Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Where do you usually sit in a taxi?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

***SHOTGUN!!!***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Ruralyoke

Unless I have good reason to be worried, passenger seat.

Back seat, if passenger is free is almost disrespectful somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Most people said the back left, but I said the back right, but I live in Canada and they drive on the wrong side so I guess I'm like everyone else.

I sat in the passenger seat in Ireland always, but doesn't seem to be the norm here. I still always have the gab though, taxi men here are my best friends :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

drivers seat
    On the driver's face.

It's unorthodox, but it gets me a free ride home.

do i know you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Ruralyoke wrote: »

That's really interesting 'cos I'd sit in the passenger except I had a weird notion that taxi drivers didn't like it... :confused:

EDIT: Maybe they just don't like someone trying to pull the cock off them when they're driving...? (I don't really do that)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Ruralyoke

Maybe.

Who knows?

Taxi drivers are mad grumpy feckers usually anyway.

No pleasing them :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Back left. I hate talking to taxi drivers. Small-talk is a pain in my hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Jess16 wrote: »
    ***SHOTGUN!!!***

***RELOAD!!!***

The driver is allowed one of these. Remember, a shotgun has 2 barrels.

Here's a handy guide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I agree, but drunk me loves the small talk!

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭cassel16

Front seat when i'm on me own, backseat when i'm with others... Suppose like having the chats with the driver then making smart-arse comments from the back seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

wilkie2006 wrote: »
    ...I'd sit in the passenger except I had a weird notion that taxi drivers didn't like it... :confused:

Worked near a rank, and have gotten loads of taxis, and this subject came up with a lot of them.
    They prefer if you're in the passenger seat...
    1. So they can feel like they can converse with you (a blessing and a curse), because sitting in the back is taken as signal to "keep your distance from me/leave me alone".
    2. So they don't think you're gonna leg it, which happens a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

grindle wrote: »
    Worked near a rank, and have gotten loads of taxis, and this subject came up with a lot of them.
    They prefer if you're in the passenger seat...
    1. So they can feel like they can converse with you (a blessing and a curse), because sitting in the back is taken as signal to "keep your distance from me/leave me alone".
    2. So they don't think you're gonna leg it, which happens a lot.
    a rank what? I work near an airport, and I've gotten loads of planes going on hols, no idea what feckin pilots like though. I do like the way you call them "they" though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Pottler wrote: »
    a rank what? I work near an airport, and I've gotten loads of planes going on hols, no idea what feckin pilots like though. I do like the way you call them "they" though:D

A taxi-fukcing-rank.
    If you were allowed to sit beside the pilots, they'd chat with you, possibly while taxiing towards your destination terminal.
    Conversations, leading to knowledge, leading to a forum-debate on where's best to sit on a plane, and is it rude to the pilot?
    Then some troll would come along and say "taxiing where though, you're on a plane?"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

In the centre of the back seat flanked by two bodyguards. Its the safest place for me to sit whilst in transit. I've a morbid fear of been assassinated whilst sitting in an idling car at a traffic light.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I agree with this erudite poster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Out of interest, where would you prefer passengers sit? Front or back? I'd say one person sitting right behind you is a bit weird, right?

In fact, what do you think about people talking to you - does it break the monotony or is it something to have to put up with?
    Don't really mind to be honest. Some people prefer to sit up front and natter away, that doesn't bother me. Some people prefer to sit in the back, that's fine too.

It's the punter's choice where to sit and how much should be spoken.
    They're the ones doing the paying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

Back left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,982 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Biggins wrote: »
    Passenger seat.

I like to be able to grab the steering wheel when the bullets miss me and take out the taxi driver!
    Toytown is a dangerous place to live. Just ask Noddy and Big Ears!

He's telling the truth.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Back left. I would never sit in the front if I'm by myself, I feel safer in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I would also sit up front, unless I'm with a group or in a mini-bus.

Mini-bus in a taxi :pac:

I sit in the back and yell 'Onwards chauffeur!'

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Back seat, staring out the window, trying to avoid conversations about the weather, how busy the driver is that night, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Back right usually. No idea why. Seem to usually get one where thats the side I get in.

Passenger seat is invading the drivers personal space a bit, no?

My old man used to drive a taxi and would leave his jacket, newspaper etc on the passenger seat to try and force people in to the back.

It's not their personal space if it's a public service vehicle?! If someone is so antsy about having someone sit in the front of a car with them, then they're probably not in the right business! I'd find that quite rude and very unprofessional, to be honest, if I went to get into a taxi and there was stuff all over the seat.

Also, this:
    Where To wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

In the back getting sucked off. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Sit in the front. I pretend that I'm an Irish Minister being driven into Dail Eireann.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

You are in good company then

Taximen just love to tell you how they would run the country

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭jupiterjack

always in front for the chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

Always in the front for drunken chats!

Always the back seat

doesn't stop a bit of a chat if it happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Coal1978

I read that as where do you usually sh!t in a taxi.......maybe I need some sleep

• Registered Users Posts: 45 antipuker

One in seven taxi drivers have convictions ,see "Dodgy cabs ltd " RTE, for details , therefore I prefer all passengers to sit back and left .

That way the drivers pepper spray can be used right handed and at an optimal distance with the central locking engaged,

hope this helps.

Girls ,Where would you sit if you saw this ID on the dash when ya got in

21439 TAXI ACTIVE 29/08/12 02G2112 LAURENCE MURPHY :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Six of One

I used to sit the front as I thought it was a bit stand-offish to sit in the back. That was until I got a taxi driver going to work one day who seemed to think it meant I liked him. He said something like, 'oh, sitting in the front, very forward!' and conversation the whole way was full of inneundo. Made me think that sitting in the front meant you at least want to socialise with the driver (I don't, I want to stare out the window vacantly, I'm crap at small talk!).

Now I always sit in the back. I notice that drivers in fancy cars and affiliated to big companies don't initiate any small talk when you do this but the guys from the local cab office don't pay any heed and yap away regardless.

I would love to hear the taxi drivers' take on it. Is sitting in the back rude if you're on your own? Or does sitting in the front put you under obligation to chit chat when you don't want to? Is it different for men and women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Sit in back when sober, sit in front when drunk.

If Nigerian taxi driver: Speak to him about Nigeria's 94 football team. What a squad.

Six of One wrote: »
    I used to sit the front as I thought it was a bit stand-offish to sit in the back. That was until I got a taxi driver going to work one day who seemed to think it meant I liked him. He said something like, 'oh, sitting in the front, very forward!' and conversation the whole way was full of inneundo. Made me think that sitting in the front meant you at least want to socialise with the driver (I don't, I want to stare out the window vacantly, I'm crap at small talk!).

Now I always sit in the back. I notice that drivers in fancy cars and affiliated to big companies don't initiate any small talk when you do this but the guys from the local cab office don't pay any heed and yap away regardless.

I would love to hear the taxi drivers' take on it. Is sitting in the back rude if you're on your own? Or does sitting in the front put you under obligation to chit chat when you don't want to? Is it different for men and women?
    We prefer pax to sit in the back stay quiet after giving directions,If we want to be entertained we can turn the radio on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

antipuker wrote: »
    We prefer pax to sit in the back stay quiet,

No chance

Ye busy tonight? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Think_then_talk

Front passenger seat....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Allus sit in front seat ...to get the waft of onions and stale farts from the driver seat.

Ifn cnunt gets bolshie front seat is best place to fight back and eyeball him if the start going on about the present guuuvernment.

Also like to throw in a few barbs about how these greasies ripped us orf in the good old days when licenses was limited and the fookies had carte blanche to rip us off and disrespect us big time.

So you can see how I might like to sit near the hexit door in these chariots....

Aidric wrote: »
    In the back getting sucked off. :cool:

What, he can do that while he's driving? I hope you're a big tipper. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭MarkyTheLips

Back left, doesn't impede a chat, doesn't feel awkward if one doesn't develop. Also I can imagine drivers feeling unsettled to have a solitary passenger sitting directly behind them :)

Where To wrote: »
    Don't really mind to be honest. Some people prefer to sit up front and natter away, that doesn't bother me. Some people prefer to sit in the back, that's fine too.

Any interesting passenger-related stories you might be happy to share with AH, Where To?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Any interesting passenger-related stories you might be happy to share with AH, Where To?
    Na, what happens in the back seat stays in the backs seat ;)

I will make a request though;

Ladies (well maybe the odd gentleman too), please clip your toe-nails before you leave the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭TrixIrl

Front seat for me if im sober and can handle a chat, back left when im drunnnk.

Have always thought chatting to taxi drivers is like sitting an English oral - same questions and spiel etc etc. Although im not adverse to filling their heads with the most random lies!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

It's not their personal space if it's a public service vehicle?! If someone is so antsy about having someone sit in the front of a car with them, then they're probably not in the right business! I'd find that quite rude and very unprofessional, to be honest, if I went to get into a taxi and there was stuff all over the seat.

Of course it's still their personal space. Cars are small, I don't want to be sitting on top of a stranger in a car which is why I wouldn't sit in the front as well. It's their car, if you don't want to get in and pay them there are plenty of people who will. :)

I'll be the first to admit my old man is an ass, but, can totally understand why he would put stuff on the front seat. It's his car, his work vehicle, of course he can choose whether someone sits beside him or not. I've been in taxis in Dublin which are like NYC taxis and the front is blocked off to passengers. My dad had been robbed in the taxi as well by some thieving scumbag(outside a garda station) so forcing people into the backseat helps prevent that slightly.

Don't understand why anyone would want to sit in the front seat of a taxi. I think it's rude to sit in the front seat. Each to their own like but it's definitely not really the 'done' thing. Most people sit in the back.

Of course it's still their personal space. Cars are small, I don't want to be sitting on top of a stranger in a car which is why I wouldn't sit in the front as well. It's their car, if you don't want to get in and pay them there are plenty of people who will. :)

I'll be the first to admit my old man is an ass, but, can totally understand why he would put stuff on the front seat. It's his car, his work vehicle, of course he can choose whether someone sits beside him or not. I've been in taxis in Dublin which are like NYC taxis and the front is blocked off to passengers. My dad had been robbed in the taxi as well by some thieving scumbag(outside a garda station) so forcing people into the backseat helps prevent that slightly.

Don't understand why anyone would want to sit in the front seat of a taxi. I think it's rude to sit in the front seat. Each to their own like but it's definitely not really the 'done' thing. Most people sit in the back.

I don't mean to be insulting towards your dad in any way! :)

But, I wouldn't consider sitting in the passenger seat to be "sitting on top of a stranger, at all! As someone who drives regularly, I have never ever found that anyone sitting in the passenger seat intrudes on my personal space - there's at least a foot between us!

As regards security, a potential attacker would have far more of an advantage in attacking from behind.

Maybe it's not the "done" thing to sit in the front, but if I'm on my own, I would just feel a bit odd getting into the back of a taxi. I've somehow ended up discussing this with several taxi drivers before, and none of them considered it to be rude! (Hopefully they weren't just saying that to be polite! :o )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

I almost always sit in the front of the taxi if I'm on my own, taxi drivers often comment on it though. They say it's obvious I'm a country girl, apparently most Dublin girls on their own will always sit in the back and won't chat!

I think that's pretty unfair and implies that most Dublin girls are up their own arses. I would always (both drunk and sober) engage in conversation.

With regards to where I sit, I don't intentionally plan before I get in, just depends on which way I approach the car from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Ruralyoke wrote: »
    Unless I have good reason to be worried, passenger seat.

If there's good reason to be worried I think I'd wait for the next one tbh...

I think that's pretty unfair and implies that most Dublin girls are up their own arses. I would always (both drunk and sober) engage in conversation.

Yeah maybe it's unfair or whatever - I'm just relaying what drivers have said to me - it's not my own opinion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

I always sit in the back. I hate small talk and would rather sit in silence or listen to the radio. I've also had way too many taxi drivers saying things like "Now I'm not racist, but..." which puts me off chatting.