Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pathway into Actuarial Science (Postgrad)

Options
  • 07-05-2012 11:04pm

I'm in my late twenties and I'm interested in studying Actuarial Science. I enjoyed maths in school and was good at it, but after leaving school I did a BA Hons degree in a different area, and came out with a 2.1. I don't have any quantative background through my degree, and I'm wondering if there is a pathway into the profession for people in my position.

There are three postgraduate courses in Actuarial Science at UCD; a Grad Dip, a H Dip and a MSc. According to the website, a quantative background is expected for admission to each of these courses, but for the Grad Dip and the MSc it states that "we will however consider applications from prospective students who do not meet these entry requirements provided they can demonstrate an ability and commitment to study actuarial science."

I'm just wondering if anyone here has some experience of these courses, and can advise if I have a chance of getting into one of them (presumably the Grad Dip) somehow? I've also looked into the possibility of doing the H Dip in Statistics as preparation, but that course also seems to require a quantative background.

Any comments or advice would be much appreciated. Thanks :)

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

The big secret about most post grads in any discipline is that most will accept anyone from any background (within reason) provided you can pay. Post grad's are pure profit.