Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

facebook and firearms

• 10-05-2012 7:06am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭

Im just curious to know the lads that use facebook do you display pictures of your firearms on your facebook page?

• Registered Users Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

God no! The photo thread here isn't too bad as the majority of those looking are shooters that use boards on a regular basis. Also, the fact that it's username-based makes it a lot harder for would-be gun thieves to know where to look. But putting them on facebook! No feckin way!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

Definitely a bad idea for security reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Yeah, all my friends know i shoot anyway. Iv no problem with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I have no problem with it. I have my security set that no one can see them unless they are my friend and most if not all my friends know I shoot anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Mike87

I had one or two on bebo years ago, but I wasnt long taking them down when I saw what happened the brother.

Basically he had a few pictures of himself with the rifle. THey where on his account for over a year and there was never any problems.

Then one day he had a disagreement with some guy on bebo. It was something very petty and the brother just told him to "f@ck off and not annoy him" there was nothing threatening in it.

A week or two went by and the guards came to the house and took all his guns and told him his licences were been revoked.

The asshole told the guards that he couldnt sleep at night and a whole bunch of other sh1te that everybody knew was lies. Even the guards said they were on my brothers side (they read the bebo conversation) but said that the law was on the guys side and they were sorry but there was nothing they could do.

So the brother had to go to court to get his licences back and when he finally got them back there was a load of restrictions on them. He could only have 50 rounds for the rifle at any given time. He lost his silencer. He wasnt allowed to shoot after 7pm or before 10am. He lost his shotgun completely because it was pump action and told if he wanted another one to get a double barrel or preferably a single barrel.

Didnt take me too long after that to get my pictures down :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

One thing about the new timeline on fb is that it has a map app and has the locations where you were or checked in etc. My home place showed up on the app so wasn't long getting rid of it off my profile.

It was ok for me with the settings set to friends only but for someone that doesn't it could be a very dangerous thing to have especially with pics of firearms on your page.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Lets have an end to the personal abuse guys. One and only warning

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

A *lot* of the international ISSF shooters are on facebook, and it provides great exposure for our sport and is a positive influence on public opinion. We can't afford TV ads, but everyone can see youtube and facebook and contribute to them.

Personally, I have a lot of photos up there with me and firearms and it doesn't bother me, because (a) I set privacy settings deliberately, and (b) I've never hidden my sport and never plan to, because I'm proud of it. My first 570 is pinned up on my cubicle wall along with a few perfect paper targets in the office, and I've always had something like that at my desk wherever I've worked; it's never been an issue, and it's always had positive effects for me. Having photos like this up on facebook isn't a bad thing in my opinion.

420210_253595771382285_100001955911497_572596_1411317225_n.jpg

Just use common sense and cop-on when posting. Scrub the geotags if you use them, scrub the serial number off the rifle if it's visible, don't photo where you keep your gunsafe or the key to the safe, that kind of (incredibly basic) thing. And if you're worried about a particular photo, just ask youself - would you put it on TV? If not, don't put it on facebook.

Which one are you in that picture.

Mike87 wrote: »
    Which one are you in that picture
    At the back of the Irish team. It's tagged on facebook so you'd know who each of us are.

Sparks wrote: »
    At the back of the Irish team. It's tagged on facebook so you'd know who each of us are.

Oh right. 3rd place thats not bad. What countries were yous competeing with?

You can't tell from the uniforms?
    (And it's a bit more than not bad - scroll to the end of that link for full details)

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭daveob007

if you intend to post your pics on bookface just set you privacy setting to friends only and never show your house,serial numbers,car reg etc,just common sense really,,why should we hide our sport anyway,we are doing nothing wrong,,be proud of it..

daveob007 wrote: »
    if you intend to post your pics on bookface just set you privacy setting to friends only and never show your house,serial numbers,car reg etc,just common sense really,,why should we hide our sport anyway,we are doing nothing wrong,,be proud of it..

I think the problem is that on those websites your "friends" are very often people that your are only somewhat friendly with in real life. More like an acquaintance. ANd honestly, as much as I love some of my acquaintances- theres one or two them that I wouldnt even trust to mind my dog nevermind show off all my guns to. Just my 2 cents.

I think you need to choose who you "friend" on facebook more carefully :D

Sparks wrote: »
    I think you need to choose who you "friend" on facebook more carefully :D

:D:D

THat was a good article by the way, I read all of it. It would be very interesting to see how the scores would even out if everyone had the same equipment. Why are you guys not getting paid to shoot full time like the rest of those guys..... recession is it.??

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

:D:D

THat was a good article by the way, I read all of it. It would be very interesting to see how the scores would even out if everyone had the same equipment. Why are you guys not getting paid to shoot full time like the rest of those guys..... recession is it.??

Mostly because the ISC is all council and no sport. They have a perverse funding structure which retrospectively grants funding which is designed to enable you to reach a given level as an extremely inadequate reward for having reached the level in the first place. Essentially, their requirements for funding you are to prove that you don't need it in the first place.

That, and the point that there were 50 million people in the UK and 4 million in Ireland even before the economy was hosed. When your taxbase is more than ten times larger, you can fund more things. As to the netherlands, well, outside of Ireland and the UK, sport is an actual career. You talk to guys like Gonci and they're professional athletes, they'll move on to be professional coaches, they usually coach in more than one sport, they charge and get paid decent wages for this; it's an entire industry that we just don't have. Here, a PE teacher is seen as the teacher who couldn't teach anything else; there, it's a job you have to have a degree to get.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

before i added pictures of my firearms i went throught my "friends" list. i was actually amazed by the amount of people i barely spoke to that were in the list. so i deleted anyone i didnt speak to at least two or three times a week.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Heres another tip, if you use a smartphone to take pics of hunting/guns etc be very careful as the EXIF file that accompanies the pic will also have GPS data with it.
    Best to use an editing package that removes the EXIF file completely before posting.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Heres another tip, if you use a smartphone to take pics of hunting/guns etc be very careful as the EXIF file that accompanies the pic will also have GPS data with it.
    Best to use an editing package that removes the EXIF file completely before posting.
    That's the geotags I mentioned above, and you can usually set your phone not to use them at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭EWQuinn

March 2011 - "Facebook is the new frontier for fraud, says Tom Clare, head of product marketing at Blue Coat, an Internet security company that does annual reports on web threats. In just this past year social networks have soared to 4th from 17th most treacherous web terrain -- behind porn and software-sharing sites, which you probably know to avoid."

I don't think guns particularly adds to the risk unless you are unwittingly giving robbers a tip like instances of people posting vacation plans. It adds another dimension of risk for which one must be situationally aware. Be careful out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Not a hope I'd put pics up on facebook, we all have friends we don't know that well,old school friends/old drinking buddys

• Registered Users Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

ive a load of my hunting/gun pics up on fb..and of me holding dead charlie,rabbits and pheasant..i dont care people knowing i own guns..if they dont like what they see its very easy unfriend me

• Registered Users Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭clivej

Lost a few 'friends' by putting up photo's of Deer I've shot. They got sick at the sight of Bambi with it's toung hanging out and a bullet hole in the head :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

clivej wrote: »
    Lost a few 'friends' by putting up photo's of Deer I've shot. They got sick at the sight of Bambi with it's toung hanging out and a bullet hole in the head :D
    Sa thing happened to me when i put up a dead fox! No great loss and i ended up deleting a load of others who had something to say about it, think i lost over 50 "friends" in one night! A few others just said they blocked my picture updates as they disnt want to see them which was fair enough