Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

South County GC Closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,307 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Gambino wrote: »
    The strategy (and hope) was that South County would outlast some others and benefit from the newly created market for members. In effect, we were buying time and needed the members' support to see this through.
    The situation (and strategy) was explained to anyone who would listen.

Lovely people, and some of them may be coming to a club near you.

If you regard wishing failure upon other clubs as a strategy I certainly hope you are not one of the members who comes our way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭vikingdub

Speaking as an ordinary member (fully paid up) let me try to clarify according to my understanding of the situation;
    The number of unpaid subscriptions was closer to 120. in addition a large number didn't pay in full last year either.
    The club had secured the support of the bank but this was conditional on maintaining membership and income. The bank - like everyone else - knew that the over supply of clubs would result in closures. The strategy (and hope) was that South County would outlast some others and benefit from the newly created market for members. In effect, we were buying time and needed the members' support to see this through.
    The situation (and strategy) was explained to anyone who would listen. Unfortunately many would not and went further - the sabotage bit - by spreading allegations of plots and conspiracies as well as organising both subscription boycotts and departures to other clubs.
    At the root of much of it is a virulent strain of feuds, factions and the sort of tacky club politics that infect every club to some degree. Alas, we didn't have the antidote.
    The members killed the club. Be in no doubt of that. And some of them are already looking at how they can kill what might come next.

Based on the content of your posts you are unable or unwilling to accept that you and the group that you support were, if not the major cause, certainly contributors to the "feuds and factions" you refer to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I feel for the lads who lost money and the genuine lads there.

But, this thread is like a Jeffrey Archer novel at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭Russman

But surely if feuds and politics etc were largely to blame then both sides are at fault. If people have a grievance (real or imagined) that was enough to make them join elsewhere, the powers that be should have tried to resolve the issues. Maybe this was tried, I don't know. But a board or committee is being very foolish if they're arrogant enough to a) ignore issues like that, b) take the position that "we're right and fcuk 'em",or c) assume any club has a divine right to stay in business just because.

Remember, the members are the club, and if they're not happy, then what's the point ?

SC were waiting for other clubs to fail before they did, had that happened no doubt a similar debate would be going on about that club and the causes of its demise. It unfortunate for all concerned, but SCGC didn't have a right to outlast anyone any more than any other club does.

It's easy to blame members not re joining, but that to me is the symptom not the cause. Why did they not re join would have been the issue a few months ago. If it was economic circumstances, then you can't "blame" someone for that, there are bigger things in life than SCGC when it comes to, say, someone losing their job. If there are other reasons then perhaps the board need to look at themselves and the running of the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 eagleleyes

Speaking as an ordinary member (fully paid up) let me try to clarify according to my understanding of the situation;
    The number of unpaid subscriptions was closer to 120. in addition a large number didn't pay in full last year either.
    The club had secured the support of the bank but this was conditional on maintaining membership and income. The bank - like everyone else - knew that the over supply of clubs would result in closures. The strategy (and hope) was that South County would outlast some others and benefit from the newly created market for members. In effect, we were buying time and needed the members' support to see this through.
    The situation (and strategy) was explained to anyone who would listen. Unfortunately many would not and went further - the sabotage bit - by spreading allegations of plots and conspiracies as well as organising both subscription boycotts and departures to other clubs.
    At the root of much of it is a virulent strain of feuds, factions and the sort of tacky club politics that infect every club to some degree. Alas, we didn't have the antidote.
    The members killed the club. Be in no doubt of that. And some of them are already looking at how they can kill what might come next.

I just figured it out Gombeeno, you're a woman! And I know which one you are! Only a woman would carry on with the diatribes and ridiculous arguments you have been venting on this thread for the past three days! Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned..............except the people that screwed both you and I over are the very people you are trying to defend. Makes you wonder why??? As I said yesterday, Gombeeno doth protest too much! Oh and Gombeeno, have you actually taken the time to listen to any of the members that walked before this fiasco actually took place? Did you ever consider that they might have have very valid financial reasons for their decisions and left a Club that they saw themselves being members of for a long time? Did you take the time to find out that some of them were even struggling to pay their own home utilities? I have over the last few days and let me tell you, if you were in their shoes you might just have had to make the same choice too. Not everyone might have the same financial security that you obviously appear to have. Walk a mile in my shoes and all that before you start judging people for their actions. Have a conscience and stop with the smug, self satisfied attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭ProV

Speaking as an ordinary member (fully paid up)
    The strategy (and hope) was that South County would outlast some others and benefit from the newly created market for members. In effect, we were buying time and needed the members' support to see this through.

Disgraceful comments Gambino, anybody that loves there golf would not "hope" that other clubs would fold. All the courses in the area have a unique selling point and are all trying to survive ! be it Hazel Grove with lovely views of the city and a solid / Strong if small membership.
    Or Slade Valley : excellent facility's and two cracking new holes.
    Or Dublin Mountain, great location and well run club.

Always liked the members from South County we met in inter club comp's ( very competitive and decent golfers) and to say they "killed the Club" is Nasty in the extreme.
    Market forces and the bubble burst has killed the club, not the members ! ! !

Russman wrote: »
    But surely if feuds and politics etc were largely to blame then both sides are at fault. If people have a grievance (real or imagined) that was enough to make them join elsewhere, the powers that be should have tried to resolve the issues. Maybe this was tried, I don't know. But a board or committee is being very foolish if they're arrogant enough to a) ignore issues like that, b) take the position that "we're right and fcuk 'em",or c) assume any club has a divine right to stay in business just because.

Remember, the members are the club, and if they're not happy, then what's the point ?

SC were waiting for other clubs to fail before they did, had that happened no doubt a similar debate would be going on about that club and the causes of its demise. It unfortunate for all concerned, but SCGC didn't have a right to outlast anyone any more than any other club does.

It's easy to blame members not re joining, but that to me is the symptom not the cause. Why did they not re join would have been the issue a few months ago. If it was economic circumstances, then you can't "blame" someone for that, there are bigger things in life than SCGC when it comes to, say, someone losing their job. If there are other reasons then perhaps the board need to look at themselves and the running of the club.

A number of members were experiencing financial difficulties and tried to negotiate with the Board but were dismissed out of hand, some received letters from the Board threatening them with a debt collection agency if they did not pay up.

eagleleyes wrote: »
    I just figured it out Gombeeno, you're a woman! And I know which one you are! Only a woman would carry on with the diatribes and ridiculous arguments you have been venting on this thread for the past three days! Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned..............except the people that screwed both you and I over are the very people you are trying to defend. Makes you wonder why??? As I said yesterday, Gombeeno doth protest too much! Oh and Gombeeno, have you actually taken the time to listen to any of the members that walked before this fiasco actually took place? Did you ever consider that they might have have very valid financial reasons for their decisions and left a Club that they saw themselves being members of for a long time? Did you take the time to find out that some of them were even struggling to pay their own home utilities? I have over the last few days and let me tell you, if you were in their shoes you might just have had to make the same choice too. Not everyone might have the same financial security that you obviously appear to have. Walk a mile in my shoes and all that before you start judging people for their actions. Have a conscience and stop with the smug, self satisfied attitude.

Jesus.

Told ya , Jefery Archer or Scooby Doo.

It was the woman. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

vikingdub wrote: »
    Russman wrote: »

A number of members were experiencing financial difficulties and tried to negotiate with the Board but were dismissed out of hand, some received letters from the Board threatening them with a debt collection agency if they did not pay up.
    Other members were also told that if they did decide to leave they would be required to sell their share back to the board for €1 or face being barred from ever setting foot on the course again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I bet they wish they took that 1 euro now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

ForeRight wrote: »
    I don't think it was the €1 that was the issue in fairness.

Other members were also told that if they did decide to leave they would be required to sell their share back to the board for €1 or face being barred from ever setting foot on the course again.

In the past the favoured few were not alone allowed to lease their memberships but were provided with assistance in doing so. That option was refused as was the suggestion that the subs be offset against the loan that they had given to the club.

I don't think it was the €1 that was the issue in fairness.

Sarcasm is lost in this thread.

Everybody is on edge and too busy entertaining goombeeno!

I guess it is one of those that it is no laughing matter.

But, the power struggle on this thread explains why there is not a chance the place would have worked. Too many egos, and that is saying something coming from me.

Got it in one ForeRight! Gombeeno's pretty much the only one with the bad attitude here and still managing to do a piss poor job of the PR for the Board! It will all come out in the wash anyway. The people really responsible for running the club into the ground can run but they can't hide forever.

Look too much going on for an outsider to get past all this.

But did 120 people not pay subs ?

If that is the case , it looks like a bluff was called in cards. They lost, they closed the club.

I believe he was brought to hospital Wednesday night. No idea what was his condition.

Has this been confirmed or is is just a rumour?

I believe he was brought to hospital Wednesday night. No idea what was his condition.

Has this been confirmed or is is just a rumour?

Confirmed.

Confirmed.

He went home yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

I guess it is one of those that it is no laughing matter.

But, the power struggle on this thread explains why there is not a chance the place would have worked. Too many egos, and that is saying something coming from me.
    Let's face it. All clubs have their pr1cks.

Confirmed.

He went home yesterday.
    Is he in form for visitors?

Do you want to send him back?:)

I wouldn't know, was talking to a couple of lads today who told me. Unfortunately I'm just a Joe Soap that none of the Board or committee for that matter ever took the time to have a game with or tried to get to know.

Ah no I'd say he would be delighted to meet me again. I will never forget the smiles on him and Diskin like Cheshire cats when I was giving them my subs.

I wouldn't know, was talking to a couple of lads today who told me. Unfortunately I'm just a Joe Soap that none of the Board or committee for that matter ever took the time to have a game with or tried to get to know.
    No way. Did you not get your welcome cuddles that Diskin promised either?

Im sensing some real feelings of love here! Diskin to be fair was only a puppet for the rest of them. Any idiot could see that. Sure I even heard today he was the one going around telling everyone, off the record of course, who had done deals last year! FFS I could have joined Mount Juliet last year for less than I paid to SC but in fairness, the course was magnificent. Just a shame about the pricks running it!

Agree with you there, he is out of a job now and to be fair to him he was always civil and spoke to all members. Regardless of how we feel about the reduced subs for new members, without Diskin there would not have been a lot fewer new members.

He hardly covered himself in glory when the locks were getting changed Tuesday evening and Raymie says how will we get in in the morning? Oh don't worry says he there will be someone here to let you in. Look to be fair he was only doing his job I suppose. What he was getting paid for and that was get new members. He was lead by the board but when the game was up he should of had the guts to blow the whistle. He was ****ed either way.

Ah no I'd say he would be delighted to meet me again. I will never forget the smiles on him and Diskin like Cheshire cats when I was giving them my subs.

I doubt he was slumming it in tallaght hospital anyway.

Probably holed up in the beacon with 24 hr Garda presence on his door :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,510 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Can't sleep, read all 36 pages, sad sad situation, feel sorry for the employees and frustrated members with subs paid. Just coming into the core golfing season and all. :(

I'll be paying my subs next year by DD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

Just came upon this forum after seeing the piece in The Business Post. Have played the course a few times but have no ties. All I can say it is a shame to see such division among a group who should be united in trying to keep the club running. As an outside observer I would think too much has been said to achieve the unanimity that is so badly needed. The Macreddin guys have somehow managed to keep their course open by getting on with making sure that they stayed focussed on that purpose. Many lost a lot of money, got over it and got on with it. The naysayers and the uncommitted just moved on.

I would proffer that a new club made up of those able to leave the past in the past is the only hope.

Sadly SDGC is but one of many clubs in such dire straits.

Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Pedro D

Just came upon this forum after seeing the piece in The Business Post. Have played the course a few times but have no ties. All I can say it is a shame to see such division among a group who should be united in trying to keep the club running. As an outside observer I would think too much has been said to achieve the unanimity that is so badly needed. The Macreddin guys have somehow managed to keep their course open by getting on with making sure that they stayed focussed on that purpose. Many lost a lot of money, got over it and got on with it. The naysayers and the uncommitted just moved on.

I would proffer that a new club made up of those able to leave the past in the past is the only hope.

Peter
    A new club will be formed called south county 2012 member run with pk at Raymies desk taking the cash. It should succeed as the payment terms would be cash or dd for yr 1 & 2 before any confidence is restored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Just in!

The Men's and Ladies Committees will convene a meeting for all members and shareholders next Wednesday.

Both Committees are meeting on Monday to discuss various issues and some options for a way forward.  We will inform members of the time and location of the Wednesday in due course.

Just for clarification, we are aware that the landlords are sending out emails on their behalf, informing members of updates in relation to the golf course.  We want to inform members that any emails from the landlords do no represent the Men's and Ladies committees.  The Men's and Ladies committees will be looking at all options on the table including any proposal from the landlords.  It is the committees view that the interests of the members and shareholders will be best served by acting as a group and that is why we will be convening a meeting on Wednesday.  All other meetings arranged by landlords and/or other members while potentially welcome do not represent the official views of the Men's and Ladies committees.

We hope to see as many members as possible at the Wednesday meeting we are organising and at that stage we will hopefully be in a position to clarify options from various quarters including offers from other clubs and any proposals the current landlords would like us to consider.

Michael Moore, Captain Men's Club 2012
    Sheelagh Stubbs, Lady Captain 2012
    The Men's and Ladies Committees will convene a meeting for all members and shareholders next Wednesday.

Both Committees are meeting on Monday to discuss various issues and some options for a way forward.  We will inform members of the time and location of the Wednesday in due course.

Just for clarification, we are aware that the landlords are sending out emails on their behalf, informing members of updates in relation to the golf course.  We want to inform members that any emails from the landlords do no represent the Men's and Ladies committees.  The Men's and Ladies committees will be looking at all options on the table including any proposal from the landlords.  It is the committees view that the interests of the members and shareholders will be best served by acting as a group and that is why we will be convening a meeting on Wednesday.  All other meetings arranged by landlords and/or other members while potentially welcome do not represent the official views of the Men's and Ladies committees.

We hope to see as many members as possible at the Wednesday meeting we are organising and at that stage we will hopefully be in a position to clarify options from various quarters including offers from other clubs and any proposals the current landlords would like us to consider.

I doubt he was slumming it in tallaght hospital anyway.

Probably holed up in the beacon with 24 hr Garda presence on his door :)

Well if he has been discharged we can safely assume it was not a heart attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Unglika Norse

Peter

Sad about South County especially on those guys who recently joined or had just paid their subs, but that's what can happpen in propriorty clubs unfortunatley.

Is McReddin not gone into liquidation again or at least that is their status in the cro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 frost53

Peter
    < Hi Peter, Macreddin is in Nama, and is kept alive by suckling at the taxpayers breast. Same with Tulfarris, K Club, Moyvalley, Carton, Bunclody etc etc etc>>> SC didn't owe enough to get in Nama.

BTW some posts too personal..don't have to be Sherlock Holmes to figure out who some of the posters are.

Peter

The members have already been down that road, lent money to keep the club going and gave freely of their time and expertise to get the club back on a sound footing.

Many will not be in financial position to sink more money into the club having been treated in this manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 fennetec

My but we are a bit prickley. And I though Ronan was supposed to be the big ego tripper in this circus tent. If you want to take credit in calling for a meeting, be my guest. As for the "unofficial" bit, I think Pat just meant preliminary or initial notice of a meeting. I don't think he would claim to be a wordsmith.

And even if the meeting was your idea, Pat is still the one people will be coming to hear.

Well thank God that he is not coming to hear you. I have no problem with Pat putting his case across, as I have said, about ten times now, he was encouraged to do so. And for the last time, I did not call the meeting for my ego, I called it for the people I brought into the bar on Thursday week and more or less was responsible for them handing over a years advanced membership. If Pat wants to become an overnight golf course owner he is not going to become one unless he extends some effort to restore the trust in SCGC that these people had when they paid their money. He is not going to do that by asking them for money to play the course this week and he should have been prepared to take a hit from those who had just paid in advance. If there had been a notice on the Eviction Room (Raymie Burns Shop) placed by Pat or the Board that there was even the slightest intention of calling a meeting I would not have had to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Gambino

Yes, I thought my last contribution would go down well. I'm not wishing bad luck on any clubs, but if they get some of the sh*t stirrers that ruined South County as new members, then I fear for them.

Good luck to you all - but don't use up all your bullets shooting us messengers. You will need some for your other foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 frost53

:pac::pac:
    Yes, I thought my last contribution would go down well. I'm not wishing bad luck on any clubs, but if they get some of the sh*t stirrers that ruined South County as new members, then I fear for them.

Good luck to you all - but don't use up all your bullets shooting us messengers. You will need some for your other foot.

Cut it out, Jimmy

scubapro wrote: »
    Just in!

Both Committees are meeting on Monday to discuss various issues and some options for a way forward. We will inform members of the time and location of the Wednesday in due course.

Just for clarification, we are aware that the landlords are sending out emails on their behalf, informing members of updates in relation to the golf course. We want to inform members that any emails from the landlords do no represent the Men's and Ladies committees. The Men's and Ladies committees will be looking at all options on the table including any proposal from the landlords. It is the committees view that the interests of the members and shareholders will be best served by acting as a group and that is why we will be convening a meeting on Wednesday. All other meetings arranged by landlords and/or other members while potentially welcome do not represent the official views of the Men's and Ladies committees.

Both Committees are meeting on Monday to discuss various issues and some options for a way forward. We will inform members of the time and location of the Wednesday in due course.

Just for clarification, we are aware that the landlords are sending out emails on their behalf, informing members of updates in relation to the golf course. We want to inform members that any emails from the landlords do no represent the Men's and Ladies committees. The Men's and Ladies committees will be looking at all options on the table including any proposal from the landlords. It is the committees view that the interests of the members and shareholders will be best served by acting as a group and that is why we will be convening a meeting on Wednesday. All other meetings arranged by landlords and/or other members while potentially welcome do not represent the official views of the Men's and Ladies committees.

This is a welcome email I have just received right now. Accordingly I am withdrawing Avon Ri as a venue for the meeting that was to be held on Tuesday as this meeting being arranged by the Ladies and Mens captains will ensure that all members interests can be discussed and no matter what is decided we can decide together. This will be the first step in the members putting together a proposal for the landowner as opposed to the landowner putting together a proposal for the members. Avon Ri, Blessington, will not be available for any meeting on Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭shamco

Found yesterday that the landlord now owns parcels of land that belonged to shareholders. Apparently a previous board gave these away. What I would like to know is what we got in return and why werent the shareholders not consulted.

frost53 wrote: »

BTW some posts too personal..don't have to be Sherlock Holmes to figure out who some of the posters are.
    Can you elaborate on this statement? You say this as if furious staff, paid up members and shareholders should feel guilty by posting their feelings here. I can't speak for everyone here but I intend to tell every single one of these **** what I think of them when I see them.

Some posters here seem to think there is a divide at SCGC which will hinder a recovery. Well let me tell you. We all have one thing in common. Our golf club has been swept from under our feet and there is people who are accountable and will be found out. Most have been. Once we cleanse the club and make sure they never step foot near the place again we will get the club back where it belongs.

May I just add that this mornings email from Michael and Sheelagh is the very first step in progress since the text last Wednesday morning. I welcome it and an looking forward to it. Will be far more constructive than Pat Kavanagh's proposed meeting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

frost53 wrote: »
    :pac::pac:

Cut it out, Jimmy

Is it Jimmy or EH????

fennetec wrote: »
    scubapro wrote: »
    Just in!

This is a welcome email I have just received right now. Accordingly I am withdrawing Avon Ri as a venue for the meeting that was to be held on Tuesday as this meeting being arranged by the Ladies and Mens captains will ensure that all members interests can be discussed and no matter what is decided we can decide together. This will be the first step in the members putting together a proposal for the landowner as opposed to the landowner putting together a proposal for the members. Avon Ri, Blessington, will not be available for any meeting on Tuesday.
    I think you should read the last paragraph of Michael's email again.

I think you should read who the email is from again.

OK, Michael and Sheelagh.

It's things like that which do you no favours in this thread. To dismiss the lady captain like that tells its own story. I have you down to 2 people now.

What would you do? I'll guess. The likes of you would walk in and kiss his ass and have no bargaining tool, the only one being that if PK did not accept your offer you would move somewhere else - which it is becoming apparant by the post that this is what you should do.

Meeting for Tuesday is cancelled - the members shall decide and not some gombeen or landlord.

It's things like that which do you no favours in this thread. To dismiss the lady captain like that tells its own story. I have you down to 2 people now.
    It was an oversight. Allright Alrite?