Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Antisocial behaviour Perth

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Nedbroy wrote: »
    Great post, agree with everything you said - a positive attitude and taking an interest in Australian culture while you're here will get you far. My boss is a huge AFL fan - told him I'd love to see a game sometime. This morning he gave me 2 spare tickets to the Dockers game on Sunday \o/

We also got the blessed invitation to the traditional Aussie barbeque from another workmate and met loads of really cool people there, proper salt of the earth aussies - one leading to a new job for himself

Before we came here people told us to join a GAA club to make contacts - I have to say I don't agree. Get out of the backpacker holes and meet the locals - they are the ones who open doors, not just job wise but in the sense of experiencing the real Australia.

As regards the 'how you going?/what's the craic?' whatever you do don't use the word root as a verb. For example I told a work colleague I had been 'rooting around' lokoing for a certain file - got a very funny look! It means something very different over here as the long timers will know! :o

On topic Northbridge at night definately is a problem. I haven't been since Paddy's day and probably wouldn't go back if you paid me. It is a shame if Aussies think that's who we are.

On a sidenote here the bouncers here are total a$$es - I've seen them be ridiculously heavy handed - three guys wrestling a guy in a club to the floor because he was a bit stumbly. There's no need for that either.

Ned to be honest Aussies can be hard work at first, it took me about 6 months to crack that nut as the humor is very different. But once you are with the program its invaluable, networking is the name of the game here it's not what you know but who you know.

Funny story mate of my brother came over a few years ago and spent a few months looking for a job around Sydney, applied for loads of jobs in the Tele , echo etc plus he went to all the usual spots around Cock n Bull, Tea Gardens, PJ ' O Briens asking for jobs. Was the usual story everyone was in the same boat looking work, anyway he phoned me up and asked me could I help him out. I took pity on him and give him about 5 phone numbers of friends of mine and told him to phone up and ask work himself, anyway never heard anything about it until I bumped into him at the Paddys day parade a week later and he told me he was ready to go home and some of his friends already pulled the plug. I asked him did he phone the numbers I give him and he said that he phoned 4 of them (all Irish) and they had no work and when he phoned the 5th some Aussie guy answered it so he hung up. I asked him why did he hang up and he said that he felt he had a better chance of getting a job with a Paddy rather than an Aussie. I told him not to be silly and phone Mick straight away as he was a good bloke and ask him for a job, so he phones Mick asks is there any work going Mick asks all the usual questions who are you? who do you know? what can you do? and Bingo he gets a job as a fabricator.

Its easy to sit in the comfort zone of the parish but its incestuous nature is rather limiting when there are only so many Irish companies and an endless supply of Paddies looking to work them.

Also on the bouncers I fully agree, but you know the old chestnut when you pay Peanuts you get Monkeys. Its the same story the world over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Jaysus, some of you are talking about Aussies as if they are the Master race, and the humble silly inferior Paddy should be oh so privileged to get invited to some afternoon of steaks cooking on a BBQ or get accepted into their circle of friends.................
    Pat yourselves on the back there....

People are people.

The Aussie wrote: »

on a side note, ive got the 2 passports as well, gee it makes "traveling" easy, no standing in the long queue at either end of that much hated trip

No more visa hassle for me, also the Aussie Passport covers me for NZ as well which is a great bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 652 ✭✭✭jeckle

There is no easy solution to this sort of problem. The only way to curtail it would be a zero tolerance attitude & stronger police presence, even for a set amount of time until word spreads & people realise that it's not going to be tolerated.

But, even if this were possible resource-wise, the reality would probably be that people would just start going to different areas to behave in the exact same way, so at best it would be just moving the same problem to a different areas - it's the same the world over.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

seachto7 wrote: »
    Jaysus, some of you are talking about Aussies as if they are the Master race

No, the only person who compared Australians to a Nazi ideal got told to sling his hook and rightfully so.
    the humble silly inferior Paddy

If thats how you want to refer to the very small percentage of Knackers who are acting the maggot in Perth, work away. After all thats what the Thread title is about

@The Aussie. There are a few comments from lads who seem to be delighted that "Look, I am friends with Australians" and "this is what you must do to befriend the locals". It's hardly a big deal......

I can imagine an Aborigine telling his mates that he got accepted by the "locals" and invited to a BBQ, he's on the way up in the world!!

It's just being cute and networking and not being an ass to all people, be it Irish, Aussie, Indian, Kiwi etc

• Registered Users Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

lol

@The Aussie,

ah you know what I mean, Irish lads posting here with an inferiority complex almost, as if they are inferior to the Aussies or something and have achieved something in life by getting invited to chuck a shrimp on the barbie. That's the impression I get off some of the posts anyways....

Yeh i know where your sort of coming from, real life stories and experiences are a good step from up from generalizations though for me

@The Aussie. Just to clarify. I have great time for the Aussies. I'm related to some of them!! I dunno, when I was over there, I didn't think "ok, I need to do this, this and this and I'll be right". I just was myself, and didn't play up to stereotypes, even when I got ribbed about it. e.g. "why aren't you drunk?" etc.
    I think I kind of tried to blend in where possible.....From my experience, I find the Aussies,and people in general, will accept you if you are not a c**t.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,963 ✭✭✭✭listermint

catbear wrote: »
    In my best Joe Duffy voice...
    "and they forced you to post on that thread, go on, go on. Heartless, heartless. Forced you, you say, go on, go on."

No i posted because of all the distasteful rubbish that is being posted from all view points and the fact that the widespread and complete cast generalisations that are being expressed by longterm and large post users are being allowed.

To be brutally honest, i would expect more from some of the posters here. I really would because some i have a high opinion of.

But it just goes to show lazy ignorant attitudes are rampant.

Theres a debate for you. Lets all race to the bottom in lazy ignorance....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

@The Aussie,

ah you know what I mean, Irish lads posting here with an inferiority complex almost, as if they are inferior to the Aussies or something and have achieved something in life by getting invited to chuck a shrimp on the barbie. That's the impression I get off some of the posts anyways....

Good post. It's not actually an achievement to make a few Aussie aquaintances at all. (how many of these people are actually real friends?) I've been to tons of BBQ's and stuff. Good fun, but you'd swear it's the best thing since sliced bread the way some of you go on.

listermint wrote: »
    No i posted because of all the distasteful rubbish that is being posted from all view points and the fact that the widespread and complete cast generalisations that are being expressed by longterm and large post users are being allowed.

To be brutally honest, i would expect more from some of the posters here. I really would because some i have a high opinion of.

Irish are all messy drunks
    English are all rowdy houligans
    Americans are all fat
    Australians are all tank-top wearing macho heads
    Brazilians are all thieves
    Indians are all scammers
    French are all snobs
    Swiss are all boring
    Japanese are all shy and unconfident
    Russians are all cold
    Iraqis are all terrorists

Here's some generalisations for you guys seen as you love to get out the wide paint brush so often and portray that hollier than thou attitude. :rolleyes:

04072511 wrote: »
    It's not actually an achievement to make a few Aussie aquaintances at all. (how many of these people are actually real friends?)

Just a enquiry, why dont you think you can turn Aquaintances into Friends and where would the basic problem start?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

@The Aussie. Just to clarify. I have great time for the Aussies. I'm related to some of them!! I dunno, when I was over there, I didn't think "ok, I need to do this, this and this and I'll be right". I just was myself, and didn't play up to stereotypes, even when I got ribbed about it. e.g. "why aren't you drunk?" etc.
    I think I kind of tried to blend in where possible.....From my experience, I find the Aussies,and people in general, will accept you if you are not a c**t.

Spot on. I really think some people believe the whole "everyone loves the Irish" bs and expect to accepted and even revered here just for being a Paddy. Most Aussies don't give a fook where you are from and really just take you at face value. In my experience I find them very welcoming and easy to get on with for most part.

Did people come here expecting everyone to love them and be nice to them? Grow up ffs ! Aus is same as every country I have ever been to, sure there are lots of w@nkers but mostly people are nice if you make the effort to be nice to them. I don't go out of my way to avoid Irish or meet true blue Aussies but neither did I move to the other side of the planet just to recreate the parish and surround myself with comforts of home.

I live on north side of Melbourne and have witnessed practically zero bad behaviour from backpackers here. I have a few Irish neighbours and they keep to themselves and cause no trouble. I have noticed the odd Irish accent in local pubs etc but again, never saw any trouble. If you decide to live/socialise only in Bond or St. Kilda or Northbridge then more power to you but don't be surprised when locals in those suburbs form a negative stereotype of you, many waves of p!sshead bellends have gone before you to create this perception.

jackbhoy wrote: »
    Spot on. I really think some people believe the whole "everyone loves the Irish" bs and expect to accepted and even revered here just for being a Paddy. Most Aussies don't give a fook where you are from and really just take you at face value. In my experience I find them very welcoming and easy to get on with for most part.

Did people come here expecting everyone to love them and be nice to them? Grow up ffs ! Aus is same as every country I have ever been to, sure there are lots of w@nkers but mostly people are nice if you make the effort to be nice to them. I don't go out of my way to avoid Irish or meet true blue Aussies but neither did I move to the other side of the planet just to recreate the parish and surround myself with comforts of home.

I live on north side of Melbourne and have witnessed practically zero bad behaviour from backpackers here. I have a few Irish neighbours and they keep to themselves and cause no trouble. I have noticed the odd Irish accent in local pubs etc but again, never saw any trouble. If you decide to live/socialise only in Bond or St. Kilda or Northbridge then more power to you but don't be surprised when locals in those suburbs form a negative stereotype of you, many waves of p!sshead bellends have gone before you to create this perception.

You hit the nail on the head, you are right Jackbhoy on all points.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Would just like to point out that there are plenty of muppets from Ireland who are on 457s also, and even on PRs. More large brushstrokes. This letter should be reminding all Irish people, WHV or otherwise.

There is no evidence what so ever that those who are sponsored or on a PR visa from Ireland are going around trashing the place. The evidence that I have seen is that people on a WHV are far more likely to take to Australia as a drinking holiday and piss off in 12 months time or less when the money runs out. That is not to say that all WHV holders are muppets or that all other Irish are angels, only that I can guarantee you that the vast vast majority of people who are wrecking the gaff will be on a WHV. I dont think this can be disputed. If this hurts your sensibilities then tough.
    I agree with your post here. This is far more productive than moralistic moaning on a messageboard. If each of you wrote a letter and sent them off to the Irish ambassador, local parliament representative etc instead of whingeing here then maybe it could result in more of a positive outcome.

So will you go and write this letter Jank, or is it all pub talk?

So you are moaning on a message board that people are moaning about muppets treating the locals of Australia like fools. At least we are not pretending to be anything else but you on the other hand seem to have gotten on some high horse about this. Oh the irony.

The person doing the most moaning in this thread is you.

jank wrote: »
    There is no evidence what so ever that those who are sponsored or on a PR visa from Ireland are going around trashing the place. The evidence that I have seen is that people on a WHV are far more likely to take to Australia as a drinking holiday and piss off in 12 months time or less when the money runs out. That is not to say that all WHV holders are muppets or that all other Irish are angels, only that I can guarantee you that the vast vast majority of people who are wrecking the gaff will be on a WHV. I dont think this can be disputed. If this hurts your sensibilities then tough.

So you are moaning on a message board that people are moaning about muppets treating the locals of Australia like fools. At least we are not pretending to be anything else but you on the other hand seem to have gotten on some high horse about this. Oh the irony.

The person doing the most moaning in this thread is you.

So have you done anything productive about this yet? Have you done up a first draft of that letter yet? Or have you made some notes on what your are going to write? Or is it all just talk on an internet forum which will lead to nothing, except identical moaning on a similar thread in 6 months time? If you feel so strongly, do something now to help prevent that thread in 6 months time.

If you are not prepared to think of a solution and actively get involved in stopping these clowns ruining your reputation, then this thread is nothing more than an excuse to vent.

No, I'm the one suggesting action to all the moaners here. I'm not moaning about any of this myself. As I have said these idiots dont impact on my life and I have received no negativity here because of my nationality. But lots of people here feel hurt and appalled by what about 1% of Irish people here are doing, so my advice to all of you, quit moaning and do something about of it.

Yes, Sir.
    No-Moaning.jpg

Yes, Sir.
    No-Moaning.jpg

I said I'm not moaning about any of this stuff about the scanger backpackers. I didn't say I wasn't moaning in general. I'm moaning about you lot moaning without actually doing anything. :)

For those who think this isn't an Irish bashing thread, open you eyes. It's funny how the minority of not only Irish in Australia, but also Irish WHV's bring out so much hatred in people about things from back home. It's a typical Irish trait. We love a good moan. It reminds me of all the idiots who hate Bono and U2 because they haven't paid tax in Ireland the last few years, overlooking of course the fact that the amount of money they have brought into the country directly and indirectly over the years would be about a couple of hundred times more than what they are apparantly "robbing" or the Irish people. It's all moan moan moan about everything. The amount of threads on here every time some Irish clown does something embarrassing is ridiculous. You can count on one hand the amont of threads here dedicated to the Irish people doing good in Australia. You like to focus on negative. Good lads.

Come here, I have been very consistent in regards people here bashing Ireland, saying its the worst place in the world etc.etc.etc. I have been 100% consistent on that but this is apples and oranges. You are going the other extreme entirely, trying to excuse a bunch of assholes who give the rest of us a bad name all in the name of... i actually don't know, fairness? or not having a moan? U must be a total idealist.
    As regards bono and U2, well I have been down that road as other posters will tell you.

First
    I said I'm not moaning about any of this stuff about the scanger backpackers. I didn't say I wasn't moaning in general. I'm moaning about you lot moaning without actually doing anything. :)

Then this
    No, I'm the one suggesting action to all the moaners here. I'm not moaning about any of this myself. As I have said these idiots dont impact on my life and I have received no negativity here because of my nationality. But lots of people here feel hurt and appalled by what about 1% of Irish people here are doing, so my advice to all of you, quit moaning and do something about of it.

and this..
    Well try do something positive that shows off our nation, people, culture in a positive light instead of just hiding away among the masses. It is quite clear that many people are stupid in this world, and they are willing to make generalisations based on the minority of d1ckheads that exist in a race/nationality. The media doesn’t report good news. That doesn’t sell papers. They only care about the bad. If people base their opinions on Irish people on this then they are not very intelligent, and I have no interest in engaging with such people. If you are so hurt by the Irish reputation apparently being damaged, then get out there and make us look good. Do something positive. Make people say “wow, that Irish guy is a great lad. I’d love to visit Ireland and meet more people like that”. Moaning here, and doing nothing constructive doesn’t solve anything. ACTIONS.

And this..

<snip>Mod No need for these please</snip>

So have you done anything productive about this yet? Have you done up a first draft of that letter yet? Or have you made some notes on what your are going to write? Or is it all just talk on an internet forum which will lead to nothing, except identical moaning on a similar thread in 6 months time? If you feel so strongly, do something now to help prevent that thread in 6 months time.

If you are not prepared to think of a solution and actively get involved in stopping these clowns ruining your reputation, then this thread is nothing more than an excuse to vent.

I'm waiting for you, Mr Action.

listermint wrote: »

LOL, seriously. Ignorant is ignoring these assholes and letting them get away with it. Calling them out on it is not. You must not know the meaning of the word.

I'm waiting for you, Mr Action.

You are the one so bothered by all of this. You sort it out. I don't feel my reputation tarnished by a bunch of scangers in localised areas. But you do clearly, so do something about it. All talk, no action.

LOL, seriously. Ignorant is ignoring these assholes and letting them get away with it. Calling them out on it is not. You must not know the meaning of the word.

No, ignorance is making sweeping generalisations about a race or nationality based on a few idiots. That is what is happening in this thread. And so many people are worried about Australian people doing likewise. Would you really want to associate youself with somebody so stupid and ignorant to tar 6 million people with the one brush based on a few clowns in Northbridge. I wouldn't anyway.

Brazilians are all thieves, out to get your cash at every opportunity. What do you think about that generalisation?

Have you any proof of this? I'm sure not all Brazilians are like this.......... the ones I have met definitely were not.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Mod Okay Jank, 04... enough about who's gonna action what, if you two don't stop bickering I'm sure the banning stick will come out.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Have you any proof of this? I'm sure not all Brazilians are like this.......... the ones I have met definitely were not.

That's my point. They are not like this at all. But some people like to tar them all with that brush based on the fact that some people engage in petty crime in Rio. This is no different to what people are doing on this thread with Irish people.

some people?

The only one who mentioned Brazilians in this thread is you, so it seems that in your warped mind all Brazilians are thieves. I cant recall anyone else stating Brazilians are thieves.

Although you were blaming 457'ers & PR yesterday and Aussies the day before of antisocial behavior so I suppose blaming Brazilians on thieving makes perfect sense today. :confused: