Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In labour and Bored!!!!!!

12346»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I guess the pain is over hyped. The media portrays it as such and women go in expecting it to hurt and it does.
    Jeez yeah, my friend who was on the verge of a blood transfusion - it was only because she saw it on the soaps. :pac:

Women died in childbirth not terribly long ago - so yeah, I'm confident it hurts. Some women have an easy time of it, but they're lucky and don't speak for all.

If the fear leads to pain (not denying there's an element of that present - there's bound to be) then my friend who had a baby the other day would have been in agony, as she's a right worrier, not very positive and has hypochondriac tendencies (I love her, but the above are all true - she'd be the first to admit it :)) and she only needed paracetamol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭ashes79

I had an easy time, more uncomfortable and bored really. Obviously the pushing was awful but that was over fast enough. And it was my only child birth so it can happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

ashes79 wrote: »
    I had an easy time, more uncomfortable and bored really. Obviously the pushing was awful but that was over fast enough. And it was my only child birth so it can happen.

First time child births can be very long and drawn out ashes, so the pain might not come instantly. A lot of women remember the pain of it through and through, but it can be a blur for others. I don't know anyone that was coherent enough to push and post at the same time though :D

I considered midwifery as a career at one point, but took an interest in something else.

I'm adopting! :eek: :( :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Dudess wrote: »

Copout!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭ashes79

God no pushing and posting not what i meant but only an hour or so when i wouldn't have been able to. I know i was extremely lucky though. Think i was just built right lol

So long as it's a phantom pregnancy too, no need ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

My first labour experience was not a pleasant one so I'll not dwell on it, but my second was a breeze and had I been a member of boards then I may have been posting too.

I'm not defending the OP, it may well have been a troll, but she was in her own home with little intervention of examinations, it would have been all calm, quiet and relaxed so I can understand that she would have been bored.

Abi, just on the point you mentioned a few pages back that when the op said she was in bed bored afterwards, you suggested she could/should have been feeding the baby; babies don't need feeding right away, also the op could have been breast feeding, and I could have written several novels while breast feeding! Also after number two, I was full of energy and felt great, I honestly felt I could have run a marathon. So anything is possible, and sure it entertained us all for a while, even if it was a troll nobody has been hurt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I've received a pic of the baby with today's paper and the Posters name on a sheet, via pm.

Congrats, I knew it was real :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭branbee

I've received a pic of the baby with today's paper and the Posters name on a sheet, via pm.

well i could do the exact same thing tbh!

branbee wrote: »

You're on.

You have 15 minutes.

You're on.

You have 15 minutes.

Could!
    Won't but could!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭IsMiseLisa

In which case, Coal is owed an apology.

I think it's gas she was on boards while giving birth. Best to have a sense of humour through the pain of it, I suppose. I'm waiting for the day someone does a live broadcast on Twitcam or something... :D

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

iguana wrote: »
    I'm tempted to try an experiment come November. I'll start a labour thread and see how far I get and how soon I post up after delivery. But not in AH or I'll probably hunt down and dismember anyone who makes giant vagina jibes.

I'm due any day now. I will report back with my findings. :)

All I know at this point is that the difference between braxton hicks contractions and real ones is that you cant talk during the real ones (according to our ante-natal midwife)
    "I had an easy time of it, therefore every other woman does." :)

Mammies be like that. My mammy told me I'd go early (cos she did on all of hers) and I'm due today and still no signs. She told my sister she would have natural painless births (cos she did), and the sister had 3 c-sections.

I'm really hoping this isnt a troll. I want it to be that easy. But then I would, wouldnt I? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

IsMiseLisa wrote: »
    In which case, Coal is owed an apology.

I think it's gas she was on boards while giving birth. Best to have a sense of humour through the pain of it, I suppose. I'm waiting for the day someone does a live broadcast on Twitcam or something... :D

IsMiseLisa, have you met Micky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Neyite wrote: »
    All I know at this point is that the difference between braxton hicks contractions and real ones is that you cant talk during the real ones (according to our ante-natal midwife)

Yep that's true, I had great craic having number 2 with my midwife, we would be chatting away, and a contraction would hit; I would stop talking and then pick up where we left off as soon as it was over :D

When are you due Neyite?

Could!
    Won't but could!

Pfft, cop out. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭IsMiseLisa

IsMiseLisa, have you met Micky?

Should I take it that he's taking the (eponymous) mick? :o

Could!
    Won't but could!

Pfft, cop out. :p

ah but Im not the one claiming to have pushed a baby out while posting!
    If i was and i was a dedicated enough troll id have a baby lined up for the obligatory proof pics!

I actually don't think she is a troll though!

ah but Im not the one claiming to have pushed a baby out while posting!
    If i was and i was a dedicated enough troll id have a baby lined up for the obligatory proof pics!

I actually don't think she is a troll though!

But you did claim you could do the exact same thing, yet you don't/won't/can't.

Yeah i could but i have absolutely no reason to as Im not the one trying to prove anything! And op didn't need to either, but a pic doesn't prove anything as anyone could send one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

Jaysus there's some awful cynics here!!

I happen to think the OP is for real, someone close to me had her first baby in 40 minutes from first contraction to birth, and her second child in 30, and was texting and talking on both right up to the moment of birth, so its not outside the realms of possibility for Coal to be the same.

My mammy told me I'd go early (cos she did on all of hers) and I'm due today and still no signs. She told my sister she would have natural painless births (cos she did), and the sister had 3 c-sections.
    Fair dues for her positivity I guess! Yeah my mum's the same - "Don't mind those TV shows - it's not as bad as that at all!" And she's a nurse and did a lot of gynae/obs like! :pac:

Best wishes with the birth Neyite! :)

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Yep that's true, I had great craic having number 2 with my midwife, we would be chatting away, and a contraction would hit; I would stop talking and then pick up where we left off as soon as it was over :D

When are you due Neyite?

Today is my due date. :D You can see why I desperately want to believe the OP had a birth where the child was only a momentary distraction from posting on AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

Congrats Coal. I hope to feck that you didn't really name him Christopher Robin! :eek:

Good luck, Neyite. I had all mine in super quick time. The last one was about half an hour from start to finish. Never had any stitches either. I wish the same for you. :)

I respectfully say 'bull' to you sir :)

AH needs a stir every now and again, and this is it. No woman can post in AH by the pushing stage of labour, end of.

Nice try folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Abi wrote: »

AH needs a stir every now and again, and this is it. No woman can post in AH by the pushing stage of labour, end of.

Nice try folks.

I'm disappointed it wasn't twins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

As a mum I find the posting of Coal very odd....I have never met a woman who counts her labour from the time her waters break.

As other posters have said you can be in active labour for ages before that happens.

My second baby was born just after my waters went and I have heard of babies been born with the waters intact so sorry I think this person has feck all idea of what they are talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭phill106

Coal1978 wrote: »

Nope! But I'm fine, it the most natural feeling, I'm in it now, no going back. My husband is a Surgeon so I'm sure I'll be fine

Meredith?

Coal1978 wrote: »

Nope! But I'm fine, it the most natural feeling, I'm in it now, no going back. My husband is a Surgeon so I'm sure I'll be fine

I have to say I admire you, your first baby, well done.
    I feel like such a failure, having my first baby traumatised me and left me claustrophobic. It was the most horrific experience of my life to date.
    Today is my due date. :D You can see why I desperately want to believe the OP had a birth where the child was only a momentary distraction from posting on AH.

Hey any baby yet? good luck btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭phill106

Fúck that ****!

Post pics of pregger boobs!!
    ewwww.. You wanna see troll boobs :p

troll boobs, abi boobs, its all good!

hondasam wrote: »
    I have to say I admire you, your first baby, well done.
    I feel like such a failure, having my first baby traumatised me and left me claustrophobic. It was the most horrific experience of my life to date.

Hey any baby yet? good luck btw.

Don't feel like a failure Hondasam...you do the best you can, you have very little control over what happens. Anyone who has a totally easy birth is lucky, you can have a text book labour with one and a horrific one with another. Its luck of the draw really.

Besides I am sure this person is not a genuine poster however I look forward to the posts where she tells us her newborn sleeps through the night, breast feeding is a dream and she is back in her size 0 jeans in a matter of days

eviltwin wrote: »
    Don't feel like a failure Hondasam...you do the best you can, you have very little control over what happens. Anyone who has a totally easy birth is lucky, you can have a text book labour with one and a horrific one with another. Its luck of the draw really.

Besides I am sure this person is not a genuine poster however I look forward to the posts where she tells us her newborn sleeps through the night, breast feeding is a dream and she is back in her size 0 jeans in a matter of days

I had two more children after that experience,I controlled the situation on those occasions and It was much better. I would never say it's a walk in the park but manageable if you are in control.
    I opted for natural childbirth for the last one.

The op might be genuine but probably not, I think posting on the internet would be the least of my worries even if it was pain free.

Nice try folks.

Sure why not make it octuplets that come out sideways while she posts..

People posted to 'her' out of goodwill. I don't give a fúck if this makes me the spoil sport, I just think its wrong to exploit people like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Nice try folks.

Sure why not make it octuplets that come out sideways while she posts..

People posted to 'her' out of goodwill. I don't give a fúck if this makes me the spoil sport, I just think its wrong to exploit people like that.
    How many times have you been in labour?

Kiera wrote: »

Is that relevant? You don't need to be a parent to smell the whiff of bs on this thread.

This will be closed soon.

I don't want poor Christy reading back on all the angry comments when he is older.

How about you? Why suddenly join the conversation now? I know exactly why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

How about you? Why suddenly join the conversation now? I know exactly why.
    Are you the fcuking thread police? Do you say when people can join in? Nice way to avoid my question. So tell me exactly why, copper....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

eviltwin wrote: »
    I think this person has feck all idea of what they are talking about.

I don't know what's happening either. Waters breaking? Dilation 7cm? Contractions? Placenta?

Some things I don't want to know, unless of course she was building a fort with a moat around it for the birth :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,071 ✭✭✭✭Basq

* gets popcorn *

.. And IBTUCC (in before the umbilical cord is cut!)

Wait......what? There were boobs?? Pm on links, please. For research purposes of course.

Seriously though, well done ladies. Ye ruined what should of been a beautiful time in young Christy's life. I hope he finds it in his heart to forgive ye.