Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hitler on Wikipedia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

is it worth a read?

Yes and no.

Yes if you want to read it for the sake of it.
    No if you want an enjoyable read.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,185 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It gives a lot of insight into his thinking and the larger fascist thinking of the day. So yea it's worth a read in that sense alright.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Sindri wrote: »
    He has Irish relations you know.
    Ah yes, the Schicklgrubers of Castlebar. Know them well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

The Nazis, whatever people say about them, they made a great cup of tae.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

biko wrote: »
    Never read about him, just saw bits of (yet another) WW2 documentary on History channel.
    Intend to watch The Fall? about the fall of Germany in WW2 at some point.

I hope Europe never sees another despot like him or Stalin again.

Hah - if it weren't for Stalin you'd be speaking German right now

2 of my favoutire quotes from WW2 from reading on the subject.

1 - German Soldiers near the end of the war did the Hitler salute but instead in german said "The $hit is this high in Germany"

2 - One of Hitlers quotes from before he came to power and the only one he stayed true to "Give me 10 years and you won't recognise Germany"

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Chamone MF wrote: »
    Read a bit of mein kampf, crazy, full of hate and it seemed to have an air of anti-semitism.

That's odd, doesn't sound anything like hitler.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Those bastards in the Art College of Vienna caused WW2. Why couldn't they just accept the budding Adolf into their Academy, instead of becoming the biggest Tyrant of the 20th century he could have been known as a sh1te painter.

Nah - Ferdinand started all of it, WW1 and WW2
    he was assinated back in the 189x ( don't remember the exact date, sy )

look it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Or the Dickschlyders, heirs to the Vaseline Dynasty. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Yeah I find it interesting actually. He was in the military police, sent undercover into the Nazi Party. That'd be a great film. Good cop gone mad, to the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

When he was a young man he discovered the joys of ale and pubs it was then he started collecting beer mats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Nope, I wouldn't give their name out even though it can be found online fairly easily. I actually know some of them, I've met a great great whatever nephew of his and a few others related by marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Speaking of Hitler and Wikipedia,
    Try this game:
    The Hitler Wikipedia Game

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Atlantis50

He was spotted today on a bus in Ireland:

hitleri.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭LincolnsBeard

Fascinating read:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eduard_Bloch

Eduard Bloch was the Jewish-Austrian doctor for the Hitler family. He looked after Hitler's Mother when she was dying of cancer. As a result of the families poor economic situation, he would often prescribe medication to the family free of charge. Hitler was grateful to Bloch and gave him gifts as a token of his gratitude.

In later years, Bloch wrote to Hitler asking for help during the persecution of Jews in Austria. Hitler granted him special protection under the Gestapo and continued to inquire about his well being.

Insane story.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

He invented happy hardcore dance music
    You wouldn't find Hitler playing jungle music at 3 o'clock in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Fascinating read:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eduard_Bloch

Eduard Bloch was the Jewish-Austrian doctor for the Hitler family. He looked after Hitler's Mother when she was dying of cancer. As a result of the families poor economic situation, he would often prescribe medication to the family free of charge. Hitler was grateful to Bloch and gave him gifts as a token of his gratitude.

In later years, Bloch wrote to Hitler asking for help during the persecution of Jews in Austria. Hitler granted him special protection under the Gestapo and continued to inquire about his well being.

Insane story.

Aye. He started rather differently than he finished, which could be explained by the 'Sometimes its the obvious' theory - can't remember where I read this -

....Hitler was very young when his mother was being treated for cancer. The treatment at that stage consisted of a caustic agent being applied directly to the tumour - not the mae-west as can be imagined.

Thus we have the association of 'The Jew' the eternal external agent infiltrating the home, disease, the suffering of loved ones. Throw into subconcious, allow to simmer with everyday anti-semitism, myths etc. Add in later political (jew bashing) influences and a decade or two later, ye have it popping out as The Jew as the eternal cancer eating away at society, which must be expunged, cut out, destroyed, all believed sincerely and emotionally.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,185 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

instead of becoming the biggest Tyrant of the 20th century he could have been known as a sh1te painter.
    He actually wasn't that bad a painter. Particularly of architecture. Certainly better then many who fancy themselves as artists. He was a bit stilted yes but like I say not that bad, certainly not as shíte as is made out. He had a pretty large output too, selling stuff to tourists and the like. I know a guy who has one of his watercolours. Given his notoriety and the interest in that whole period the stuff is pretty cheap. I think the bloke paid less than 2 grand for it and it's quite large. Winston Churchill's watercolours are way more pricey(IMHO Hitler was the better draughtsman by a nose). Seems like neo Nazis tend to be broke types :D Be cool to have both in a collection. Roosevelt wasn't into making art himself but was a big supporter and Stalin, well nah, so you couldn't really make up much of a set.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Nodin wrote: »
    Aye. He started rather differently than he finished, which could be explained by the 'Sometimes its the obvious' theory - can't remember where I read this -

....Hitler was very young when his mother was being treated for cancer. The treatment at that stage consisted of a caustic agent being applied directly to the tumour - not the mae-west as can be imagined.

Thus we have the association of 'The Jew' the eternal external agent infiltrating the home, disease, the suffering of loved ones. Throw into subconcious, allow to simmer with everyday anti-semitism, myths etc. Add in later political (jew bashing) influences and a decade or two later, ye have it popping out as The Jew as the eternal cancer eating away at society, which must be expunged, cut out, destroyed, all believed sincerely and emotionally.
    Then add in the general anti semitism following WW2 and you have the perfect storm. Oddly though it went so far in Germany. Germany had about the most integrated and accepeted Jewish population in Europe at the time. Jews were everywhere, in all walks of society and there was a lot of intermarriage. Yes there were the usual anti Semite eejits, including Hitler who showed this trait to his irritated comrades in arms in the first world war. Yet the joke was the guy who recommended Hitler for an iron cross for gallantry in that war(and pushed hard for it) was his Jewish commanding officer Hugo Gutmann. Interestingly Hitler seems to have remembered this and though Nazi laws stopped ex Jewish servicemen getting pensions Hugo kept getting his. Plus when he was hauled in by the Nazi police he was released pretty sharpish. He and his family got out of Germany before the war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,972 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

That's highly debatable.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

I found this thread title misleading. I thought it was about Hitler's thoughts on Wikipedia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Ruralyoke

So this thread isn't the mad rantings of a dictator from beyond the grave, bemoaning current internet resources?

Or has someone said this? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

godwinned in the thread title *tips hat* well done OP that must be some new kind of record

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

How did a feckin Austrian manage to get Germanys name fecked up for all time??? Never follow an Austrian. Look what happened to that Kennedy bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I wonder if he was a twisted evil fecker when he was a kid. I wonder if other parents looked at him and thought, "That one is going to be nothing but trouble when he gets older!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I wonder if he was a twisted evil fecker when he was a kid. I wonder if other parents looked at him and thought, "That one is going to be nothing but trouble when he gets older!"

AFAIK he was too busy having his ass kicked by a bully father, and being overly indulged by his mother to compensate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

he was a little angel...........just went around, muttering lebebsraum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭TehDagsBass

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Where is Alan Shatter who spends much of his time on holidays and the other half terrified of offending anyone?

From what I hear, Alan Shatter is just as terrified of offending people while on holiday as he is here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Simi

In all seriousness though, whenever something horrible happens in history, there is a tendancy to blame it on a single person. i.e. It was all Hitler, Stalin, Milošević etc. leading the poor helpless people into doing horrible things.

In reality everyone who went along with or didn't attempt to resist in some way or another is as guilty as the figurehead held up after the fact. Problem is you can't try thousands or millions of people for crimes commited under a regime.

Yes Hitler was a monster. But he could have just as easily spent his adult life muttering bile to himself in his living room, as instigating the largest war in human history, if people hadn't followed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,258 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Wibbs wrote: »
    Then add in the general anti semitism following WW2 and you have the perfect storm. Oddly though it went so far in Germany. Germany had about the most integrated and accepeted Jewish population in Europe at the time. Jews were everywhere, in all walks of society and there was a lot of intermarriage. Yes there were the usual anti Semite eejits, including Hitler who showed this trait to his irritated comrades in arms in the first world war.

Presume you mean following WW1? The anti-Jewish sentiment seems to pre-date that considerably from what I've read.

Anti-semitism was very rife, but not just across Germany. It seems that the SS really didn't have to do much to get the locals of occupied countries to slaughter the local Jews on their own. Reading about the pogroms that went on in Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania etc is incredible.

My grandmother grew up in Germany and while she had Jewish friends (and sheltered one for a night who escaped Germany and got to South America), the impression I got was that no matter how integrated they were, they were still considered a Jew first and a neighbour/friend second.
    Simi wrote:
    In reality everyone who went along with or didn't attempt to resist in some way or another is as guilty as the figurehead held up after the fact.

Not that it excuses them, but most the Germans lived in fear of the Gestapo, and were concentrating on just getting by day to day in many places. Resisting in even the smallest way could get you locked up and worse very quickly.

"Alone in Berlin" is a great book - it's a fictionalised version of a true story about a couple who protested in a very minor way and were executed. It's a good insight into the fear that Germans lived under.

Eoin wrote: »
    Presume you mean following WW1?

Doh! :o
    Anti-semitism was very rife, but not just across Germany. It seems that the SS really didn't have to do much to get the locals of occupied countries to slaughter the local Jews on their own. Reading about the pogroms that went on in Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania etc is incredible.

My grandmother grew up in Germany and while she had Jewish friends (and sheltered one for a night who escaped Germany and got to South America), the impression I got was that no matter how integrated they were, they were still considered a Jew first and a neighbour/friend second.
    Oh certainly. You could add in France and a couple of other places like that too. The anti Jewish feelings in Europe have very deep roots. The Nazi machine had little resistance in any country they invaded as far as aggression towards Jews was concerned. On top of the anti Semitism there was also the thinking "oh so long as they're not coming after me".

Major kudos to your grandmother. Incredibly brave for a German to shelter anyone against the regime, never mind a Jew. Signing her own death warrant there.
    Not that it excuses them, but most the Germans lived in fear of the Gestapo, and were concentrating on just getting by day to day in many places. Resisting in even the smallest way could get you locked up and worse very quickly.
    True and add in that most people anywhere tend to go with the flow more than they don't. Those who don't are more often seen as troublemakers and misfits regardless of the culture. Even so it's heartening to hear of people like your grannie and many thousands of others who chose to do something, often repeatedly at great risk and cost to their own lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

Given a choice between the Stalinist USSR and Nazi Germany, I'd go with Germany any day. But then again I have the blond hair, blue eye genes thing going for me so I'd guess I'd have an easier time than most

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    Hah - if it weren't for Stalin you'd be speaking German right now

Not if we are as bad at it as we are at irish:)

Eoin wrote: »
    The anti-Jewish sentiment seems to pre-date that considerably from what I've read.

Anti-semitism was very rife, but not just across Germany.
    Thinking more on this it's remarkable how little the Nazi's "invented" as far as organised Anti Semitism went. The German anti Jewish laws in the early 30's onwards were in spirit and damn near word for word taken from previous laws set down over the previous thousand years of European history. Both the Church(not just the Roman either) and those in power hanging on their coattails would not have found the Nazi proscriptions on Jews unfamiliar, nor unsettling. Even Nazi propaganda of the boogieman Jew wasn't new. They're marked out in art and literature for centuries in such a fashion*. The ground was well tilled and turned and seeded. It didn't take much at all for it to grow.

Where they did get inventive was with their "final solution". Previously Jews were converted, usually at the point of arms, expelled or ghettoised. The final solution was just that, final. The Converso can go back to being a Jew, the expelled can reappear, the dead Jew is finally gone. Final solution. A banal phrase dripping with the horror of beige bureaucratic evil. A middle management of jackbooted David Brents, industrialising the extinction of human life. That's what makes this atrocity so hard to square IMH. Insignificant little men and women setting metrics, ticking boxes and meeting targets. A civil service dept. of death, set up by a quango, run by absentee bosses who don't get their hands dirty, couched in the grey non committal wording of bureaucracy.

*funny enough red hair was one such signal of "the evil Jew" in paintings. Judas is mostly rendered as red haired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

I sometimes forget how young posters on here can be. Threads like this remind me. Why is it note worthy that you happened to read about a major historical figure?

There are others you know......have a field day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Wasn't there pogroms in Ireland as well? I believe in Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Wasn't there pogroms in Ireland as well? I believe in Cork
    Certainly in Limerick.
    And we had our share of anti semites, most notably Sinn Fein under Arthur Griffith

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Wibbs wrote: »

Where they did get inventive was with their "final solution". Previously Jews were converted, usually at the point of arms, expelled or ghettoised. The final solution was just that, final. The Converso can go back to being a Jew, the expelled can reappear, the dead Jew is finally gone. Final solution. A banal phrase dripping with the horror of beige bureaucratic evil. A middle management of jackbooted David Brents, industrialising the extinction of human life. That's what makes this atrocity so hard to square IMH. Insignificant little men and women setting metrics, ticking boxes and meeting targets. A civil service dept. of death, set up by a quango, run by absentee bosses who don't get their hands dirty, couched in the grey non committal wording of bureaucracy.

Wibbs, you're always so eloquent!:) Basically sums up why I find the Holocaust so horrifying, and at the same time, grimly interesting. It's such an awful subject but so intriguing- how could so many ordinary, everyday people commit acts of such evil? It's mind-boggling.

I've read lots of books and watched loads of films/ TV shows, etc about the Final Solution. A lot of people find it a bit strange since it's such a depressing subject. I suppose I'm just trying to find an answer to that question but I haven't yet been able to comprehend what could make people behave so cruelly towards each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

iirc, his favourite childhood movie was Snow White. Just goes to show - careful what you let your kids watch, or you could end up with a megalomaniac on your hands.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

I sometimes forget how young posters on here can be. Threads like this remind me. Why is it note worthy that you happened to read about a major historical figure?

There are others you know......have a field day.

Because it intrigues me and I find it fascinating this sort of thing went on such a short time ago. Why is any thread noteworthy?

Acacia wrote: »
    It's such an awful subject but so intriguing- how could so many ordinary, everyday people commit acts of such evil? It's mind-boggling.
    Mainly because most people didn't A. It was a group thing and it was a personally disconnected thing for the vast majority in this apparatus of death. Early on they quickly saw how German soldiers became disturbed by mass killings they took part in and some went mad, some even rebelled.

They realised they would have to distance the "messy parts" from their people. They made it a a nebulous endeavour, hidden in lists and forms. There's not a single document you could point to that says "right so we're going to exterminate all Jews, gypsies and defectives in Europe and here's how we're going to do it". This also makes it easy to deny. Most of all to oneself as a cog in that endeavour. This was part of the plan. Make it so banal and detached to be unobjectionable.

Very very few were in at the messy end. They made it very efficient and not very labour intensive. Only a handful herded the soon to be murdered, a handful closed the doors on them and dropped the gas pellets. Even at the messy end it was other prisoners, other Jews and "undesirables", who gathered up the clothes and belongings and sorted the remains of the dead by burial or burning. People who knew one day soon they'd be in the pile of gassed bodies. Many couldn't take it. Many discovered their own relatives in such piles. I saw an interview with one chap, only 16 at the time who was in such a work detail and many nights in the cold of their unfurnished hut he could hear the sounds of the other men struggling to hang themselves. Utter horror, just so that the volk of the Reich would be saved it as much as possible for efficiencies sake.

So the vast majority of Germans and others involved could say they didn't truly know. They could say they didn't personally help or take part in it. And they'd be technically right, but someone built the camps, signed off on the gases, signed off on the inmate uniforms, signed off on all the goods coming from the camps and someone looked the other way. In this way brick by insignificant brick that's how you build hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

iirc, his favourite childhood movie was Snow White. Just goes to show - careful what you let your kids watch, or you could end up with a megalomaniac on your hands.

Those videogames have a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

If the German soldiers were given thermal underwear they would have won the war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

If the German soldiers were given thermal underwear they would have won the war.

exactly.................but they would have sweated a lot in libya........and italy, and stalingrad......where it was in the shops, but they firebombed the shops....

normandy would have never happened, is they had good swimming togs......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ruski

He invented happy hardcore dance music

He did n'all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

Anyone else find reading about Hitler fascinating? I've been reading about him on wiki, the bits about his childhood, parents and grandparents I find especially intriguing. I tried reading Mein Kampf online but it's hard to read, the translation doesn't seem very good.

Check out the history forum you wont get serious answers on AH , I also highly recommend the rise and fall of the third reich by William L Shirer

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Speer began his architectural studies at the University of Karlsruhe instead of a more highly acclaimed institution
    If only Albert Speer had become a painter then the Nazi war machine would probably ground to a halt earlier.

IIRC the Uboat crews got boots insulated with human hair

"The Problem With Articles From Wikipedia Is That It Is Hard To Verify Their Authenticity"
    Adolf Hitler (1936).