Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finding an urban planning job abroad

Options
  • 11-05-2012 4:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 18

Hello all,

I am a young graduate in urban planning and as you know there are not many opportunities out there at the moment.

I would like to know if any of you have worked in Germany, the Netherlands or Denmark and could share their experience and precious advices on out to start to look for a job there.

Much appreciated and thank you for your help!

Comments

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,261 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Hello all,

I am a young graduate in urban planning and as you know there are not many opportunities out there at the moment.

I would like to know if any of you have worked in Germany, the Netherlands or Denmark and could share their experience and precious advices on out to start to look for a job there.

Much appreciated and thank you for your help!

Let me start by saying I have no experience of urban planning, but I imagine that you'd need to have a good command of the local language, since you'd be required to interact with the locals on a professional basis... I should also imagine that you'd need to be able to consult local law etc... which would be written in the local language... So how is your German, Dutch and Danish???

As for finding jobs I'd say start with Monster.com... also visit some of the expat sites like www.toytowngermany.com and so on...

If you can find a suitable position would you consider a graduate program at one of the European multinationals as an alternative?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack