Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Former FG CLLR up on corruption charges

• Registered Users Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

If the alleged briber cannot be named in public, why should the unfortunate Forsey be jailed at all?

There is nothing unfortunate about a man that pockets 80,000 euro in corrupt payments.

A conviction rarely happens but in this case justice was served.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭Wider Road

raymon wrote: »

If the alleged briber cannot be named in public, why should the unfortunate Forsey be jailed at all?

There is nothing unfortunate about a man that pockets 80,000 euro in corrupt payments.

A conviction rarely happens but in this case justice was served.

Justice was served but it is unlikely to be served again anytime soon, thanks to Minister Hogan.
    Why?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Wider Road wrote: »
    Justice was served but it is unlikely to be served again anytime soon, thanks to Minister Hogan.
    Why?

Agreed. The real reason that Forsey was convicted was because of a scorned woman, his wife. Hell hath no fury and all that. Hogan has put a lid on it alright, a total disgrace, to cover up or protect FG, as IMO there would be thousands of such cases, the ones who took bribes and the developers who bribed. I would bet that there is not a County Council in Ireland that is totally clean.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

An appropriate consequence for taking bribes. As well as jail time he should be hit with a fine of 100,000e (80,000 for the bribes he took and 20,000 as penalty)

How much should Lowry be fined for both bribes & penalties in your opinion?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

How much should Lowry be fined for both bribes & penalties in your opinion?

He should be prosecuted and if found guilty in court he should be jailed for what I would think would be a longer period that Forsey and required to pay 5/4 of the amount he took in bribes (so that's pay back monies given to him plus a quarter more as penalty for taking money)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

He should be prosecuted and if found guilty in court he should be jailed for what I would think would be a longer period that Forsey and required to pay 5/4 of the amount he took in bribes (so that's pay back monies given to him plus a quarter more as penalty for taking money)

I agree Laminations , but who will be brave enough to report him to the Gardai with real evidence?????

raymon wrote: »

I agree Laminations , but who will be brave enough to report him to the Gardai with real evidence?????

Also, who will be brave enough to report the councillors around the country? Only for Forsey's marriage break-up, that case may never have come to light. That case should force Phil Hogan into a rethink.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Also, who will be brave enough to report the councillors around the country? Only for Forsey's marriage break-up, that case may never have come to light. That case should force Phil Hogan into a rethink.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Indeed that appears to be the case. Now that FG are in power it does not want to grasp the many nettles or deal with the corrosive corrupt culture that is/has been part of Irish life. We see the likes of the Quinns getting special treatment, Lowry and O'Brien and the mobile phone licence. Nobody yet brought to book over the Anglo Irish scandal and all the other matters.

Hogan can pretend all he likes, but voters now know that he does not do what it says on the tin, just a weak imitation with no substance. We deserve the politicians we get and look where we are now, lol.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,533 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

rodento wrote: »

Ha, I wouldn't hold by breath waiting for some decisive action from Kenny if I were you.

He knew about the Forsey corruption allegations, yet did not act upon them.

Enda Kenny was told about bribes in 2007
    Taoiseach Enda Kenny and senior Fine Gael figures were made aware of corruption allegations surrounding the Fred Forsey case as early as 2007, yet failed to act.

Waterford TD John Deasy brought the matter to the attention of his party leader and other colleagues during a meeting which was also attended by current party chairman Charles Flanagan.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Ah Waterford FG in the spotlight again.

Cllr Keoghan was a former Labour member who joined the FG ranks on Tramore Town council. Cllr Power is on the same council and also on the county council. The same Cllrs recently blocked one of their FG colleagues being elected as Mayor of Tramore because she had voted for the rezoning of the land in question. They "made a stand" on the issue at that meeting by not voting, which wasn't expected. This letter appears to be a follow up.

Why did John & Co not follow up on the notification about the corruption and make a big deal of it when it wasn't followed up the party? Why raise the issue with the media now and send in a letter so long after? Suppose the timing is good - strike while the media are interested.

Cllr Power has spoken out publicly against An Bord Plenala over plans that the council gave the green light for but the Bord refused it on appeal. An Bord Plenala have a mind of their own and will make a call either way based on both sides of the argument, the facts and so on. They don't refuse planning for the craic or just because a group of people are opposed. So, based on the principals the councilors are rightfully applying in theory - they shouldn't stand for re-election and shouldn't look for the position of Mayor.

Eg;
    http://www.munster-express.ie/local-news/an-bord-pleanala-rejects-aldi%E2%80%99s-tramore-proposal/

http://www.waterford-news.ie/news/cwsnidcwql/

http://www.munster-express.ie/letters-to-the-editor/a-project-was-that-was-never-viable/

A sample of our councilors making a stand against the higher planning authority in Ireland who dismissed the councils acceptance of various developments in Tramore.