Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

50 Reasons to Visit Galway

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Do your own there fishy and we can all have a good nose at the work you put in then.

ah, I already gave you 11 to start with.......someone else can carry it on. surely you don't want me to do ALL the work for ye. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,161 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Lapin wrote: »
    Here are my top 50 reasons to visit Galway.
    (In no particular order of preference).

1, The Crane Bar
    2, Massimos
    3, The Old Forge
    4, The Blue Note
    5, Bierhaus
    6, Cottage Bar
    7, College Bar
    8, Lonergan's
    9, River Inn
    10, McAlinden's
    11, e Brún Bar
    12, Galway Arms
    13, The Dew Drop Inn
    14, Taaffe's
    15, Murphy's
    16, The Spanish Arch Bar
    17, Murty Rabbitt's
    18, An Púcán
    19, The Skeff
    20, Fox's Porterhouse
    21, The Wheel House
    22, The Quays
    23, Western Hotel Bar
    24, Richardsons
    25, Fibbers
    26, Paddy's on Prospect Hill (or whatever its called this week !)
    27, Crowe's
    28, The King's Head
    29, Ther Salt House
    30, McGuire's Bar
    31, Menlo Park
    32, Blake's Tavern
    33, Hughes's Bar
    34, Garavan's
    35, The Central Bar
    36, Goalpost
    37, McSwiggan's
    38, Cullinane's
    39, Garvey's
    40, The Dáil Bar
    41, Freeney's
    42, The Office
    42, Krcma
    44, The Bal
    45, O'Connor's
    46, Lohan's
    47, Killoran's
    48, Oslo
    49, Seagan Ua Neactain
    50, O'Connell's
    Surprised you didnt include more pubs Lapin :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Occupy Galway ?????? WTF
    a reason to Visit Galway ???

You did leave out Running along the Prom and Feeding the swans in the Cladagh :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Some great items in the list a few you could add though would be.

If Christopher Columbus visited here before finding the States its worth a visit, god knows what you'll find after your visit.

The fields of Athenry....You've heard of them in song now see them for yourself

The Lynching window.. a great place to hang out ba-dum-tish

The Kings Head not many pubs that celebrate the fact they beheaded a king.

The Saturday market.. many great food stuffs to ease the hangover from the night before.

They used to say to hell or to Connaught, see what we made of their hell. Proof the Irish can have a good time any where.

Kylemore Abbey... once the school of wealthy girls from around the world. But while the girls are no longer resident its still a spot of beauty.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 sword of light

A Labour TD??
    Cuba nightclub??

Might as well add "the wonderful atmosphere in Terryland" in there, and post it to a couple of years ago, where these these belong.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,966 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

1, The Crane Bar
    2, Massimos
    3, The Old Forge
    4, The Blue Note
    5, Bierhaus
    6, Cottage Bar
    7, College Bar
    8, Lonergan's
    9, River Inn
    10, McAlinden's
    11, e Brún Bar
    12, Galway Arms
    13, The Dew Drop Inn
    14, Taaffe's
    15, Murphy's
    16, The Spanish Arch Bar
    17, Murty Rabbitt's
    18, An Púcán
    19, The Skeff
    20, Fox's Porterhouse
    21, The Wheel House
    22, The Quays
    23, Western Hotel Bar
    24, Richardsons
    25, Fibbers
    27, Crowe's
    28, The King's Head
    29, Ther Salt House
    30, McGuire's Bar
    31, Menlo Park
    32, Blake's Tavern
    33, Hughes's Bar
    34, Garavan's
    35, The Central Bar
    36, Goalpost
    37, McSwiggan's
    38, Cullinane's
    39, Garvey's
    40, The Dáil Bar
    41, Freeney's
    42, The Office
    42, Krcma
    44, The Bal
    45, O'Connor's
    46, Lohan's
    47, Killoran's
    48, Oslo
    49, Seagan Ua Neactain
    50, O'Connell's

Copy and pasted from?

fyi, the pub formerly known as the Wheel House (and before that MT Pockets) was the Galway Shawl for a while and is now the Merry Fiddler. The Cullinanes near McSwiggans is gone, though there's still one in Salthill I believe. Blakes Tavern is gone too, I think. And maybe more.

But I like your general theme.

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

JustMary wrote: »
    Copy and pasted from?

fyi, the pub formerly known as the Wheel House (and before that MT Pockets) was the Galway Shawl for a while and is now the Merry Fiddler. The Cullinanes near McSwiggans is gone, though there's still one in Salthill I believe. Blakes Tavern is gone too, I think. And maybe more.

But I like your general theme.

Ya, Cullinane's in Salthill is Trends.

Also, Blake's Tavern and McGuires are long gone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭harrythehat

A Labour TD??
    Cuba nightclub??

Might as well add "the wonderful atmosphere in Terryland" in there, and post it to a couple of years ago, where these these belong.

That could be a valid criticism, due to this ol' recession i haven't lived at home since mid-2009!

:eek::eek: are you FROM Galway, or just a visitor. also, hasn't Cuba been closed for the last two to three years.

I'm from rural Galway. I've always gone to Monroe's for trad. As I mentioned in the post, Cuba has [I believe] opened up under new management!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

JustMary wrote: »
    The Cullinanes near McSwiggans is gone.

Whats there now? I haven't been down that side of town in yonks.
    soundbyte wrote: »
    Ya, Cullinane's in Salthill is Trends.
    Yep, the only pub in Galway where you wipe your feet on the way out. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Robmeister2011

Strange, I read the same thing and I'm currently working on 99 reasons. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Daisy78

some of my favourites........

the Saturday Market....the best market in the country..

Goya's or La Petit Delice for treats...

Twice as Nice for jewellery....

coffee in ard bia watching the swans sail by outside your window....heaven..:D

Strange, I read the same thing and I'm currently working on 99 reasons. :P

Love that - can't wait to read them!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭ArtyC

1, The Crane Bar
    2, Massimos
    3, The Old Forge
    4, The Blue Note
    5, Bierhaus
    6, Cottage Bar
    7, College Bar
    8, Lonergan's
    9, River Inn
    10, McAlinden's
    11, e Brún Bar
    12, Galway Arms
    13, The Dew Drop Inn
    14, Taaffe's
    15, Murphy's
    16, The Spanish Arch Bar
    17, Murty Rabbitt's
    18, An Púcán
    19, The Skeff
    20, Fox's Porterhouse
    21, The Wheel House
    22, The Quays
    23, Western Hotel Bar
    24, Richardsons
    25, Fibbers
    27, Crowe's
    28, The King's Head
    29, Ther Salt House
    30, McGuire's Bar
    31, Menlo Park
    32, Blake's Tavern
    33, Hughes's Bar
    34, Garavan's
    35, The Central Bar
    36, Goalpost
    37, McSwiggan's
    38, Cullinane's
    39, Garvey's
    40, The Dáil Bar
    41, Freeney's
    42, The Office
    42, Krcma
    44, The Bal
    45, O'Connor's
    46, Lohan's
    47, Killoran's
    48, Oslo
    49, Seagan Ua Neactain
    50, O'Connell's

The central bar?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I made my own list:

http://thecityfathers.com/2012/05/12/what-i-miss-about-galway/

It's a little less pub oriented. More a list of what I miss about Galway and I'm somebody who got completely burned out by the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

kayos wrote: »
    The fields of Athenry....You've heard of them in song now see them for yourself

You're really sending them to a field?!

Terry: Right. So, er... So where can we meet?
    Anywhere we can get a few good shots? Any local landmarks?
    Fr. Ted: No.
    Terry: What?
    Fr. Ted: There are no landmarks here now.
    Terry: None at all?
    Fr. Ted: No, the island itself is a kind of landmark. For ships and that.
    Head away from it and you're going in the right direction.
    Terry: So, uh...
    Fr. Ted: There's the field.

Terry: Oh, a field. Well, that sounds...
    Fr. Ted: It's not a field, really, but it has less rocks than most places.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    It's a little less pub oriented. More a list of what I miss about Galway and I'm somebody who got completely burned out by the place.

Fair play.

I only had 3 pubs on mine though!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Wompa1 wrote: »
    I made my own list:

http://thecityfathers.com/2012/05/12/what-i-miss-about-galway/

Burned out by the place?
    You got sick of us or we took such a toll you had to leave?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Burned out by the place?
    You got sick of us or we took such a toll you had to leave?

It's a small town. I felt like going somewhere where I didn't know anybody and everything was new. Also to have a more progressive work environment. Ever hear the term in Galway. "The Graveyard of Ambition". My last year there I was living in Salthill and working out in Ballybrit. There were days that I spent over 2 hours commuting. Reading about the clowns in the city council and seeing them around town feck arsin around was a bit disheartening. Most of my neighbours the last 3 years were pot heads that stayed at home all day getting high. Felt like I wanted a change. When I worked overtime and my employers actually bothered to pay me for it, it was a kick in the balls getting taxed out the ass for the work especially when you know there's so many useless f'ks around the town. Galway is unique in that the unemployment level was very high back in 2006 before the recession, I know many people there that choose the dole as a lifestyle choice. So I wanted a break

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭ladhrann

Where did you go/ any chance of a start?