Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ever slip a Father Ted reference into real life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I've mooned in the pub whilst pointing to my arse crack saying"Would you believe me own dog did that to me?":o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

DoneDL wrote: »
    "Small, far away"

Use this one, all the time. It explains a valuable concept in too easy a way to ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Down with this sort of thing !!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Fairly constantly.

"I've had my fun, and that's all that matters"

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Jammyc

All the time!

My favourites are reacting to situations with either, "****in hell!" or "Well, well, well, what a pretty picture Father Crilly/[Insert person's name here] has painted. HOW, HOW DARE YOU bring SHAME on this CELEBWATION of SHEEP!"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Whispers...

*good luck with the book"

And on occasion when leaving...

"And now off to ride Mrs O'Reilly."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

"tunnel of goats" to describe a crap tourist attraction

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭iColdFusion

I love my brick.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭duiggers

Cowboys ted, feckin cowboys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭ihsb

I don't know why, but whenever my boss asks me to do something I always say "Grand Ted" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭heffo500

I normally use the "Looks like rain, Ted" or when I'm pricing a job I say "Sure you could talk into coming down"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,140 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

"It's only a bleedin whistle" comes in handy on rare occasions.

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭The Showstopper

No luck then Ted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭filmbuffboy

Careful now, down with that sort of thing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Dont think The Life of Brian had as many quoted lines in it. Cant imagine any other programme having that many one liners in it either

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I may have made a reference to the "money [-] just resting on my account", but on legal advice I'll say no more about.;););)

I remember someone mentioning Steve McQueen while on about some film a while ago and i responded, 'God its so long since ive seen it, i forgot Steve McQueen was in it'. My friend and i always referencing Father Ted when exchanging texts. for example 'Go Wiiide Walcott, Go Wiiiiiiidddde' or 'Huh....Typical italian', when we witness Baltotellis antics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

A (height challenged) work colleague sometimes calls me a name referencing my physical appearance.

"CALL ME BY MY RIGHT NAME YA LITTLE BOLLIX" is usually my response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Tails142

People always catch me out when I'm trying really hard to remember something and they say, you were wearing your blue jumper, and then I'm thinking... hmm... i've never had a blue jumper until the penny drops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Dont think The Life of Brian had as many quoted lines in it. Cant imagine any other programme having that many one liners in it either

Partridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Good luck with the book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Address me by my proper title, ya little bollix!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the odd time when i go into the pub i used to work in for a pint i say 'give us a pint there jude ye big bollox ye'

If you see a group of Chinese people normally the first instinct is to say ' Ahhh the Chinese....A great bunch of lads'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

When I am being told a boring story I like to say "I'll have to stop you there, no reason, I just have to stop you "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,509 ✭✭✭cml387

When Mrs. CML says we are going to some randomn attraction, I sometimes will ask if there will be a spider baby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

The police are after me, i'm so gorgeous they want to put me UNDER ARREST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,140 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I stuck a little black rectangle on my window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Anytime im in college and im going for tea i ask people if they want some...
    if they say no that they want to do a bit more work i always say this...
    Sure didn't our Lord himself on the cross pause for a nice cup of tea before giving himself up for the world?

needless to say it works! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

6 pages in and nobody else uses 'ride me side ways'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

And you'd think wouldn't you, that someone like, Chris Evans wouldn't want to hang around with the likes of us! And..you'd be right, he didn't want to hang around with us at all!

"Biscuit or cake?"

"Get your bollox out of my face!"

"You got me sacked and now i'm having to yank meself off around the clock because I haven't had proper sex with girls!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

"There is always time for a nice cup of tea! Sure didn't our Lord himself on the cross pause for a nice cup of tea before giving himself up for the world?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭toexpress

Ride me sideways ... that was another one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

When I'm in bed at night with the wife after just getting in and turning off the light invariably she turns it on 2 mins later to check something..........I jump up and say 'morning ted' with a big stretch. Only when I'm wearing my Opel Ireland jersey though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

Fr Jack Hackett...

"I'M A HAPPY CAMPER !!!! "

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

Ive no willie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I use them everyday...

careful now

sure you could talk that into coming down

cowboys, they're a bunch of cowboys

two pints, two pints of milk

they've taken the roads in

I'll make the tea, and you take your bra off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Whenever someone is talking about sex.

"You wouldn't be advising the use of artificial contraception now would ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

They were only nuns.

• Registered Users Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ninap

Doing work on the car: "You'll never get it absolutely perfect Ted"

Gambling "I can handle it Ted"

Generally "There's always time for tea, Fathers"

First time I met my teenage cousin around 1999... awkward silence.... so I asked him "Who do you prefer? Blur, or Oasis?"

Worked as an ice breaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

All the time.
    One of my favourites is when something breaks or doesn't work, yelling "Shoddy workmanship, that's what it is... Shoddy! Shoddy... SHODDY!!!!!"

I've also been known to exclaim "Argh, ya... Feckin' eejaaat! Wait there till I getchaaaaa..." at people who annoy me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

If you ever say that to me again, I'll put your head through the wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭mummymoo

my sister used to say i was like father stone.. 'arre ya ok, would you like anything?' '.....no... im fine thanks.....'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭feet of flame

fup off you fuppin baxtard.......

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

If I'm ever back from a match/funeral/wedding and get asked "were there many at it?"

"Now I wouldn't be a great judge of crowds Ted, but I'd say there was about 4 million there"

Or myself and one of my flatmates, if one of us is watching something on tv the other doesn't like:

"What rubbish are you watching Dougal? Chewing gum for the eyes!"

"Ah no thanks Ted, I've got these crisps here"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

When I run into or text 2 fella's I went to school with, I will open with "Well Ted" I think its like "Well Head" but it became Ted at some stage, I don't know why. Im pretty sure they refer to me as Ted in the same way. :confused:

Thats about as ingrained as a piece of pop culture can get in a society I'd say.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

<Insert Group of People> are people too!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭jprboy

I have no mickey