Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Being born in Ireland is like winning the lottery of life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Is anybody offended by famine jokes?

No, but then again, I am Irish. We arent perpetually offended, unlike other ethnic groups. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

great sarcasm.

really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

IrishAm wrote: »
    No, but then again, I am Irish. We arent perpetually offended, unlike other ethnic groups. :D

To be fair, I think this is true. I don't know any of my friends who would be offended by paddy jokes or famine jokes.

Yet you get called racist/homophobic at the drop of a hat these days with any sort of black joke or gay joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭TehDagsBass

I love the country we have here, we have a such beautiful landscapes, lakes and mountains. I love the architecture brought here by the English.

I abhor the average Irish person though and the weather certainly does not make living surrounded by such people any easier. I'm looking forward to emigrating and hopefully not interacting with Irish people once I have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ah there are Irish people who freak over any even perceived slight against their country in fairness - usually if it's from across the Irish Sea. I'm not talking about anti Irish sentiment, I'm talking vague stuff, like an Irish person's accent being mocked on a TV show with no malicious intent behind it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

And not everyone has to contend with idiotic, embarrassingly unfunny remarks online, but somehow we deal with you

Siuin wrote: »
    And not everyone has to contend with idiotic, embarrassingly unfunny remarks online, but somehow we deal with you

Speaking of perpetually offended ethnic groups.....

Oh, wow- I get to be the ambassador for over 13 million Jews? Gee whiz, today must be my lucky day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I love the country we have here, we have a such beautiful landscapes, lakes and mountains. I love the architecture brought here by the English.

I abhor the average Irish person though and the weather certainly does not make living surrounded by such people any easier. I'm looking forward to emigrating and hopefully not interacting with Irish people once I have.

Why do you not like me? What have I ever done to you? *Sob* *Wipes snotty nose on sleeve*.

Of all the nationalities to try and avoid abroad, you've picked the worst. We're everywhere! Ha!

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Why do you not like me? What have I ever done to you? *Sob* *Wipes snotty nose on sleeve*.

Of all the nationalities to try and avoid abroad, you've picked the worst. We're everywhere! Ha!
    Don't worry, I was talking about the "average" Irish person. If you're an educated person from a decent background and with a decent ethos/outlook on life, I couldn't care less what nationality you are. Unfortunately, the "average" Irish person doesn't really fall into that category, although perhaps "average" people as a whole don't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

What do you abhor about them? I'm not sure it's a very decent outlook from you.

Siuin wrote: »
    Oh, wow- I get to be the ambassador for over 13 million Jews? Gee whiz, today must be my lucky day

Eh, you elected yourself to come onto this thread to bitch and moan about certain jokes.

And you elected yourself to be a troll?
    Actually, I'm not even going to give you the satisfaction of bothering with you anymore. Waste of time- go educate yourself.

Dudess wrote: »
    What do you abhor about them? I'm not sure it's a very decent outlook from you.
    I just can't deal with all the moaning (I know, I'm moaning right now in saying this, but bear with me) from the "average" Irish person these days. Everyone of them you speak to just wants to ramble incoherently and ignorantly about the government, bankers, developers, politicians etc, or bitching about one another behind eachother's back, actively wishing people who are achieving success fail miserably etc etc.

They moan about the household charge, then moan when the government say they don't have the money to be handing out €85,000 medical procedures to people. The same people are now moaning about the costs of communions and how it costs so much to get entertainers/magicians/etc in, as though Jesus demanded that people do these things in the first place and they have no choice in the matter.

It's all the inane rambling and moaning, if you talk to them on a nice, sunny day they're giving out about the heat, otherwise they're moaning about the cold. They read the news and moan about everything in it.

I like educated Irish people who put thought into the things they say. It's the "average" Irish person, who spout their nonsense such as the above all day and all night, who are driving me onto the plane out of here. I would have no problem sticking around to help rebuild the country if it weren't for these fecking ingrates who haven't the slightest clue about the things they're trying to discuss nor the inclination to investigate them or get educated on the matter.

You can't even go for a nice pint anymore without said people moaning all night about the above. It's horrendous.

You are socialising with the wrong type of people.

Good luck finding a utopia devoid of whingebag locals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I saw Omar walking down Parnell St the other day, we ran from him.

Sick of hearing this nonsense about Irish women being munters. as if the men saying that are ****ing models themselves. but besides that, if ye think you're all that, and the women here aren't good enough for you, why not **** off to some other country where ye think the women are better looking? Or are ye afraid that none of them would have ye?

I saw Omar walking down Parnell St the other day, we ran from him.

Sick of hearing this nonsense about Irish women being munters. as if the men saying that are ****ing models themselves. but besides that, if ye think you're all that, and the women here aren't good enough for you, why not **** off to some other country where ye think the women are better looking? Or are ye afraid that none of them would have ye?

Ive said it before and Il say it again, Irish women are as good looking as any other nationality. The type of chap who spouts nonsense about them on here, wouldnt get ridden into battle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Don't worry, I was talking about the "average" Irish person. If you're an educated person from a decent background and with a decent ethos/outlook on life, I couldn't care less what nationality you are. Unfortunately, the "average" Irish person doesn't really fall into that category, although perhaps "average" people as a whole don't?

Clearly you're mixing in the wrong circles.

Regardless, I'll be more than happy to wave you off when you leave the Country!

You are socialising with the wrong type of people.

Good luck finding a utopia devoid of whingebag locals.

I try not to, but unfortunately I'm friends with people who are friends with the locals and before you know it, it's socialist rambling all night. I know they've drink on them, but I could swear these people actually believe that Sinn Fein would be a good party in Government. It's truly bizarre!
    Regardless, I'll be more than happy to wave you off when you leave the Country!

No need, as I won't be looking back to see it :D

Ah there are Irish people who freak over any even perceived slight against their country in fairness - usually if it's from across the Irish Sea. I'm not talking about anti Irish sentiment, I'm talking vague stuff, like an Irish person's accent being mocked on a TV show with no malicious intent behind it.

Not me and not anyone I know. If your only worry is how a TV show portrays Irish people, you are doing alright in life!:)

But anyway, it is socially acceptable for TV shows to publically mock two ethnic groups in the UK, the Irish and the Polish("eastern europeans").

They are fair game.

But they wouldnt dream of mocking other ethnic groups. Especially those of the non european variety.

I try not to, but unfortunately I'm friends with people who are friends with the locals and before you know it, it's socialist rambling all night. I know they've drink on them, but I could swear these people actually believe that Sinn Fein would be a good party in Government. It's truly bizarre!

Ive a rule when in the pub.

No discussing politics nor religion.

I suggest you try it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

I believe it to be true that the Irish in the most part people begrudge other's success.

I suggest you try it!

Never discuss Politics/Religion/Abortion, its a decent rule, keeps ye outta trouble.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

most pub dwellers do nothing but talk about the eu,troika and the fisical treaty,its all they talk about..:mad:
    im sick of hearing about depressing stuff how irelands gone to hell with all this stuff,water charges and household tax it makes me want to move to some small backward village in eastern europe where theres no over regulation of everything..

I suggest you try it!
    Then all you get is premiership football, from the same people that supposedly hate the English!

nothing better then a moan about British football down the boozer! Gooooo'onn de hoops!

Then all you get is premiership football, from the same people that supposedly hate the English!

Quite the paradox alright. Support Manchester United but hope the England team consisting of Rooney, Welbeck, Carrick, Smalling, Ferdinand and Jones loses every time they play. I will never be able to understand that one!

it makes me want to move to some small backward village in eastern europe where theres no over regulation of everything..

They will be whinging on about similar things related to their governments. Oh, and scoffing at that upstart from the village beside them. Went over to the UK five years ago, now works in a bank and drives a Merc. And him, born out of wedlock!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭FergusODowd

I just can't deal with all the moaning (I know, I'm moaning right now in saying this, but bear with me) from the "average" Irish person these days. Everyone of them you speak to just wants to ramble incoherently and ignorantly about the government, bankers, developers, politicians etc, or bitching about one another behind eachother's back, actively wishing people who are achieving success fail miserably etc etc.

They moan about the household charge, then moan when the government say they don't have the money to be handing out €85,000 medical procedures to people. The same people are now moaning about the costs of communions and how it costs so much to get entertainers/magicians/etc in, as though Jesus demanded that people do these things in the first place and they have no choice in the matter.

It's all the inane rambling and moaning, if you talk to them on a nice, sunny day they're giving out about the heat, otherwise they're moaning about the cold. They read the news and moan about everything in it.

I like educated Irish people who put thought into the things they say. It's the "average" Irish person, who spout their nonsense such as the above all day and all night, who are driving me onto the plane out of here. I would have no problem sticking around to help rebuild the country if it weren't for these fecking ingrates who haven't the slightest clue about the things they're trying to discuss nor the inclination to investigate them or get educated on the matter.

Did you ever bother to wonder why they are moaning ?

It's because deep down they know, and care, that this country could be so much better, so less corrupt, and genuinely one of the best countries in the world to live in, but first we have to admit what is wrong and broken, and then demand it is put right and fixed. Until then, no progress can be made.

We can't just bull**** and pretend ourselves out of a recession, thats what got us into the mess in the first place, we have to start admitting the problems, looking at their causes, and then fixing them.

Then we can start building a great country again, on a solid and real foundation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I like how these threads have little sub-plots, micro arguments, referees, voices of reason, trolls, haters and lovers.

S'funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

We have 2 sports that we can call our own which are out and out brilliant!

From just a sporting context it's something to be proud of.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

shanered wrote: »
    I believe it to be true that the Irish in the most part people begrudge other's success.

That a natural trait of the Irish, I've been guilty of it myself on many occasions.

Did you ever bother to wonder why they are moaning ?

Because they have absolutely no fundamental understanding of the issues the country is facing on a national and international scale. No understanding of the issues surrounding our economy and financial stability and no inclination to find out these issues. Let alone the consequences of our actions on a personal, national and international scale.

Instead, the prefer to latch themselves to the populist words of socialist oxygen thieves such as Richard Boyd-Barrett, or hypocritical failures such as Sinn Fein and rant rant rant further.

Before you jump at it, this lack of understanding or education isn't the failure of the government, present or past. The information is there, the internet is filled with it (and we know these people are online, they post enough here and on TheJournal.ie) and our education system, until recently, was cheap and accessible. We have libraries full of books that these people don't bother reading, so their ignorance is nobody but their own fault.

There are very good reasons for the actions the government takes and they are being decided on and debated by experts who have far more experience and knowledge of the economy and our situation than anything you'll find in your boozer, the comments sections on TheJournal or parties full of idiots such as SF or the ULA.

That is the reason they're ranting, because they're clueless, feel clueless and yet don't want to do anything about their cluelessness. It's easier to sit there and point the finger at everyone and everything than actually trying to understand the situation and form an opinion on that understanding.
    It's because deep down they know, and care, that this country could be so much better, so less corrupt, and genuinely one of the best countries in the world to live in, but first we have to admit what is wrong and broken, and then demand it is put right and fixed. Until then, no progress can be made.

No, it's because they've no understanding of why the government does what it does and they don't want to contribute to fixing it (with taxes/charges).

I wouldn't mind but it's the very same people who pay the least tax and contribute the least to the country - the low earners, the social welfare class and those on minimum wage, who are spouting this bull****, when they have it better than any of their counterparts throughout Europe.
    We can't just bull**** and pretend ourselves out of a recession, thats what got us into the mess in the first place, we have to start admitting the problems, looking at their causes, and then fixing them.

Then we can have a great country again.

We didn't bull**** our way into a recession and you saying that would lead me to believe that you're just another who has no idea of the reasons we ended up in this mess, who or what was responsible and the outlook for the future of the country.

We have 2 sports that we can call our own which are out and out brilliant!

From just a sporting context it's something to be proud of.
    Yep, it's a shame the GAA are a money hungry organisation though, whose very money-grabbing tactics will lead to the death of the sports when the talented people who play it decide to play something they can make a living at.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Borboletinha

the only country where being on the dole is treated like a crime

More like the only country where being on the dole is treated like a lifestyle...;)

Thats why the number of long term unemployed at the height of the boom was at 20,000.

The figures dont agree with your assumption, unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭FergusODowd

We didn't bull**** our way into a recession and you saying that would lead me to believe that you're just another who has no idea of the reasons we ended up in this mess, who or what was responsible and the outlook for the future of the country.

Oh yes we did, lots of the 'connected' people in this country pretended and bull****ted they could get rich quick by setting up their own sham bank, borrowing the money, and selling property to one another in a giant pyramid scheme, and now the taxpayer is left to pay off the private gambling debts of the Irish golden circle, yes the social welfare class are too well looked after in this country, but that is so they don't revolt against the golden circle at the top, the solution of course is for the welfare class and golden circle to make the ordinary middle class worker, work even harder and pay to keep them both living idle lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭Firegaurd

"Being born in Ireland is like winning the lottery of life."

Its more like getting 3 and the bonus and getting a €3 scratchcard.

Not fantastic but better than nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Borboletinha

Thats why the number of long term unemployed at the height of the boom was at 20,000.

Of course treated as lifestyle by some, not most , not all...

Yes, as I said 20,000. Probably travellers and non Irish.

Unless you ascribe to the view that sometime in 2008-2009 300,000+ people decided to jack in their jobs to receive 200 euro a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Yeah its pretty good, didn't have the best start to life but I got to get somewhere better, I got a degree paid for and now im about to go look for some work and get 100 euro a week to do so, but if things are about to get worse.. well yeah better than a third world country but ah sure we'll see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,677 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Way better quality services etc in Scandinavia and Germany for sure, but I'd prefer to be from Ireland for the sense of humour alone. If I had to choose another country to be from, it would be Britain.

The continentals having no sense of humour is a myth, believe me. Yes, you get some dour ****es, but you get those in Ireland too.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

People still worked ****e jobs during the boom and yes, some of those people were Irish. A fair few of those 20,000 were people who had a poor paying job and did the double. Then you have alcoholics, addicts and seasonal workers.

Yep, it's a shame the GAA are a money hungry organisation though, whose very money-grabbing tactics will lead to the death of the sports when the talented people who play it decide to play something they can make a living at.

I think they should be paid but it's simply not feasible, not a case of the GAA being money hungry.

Please enlighten me how a country the size of Ireland could sustain close to 30 professional inter-county gaelic football and at least 15 hurling teams?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Where are you planning on going to avoid similar people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

What about people who weren't born here but have lived here now for 10+ years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Agghhhh... Do you know how much the GAA earn every year..? Do you know what they do with that money..? You do realize that the money is used to fund the game at ground root levels e.g the clubs and also help the inter county setups.

Do you also realize that if they decided to pay players anything worthwhile they would not have enough money.? How many people do you think go to these games week in week out. Everybody always looks at an All Ireland semi final and go's "ohh, they sold out, expensive tickets, money grabbing" but they fail to realize is that these guys have been training week in week out since winter to get to that level. All these training sessions need physios,trainers,doctors and most of all expenses. It costs about 250k just to run a top inter-county team for a season.

I'm pretty sure if you find a way for the GAA to get there hands on the millions needed to pay players they would have no problems doing so, but they are not going to sacrifice ground root infrastructure for some crazy idea to pay players.

Also as the GAA is an amateur organisation, once you join a club you become an equal member in the organization. They players, coaches and administration staff are the people who decided whether or not players get paid... They choose not to pay themselves or occasionally appoint paid positions as necessary. They choose this because the game(s) is of greater importance than any one player or person.

To say that players should be paid is in essence completely ignoring how the organization works. How an amateur organization works. What is quite possibly the most efficiently run organization in Ireland .

The GAA is actually by far one of the greatest achievements of the Irish people.

What about people who weren't born here but have lived here now for 10+ years?

Blow-ins :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Blow-ins :pac:

Yes. But have we won the lottery of life or just bought in at a later date?

Probably the case of ye had the winning ticket all along put just decided to cash it in at a later date

Deeeep maan :cool: