Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread (02/05/2012 to 25/07/2012)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

Here we go "Isn't the You Kay great Joe"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

"We were killing around 1500 people on our roads"? Who was? A mad axe murderer and his mate? We should be told, Joe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

No you don't you tool, I don't slow down or hit the brakes when I see a camera as I seem to possess that strange ability of being able to look at the road and keep an eye on my speed at the same time.

Don't forget to factor in the new road networks there, we've still got some amount of truly awful drivers out there no matter what the stats. say.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

first world problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

The Dublin 30KPH Speed Limit saves cyclist and pedestrian lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

whats the story? just listening to joe they are bitching about not been able to speed and how unfair it is when they get a ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Dirigent

These guys always think that speed limits should apply to everyone but them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 579 ✭✭✭panama

europa11 wrote: »
    Don't forget to factor in the new road networks there, we've still got some amount of truly awful drivers out there no matter what the stats. say.

Many of whom have called the JD show today.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Bet this guy is angry about something different every day...

"relative speed is a killer" - so if the child is running at 45mph and you hit them at 48mph then you're not speeding.

RadioRetro wrote: »
    "We were killing around 1500 people on our roads"? Who was? A mad axe murderer and his mate? We should be told, Joe!

Surprised Joe didn't want to know where they're buried.

He's off on holidays soon, lots of graveyards to visit. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I usually speed up when I Garda checkpoint..

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

Speed and alcohol are the major contributory factors in most road traffic accidents.

Yakuza wrote: »
    Most cars' speedos overestimate speed, so doing 61km probably meant it was reading 65+. Still a bit harsh, I thought there was a 10% leeway.

the dude on a joe a few mins ago was only doing one km over the 60 km limit, and one km over the limit is 65km and 69km.

those nasty guards will be stopping people who are the alcohol limit next.

Most of these callers are really outraged only because they were caught.

as they say in Poland....toughski-shltzski

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Dirigent

Fuinseog wrote: »
    the dude on a joe a few mins ago was only doing one km over the 60 km limit, and one km over the limit is 65km and 69km.

those nasty guards will be stopping people who are the alcohol limit next.

It's amazing that people don't understand the word "limit".

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Anyone else laugh when yer man was talking about the lady who managed to run over herself? Real bad I know, but it just sounds funny!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

"he took me"....:eek:saucy!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Speed and alcohol are the major contributory factors in most road traffic accidents.

Bad driving is as much as a factor as anything

• Registered Users Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭daltonmd

I get really peed off when I reach my overdraft limit and cannot get one more cent out - wtf, I'm calling Joe tommorrow...

Dirigent wrote: »
    It's amazing that people don't understand the word "limit".

Listening to them it seems they confuse it with the word "target".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

"I saved three or four lives that day"..

The lads were probably speeding away from having robbed a bank..

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

signostic wrote: »
    Bad driving is as much as a factor as anything

Speeding = bad driving

young people speed on back roads.

old people drive the wrong way on motorways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

What's going on, a sensible caller not being cut off immediately !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

"I'm not trying to say I'm a big fella or anting..." Yes you are.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I swear to God

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Duffy the ignoramus is at it again.

Talking over callers, telling callers not to mention the word "county manager" for fear of getting his ass/rte's ass sued, Duffy doesn't understand whats proven is proven and whats in the public domain already is ok to say (as long as its not libellous), he is such a pussy.

you do see the weird and the wonderful on secondary roads. no rules seem to apply.

BTW are people still advocating different drink driving laws for the countryside?