Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you any sh1te cousins?

• 12-05-2012 1:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

I'd have to say I've been fairly fortunate in the cousins stakes.

There's a couple I could do without, but there's no animosity (well at least on my side).

But, was out with a cousin last week, and he said,"It's a good job for him that me mother and his mother are friends."

Feel I should add a smiley.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭TehDagsBass

They're all ****e, but one of them is a bit of craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

'Have you and hot cousins'? would make for a much better thread.

I have quite a few.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Polloloca

I have all the family I need. This craic of interacting with a shower of shitebags just because we have the same granny? Not really my scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Avox

A few of my cousins are very very temperamental..

One of my mother's sisters and her entire family stopped talking to us for two years because my cousin and I had a fight.. She called me a country bumpkin, I called her a towny scummer, she called me a cúnt and then I pulled out the big trump and called her a fat pumpkin.. We were like 13 to be fair..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Two cousins on sulkeys.
    They're famous now. . .:)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I don't know what they're like really, I haven't talked to most of them in years. Not because of any animosity, just apathy on my part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,261 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Fizman wrote: »
    'Have you and hot cousins'? would make for a much better thread.

I have quite a few.

Is that........... you?

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

I have a seventeen year old cousin who recently had a baby. Her situation is pretty ****e cos she seems oblivious to the reality of what it's like to raise a kid. But at the same time she seems to want to do good by the kid so I definitely wouldn't say she's ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Caraville wrote: »
    I have a seventeen year old cousin who recently had a baby. Her situation is pretty ****e cos she seems oblivious to the reality of what it's like to raise a kid. But at the same time she seems to want to do good by the kid so I definitely wouldn't say she's ****e.

So what? Shes only semi sh1t? A quarter sh1t? Why post that bullsh1t? Give me a fcuking break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

All my cousins live at least 300 miles away.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

All my cousins live at least 300 miles away.

That's the way to have them. (further if possible)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I've one that's going to marry into a traveller family.

She fits in well with them. I tend to ignore her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I'm not close with any of my cousins. They were all born in the UK and Australia and 3 of them now live in the US. None of us grew up together. There's a big age range as well. My 17 year old sister is the youngest of this generation of our family and the oldest is a 50 year old cousin. I have one 1st cousin I've only met once and another I've never met. I'd have trouble recognising most of them. When I lived in the UK it didn't even enter my head to visit my cousins in London. I was in New York in October and again it didn't enter my head to tell my 1st cousin that lives there I was in town. I did meet up with my 3rd cousins in New York oddly enough. A 1st cousin friend requested me on Facebook recently and it felt strange adding her because she's pretty much a stranger to me. Geography hasn't helped I guess. On the other hand I know other people that are really close to their cousins and couldn't be without them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

That's the way to have them. (further if possible)

how's 5200km? :D

every last one of my extended family are that far away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I don't know if they're shíte but there's plenty who I haven't seen in years and years. They're strangers to me really.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

My extended family are all acutely aware of mine and each others existence.

They pretend not to be, Aunties/Uncles at least.

Most of my cousins are too young to have an opinion on them to be honest and by the the time they're old enough I'll be far too past it to care.
    Grand job I think.

So what? Shes only semi sh1t? A quarter sh1t? Why post that bullsh1t? Give me a fcuking break.

Jests Christ relax FFS. All I was saying is that she has a bit of a tough time ahead of her, and some might see her situation as sh1t but hopefully she'll be ok. And yeah, maybe she is only a little bit sh1t cos even though she's causing her own parents a tough time with all of this, she does love her son and hopefully she'll learn to be a good mother.

It's just a comment, talk about a fcuking over-reaction...

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭mightdomighty

Jests Christ relax FFS. All I was saying is that she has a bit of a tough time ahead of her, and some might see her situation as sh1t but hopefully she'll be ok. And yeah, maybe she is only a little bit sh1t cos even though she's causing her own parents a tough time with all of this, she does love her son and hopefully she'll learn to be a good mother.

A micro-sh1te perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

One of my best mates is a cousin. Get on well with most of them but don't really see them that often, just over facebook or email.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Nah, I love my cousins (but not in the redneck, Shelbyville sense :p). Hang around with a few of them now and we're great mates. Cousins make good friends, especially if you're around the same age- you can share crazy-family stories and what not. We generally tend to have the same sense of humor/personality.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭PandaX9

All my extended family is over 3500km away

Kinda weird when you go back after not being there for three years and suddenly, everyones hot. And you're just a big disappointment to the entire extended family because you're not over 6 foot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Actually get on great with all my cousins. Some I wouldnt see until funerals / weddings but get on great when we do meet up. I have a huge extended family and a lot live close by - these would be apart of my life on a daily / weekly basis in a good non-interferring way :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Mine are grand, to be fair. One of them though is going though a difficult teenage patch where she cakes her spots in inches of make up and spends her time taking unbrushed hair extensions in and out. Kinda adds to the general impression that we are all a bunch of unwashed pikeys.

A micro-sh1te perhaps?

Ah no, not even..... More of a nano-sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

OP are you from the country?

Are you referring to cousins as in your first cousin proper?
    Or are you referring to your fifth cousins twice removed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

I have a cousin that will be away from me for at least 5 years. Proper piece of sh!te. He attempted to stick a screwdriver in the most important person in my life.

If you are reading this, I am waiting.

Ah sure, thats almost not worth posting about ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭paul4green

I know all most of my cousins and see them often, which is cute considering most people on here only know of their cousins.
    I sometimes pick my 3 little cousins up for primary school if my aunt is running late or what not :P and I basically grew up with the ones that are my age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

I have a sexy first cousin which is a shame. It's only inbreeding if there 1st and 3rd and so on cousins. 2nd and 4th cousins are grand though lads.

Yeah you're right, I was under the impression that things weren't to be taken too seriously around here but clearly I should shut up until I have something really profound to say... ;)

Or relevant, that works too ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

I have 16 cousins in total and I like about 5 of them. The others I havent seen in about 4 years despite living about half an hour away from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

I have close to 50 first cousins on my mam's side....they are all shíte bags!

I dont really know most of them to be fair as there is a huge age gap with the youngest being 4 years old and the oldest 43 i think...

i only get along with id say 2 cousins and that is it but im only close with one of them....

with the others you just keep civil and pretend to get along but behind your back they are pretty much backstabbers who bítch and moan about ya as soon as you leave the room.

on my dads side i like my cousins seeing as there is only 4 of them them! The one i dont like has fúcked off to Oz!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

All of my cousins bar one are kids. So not great for going out and having a few pints with. Where I grew up in Ireland I had no extended family anywhere near me so I don't really know them that well anyway.

Ironically my South African cousin (who is 17) I get on with really well and we talk regularly. Saw her for the first time in four years at Christmas, probably won't see her for another four years. She's great though, I wish she lived closer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Mugatuu

Have a lot of cousins, best friends with a cousin on my dads side, were in the same college and meet up weekly. Most cousins on dads side are idiots. On my Mams side I get along fairly well with most of them.