his change though because 7 staff + 2 tills didn't make things fast.

krudler wrote: »
    nightclub djs are just human shuffle modes on ipods to be fair

this is just not true my ipod never plays feckin one direction

Yes, hate everyone

Best thread on boards

where is this cant find it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

DazMarz wrote: »
    Especially when they order some complicated, time-consuming shíte... read: Latté, Cappuccino, cocktails, et al. I swear, most people only order this kinda shíte to appear 'sophisticated' and posh in front of their snooty friends. I've never actually had someone come in on their own (ie. without an audience) and order some of this stuff. It's just a sin how often a whole table of people will come in and order this kinda crap. Crap that they would never order under normal circumstances, ffs.

Or just posh, stuck-up, middle-aged women in general and their expectations to be treated like freakin' royalty by the one member of staff who's on. Sorry, luv... But when I've a rake of other tables to serve (with people on them who are more likely to give me a nice tip), and you've "THAT" face on you all the time... haha, not a hope. G'luck... Get a clue, people...

Drunks I can actually handle. Just nod and say "Ah yeah, sure it's all good!" at regular intervals.

Wha..?

I'm neither a professional barman nor a coffee maker type person and I would have no problem making a Latte, Cappuccino, or most cocktails... A Latte is just espresso and steamed milk for fuck sake... cocktails are complicated? "Ohh wow... you mean... you... you want me to put more than one kind of liquid into a glass!? What am I a fucking chemist!?!"

Sorry man, if you're a professional barman or a barista, or even just work part time in a cafe/bar somewhere and think of making a mojito or long island iced tea, a latte or cappuccino as 'complicated' then this is one of the times that yes you are completely in the wrong and the customer is in the right.

You really think anyone that doesn't only ever order a plain black coffee or a pint of lager are just being pretentious? I think I just broke my favourite monocle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Thefirestarter

One thing I find people do quite often is say,

Customer :"Budweiser"
    Me :"Pint or a bottle?"
    Customer :"Pint, obviously :rolleyes:"
    Me : :confused:

No, it is not that obvious.

strobe wrote: »
    Wha..?

I'm neither a professional barman nor a coffee maker type person and I would have no problem making a Latte, Cappuccino, or most cocktails... A Latte is just espresso and steamed milk for fuck sake... cocktails are complicated? "Ohh wow... you mean... you... you want me to put more than one kind of liquid into a glass!? What am I a fucking chemist!?!"

Sorry man, if you're a professional barman or a barista, or even just work part time in a cafe/bar somewhere and think of making a mojito or long island iced tea, a latte or cappuccino as 'complicated' then this is one of the times that yes you are completely in the wrong and the customer is in the right.

You really think anyone that doesn't only ever order a plain black coffee or a pint of lager are just being pretentious? I think I just broke my favourite monocle!

amen brother if you feel this way dazmarz just dont work in a bar or cafe its not for you insinuating people are pretentious for asking for a latte is silly as it tastes a lot different to a black coffee

little bit off topic but id like to take this chance to abuse bbs never had a good coffee there (demarzs place of buisness perhaps)

• Registered Users Posts: 10 sheindlin

I used to work part-time on the door of a nite club. Drunk people were easier to deal with than the people with the God complex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Yes, hate everyone

Best thread on boards

where is this cant find it

Ranting and raving is private, you need to request access. There was a thread in the feedback forum to do so, if you can't find it then just search for one there. Well worth it for that thread alone.

mite grab it worked in retail while in college biggest issue for me was people looking down on you

had a friend that worked in mcdonalds while doing a post grad (she has a doctorate now) and people treated her like an idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

I've had loads of pints of stout pulled in loads of different ways, and regardless of what diehard stout drinkers will say, there is no difference except perhaps in appearance. Even a pint pulled dirty won't taste much different.

depends where you work in fairness, i had a pint of guiness in the gypsey rose and their was lumps in it ( in a british style pint glass to boot :rolleyes: ) but at the same time, ive been at bars had my 7-8 pints, big smile on my face where as a sober lad came in, done a shot of jager and puked his lungs up....

Suppose its not where you are its who's serving you... I shouldn't be forced to drink bottles... etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

ugh, it's actually not worth it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

I'm the worst type of customer and thus me and my ilk are in no small way responsible for the negative assumptions that staff make about customers on occasion. I have a god complex. If you don't follow my condescendingly spoken instructions to the letter (often uttered during intermittent breaks in an ongoing phone call) then I will shout and complain, often offering an unsolicited review of their competence. I will then stand there goading them as they attempt to complete the task, adding patronising remarks along the way and finishing up with the finger and a big "fuçk you" as I don my sunglasses and walk on.