Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Brainteasers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

newport2 wrote: »
    A boy is out with his father and their car crashes. The father is killed and the boy is seriously injured. He's rushed to hospital and prepared for an emergency operation. The surgeon comes out and says "I can't operate on him, he's my son". How?

The Doc's his mum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭newport2

the surgeon is his mother

Correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

If you add the letter 's' to this word it changes from plural to singular and changes gender. What is the word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,954 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

okay say you're a bus driver, and you're driving your bus. On the first stop 9 people get on, then on the next stop another 3 get on, at your 3rd stop 6 get on and 4 get off, and the 4th stop another 7 get on and 6 off and on the 5th stop 3 more get on and 2 get off, so.....

....whats the drivers name?

Pherekydes wrote: »
    If you add the letter 's' to this word it changes from plural to singular and changes gender. What is the word?

Nope, you can only put a weight onto the scales once and take one reading off it.

He stands on the scales and eats the bars one at a time. When his weight goes up by 110g, he has the offending bar :D

:D:D

Nope, only one reading can be taken from the scales

okay say you're a bus driver, and you're driving your bus. On the first stop 9 people get on, then on the next stop another 3 get on, at your 3rd stop 6 get on and 4 get off, and the 4th stop another 7 get on and 6 off and on the 5th stop 3 more get on and 2 get off, so.....

westendgirlie

the last man on earth sits in a room, someone knocks on the door.

who knocked?

Newport2

who knocked?

A woman

:D:D

fix the scales?:D

Pherekydes wrote: »

Princess ??

A manager of a factory has 10 conveyor belts churning out chocolate bars. One of the belts is giving out bars 10% heavier than the others, say 110g as opposed to 100g from the other 9. He needs to find out which one and fix the problem. However, he can only use the weighing scales once. How does he do it?

Spoiler:
    Put one bar from belt one on, two from belt two, three from belt three, etc up to belt 10.
    That will be 55 bars (which would be 5500g with problem fixed). Now take a reading. If its 10g more than this, belt one is the issue, 30g more then belt three is the issue, 70g more then belt seven is the issue, etc

Oh that's very clever :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

A manager of a factory has 10 conveyor belts churning out chocolate bars. One of the belts is giving out bars 10% heavier than the others, say 110g as opposed to 100g from the other 9. He needs to find out which one and fix the problem. However, he can only use the weighing scales once. How does he do it?

Take 1 bar from belt 1, 2 from belt 2, 3 from belt 3 etc.
    Weigh them all.

If the total is over by 10g its belt 1, 20g its belt 2, etc

(assuming a proper bar is 100 and heavier one is 110)

edit - damn you newport, got in before me *shakes fist*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Princess ??

The word is princes, but I'll give it to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Sindri wrote: »
    What is in the middle yet the highest, but it's opposite is the same?

Something to do with midday and midnight?

The big hand on a clock at midday and midnight?

Anyway...I like this one......

3 lads shared a house. One morning, one of them gets up. All there is to eat in the house are some sausages. So, he eats half the sausages AND half a sausage. Then he leaves. The next guy gets up. He eats half of the remaining sausages AND half a sausage. Then he leaves. The last guy gets up and eats half of the remaining sausages AND half a sausage. Then he leaves.
    The third guy finished the sausages. There were no half sausages to begin with. None left at the end.
    There were no half sausages left between guys eating.
    How many sausages were there in the beginning?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

who knocked?
    A woman

I'll be pedantic and say he could also have been sitting beside the door and knocked on it himself.

Funkfield wrote: »

3 lads shared a house. One morning, one of them gets up. All there is to eat in the house are some sausages. So, he eats half the sausages AND half a sausage. Then he leaves. The next guy gets up. He eats half of the remaining sausages AND half a sausage. Then he leaves. The last guy gets up and eats half of the remaining sausages AND half a sausage. Then he leaves.
    The third guy finished the sausages. There were no half sausages to begin with. None left at the end.

3 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

I'll be pedantic and say he could also have been sitting beside the door and knocked on it himself.

he could also have gone mad as a result of being the last man on earth... and thought he heard a knock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Irish Wolf wrote: »

We have a winner.

You win a cigarette tree and a lemonade spring.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭phil1nj

You have three cups of coffee and 14 sugar cubes. You must put an odd number of (whole) sugar cubes in to each cup (and each cup must get sugar put in to it and all sugar cubes must be used). What's the answer?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Ficheall wrote: »
    Correct, now tell us why......

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭funnilenough

what do you get hanging from Orange trees?

Sore arms ?

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

phil1nj wrote: »
    Correct, now tell us why......

You put the cubes of sugar in in this order

first cup 3 cubes
    second cup 1 cube
    third cup 1 cube
    first cup (again) 9 cubes

You said must be an odd number put in, you didnt say total number must be odd.

Sorry for hijacking the 'why' there but he got there before me with the right answer :p

AEDIC wrote: »
    You put the cubes of sugar in in this order

first cup 3 cubes
    second cup 1 cube
    third cup 1 cube
    first cup (again) 9 cubes

You said must be an odd number put in, you didnt say total number must be odd.

Sorry for hijacking the 'why' there but he got there before me with the right answer :p

You got the right answer, but the wrong reasoning.

The correct answer is as follows:

You put one cube in the first cup.
    You put one cube in the second cup.
    And you put 12 cubes in the third cup.........

because...............

12 is a very odd number of sugar cubes to put in anyones cup of coffee/tea :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Who was the last black man to ride a derby winner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

You sit on but you can't take it with you.

How many bears would Bear Grylls grill if Bear Grylls could grill bears?

How tall is Les Ferdinand? (Internet ruined that one)

Ghandee wrote: »
    Who was the last black man to ride a derby winner?

Not really a brian teaser (and I think I remember the answer from secondary school which for me was a loooooong time ago) but would that be Lester Piggot's cell mate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    You sit on but you can't take it with you.
    )

Money ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Lollers wrote: »
    Money ?

It's in the Goldeneye film. A clue to one of Boris' codes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    It's in the Goldeneye film. A clue to one of Boris' codes.

Chair

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭shortie_chik

Senna wrote: »
    What gets longer when pulled, fits between boobs, inserts neatly in a hole, and works best when jerked?

seatbelt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

What can you hold in your right hand but not in your left hand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Your left hand

phil1nj wrote: »
    Not really a brian teaser (and I think I remember the answer from secondary school which for me was a loooooong time ago) but would that be Lester Piggot's cell mate?

Oh good, are we teasing Brian? Jeez, I hate that guy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 363 ✭✭FishBowel

How High is a Chinaman.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Fenians?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

FishBowel wrote: »
    How High is a Chinaman.

How Low is his wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,821 ✭✭✭phill106

who knocked?

never mind that, why was the door closed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Twas noon and midnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭citrus burst

Put 1 bar from the first machine, 2 from the second, 3 from the 3rd.....10 from the 10th. The weight will be a multiple of whatever machine is broke. Eg the weight will be 5.570 kg if machine 7 is broke, 5.550 kg if machine 5 is broke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Rename this the 'what am i thinking' thread, please.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Lippy C

If it takes a man a week to walk a mile how long does it take the same man to make a tweed waistcoat for an elephant???

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Lippy C

If you are stood on the edge of a cliff where were you when you jumped??