Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Radiography/Medical Imaging - mature student?

Options
  • 12-05-2012 4:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

This is really more of a brain-dump - am seriously reconsidering my career and would love some advice.

I'm currently 31 and expecting my first baby. I'm in an Engineering job that, in theory, I enjoy, but is a very specific area of expertise, and therefore very limited with regard to job progression, and tbh, I'm seriously bored. I'm a graduate of Computer Science and Software Engineering.

I've never considered going back to University but think the prospect of doing some sort of medical imaging/radiography/sonography would be extremely interesting, while still maintaining a connection to the technical side of things. I have to say I'm really only investigating this now, and know very little about the area, other than it really interests me!

Would love your opinions on a few of the following:

-What type of course would be the best fast track to a career in this area? Are there part time courses? Or would I require a 3 or 4 year degree?
    -Would you say that starting a course like this at the age of 32 or 33 would be too old?
    -Would jobs in this area tend to be regular hours, or shift work (generally)?

How I would cope with a new baby and a full time degree course remains to be seen, but would love to hear your experiences! If I don't do something drastic soon, I'm going to crack up!! :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭lonestargirl