Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Visiting Woodlawn House

Options
  • 03-05-2012 1:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

Wonder if you can offer advice. I've been hoping for a few years now to see Woodlawn House, and with a week off next week, I was hoping to travel to Galway to see the place. I found one online site with contact details for the estate, and have mailed them to see if this is allowed, but havent heard anything back. there is no phone number, so I cant follow up on this.

Does anybody know if Woodlawn House is accessible to the public? I dont want to go inside or anything, just get up close to see the exterior. I dont want to drive the distance only to find when I get there that you are not allowed near it, or that its on private land.

Any advice would be much appreciated

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭ciaranmac

AFAIK it's fenced off and monitored by CCTV, you can only go as far as the gate.

A friend of a guy I work with was there and took some photos outside:

lightboxhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/67571921@N02/6582710369/in/photostream/lightbox/
    lightbox

• Registered Users Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Archeron

ciaranmac wrote: »
    AFAIK it's fenced off and monitored by CCTV, you can only go as far as the gate.

A friend of a guy I work with was there and took some photos outside:

lightboxhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/67571921@N02/6582710369/in/photostream/lightbox/
    lightbox

Thanks for that Ciaranmac, much appreciate it. Fantastic photo! I hope there wasnt a gigantic zoom lens involved, because I dont have one of those.