Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2012 Draft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

20 Participants
    Bounty Hunter = Zdenek Zeman in disguise?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Thanks-based voting
    Moneymaker wrote: »
    Bounty Hunter = Zdenek Zeman in disguise?

The Return of Soccer's Jedi

hmm, Jedi... Fett...Bounty Hunter... new manager of Roma... Daniele De Rossi...Signing Torres... watch this space!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

16 Participants
    Rekop dog wrote: »
    Had Andy Carroll not ruined his team with the first pick he'd have the makings of one of the best teams here, loving the midfield.

In five years time I will quote this post and we can all have a good laugh at how criminally underrated Andy was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

In five years time I will quote this post and we can all have a good laugh at how criminally underrated Andy was.

But for now....

Carroll.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Historical Euro player Wildcard
    Reus is a fanatstic player. I was wondering when someone would take him.

20 Participants
    He's tremendous value at this stage considering how early some of the other picks went. Gotze in Round 3, Reus in Round 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Maybe
    Reus is a brilliant player who can play lots of positions and still score plenty of goals. The only drawback with him is that he's still relatively unknown around these parts as not many ever watch Borussia Monchengladbach and he hasn't flourished for the national side yet.

20 Participants
    Blatter wrote: »
    Reus is a brilliant player who can play lots of positions and still score plenty of goals. The only drawback with him is that he's still relatively unknown around these parts as not many ever watch Borussia Monchengladbach and he hasn't flourished for the national side yet.

Himself, Schürrle and Draxler are the 3 secret weapons for ze Germans if they need to change things up in the Euros. Really is ridiculous how much young talent they have, even moreso then Spain imo.

Draxler's not in the squad any more. Got dropped with Cacau, Sven Bender and ter Stegen

20 Participants
    Ah, shame. He's only 18 though so his time will come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

LOL Parker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Thanks-based voting
    lads shouldnt really be talking about unpicked players tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Rekop dog wrote: »
    LOL Parker!

At Round 6 I'd think he is a good pick personally.

20 Participants
    Is The Floyd P's time up? Eager to keep this going. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Thanks-based voting
    Is The Floyd P's time up? Eager to keep this going. :p

Another hour or So I think

I'll have a look.

Floyd has until 2:54.

Thanks-based voting
    Onto to Blatter now yeah ?

Yeah, I'm picking for him by proxy, I'll do that in a mo.

How about a non-European round in the final round? Defeats the purpose I know but it could make things more interesting.

Posting in right thread.

I'm not a fan because I think 3 wildcard rounds is excessive. Historical Euro Player won the vote.

Thanks-based voting
    No way .

That'll be lucky Lloyds pick messi and ronaldo I don't think so

Also, that would make 2 wildcards and the first round all going 1-->20.

And people won't have been planning for such a wildcard.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

No thanks
    G.K. wrote: »
    I'd certainly love to be involved, but I'd want to pick that time.

Here's an updated pick list:

boardsdraft2.png

I was just gonna ask for a list since I haven't been following the draft the past few days. Nice one G.K.

Next one will come when Floyd picks so we are in order.

Which, co-incedentally, will be the half-way stage of the draft.

latestdraft.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Round Robin
    Back from Amsterdam lads! :D Did a tour through "The Ajax Experience" so no way was I overlooking Van Basten in the Historical round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Adolf Hipster

Poll-based voting
    Must say, fair play to GK for organising it and not taking part.

At least the organiser won't get banned during the draft this time :pac:

Round Robin
    Must say, fair play to GK for organising it and not taking part.

At least the organiser won't get banned during the draft this time :pac:

Want to echo this, especially considering he definitely would have won.

20 Participants
    Absolutely, grand job.

No problem - it gives me something do do, being off school and all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

No problem - it gives me something do do, being off school and all.

school, ugh, feel so old

Maybe

R. van Persie
    M. Balotelli
    Pedro R.

X

T. Kroos----J. Martinez

X
    P. Maldini
    X
    X
    X

That's how my team is shaping up. Picks starting to get a lot more difficult from here on in. Undecided whether or not to play Kroos in the deeper role just ahead of Martinez who will be holding as opposed to in the hole behind RVP, doesn't really make a difference as he's superb in both roles. Depends on who's available.

There are still quite a lot of quality players unpicked I think. Practically every country has at least one.

Round Robin

Cech
    S.Ramos--XXXX---XXXX--Clichy
    XXXXX--XXXX--X.Alonso--XXXX
    Gomez--MVB

Thanks-based voting
    There are still quite a lot of quality players unpicked I think. Practically every country has at least one.

It's trying to pick the right ones that will fit your formation properly is the hard part.

BTW, Clichy is excellent but I'd disagree that any of the previously picked LB's are not as good as him.

Lahm, Alba, Coentrao, Cole are the only ones who have gone.

Round Robin
    BTW, Clichy is excellent but I'd disagree that any of the previously picked LB's are not as good as him.

Lahm, Alba, Coentrao, Cole are the only ones who have gone.

I personally think Clichy is better than Coentrao and Alba. Maybe not Alba.

20 Participants
    Think Clichy and HBA are both excellent picks. Ben Arfa always capable of the spectacular and Clichy put in some excellent performances towards the end of the season.

Much of a muchness between Cashley and Lahm for best LB around imo. They're both a level above anyone else.

Maybe
    I would say Lahm is the best, he's an excellent defender and is almost like a winger going forward. Cole is also an excellent defender but while quite good going forward, he isn't as effective as Lahm in that respect.

20 Participants
    What should also be considered is how many good wide attackers there are in the draft. If you don't have good fullbacks you're boned.

Thanks-based voting
    Happy with that pick i am . Glen Johnson :eek:

Round Robin
    Happy with that pick i am . Glen Johnson :eek:

Good pick is Cabaye, Although he was my fallback if I missed out on the next midfielder I want. Agreed, don't think Glen Johnson was a great pick. Still better RB's available.

Anyone else really dislike having to post in this cryptic fashion to avoid giving away your plans? :pac:

Maybe
    Didn't think Glen Johnson was a bad pick at all. He's had a pretty good season for Liverpool. He's excellent going forward and has improved quite a bit defensively over the last 18 months or so.

He didn't have a great game against Belgium the other day but I don't think he was training properly before hand because of a problem with his toe. He'll be one of England's better players at the Euros imo.

Not a bad pick, but there are still several better RB's out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

I had a choice between Johnson and three others, but my next pick is completely based on who ColeTrain/LL pick, so I needed to keep space for certain countries open and anyway I don't think there's that much of a difference in quality between them, unless I completely missed someone.

There is a chance that I've over thought and over complicated the whole thing though.

That's a fair point actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Thanks-based voting
    lkadlakdjodoadjaojdojdojdoajdojdo

podkpakdpadpakdpakdpkdpadkpadkpakdpadkpadkpadkpa

**** YOU COLE :o

One pick. Ye Gods!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    lkadlakdjodoadjaojdojdojdoajdojdo

podkpakdpadpakdpakdpkdpadkpadkpakdpadkpadkpadkpa

**** YOU COLE :o

One pick. Ye Gods!!

Could be a blessing lloyd as id rate 3 guys a whole better than cabaye in rouglhy the same position