Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where do you usually sit in a taxi?

• 11-05-2012 9:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Not seen a taxi thread in a long time so we'll give it a go
    Yeah it's been done before but not in several months or even a year

I nearly always sit in the passenger seat, always have a chat with the driver
    I do have great chats with the drivers. :)

Would be rare I go for the backseat regardless if I'm on my own during the daytime or in a group later on.
    A habit I guess

What about you?

Where do you sit in a taxi? 264 votes

Passenger seat
    0% 0 votes
    Back, left
    55% 147 votes
    Back, right
    38% 101 votes
    Atari, drivers lap just to be different
    6% 16 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Up front unless I'm in a group but usually one of us would sit up front. I think it's only right. I'm saying that as a fairly quiet guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Only times I won't sit in the passenger seat is if it's just me and a girl, then I'll sit in the back with her or if I'm getting the taxi home from a serious session and don't feel like talking to/looking at another human being.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I would also sit up front, unless I'm with a group or in a mini-bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

If I have company, we both sit in the back. If I were on my own I'd sit in the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

If I'm on my own, in the front and have a chat. When I'm with people, normally in the back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I'm the nut behind the wheel

Where's my option?:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

On the driver's face.

It's unorthodox, but it gets me a free ride home.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

I haven't used a taxi in a while but when I lived in my old town I would use them to get home from the bars/clubs and always sit in the back seat. I was on my own but just feel more comfortable that way. Always have a chat with them... "so were ya busy tonight" to which they would answer "ah yeah not too bad now" or "fierce quiet altogether!" and make a whole conversation out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I almost always sit in the front of the taxi if I'm on my own, taxi drivers often comment on it though. They say it's obvious I'm a country girl, apparently most Dublin girls on their own will always sit in the back and won't chat!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

I thought the second option in the poll said "black, left" for a second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

you know the bit over the back seat and under the window? there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Passenger seat.

I like to be able to grab the steering wheel when the bullets miss me and take out the taxi driver!
    Toytown is a dangerous place to live. Just ask Noddy and Big Ears!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Where To wrote: »

What time are you on 'til?

Busy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

The back, and only in a GOOD taxi - a well spec'd (Merc S / BMW 7 / Lexus LS). Won't go in anything less because they're all poxy Toyotas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Biggins wrote: »
    Passenger seat.

I like to be able to grab the steering while when the bullets miss me and take out the taxi driver!
    Toytown is a dangerous place to live. Just ask Noddy and Big Ears!

I'm imagining you with a fisher price steering wheel and a bottle of hooch having a whale of a time. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

Always back seat - no idea why - just do

What time are you on 'til?

Busy?
    *******!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Eggonyerface

Did you know where you sit when you get into a taxi says a lot about your personality?

For example, if it's the drivers seat you're more then likely a moany bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Back. Feel uncomfortable sitting in the front for some reason, like there's an expectation of conversation.

Left hand side - makes sense when getting in and out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Confab wrote: »
    The back, and only in a GOOD taxi - a well spec'd (Merc S / BMW 7 / Lexus LS). Won't go in anything less because they're all poxy Toyotas.

Go ask me pipe ya ****ebag, ***** like you fukin sicken me with this ****e.

What /Who do ya think you are with this attitude?? I'd say your the type who gets a taxi once a year and makes a big ****in issue of it.

Prick.

I Was VB wrote: »

What /Who do ya think you are with this attitude?? I'd say your the type who gets a taxi once a year and makes a big ****in issue of it.

Prick.
    ...okay then....

.....I'll walk (if that's fine)

Prick.
    And this is the reason why we are hated :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

When I'm in a taxi, it's usually because I'm running late for something and I'm too on edge to maintain a conversation. So I prefer the driver to just stfu and focus on getting me to where I'm paying to be driven asap.

Back right.

That said, if there're three or more of us getting into the taxi, I generally choose the passenger seat.

And this is the reason why we are hated :mad:

What did i say??

Insulting the people that we depend on for a living doesn't make good practice, in my experience at least.

Ask me hole, i dont depend on stains like him to make my living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Prick.

I get a taxi 6-8 times a year. Why would I bother getting crap taxis when I can wait a few minutes and get something great? Might as well get value for my hard earned money.

Ask me hole, i dont depend on stains like him to make my living.

I'm guessing you drive a Toyota then?

*runs for cover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Passenger seat.

Confab wrote: »
    I get a taxi 6-8 times a year. Why would I bother getting crap taxis when I can wait a few minutes and get something great? Might as well get value for my hard earned money.

You'll be waiting a while to get your value for money, i'd say you could count change of a tenner in yer pocket. Yeah your right Where To i've offended the entire taxi using population... 6-8 times a year wow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Prick.
    You've used too many stars VB, I'd say it's time for your nap..:D sh1teebag, he he.. I kinda agree with you, but, it's still time for your nap..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

IM0 wrote: »
    you know the bit over the back seat and under the window? there.

The parcel shelf.

Actually there's an option missing. Centre back.

Pottler wrote: »
    You've used too many stars VB, I'd say it's time for your nap..:D sh1teebag, he he..

The fuk are you?? Your not even a fukin mod, ya little ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Prick.

He's just trying to cultivate a sophisticated image on boards to impress people.

RichieC wrote: »
    He's just trying to cultivate a sophisticated image on boards to impress people.

Its working.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Back right usually. No idea why. Seem to usually get one where thats the side I get in.

Passenger seat is invading the drivers personal space a bit, no?

My old man used to drive a taxi and would leave his jacket, newspaper etc on the passenger seat to try and force people in to the back.

Get back in yer starlet and drive me to a takeaway, ya mouthy *******ix. I never take Taxis, most of the drivers are just failed security guards. I've me own car thanks, why'd I wanna get in yours?

Get back in yer starlet and drive me to a takeaway, ya mouthy *******ix.

Thats not how ya spell bollix!!

I never take Taxis,

Thank fuk for that.

Thats not how ya spell bollix!!
    I know, but I've a PSV and a Corolla, and most people like that cant spell!:D

Mickey H wrote: »
    Actually there's an option missing. Centre back.

Well that just sounds uncomfortable for everyone involved.

I know, but I've a PSV and a Corolla, and most people like that cant spell!:D

Ya said a mouthfull, ya kunt.

On the roof - you get there, you just don't have to listen to 15 minutes of "bleedin foreidgners.." "I'm not a racist but".."If I was running the country"...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Where's my option?:mad:

Out of interest, where would you prefer passengers sit? Front or back? I'd say one person sitting right behind you is a bit weird, right?

In fact, what do you think about people talking to you - does it break the monotony or is it something to have to put up with?

Ya said a mouthfull, ya kunt.
    I don't use my Taxi Licence, I think it's a demeaning job best suited to the slow witted. I just got one so I could deny some other cnut the pleasure of having it.

On the roof - you get there, you just don't have to listen to 15 minutes of "bleedin foreidgners.." "I'm not a racist but".."If I was running the country"...

Nothing wrong with the lads from other country's they took advantage of the system that was open to all, in Nov '00 the game was deregulated so all could have a taxi for £5000, so whatcha expect?? 1000's of 2012 Merc S Classes running around?? If ya did yer an even bigger kunt than ConCock.

I found these taxis infinitely more preferable to those in Ireland, better built, maintained and more comfortable

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-4AS57R2bYE0/TVd9syYr6TI/AAAAAAAAAY8/REM_XVGz6Lo/s1600/tuk-tuk-photo-by-doug-j.jpg

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

I don't use my Taxi Licence, I think it's a demeaning job best suited to the slow witted. I just got one so I could deny some other cnut the pleasure of having it.
    Bit Harsh, Where To seems sound..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I am.
    Banned.

pajero12 wrote: »
    Bit Harsh, Where To seems sound..
    He does indeed, HE does indeed. Taxi's are a bit like some snack foods though, they may contain nuts. On topic, I feel uncomfortable sitting anywhere except in the front - in the back just feels a bit snobby? May be insecurity / a complex on my part though. That or I got a ride in "Couldn't think of a new name so I picked one containing my old one"'s and feel the need to be close enough to take the wheel in case he flips. Actually love getting a Taxi - it feels posh, but then we were very poor when I was a kid and had to get busses everywhere.