Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Being born in Ireland is like winning the lottery of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I absolutely love holidays in Ireland if you get decent weather. Best place in the world imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭ha ha hello

I agree whole-heartedly with the op. Not wanting to play down the very real financial woes of many people in this country, but if we're being objective, Ireland is one of the greatest countries in the world. I don't even have to think deeply to be sure that it's in the top 5. Imagine being born in eastern europe or russia.. those countries could be great were it not for the culture of the people being quite depressing in comparison to what we in the west are familiar with and happy with. Yeah, there's nowhere I would rather have been born than Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 UTEOFTW

DonQuay1 wrote: »
    listermint wrote: »
    You were going well until you gave keane a 3. You obviously dont have a grasp of his worth to the irish squad.

points out of 10 fail.

Oh yeah and the 5 for irish women, i forgot its the cool internet thing to deride women in ireland. Get out more..

Actually:

You need to read the entire thread before you cast asparagus.

I had already accepted someones else's opinion and adjusted my own in accordance ... see below.
    Chamone MF wrote: »
    Out of 10.

Great women. 5......4
    Great scenery. 9
    Great craic. 7
    Great pubs. 5
    Great sport. 8
    Great weather. 8......4

In ones humble opine

Keane? I was too decent to him. Barely a 3! The Irish squad never performs when they rely on him.

So Irish women are now a 4 Imo. see above! (I agreed!!)

I will actually will and do argue that to their face ... nothing anything to do with the internet. But then ... I'm not as terrified of Irish 'wimmen' as Irish 'wimmen' would like to think I should be!

However .... maybe I WAS too optimistic about Irish weather!

Ha you obviously haven't got a clue what you're talking about when it comes to football!!

Robbie Keane is a legend! Didnt bother reading the rest of your post...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 ismisekatie

if only...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Petre

Economically, Ireland is a great place to live, that's an undeniable, objective fact. However, different people value different things in terms of what a country has to offer them; some people place great importance in their position in the workplace, watching their bank balance rise and the enumerability and quality of their material possessions. For others, working is more so something that is done solely to facilitate other aspects of their life and they're happy to survive on the bare minimum.

In terms of social life, this is highly subjective. Ireland is tailor made for people with an extroverted personality. If you're the type of person who loves to socialize in big groups you'll fit in like a charm. If you're an introvert who prefers 1 on 1 interactions, you may be pushed out and feel lonely and socially deprived.

In terms of dating/love life, Irish women by world standards are highly stuck-up and entitled. I'm sorry to say that but it's the truth as I see it. You need to have x and y looks/superficial personality traits to be considered, and if you don't have them it's tough luck. Elsewhere women are willing to look past the superficial and into your true character of what you have to offer them in a relationship.

When I lived in Germany I felt as if the people were more open and accepting, making it much easier to blend in. But in Ireland, it seems as if you need to have such a delicate fine tuned balance of personality traits or else you'll end up alone most of the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I often think out of 300million sperm I was lucky enough to be born but then there was a catch, out of 200+ other countries I had to be born in this godforsaken hell hole.

Ireland is a horrible country, its rains practically all the time and we get 2 to 3 weeks of half decent weather in the year and this usually consists of one sunny day here and there with rain then for the rest of the week. You can do practically nothing here and we have the worst climate on earth.

Unless you are a practical alcoholic then you have a small social life, Irish women I think should all have been airstewardess because they spend enough time in the clouds as it is. The odd one is only good looking and then they have some personality disorder so give me a down to earth plain jane anyday. The weather and irish peoples attitudes here are a major disdain of mine for Ireland.

Now add to this the fact we are bankrupt thanks to Fianna Fail bankrupting the country and there is no jobs or future here. Everything is an absolute rip-off, there is never no accountability and we are a rotten corrupt country.

I have been to dozens of countries worldwide and I can say with a definite yes that the grass is greener on the other side, Ireland for me is meaningless, I hate it and plan to spend more and more time out of the country until I eventually leave. It has family and friends but that is about it, everything else is a a constant uphill struggle against corruption, cronyism and general stupidity. I like that my family is here and I can never not be Irish, I love the GAA and Football matches and will always follow this no matter where I am. For me Ireland is dead and unless I was earning say €100k a year then I will not stay here for much longer.

It is only with tonnes of money Ireland can be enjoyed, lots of trips to Spain and some other med place, just to be able to walk in a t-shirt under the sun is something we miss out on so much here. Ideally for me I would spend winter in the tropics somewhere like the Caribbean or South East Asia and spring and autumn in Spain and fly home to Ireland for the GAA matches and maybe spend June, July and August here where you might catch that rarest of commodities a dry sunny Irish day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Stinicker wrote: »
    Ireland is a horrible country, its rains practically all the time and we get 2 to 3 weeks of half decent weather in the year and this usually consists of one sunny day here and there with rain then for the rest of the week. You can do practically nothing here and we have the worst climate on earth.

Visit India, Nigeria, Somalia, Iraq, Afganistan, Libya etc... and then see how bad this country is. Ireland has it's problems but's it our home, if you hate it so much then leave!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Visit India, Nigeria, Somalia, Iraq, Afganistan, Libya etc... and then see how bad this country is. Ireland has it's problems but's it our home, if you hate it so much then leave!

Do the women in Ireland a favour and move if you hate us so much. Hell, do the men a favour too seeing as you think nobody in this country can function socially without alcohol.

Seriously, I don't get the "oh it's horrible living in Ireland if you don't drink". I drink but I do so much non-alcohol related socialising as well. Get a new hobby. Join a sports club. Go to the theatre, cinema or a music concert. Join meet up groups. Go to festivals, book clubs

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Visit India, Nigeria, Somalia, Iraq, Afganistan, Libya etc... and then see how bad this country is.

Safety and ability to survive will always be valued above all else by anyone. But if you were to live in those places and be guaranteed to be safe and not too desperate, I'm sure some people would in fact prefer it to living in Ireland.

Look at the suicide rates in developed nation compared to those in the third world. Mental health is NOT predominantly determined by genetics. Some people end up so miserable in this country they actually take their own lives. Had these people of grown up in a third world country, although their lives would have been 1000x harder, they'd have been far more likely to live out their lives as long as they could.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭demakinz

It would be a great little country if we could only roof it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

being born.....is like winning the lottery........

beingb irish.....is like sharing it with ten million others.....

Stinicker wrote: »
    I often think out of 300million sperm I was lucky enough to be born but then there was a catch, out of 200+ other countries I had to be born in this godforsaken hell hole.

Unless you are a practical alcoholic then you have a small social life, Irish women I think should all have been airstewardess because they spend enough time in the clouds as it is. The odd one is only good looking and then they have some personality disorder so give me a down to earth plain jane anyday. The weather and irish peoples attitudes here are a major disdain of mine for Ireland.

Now add to this the fact we are bankrupt thanks to Fianna Fail bankrupting the country and there is no jobs or future here. Everything is an absolute rip-off, there is never no accountability and we are a rotten corrupt country.

I have been to dozens of countries worldwide and I can say with a definite yes that the grass is greener on the other side, Ireland for me is meaningless, I hate it and plan to spend more and more time out of the country until I eventually leave. It has family and friends but that is about it, everything else is a a constant uphill struggle against corruption, cronyism and general stupidity. I like that my family is here and I can never not be Irish, I love the GAA and Football matches and will always follow this no matter where I am. For me Ireland is dead and unless I was earning say €100k a year then I will not stay here for much longer.

It is only with tonnes of money Ireland can be enjoyed, lots of trips to Spain and some other med place, just to be able to walk in a t-shirt under the sun is something we miss out on so much here. Ideally for me I would spend winter in the tropics somewhere like the Caribbean or South East Asia and spring and autumn in Spain and fly home to Ireland for the GAA matches and maybe spend June, July and August here where you might catch that rarest of commodities a dry sunny Irish day.
    I find it funny that when someone can't score women they blame the country. Don't let the door hit you on the way out

Petre wrote: »
    Safety and ability to survive will always be valued above all else by anyone. But if you were to live in those places and be guaranteed to be safe and not too desperate, I'm sure some people would in fact prefer it to living in Ireland.

Look at the suicide rates in developed nation compared to those in the third world. Mental health is NOT predominantly determined by genetics. Some people end up so miserable in this country they actually take their own lives. Had these people of grown up in a third world country, although their lives would have been 1000x harder, they'd have been far more likely to live out their lives as long as they could.

You know absolutely nothing about mental health if you're suggesting the reason people are depressed or suffer from other mental illnesses is purely because of the country they are in. I would be depressed whether I was in Ireland or living in the Bahamas.

I'd like to see some evidence (genuinely, not being smart here) to suggest that genetics don't play a role in mental health because it is a risk factor. Personally, I've seen first hand how mental illness runs in the family.

Also I'm not sure how accurate this is but here are suicide rates by country per 100,000 people http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_suicide_rate

Belarus, Kazakhstan, Russia, Guyana etc. are ahead of Ireland

Do the women in Ireland a favour and move if you hate us so much.

What an original, astute contribution.

I plan to leave and head for Germany as soon as my contract with my current employer expires in just over a year. I'm very lucky as I'm highly qualified and skilled in my area of expertise. I really cannot see how one not as fortunate as me in this regard can just 'up and leave' at any moment though, care to explain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

In terms of dating/love life, Irish women by world standards are highly stuck-up and entitled. I'm sorry to say that but it's the truth as I see it. You need to have x and y looks/superficial personality traits to be considered, and if you don't have them it's tough luck. Elsewhere women are willing to look past the superficial and into your true character of what you have to offer them in a relationship.

Physical attraction forms a huge part of most relationships. :confused: And women are judged far more harshly for their looks than men. Cry me a river.

What an original, astute contribution.

I plan to leave and head for Germany as soon as my contract with my current employer expires in just over a year. I'm very lucky as I'm highly qualified and skilled in my area of expertise. I really cannot see how one not as fortunate as me in this regard can just 'up and leave' at any moment though, care to explain?

Great. As a "stuck up and entitled" woman according to you, I hope you get to Germany as soon as you can :)

As for the bit in bold, sure if you're broke in Ireland, why not be broke in any other country where I just know the women will be swarming to you because you're such a charmer ;)

You know absolutely nothing about mental health if you're suggesting the reason people are depressed or suffer from other mental illnesses is purely because of the country they are in. I would be depressed whether I was in Ireland or living in the Bahamas.

I'd like to see some evidence (genuinely, not being smart here) to suggest that genetics don't play a role in mental health because it is a risk factor. Personally, I've seen first hand how mental illness runs in the family.

Also I'm not sure how accurate this is but here are suicide rates by country per 100,000 people http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_suicide_rate

Belarus, Kazakhstan, Russia, Guyana etc. are ahead of Ireland

'Faulty' genetics absolutely do play a role in how susceptible one is to mental illnesses, BUT only if that person is raised within a particular culture that is susceptible to mental illness in the first place. If you do suffer from depression as you suggested, and you travelled to the Bahamas, yes you would probably still be depressed. However, had you been raised in that country since birth, it's highly unlikely you would be.

Those poor countries you've listed with high suicide rates likely have specific social problems that have caused people to kill themselves. The high rates are not caused by the overriding culture as a whole like they are in Ireland.

Sea Filly wrote: »
    Physical attraction forms a huge part of most relationships. :confused: And women are judged far more harshly for their looks than men. Cry me a river.

Yes but Irish women have much higher requirements for looks and other superficial factors than many women from elsewhere. Women are judged far more harshly for their looks mostly in their own heads. In practice, men's appearance hinders them far more than women's does, especially when it comes to getting sex/relationships.

'Faulty' genetics absolutely do play a role in how susceptible one is to mental illnesses, BUT only if that person is raised within a particular culture that is susceptible to mental illness in the first place. If you do suffer from depression as you suggested, and you travelled to the Bahamas, yes you would probably still be depressed. However, had you been raised in that country since birth, it's highly unlikely you would be.

Those poor countries you've listed with high suicide rates likely have specific social problems that have caused people to kill themselves. The high rates are not caused by the overriding culture as a whole like they are in Ireland.

Do you have absolutely anything to prove that claim or are you just speculating?

Here are some of the known causes of depression:

Genetics
    Family conflict/issues
    Death of a loved one
    Obesity/body image issues
    Certain medications
    Alcohol or drug abuse
    Certain co-morbidities

...I could go on. None of the above causes of depression can be attributed to where you live. Somebody born in the Bahamas could easily suffer from any of the above, leading to depression.

Yes but Irish women have much higher requirements for looks and other superficial factors than many women from elsewhere. Women are judged far more harshly for their looks mostly in their own heads. In practice, men's appearance hinders them far more than women's does, especially when it comes to getting sex/relationships.

Reading your posts, I think I know the real reason you're being ignored by women ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

If people are genuinely unhappy in Ireland, be it due to their lack of success with women, the weather, the culture, whatever. Leave. We are members of the EU which means you can live and work in 26(soon to be 27, hello Croatia) different countries without requiring a visa.

Seems pointless to stay in a country you generally despise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Women are judged far more harshly for their looks mostly in their own heads.

No, not just in their own heads. Plain/unattractive women in the public eye are far more commented upon for their looks than their male equivalents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭TehDagsBass

Petre, in your posts, you say that Ireland is only suited to those who can socialise in groups, and that Irish women are stuck up. Presumably then you're a bit of a loner or an "introvert" as you want to put it, and haven't done well with women here?

But it's everyone else's fault that they just don't *get* you, right? It's a cultural issue, not an issue with you of course?

I'm a fan of educated Irish girls, at least the normal ones anyway. They've a bit more meat on their bones than their European counterparts but they tend to look after themselves well, have great,outgoing personalities and can hold a conversation well and have a bit of craic on a night out, in work, etc.

They act a bit stuck up, all things considered, in their teens perhaps but I don't know any who haven't grown out of it by college age myself. Irish women also don't seem to be as wallet orientated as a lot of the women around the globe and are thus a lot more down to Earth than some of the creatures you might find on your wonderful European adventures.

IrishAm wrote: »
    If people are genuinely unhappy in Ireland, be it due to their lack of success with women, the weather, the culture, whatever. Leave. We are members of the EU which means you can live and work in 26(soon to be 27, hello Croatia) different countries without requiring a visa.

Seems pointless to stay in a country you generally despise.

Nothing wrong with being unhappy. But blaming it on the country is odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Do you have absolutely anything to prove that claim or are you just speculating?

Genetics
    Family conflict/issues
    Death of a loved one
    Certain medications
    Alcohol or drug abuse
    Certain co-morbidities

...I could go on. None of the above causes of depression can be attributed to where you live. Somebody born in the Bahamas could easily suffer from any of the above, leading to depression.

I think their is a cultural element to it too. Especially when you look at the method used to kill oneself.

Genetics
    Family conflict/issues
    Death of a loved one
    Certain medications
    Alcohol or drug abuse
    Certain co-morbidities

There is a great deal of effort put into keeping the masses in the dark about the truth of our reality, as a derivative of this, textbook psychology is utterly fraudulent. I could cite some sources for my claims but I doubt they'd be creditable by your conditioned reasoning.

The things you listed are those which can bring out depression in an individual. Many people are plagued by none of those factors and they still become depressed. Your likelihood of developing depression or another mental illness is determined first by the collective cultural mindframe you've been brought up within, second by your family genetics and third by how exposed you've been to such factors you've listed.

Sea Filly wrote: »
    No, not just in their own heads. Plain/unattractive women in the public eye are far more commented upon for their looks than their male equivalents.

I don't know what age group you're commenting on, but I don't know any adults, or groups of adults, or even groups of male adults, who comment negatively about unattractive girls. When we were younger, yeah, you might get young lads going "Did ya see your one?! She's wrecked!" but not after the age of 20.

Men comment on good looking women a TON around each other but don't tend to comment on unattractive or plain women, never mind negatively. Note, I said men, not boys :)

I think women are far more critical of each other than anything men do to them. I've heard plenty of women bitching about their supposed friends and how they look than anything I've ever witnessed men doing. The only time, in recent memory, I've chatted with lads and had them put a woman down was a: when a friend was dating a girl who kept getting absolutely ****faced on their dates so he had to break it off with her and b: when a girl gets absolutely ****faced on a group night out and makes a bit of an arse of herself.

There 100% isn't groups of lads out there going "Did ya see X (our friend) with her new outfit? She thinks she's so hot, but she's not!". That's the groups of girls.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Petre its quite a shame you must leave us so soon dear boy, why the haste I say. Dear chap a man of your qualifications could surely find employment in this stable, must you really you fly to Deutschland to seek meaningful appliance? We'll miss you old boy make sure to write.

Petre, in your posts, you say that Ireland is only suited to those who can socialise in groups, and that Irish women are stuck up. Presumably then you're a bit of a loner or an "introvert" as you want to put it, and haven't done well with women here?

But it's everyone else's fault that they just don't *get* you, right? It's a cultural issue, not an issue with you of course?

I'm a fan of educated Irish girls, at least the normal ones anyway. They've a bit more meat on their bones than their European counterparts but they tend to look after themselves well, have great,outgoing personalities and can hold a conversation well and have a bit of craic on a night out, in work, etc.

They act a bit stuck up, all things considered, in their teens perhaps but I don't know any who haven't grown out of it by college age myself. Irish women also don't seem to be as wallet orientated as a lot of the women around the globe and are thus a lot more down to Earth than some of the creatures you might find on your wonderful European adventures.

First of all, I want to correct you on something: I am not a loner. Being an introvert does not necessarily mean you are a loner, such beliefs are a myth. Being introverted simply determines in what manor you interact with others and how often you feel the need to. I prefer to speak in a candid and sincere way, extroverts prefer to interact in an exuberant and sarcastic way. Ireland is a very extroverted country, along with my original home country. I prefer introverted countries like Germany, Denmark and those in Scandinavia. There's no "fault" involved here, just a clash of differences, which is why I'm making the switch as soon as possible.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with being unhappy. But blaming it on the country is odd.

Of course not. But if someone genuinely perceives that living here is the root cause of their unhappiness, then surely the logical thing would to be move somewhere else?

First of all, I want to correct you on something: I am not a loner. Being an introvert does not necessarily mean you are a loner, such beliefs are a myth. Being introverted simply determines in what manor you interact with others and how often you feel the need to. I prefer to speak in a candid and sincere way, extroverts prefer to interact in an exuberant and sarcastic way. Ireland is a very extroverted country, along with my original home country. I prefer introverted countries like Germany, Denmark and those in Scandinavia. There's no "fault" involved here, just a clash of differences, which is why I'm making the switch as soon as possible.
    I think you're suffering from a bit of "the grass is greener' syndrome to be honest.
    People are drawn to extroverts, no matter what country you are in.

I think you're suffering from a bit of "the grass is greener' syndrome to be honest.

I lived in Germany for 4 years, throughout that time my social life was far better than it is here in Ireland where I've lived for nearly 30 years in total.

People are drawn to extroverts, no matter what country you are in.

Absolutely 100% correct. The difference, however, is that both extroverts AND introverts thrive in introverted countries. Whereas in extroverted countries, ONLY extroverts thrive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

EdenHazard wrote: »
    so funny internet dorks judging irish girls as 4/10...oh ye I forgot you must get all them 8/10 brazilians and Swedish girls :rolleyes:

Deserved more likes tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

You forgot to mention the crap tv stations

so funny internet dorks judging irish girls as 4/10...oh ye I forgot you must get all them 8/10 brazilians and Swedish girls

It sounds absolutely outrageous in a country like Ireland where men are taught to worship the fat rolls of very unsightly women, but in other countries men actually can get with women outside of their league looks wise, and quite easily at that. In my nearly 30 years spent in ireland, I've been rejected by 2s, 1s even. When I was in Germany, 8s and 9s were giving me the time of day no problem. Women are SO high up on a pedestal in this country, it's beyond ridiculous. Men in other countries don't sweat their women, and women in these countries are FARE less superficial than Irish women when it comes to looks. When I travelled extensively years ago, I routinely saw men with women way out of their league, I have NEVER seen this in Ireland, bar the odd very rich man. Yet I see the reverse (an unattractive girl with an attractive guy) quite often here.

So your talking about superficial and say you've been rejected by 2's and 1's?

You have poor self image obviously? How do you know those girls weren't superficial, but just didn't think you were the right guy despite your good looks? Maybe they go for personality and you didn't have the one they were looking for(If you mean rejected as in on a date type)

EdenHazard wrote: »
    So your talking about superficial and say you've been rejected by 2's and 1's?

You have poor self image obviously? How do you know those girls weren't superficial, but just didn't think you were the right guy despite your good looks? Maybe they go for personality and you didn't have the one they were looking for(If you mean rejected as in on a date type)

Where you not the guy who started a few threads complaining about the exact same thing as Petre? :pac:

Made this for you Petre

http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3p54pz/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Funny how the biggest coonts on Boards have the biggest problems with women, isn't it? For the life of me I can't figure out why that is...hmmm....*rubs chin*.

When did I say Irish women were generally unattractive? My opinion is that Irish women come in a wide range of physical attractiveness, no more or less than anywhere else. Within this reasoning, I stated that the women who happen to be at the bottom of the totem pole in Ireland, also happen to STILL be picky even with their vast imperfections, unlike what it's like elsewhere.

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Funny how the biggest coonts on Boards have the biggest problems with women, isn't it? For the life of me I can't figure out why that is...hmmm....*rubs chin*.
    Rejection and the constant nights alone make a man bitter, what more can be said?

The same as the heffers who go around claiming to be "real women" and that men are bastards who just can't handle a "real woman" when they can never get with one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It'd be a great country if ya could ONLY ROOF IT!

When did I say Irish women were generally unattractive? My opinion is that Irish women come in a wide range of physical attractiveness, no more or less than anywhere else. Within this reasoning, I stated that the women who happen to be at the bottom of the totem pole in Ireland, also happen to STILL be picky even with their vast imperfections, unlike what it's like elsewhere.
    Water finds its own levels eventually, what do you care?

Unless, of course, you're being rejected by women who as you say, are on the bottom of the "totem pole".

Rejection and the constant nights alone make a man bitter, what more can be said?

And where does the rejections and the nights spent alone come form? Do they fall out of the sky? No they come from people within a culture. The fault lies with the culture, which is proven by the fact I've had far better experiences in other cultures. If the fault lies with me, then I would have the same problems everywhere I go.

IrishAm wrote: »
    Where you not the guy who started a few threads complaining about the exact same thing as Petre? :pac:

Maybe could have?... but if I pulled 8's I wouldn't be calling it 'out of my league'...findin my level :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dudess wrote: »
    Way better quality services etc in Scandinavia and Germany for sure, but I'd prefer to be from Ireland for the sense of humour alone. If I had to choose another country to be from, it would be Britain.

I suspected as much. :eek::pac:
    Britain isn't a country though. :p

And where does the rejections and the nights spent alone come form? Do they fall out of the sky? No they come from people within a culture. The fault lies with the culture, which is proven by the fact I've had far better experiences in other cultures. If the fault lies with me, then I would have the same problems everywhere I go.

So what you're saying is, just because you happen to perceive them as ugly, they should just accept you for whatever you happen to be and give you whatever you want?

If women abroad perceive you better than women do here, whoopee for you? Maybe you're more tolerable when they can't understand you so well?

Water finds its own levels eventually, what do you care?

Unless, of course, you're being rejected by women who as you say, are on the bottom of the "totem pole".

I have been getting rejected by those women, that was my entire point. Is English not your native language? Where are you originally from? Will you go out with me next weekend? I'm sick of all the stuck up, unattractive women who think they're a higher form of life than me. :(

Get a backbone pal, boost your self image and start pullin'

Pulling on nights out isn't about looks really. Its tough out there, you gotta work hard. You just don't arrive in with good looks and pull. Effort required.