Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Vidal Sassoon RIP

• 09-05-2012 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭

Source

Celebrity hairdresser Vidal Sassoon has died at his home in Los Angeles, aged 84.

A police spokesman said officers went to the stylist's home on Wednesday morning to confirm the death. He said Sassoon had died of natural causes.

Sassoon is regarded as one of the best-known hairdressers of his generation.

He is credited with revolutionising haircuts in the 1960s, and developed a popular line of hair products under his name.

Had to dye sometime......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

'tis a cruel world.

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

hair today gone tomorrow. RIP.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭mightdomighty

Wash and go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

toodleytoo wrote: »

Damn you, just about to post that!!

<Shakes fist>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Cut off in his prime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Thought the OP was being melodramatic about going bald.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Dyed too young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Biggins wrote: »
    Cut off in his prime.

84 is not a prime number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Because you're worth it......

Ah whatever - all those shampoos are the same to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Side Parting is such sweet sorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I thought he was a shampoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Leaving sa soon Vidal?

RichieC wrote: »
    I thought he was a shampoo.

He cleaned up his act also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

He was Head & Shoulders above the rest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

toodleytoo wrote: »
    Wash and go
    amdublin wrote: »
    Dyed too young

Too Sassoon for all these terrible puns :o

irish-stew wrote: »
    Damn you, just about to post that!!

<Shakes fist>

You're just not cutting edge anymore irish-stew :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Eglinton

Vidal Sassoon has donated his body to scientific research.

Take good care of him Laboratoire Garnier!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,513 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I preferred Siegfried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Did he just curl up and dye?

Ah feck it, I robbed that from the shop. Not even my own. I wanted to post the hair today one but someone got there first and another would have posted it anyway before me.

The man was simply a cut above the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

I guess you could almost say he was found in his home !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Did he go out with a bangs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

This will surely send shockwaves across the world....

I suppose you could nearly say, he was a hairdresser ! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Game Over Comb Over

I guess you could almost say he was found in his home !
    I suppose you could nearly say, he was a hairdresser ! !
    Maybe you should emphasize another word? :D

A stitch in time saves nine !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Bla.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Poor man.
    Loved by so many as he always gelled well with everyone.
    A man of true style.
    I could wax lyrical about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Pantene feet under RIP :(:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Such a sad parting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

R.I.P. Vidal

I was treated like a v.i.p. whenever I had my hair done at his salons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

RIP Gore Vidal :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

This is so short back and sides:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

The funeral will be open casket... But you can only see his head and shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

Jaysus, I just hope there will be, No more tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭eskimocat

I watched a couple of minutes of Only Fools and Horses today and there was Del Boy selling a hair styling item, as endorsed by 'Vi-dal Sosoon'..and later heard the news the great man himself was dead... a bit of a co-inkadink ... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

is this a new Rinse-In Pomade or something..

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭SpatialPlanning

His funeral will be huge. Everyone will want toupee their respects.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Puns aside: it's pretty impressive that he spent his teenage years running around London getting involved in street brawls with Oswald Mosley's blackshirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i heard he was very annoying

he kept getting in people's hair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

i'd go to his funeral but im washing my hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

His wish was to be cremated....He'll be Dead and Smoulder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

His funeral is due to be televised. It won't be live, it'll just be the highlights :p

kfallon wrote: »
    His funeral is due to be televised. It won't be live, it'll just be the highlights :p

Aw, Very clever. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Bullchomper

Off to meet St. Peter marks

he was never on the fringe of society

its so cutting

(I'm so late in on this... and cringing)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i love puns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

so what Viddal Sassoon dyed... lots of hairdressers dyed before and lots will be dyeing for years to come