Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McClean gets "death threats" over Republic call

• 08-05-2012 1:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Sunderland star James McClean gets death threats on Twitter after Republic of Ireland call-up

Death threats have been directed at former Northern Ireland U-21 footballer James McClean following his selection to play for the Republic at the Euro 2012 finals next month.

Two of the messages directed at him on Twitter threatened to have him shot and also contained sectarian abuse.

The winger, who plays for Sunderland in the Premier League, discovered yesterday that Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni had included him in the squad.

McClean, now 23, has been subjected to abuse from scores of unhappy Northern Ireland fans since he declared for the Republic, having been brought through the ranks by the Irish FA.

He has previously only been capped once at senior level for the Republic as a substitute, but following a stunning six months on Wearside was tipped for Euro 2012 success by Sunderland boss Martin O’Neill.

O’Neill himself had a very successful career as a Northern Ireland international. The Sunderland winger took to Twitter yesterday to share his joy regarding the squad selection with his 49,000 online followers.

He said: “Absolutely honoured and couldn't be happier to have been called up to represent my country at the euros no better feelin! #COYBIG #ireland #euro12”

This was met with messages of congratulations, but also some posts that were full of sectarian abuse and threats to kill.

One Twitter user, with the account ‘RobbieLittle@PotKettleBlack3’, posted: “F*** up your dirty fenian b****** il make sure you get shot when you set foot back into gods country #FTP.”

Another using the name ‘James W Magee@JamesWMagee07’ posted: “U deserve to be shot for that comment!! Your playing for Ireland and not the country you were born in (NI). #p****”

Both messages have since been deleted.

McClean, who carries an Irish passport and identifies himself on Twitter as a ‘Irish professional footballer’ made a general response following the hate-filled abuse.

He said: “Love the dogs abuse am gettin of shock N.I fans, just worry about watchin ur own country at the euros... oh wait #mybad #awkward haha.”

It’s not the first time a prominent Catholic player has been targeted for sectarian abuse and death threats by so-called Northern Ireland fans.

Celtic manager Neil Lennon was singled out for abuse from bigots after joining the Glasgow club as a player, despite turning out for the side on 40 occasions.

He retired from international football in 2002 following a death threat before Northern Ireland played Cyprus, after he made comments that he would like to play for an all-Ireland team.

Lennon was later targeted with parcel bombs by bigots in Scotland.

Last month McClean, who made seven appearances for Northern Ireland’s U-21 team while at Derry City, told Sunday Life he felt uncomfortable playing at international level for the underage teams.

He said: “You’re looking around as a Catholic and seeing all the Union Jacks and listening to the songs the fans sing and I just didn't feel at home at all,” he explained.

“Even in the squads I felt like a bit of an outsider. There weren’t too many Catholics, it just didn’t feel right.”

Fellow Londonderry native Darron Gibson also found out yesterday that he had been selected for the Republic’s squad.

Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/sunderland-star-james-mcclean-gets-death-threats-on-twitter-after-republic-of-ireland-callup-16155463.html#ixzz1uHiRe8f2

That's pretty horrible but I have to say McClean is not exactly doing himself any favours by staying on twitter and typing goading texts either. O'Niell needs to have a stronger word with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Football vs politics/religion, part 125346...:(

Will that madness ever end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Aquila wrote: »
    Imagine if they amalgamated both NI and the Republic similar to the Rugby team:eek:

Or... imagine if we just took their best players instead down south. Easier that way. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

"McLean gets death threat from fat 15 year old and 23 year old living in his parent's basement"

I'm sure he's worried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

I love the smell of embittered Norn Iron fans in the morning.

Maybe one day they'll qualify for a major tournament again. (Probably when the WC is expanded to 128 teams and the EC to 48 teams).

Who'll be next on the conveyer belt to declare for Ireland from 'God's own country' I wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

"Love the dogs' abuse am gettin off shock N.I fans, just worry about watchin ur own country at the euros... oh wait #mybad #awkward haha."

that wouldnt have helped

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

"McLean gets death threat from fat 15 year old and 23 year old living in his parent's basement"

:D Probably.

Only thing is the North has it's fair share of psychos too that would have no hesitation giving you a hiding if they just thought you were catholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I thought we were all friends now:D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

As I said before, he's better off not responding to these people. It looks unprofessional and you never know when you'll get some nutjob who'll try to follow through with a threat.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I have 15 followers on twitter and I get death threats. Everyone on twitter gets threats. Hopefully he doesn't play on xbox live, he'll need 24 hour police protection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Can see why NI supporters and officials are annoyed. It's obviously JMC's choice to make (and more power to him) but it must be very galling (in general) to bring players up through the system to lose them at senior level to another association.

The sectarian crap is depressing and par for the course - probably kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,422 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

stovelid wrote: »
    Can see why NI supporters and officials are annoyed. It's obviously JMC's choice to make (and more power to him) but it must be very galling (in general) to bring players up through the system to lose them at senior level to another association.

You'd hope so but couldn't be certain unfortunately.

McClean should try and do all his talking on the pitch though imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,174 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Doesnt this happen to league of ireland also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Have death threats ever actually been followed though with? I know the odd bullet gets sent in the post and I think a few mail bombs have been intercepted, but has there ever been a high profile sportsman/woman actually harmed or indeed killed? In or relating to Northern Ireland / sectarianism etc., I know players have been murdered elsewhere in the world alright.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,617 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

The fear that Catholic NI players have for playing for NI is what is scarring them away. If the fans left politics/religion out of it, maybe more would be willing to stay and play, as oppose to having to leave from being so uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,358 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

If their manager, Nigel Worthington, had maybe of made the effort to go to the Brandywell once to see how well James was playing, and maybe actually gave him a cap early, he might have ended up plying for NI.

Instead a player who they couldn't be arsed driving 70 miles to watch, declared for another country and is going to the Euros.

They should be issuing death threats to Nigel.

listermint wrote: »
    Doesnt this happen to league of ireland also?

I think you're thinking of the transfer market.

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭Cokeistan

I must admit I lol'd at the tweet calling N.I. "God's own Country".....lol

NIMAN wrote: »
    If their manager, Nigel Worthington, had maybe of made the effort to go to the Brandywell once to see how well James was playing, and maybe actually gave him a cap early, he might have ended up plying for NI. l.

Nigel wouldn't have been the greatest fan of the LOI, shall we say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭overshoot

Nigel wouldn't have been the greatest fan of the LOI, shall we say.
    yea it was amazing how quickly a certain already capped keeper got a recal the second he left shamrock rovers... didnt even have a chance to play for his new club!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Fenix

I'm a catholic born and living in Northern Ireland and honestly from a very young age (I'm now 27) N Ireland games and Windsor park in general were a no go area. I've supported the Republic of Ireland all my life and that won't change. It's completely understandable why he's declared for RoI however his comments show a lack of maturity and honestly he's opened himself up now for a lot of abuse in the future.

There are still plenty of small minded idiots up here (on both sides) that spoil it for everyone, I just hope that in a few generations time most of the biterness will be gone and extremists will be a very small minority. Naive, probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,986 ✭✭✭mikeym

The Good Friday Agreement States that you can call yourself British or Irish if your living in Northern Ireland.

This further damages the reputation of the Northern Ireland supporters abroad!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

antodeco wrote: »
    The fear that Catholic NI players have for playing for NI is what is scarring them away. If the fans left politics/religion out of it, maybe more would be willing to stay and play, as oppose to having to leave from being so uncomfortable.
    I agree with that completely and the fact that they would be representing a team whose flag and anthem they do not recognise as their own, and if what McClean says is right being made to feel like an outsider. One can understand exactly why Nationalists from the North choose to represent the Republic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Do NI have much chance of qualifying for the Euro's in the future with it increasing to 24 teams? Might shut a few of them muppets up...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

I think McClean has finally closed his twitter account. Says user does not exist?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

They gave Neil Lennon death threats for playing and now they're giving McClean death threats for not playing. Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,449 ✭✭✭✭briany

mikeym wrote: »
    The Good Friday Agreement States that you can call yourself British or Irish if your living in Northern Ireland.

This further damages the reputation of the Northern Ireland supporters abroad!

People there were calling themselves Irish or British long before the Good Friday Agreement but what the GFA did was bring about a mutual recognition of the right of people to identify as Irish/British/both and hold citizenships attesting to that. I think most sensible people will know that the vast majority of N.I. fans are decent people who just want to see their team do well and yes they'll be galled when they see a promising young catholic player declare for the other side but it's nothing that would force them into making bigoted threats.

"McClean in death threat scare" makes for a good tabloid style headline but it's really a non story and only promotes division. Headlines such as "God Save the Queen politely applauded by majority of fans at the Aviva stadium" or " IFA plans new anti sectarian initiative" don't grab people the same way, sadly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I have 15 followers on twitter and I get death threats. Everyone on twitter gets threats. Hopefully he doesn't play on xbox live, he'll need 24 hour police protection.

He should also not post videos on you tube. Truly the internet's Bedlam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

cournioni wrote: »
    I agree with that completely and the fact that they would be representing a team whose flag and anthem they do not recognise as their own, and if what McClean says is right being made to feel like an outsider. One can understand exactly why Nationalists from the North choose to represent the Republic.

That is a fair point

But

How come he managed to play 7 times as a U21 for NI if he felt like such and outsider.

I feel that there is a certain amount of opportunism involved with guys from NI declaring for the ROI after being capped at U21.

I may be wrong but I doubt McClean would be as eager to hold out for an ROI cap if we were in the middle of the Stan era at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

It wouldn't be hard for the police to track the people making the threats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,972 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

NIMAN wrote: »
    If their manager, Nigel Worthington, had maybe of made the effort to go to the Brandywell once to see how well James was playing, and maybe actually gave him a cap early, he might have ended up plying for NI.

Instead a player who they couldn't be arsed driving 70 miles to watch, declared for another country and is going to the Euros.

They should be issuing death threats to Nigel.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

He's closed his twitter account, probably for the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Not doing himself any favors, just as well he closed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Have death threats ever actually been followed though with? I know the odd bullet gets sent in the post and I think a few mail bombs have been intercepted, but has there ever been a high profile sportsman/woman actually harmed or indeed killed? In or relating to Northern Ireland / sectarianism etc., I know players have been murdered elsewhere in the world alright.

Neil Lennon was assaulted a number of times including being kicked unconscious by a couple of lads.

While threats are a common thing for Northern Catholics to deal with unfortunately there are nutters who are only too happy to follow up on them too.

Thank feck Nordys have the option of declaring for Ireland now, like someone else said they hate you if you do play and they hate you if you dont play. Untill the IFA make strides into making Norn Iron a team for all communities rather than the current Unionist orientated set up they can say goodbye to a fair few Catholics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,449 ✭✭✭✭briany

That is a fair point

But

How come he managed to play 7 times as a U21 for NI if he felt like such and outsider.

I feel that there is a certain amount of opportunism involved with guys from NI declaring for the ROI after being capped at U21.

I may be wrong but I doubt McClean would be as eager to hold out for an ROI cap if we were in the middle of the Stan era at the moment.

That's what I always say when the nationalistic card is played in discussions on declaration. Sure, it plays it's role but these players are also sportsmen and want to play in big games in big tournaments and it's the bigger factor but players cannot say they did it for the potential glory because they'll sound like a bandwagoner or a sell out. It's kind of the elephant in the room as far as expressed motivations go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

briany wrote: »
    That's what I always say when the nationalistic card is played in discussions on declaration. Sure, it plays it's role but these players are also sportsmen and want to play in big games in big tournaments and it's the bigger factor but players cannot say they did it for the potential glory because they'll sound like a bandwagoner or a sell out. It's kind of the elephant in the room as far as expressed motivations go.

And there are some fine examples from the past also

Back in the early 1980s the likes of Martin O' Neill could have played for the Republic (a parent or grandparent born on the island prior to 1922) but chose to play with the then successful NI

In the early 1990s both McAteer and Alan Kernaghan played for the then successful Republic on the basis that they had a parent or grandparent born on the island (NI in both cases) prior to 1922.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Bloody loyalist bigots, will they ever go away, what a curse to this Island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,436 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Paparazzo wrote: »

This made me :pac:.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

McLean should take O'Neills advice and get off Twitter. I imagine the death threats and abuse aren't nice to recieve but his comment back at them was stupid, not doing himself any favours at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Didnt this start ages ago when he first declared for the Republic. We all know the hatred from some NI fans towards the Republic and more so towards Republicans born in the North. He is damned if he declares for NI and damned if he declares for the ROI. These bigots will always find fault. Just look at the grief their previous captain Neil Lennon received and is still receiving. McClean should not respond to this sort of stuff for his own safety and that of his family's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

His responses let him down, I dislike him for it now tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Bunch of keyboard warriors and I bet ya they couldn't say that to his face in person.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    Bunch of keyboard warriors and I bet ya they couldn't say that to his face in person.

I'll fight any man who slags off James McClean.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

To be expected unfortunately, too many idiots with access to Twitter. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Paul4As

bobmalooka wrote: »

Thank feck Nordys have the option of declaring for Ireland now, like someone else said they hate you if you do play and they hate you if you dont play. Untill the IFA make strides into making Norn Iron a team for all communities rather than the current Unionist orientated set up they can say goodbye to a fair few Catholics.

The IFA have made plenty of strides.
    As someone who lives in the Republic who attends all of Norn Iron's home games (since 2004)...I can vouch for that one.
    I have no opinion on James McClean affair...besides get yourself off Twitter James and stop making a fool of yourself replying to eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

He's now off Twitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Why would any catholic player declare for northern ireland when all they get is abuse. He is better off playing for the country he identifies with. He is more than welcome here.

Besides Northern Ireland will most likely never qualify for a major competition again :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Paul4As wrote: »
    I have no opinion on James McClean affair...besides get yourself off Twitter James and stop making a fool of yourself replying to eejits.

Comical. You have no opinion, but you do. You reckon he should get off Twitter. That's your opinion on the whole matter - that McClean should get off Twitter.

How about the idiots sending him messages? You've no opinion on them?

Why am I not surprised..... :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Pfff i thought his tweets were hilarious, you get stick you give it. I find fans way too precious; the nasty footballer made fun of me. He's not only better at football than me, but he's also funnier. Oh i'm so annoyed.

Well played Jimmy.