Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What to you makes the perfect "Irish Pub"

• 10-05-2012 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭

What to you makes the perfect Irish pub..

Is it the low light..?

The old crank who sits in the corner?

The pictures on the wall?

The old posters for Player or Garryowen?

Let us all know what! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

The Polish bar maid.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Wild Bill

The old guy in the corner reading the Financial Times. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

good guinness.
    a turf or wood fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭Feisar

Decent/friendly bartender, good drinks and sound patrons.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

Wild Bill wrote: »
    The old guy in the corner reading the Financial Times. :cool:

Thats you isn't it.. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

No poxy.television.
    And that includes during football matches.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

in ireland .... one that gives free booze.

abroad ....decent crowd, cheap booze, Irish Staff, plenty smiles.

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

Over priced drinks & 10 times more men then women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

no I wont give you information so that you can open another lame offshore irish pub

do your own research :mad:

IM0 wrote: »
    no I wont give you information so that you can make another lame offshore irish pub

How did you know my evil plan :(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

There is a pub near me back home and it must be the perfect Irish pub! They NEVER let you pay for a drink there, they bring you free food, and if you want, you can go into the back room and get laid for free!
    Actually I have never been there. But my sister goes there all the time and she told me all about it!

The Snipe wrote: »
    How did you know my evil plan :(:(:(

the givaway was when you put your little finger in the corner of your mouth ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,358 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

A pub that is situated in Ireland.

[/Thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Good patrons are a must, down my local everyone gets on with everyone else (Most of the time)

The auld picture of Micheal Collins above the bar.

The fire burning like a pit from hell even tho its 20 degree's.

The bar person who even tho has worked their whole shift stays back an extra 4 hours because your just having to much fun!

Ronin247 wrote: »
    There is a pub near me back home and it must be the perfect Irish pub! They NEVER let you pay for a drink there, they bring you free food, and if you want, you can go into the back room and get laid for free!
    Actually I have never been there. But my sister goes there all the time and she told me all about it!

and they only have carlsberg right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

Places with nice lights and loud pop music, maybe have theme nights, no seats at the bar, who wants to sit at a bar like? When they could be dancing :) Nice cool bottles of miller because I can't drink real beer in pint glasses unless there's ice in it to water it down for me. Wish they'd close at 11 too so people would go to clubs and be dancing quicker and sober :)

Forgot one thing, lock ins so that you can smoke in the bar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Nice selection of brews. Sound staff, music that doesn't make conversation hard, a semi roofed smoking area. Not ridiculously priced. backs on stools. decent jax.

My local isn't all these things, but dammit, it's my local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Guru Maith Agut

Forgot one thing, lock ins so that you can smoke in the bar!

Happens in more places than you would imagine . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,140 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A good spitoon and a knee-deep pool of piss on the toilet floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Low lighting, alcoves with comfortable wall seating and cushioned chairs with a back, good selection of drink (good Guinness), big tv on in the corner on mute or very low, a roaring fire in winter, a roaring fire in summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Places with nice lights and loud pop music, maybe have theme nights, no seats at the bar, who wants to sit at a bar like? When they could be dancing :) Nice cool bottles of miller because I can't drink real beer in pint glasses unless there's ice in it to water it down for me. Wish they'd close at 11 too so people would go to clubs and be dancing quicker and sober :)
    Arrggghh.......Hell on Earth.

Small with no TV, open fire, quiet music (chosen by the patrons), friendly staff who can take a bit of banter, regular lock ins with ashtrays, regular trad sessions where anyone can join in and impromptu ones allowed anytime, no stag/hen parties and finally, an owner who occasionally tears up your "tab" saying "never again" and then starts a new one within a week.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

• An open fire
    • A decent selection of wines served in decent sized glasses and not egg cups
    • Stew on the menu
    • A jukebox
    • A 'no scum' policy
    • Not adverse to a good oul 'lock in' from time to time
    • Smoking section would be a good bit away from the entrance so the place doesn't stink each time someone goes in or out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

A gallows in the back yard

I am sick of cheats with their smartphones in table quizzes :mad:
    Happens every time

Summary execution on the spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Ghandee wrote: »
    No poxy.television.

+1000

It's like a vortex that sucks the life out of the place. I don't even like music, unless it's very unintrusive, or unless it's specifically a music venue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

Bacon fries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭dmcronin

Wan of them bars for quaaaareess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Open fire,
    High quality pints of all draught,
    Sound barstaff that chat away to you,
    Regulars that you can play cards with and they always seems to have these bar riddles (how to get a full pint of water that is upside down back the right way etc.)
    Background music, not in your face chart sh!te,
    You have to have a telly for the matches, but turn if off before and afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

No natural light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

A nice Pint, and ideally a good ballad session.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I am sick of cheats with their smartphones in table quizzes :mad:
    Happens every time

Do table quizes still exist? Surely not much point these days, for the exact reason that you have mentioned.

Maybe if they had a 'leave your phone at the door' policy.. can't see that taking off though :pac:

xzanti wrote: »
    Do table quizes still exist? Surely not much point these days, for the exact reason that you have mentioned.

Maybe if they had a 'leave your phone at the door' policy.. can't see that taking off though :pac:

I do one in a pub every Monday in Limerick and they are a big success. People tend not to use their phones as its a returning crowd, and if you do use your phone, you are banned from the quiz. Simple as! :)

Also.. Taytos behind the bar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Ruralyoke

No natural light

get away!

I'm all for dull/dimly lit but you gotta have the window - provided there aren't too many of them and that they:

1) are a bit dirty, need painted etc
    2) are ideally, miniature sash windows
    3) cast dusty beams of light across the room

The pub itself should be a bit smelly - in an old carpet type way.

No TV

Music should be low and classic 60s & 70s radio friendly - but not pop.

No "fancy" beers - three taps are enough.

Flirtatious, rosy cheeked, well able for the dickheads, type barmaid essential.

Grumpy real owner also essential - who only shows up ther odd time. Day to day manager a social genius of course.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

smoky atmosphere and staying in the pub until 2am and then driving home.

But we've ruined this for ourselves

Stiffler2 wrote: »

smoky atmosphere

But we've ruined this for ourselves

Disgusting, i always thought my hangovers where from drink till the 1st day of the ban, then i realised it was the smoke messing me up

The no smoke makes pub's much more user friendly, if you choose to smoke like an idiot the option is outside where your not affecting others as badly anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

We can chew tobacco and spit it onto the floor

The interfering politicians banned this a long time ago over the spread of TB
    And then they turned to drink driving

Is nothing sacred?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

cowzerp wrote: »
    Disgusting, i always thought my hangovers where from drink till the 1st day of the ban, then i realised it was the smoke messing me up

The no smoke makes pub's much more user friendly, if you choose to smoke like an idiot the option is outside where your not affecting others as badly anyway

regardless that's still the perfect pub atmosphere from back in the day
    When I think of an Irish pub I will always look back to the oul fella's with the paddy hats, drinking pints and smoking in the pub.

Just how I grew up, just how I see it. sorry.

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    regardless that's still the perfect pub atmosphere from back in the day
    When I think of an Irish pub I will always look back to the oul fella's with the paddy hats, drinking pints and smoking in the pub.

Just how I grew up, just how I see it. sorry.

thats your memory of an irish pub, this is the perfect Irish pub thread not what do you remember of an irish pub.

The craic, the good drink, some good music and lot's of bollix talk, not sitting listening to owl lads talking worse bollix while smoking a pipe and ladies been left in the snug.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

*No seats/stools at the bar...
    *Them couches that wrap around the walls.
    *Stools around tables that are 1 foot high with cushions 6 inches thick on top of'em attached to the stool with studs.
    *Relics of the industrial revolution scattered on every available shelf space and/or window sill.
    *A fúck load of wooden panelling

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Wild Bill

The old guy in the corner reading the beermats.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

It has to be the women, the polish women ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

The Blue Light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Ghandee wrote: »
    No poxy.television.

Can't see the pub with no telly doing well during the Euro's.One of the pubs in Enniscorthy had that idea before but lost a fortune during the World Cup,every other pub in town was thronged for the Ireland games but that one was empty.Within a week the owner had tv's installed.
    Any pub that has a tv showing soaps should be shunned.

My perfect pub is one with attentive staff who can take an order of more than one drink at a time,nice pints and a decent crowd where you can have a laugh & a bit of craic without some surly bouncer glaring at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Atmosphere, mixture of either buzzing or quiet depending on the night, good music, good chat, banter, laugh and craic, good crowd about and who I am with at the pub and a nice drink!

I rather live music or a decent dj than stuff from the TV, ok for watching sport like but music no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Is it the low light..?

The old crank who sits in the corner?

The pictures on the wall?

The old posters for Player or Garryowen?

Let us all know what! :)

You opening a pub or running one?Im in the trade if you want any ideas

Bacon fries.

Scampi ftw

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

good pub grub i think makes a pub more homely and the low lights or candles in bottles adds to it i think..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

That it not be located in Ireland.:pac:

sasta le wrote: »
    You opening a pub or running one?Im in the trade if you want any ideas

No no no I'm not. We were in the pub the other day and got discussing it!