Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are you ready?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭TehDagsBass

KeithM89 wrote: »
    *Whoop* *whoop*
    Its the fun police.

Rig all the door handles to be wrapped in fibre wire, choke them to death and leaves no mess.
    Oh, what a surprise, someone from Dundalk not taking firearms seriously. I am shocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Davidson2k9

I dont live in fear like that every night, i'll deal with it when/if it happens.

Pottler wrote: »
    lol, I can make a phone call and have a pistol in 20 mins. Sadly, it's easier to get an illegal firearm than a legal one. I laugh a lot when I hear the likes of Shatter spout crap about "stricter gun licencing laws" which really only affect the law abiding citizens.
    You're such a badass Pottler.

You should take a picture of yourself showing your ultra cool dragon tattoos and holding some pistols. Think how cool and badass that would look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Irresponsible gun ownership is what is causing a massive amount of needless deaths in the states every year. We don't need that here and I certainly don't think it's appropriate to advise people who've little/no experience with firearms how to circumvent the law in order to get one.
    Because firearms aren't licensed here for home protection. You're advising someone how to obtain a firearm that has been licensed for X activity when they've no intention of using it for that, but instead for a completely illegal usage.

I'm not sure where exactly the law falls on such advice but I can't imagine Boards.ie wants to be known for letting people advise people how to obtain firearms for potentially criminal uses.
    Oh, what a surprise, someone from Dundalk not taking firearms seriously. I am shocked.

Well youre just great craic, arent you.

http://nabidana.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/gerryice.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Because firearms aren't licensed here for home protection. You're advising someone how to obtain a firearm that has been licensed for X activity when they've no intention of using it for that, but instead for a completely illegal usage.

Jaysus the outrage of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Can't believe nobody has suggested can of Lynx + lighter yet:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

you can use a gun that you bought for sport,to defend your self,and you family now,laws have changed.if you think your or someone elses life is in danger,in your home.
    and YES,its so easy to get an iilegal gun now.:mad:

deco nate wrote: »
    and YES,its so easy to get an iilegal gun now.:mad:

If you have any spare ones drop me a PM

jeesus,troll much?...
    great way to get your point across.

well done:rolleyes:

eth0 wrote: »
    If you have any spare ones drop me a PM

pm sent:pac:

jeesus,troll much?...
    great way to get your point across.

well done:rolleyes:
    Yeah, I've already made my point to be honest. Advising people how to obtain firearms with the intention of using them in a manner which is currently against the law is retarded and reckless, but hey, the site want to defend it and call it a bit of craic, I'll retort their nonsense with my own nonsense.

Sure it's only a bit of a craic lollers "XD".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

This one time abroad, I got burgled at night while I was asleep. Never heard or noticed a thing until I woke up the next morning. Now I have a monitored alarm.

Yeah, I've already made my point to be honest. Advising people how to obtain firearms with the intention of using them in a manner which is currently against the law is retarded and reckless, but hey, the site want to defend it and call it a bit of craic, I'll retort their nonsense with my own nonsense.

Sure it's only a bit of a craic lollers.

Show me one post where someone explicitly says, in detail, how to obtain illegal firearms.
    Go on, i can wait, iv got ice cream.

BornToKill wrote: »
    This one time abroad, I got burgled at night while I was asleep. Never heard or noticed a thing until I woke up the next morning. Now I have a monitored alarm.

Oops I forget, and the door handle is wired to the mains of course.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 104 ✭✭outtagetme

Cork24 wrote: »
    How can one circumvent the law their is no Way around it... Your checked by the cops if u pass that check it sent to the doctors to get u mentally tested now . If that's check out ok you are then check again and still you could get turned down.

Other wise you go to the black market

You CANNOT own a firearm in Ireland without a valid reason to own one. Forget all the tongue-in-cheek foolishness I've written about being an intruder. That was merely in jest to point out the futility of worrying about intrusion.
    If you are a land owner or have permission from a land owner then you may, after strict vetting, possess 2 calibres, a .22 rifle and a 12 gauge shotgun. I should know. My uncle in your neck of the woods has a .22 for killing rabbits and an Ithaca 5 shell pump action and Browning 2000 4 shell automatic shotgun.....those are for the crows. And that's it.

You cannot possess any other kind of weapon...certainly not one whose primary function is to kill humans rather than vermin.
    You may possess a pistol registered with a gun club but this firearm must be unloaded at all times outside of the club and if housed in the premises of the owner must be stored in an ALARMED safe.

This crap about Glocks and Tek-9's and other gibberish is just that...gibberish.

Sure it's only a bit of a craic lollers.
    hello,AFTER HOURS callin,we are beered up an gunned up.
    meet ya at dawn an we will sort this out(btw,do you know dawn?she lives in town.see ya thier):pac:

outtagetme wrote: »
    You CANNOT own a firearm in Ireland without a valid reason to own one.

... you may, after strict vetting, possess 2 calibres, a .22 rifle and a 12 gauge shotgun.

The first bit is true but the second is totally out of date. More for the shooting forum though than for here, in fairness.

Show me one post where someone explicitly says, in detail, how to obtain illegal firearms.
    Go on, i can wait, iv got ice cream.
    You can buy pepper spray on the net. Also u can buy the spray the usmc use it's some sort of mustard spray it's twice the price of the pepper. You could get a letter off a land owner telling u it's ok to shoot in his land and take it to your local station with a serial number of a gun u have put away

This instructs you how to get a gun by claiming it's for shooting on someone's land when in reality you've no intention of doing so and merely intend on using it to protect your house, without any training or knowledge of how to use such a weapon. The person asking the question has made their intention clear, the person answering the question has acknowledged this and given them a route to fill said intention, an illegal one at that, by using a loophole in the current legislation.

But hey, a Dundalk person not taking firearms and their dangers seriously. The amount of shock I'm in just cannot be described! Maybe I shouldn't joke about Dundalk, your site has access to my IP after all, I'm sure it wouldn't beyond the scope of you lads' to send a few of the lads from the 'Ra down to sort it out :D

Also, pepper spray is illegal in Ireland. Shouldn't be advising people how to get their hands on that either.

Sure it's only a bit of a craic lollers "XD".

and as soon as Minister Shitter changes the law it's no longer retarded.

Right I'm off to do a bit of jaywalking and listen to a few illegally downloaded songs while I'm at it, I hope you get good and outraged over that too.

A lad like yerself would be great craic at a pub, reminding everyone not to go over their recommended 2.3 units of alcohol or whatever the feck it is

But hey, a Dundalk person not taking firearms and their dangers seriously. The amount of shock I'm in just cannot be described!

What about a Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown person not taking them seriously? would that incur more shock yet again?

You're such a badass Pottler.

You should take a picture of yourself showing your ultra cool dragon tattoos and holding some pistols. Think how cool and badass that would look.

Lighten up TDB.
    He can't make a phone call and have gun in 20 minutes. He might wish he was that connected but it's deluded bravado. Sh!t, I can't even get a pizza in 20 minutes!

This instructs you how to get a gun by claiming it's for shooting on someone's land when in reality you've no intention of doing so and merely intend on using it to protect your house, without any training or knowledge of how to use such a weapon. The person asking the question has made their intention clear, the person answering the question has acknowledged this and given them a route to fill said intention, an illegal one at that, by using a loophole in the current legislation.

No it doesnt, it implies you already have a gun.

But hey, a Dundalk person not taking firearms and their dangers seriously. The amount of shock I'm in just cannot be described!

Also, pepper spray is illegal in Ireland. Shouldn't be advising people how to get their hands on that either.

really?how? by saying you can buy it on the net??lol
    wow,like,just wow.
    you think people cant just google pepper spray an find out for them self?
    without the help of boards?
    troll needs to troll harder:pac:

and as soon as Minister Shitter changes the law it's no longer retarded.

Right I'm off to do a bit of jaywalking and listen to a few illegally downloaded songs while I'm at it, I hope you get good and outraged over that too.

A lad like yerself would be great craic at a pub, reminding everyone not to go over their recommended 2.3 units of alcohol or whatever the feck it is
    Yeah 'cause an mp3 is the equivalent of a firearm. Oh After Hours logic, how special you are.

Changing Shatter to Shítter? Oh you're so smart and witty! Well done you!

I love Irish people, so quick to bring up "craic" as a measure of one's value in a conversation. And Ireland has the lowest average IQ in Western Europe. What a surprise, I'm totally shocked.

Keep flying that ultra special flag for "craic" lads ;)

No it doesnt, it implies you already have a gun.
    No, it implies that you have reserved a gun in a gun store, the sale of which depends on you getting approval from the Gardai. You bring the Gardai the serial number and type of gun and seek approval. You can even do it when ordering firearms from abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Hey guys, you can buy drugs, find child-porn, and even bomb recipes on the Internet.
    Yeah, the Internet, you heard about it?
    Well golly-gosh.

I love Irish people, so quick to bring up "craic" as a measure of one's value in a conversation. And Ireland has the lowest average IQ in Western Europe. What a surprise, I'm totally shocked.

Ah screwy, I must be messing up the averages for loads of people then 'cos I'm in Mensa. Sorry folks.

really?how? by saying you can buy it on the net??lol
    wow,like,just wow.
    you think people cant just google pepper spray an find out for them self?
    without the help of boards?
    troll needs to troll harder:pac:
    Calm down there buddy, if you feel like you're being "trolled" by someone pointing out that there's laws in place with regards to certain things being discussed then it's time to put down the beers and hit the sack as you're only winding yourself up - nobody else is out to do so.

Yeah 'cause an mp3 is the equivalent of a firearm. Oh After Hours logic, how special you are.

Changing Shatter to Shítter? Oh you're so smart and witty! Well done you!

I call him that cause I hate the fucker. So what exactly is your problem, you hate guns and want nobody to have them, you have a licensed gun and you're afraid that people getting them for self defence will make things harder for you or just having an ould trollin session?

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Can't believe nobody has suggested can of Lynx + lighter yet:eek:

Better still, a bunch of spike-jawed bear traps under each window and door. Don't even have to get out of be then. just hear the metallic snap, wait for the screams to die down, go back to sleep and in the morning call the mortuary. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

it's time to put down the beers and hit the sack as you're only winding yourself up - nobody else is out to do so.
    Maybe I shouldn't joke about Dundalk, your site has access to my IP after all, I'm sure it wouldn't beyond the scope of you lads' to send a few of the lads from the 'Ra down to sort it out :D

Hmmmmmmm.

Consider this a first and last warning TDB. Back on topic please.

Calm down there buddy, if you feel like you're being "trolled" by someone pointing out that there's laws in place with regards to certain things being discussed then it's time to put down the beers and hit the sack as you're only winding yourself up - nobody else is out to do so.
    well,hey.guess what yes you are by sayin that people should'nt tell people
    that they can buy pepper spray on the net,and its boards fault?
    like another poster said...you can get porn on the net.(and pepper spray)
    iilegal porn!!!
    but if only for that poster,i would not have known you could do that!:rolleyes:
    wow,the interwebz is great,well mostly.............:pac:

(opens another beer:))

I call him that cause I hate the fucker. So what exactly is your problem, you hate guns and want nobody to have them, you have a licensed gun and you're afraid that people getting them for self defence will make things harder for you or just having an ould trollin session?
    So you're sitting here, on the internet, feeling so strongly about this man that you can say you actually hate him, yet chances are he doesn't know you exist nor care if you do in the first place? And you claim that I have issues!?

No, I don't hate guns. They are licensed here for a range of legitimate purposes and that's what they should be used for. It should not be encouraged for people to claim they're going to use them for these purposes to have access to them, and then use them solely in a manner that is against the law.

People doing so affects all gun owners who have them for legitimate reasons. Your average home owner does NOT need a firearm and particularly now when there is no resources available in order to train these people how to use firearms in the confines of a home in a self-defensive manner. Shooting a gun indoors is entirely different to firing one in a field and it's absolutely ludicrous to be suggesting that the average punter should be getting one, storing it and then pulling it out when they think there's a threat in the house. It is asking for trouble.

It takes very little to trigger a gun and they've an enormous, and quite surprising even when you're expecting it, amount of force and the thought of some idiot who thought having a gun in the house would be a good idea running around in the dark with a weapon they've never fired, in halls that are likely to be 4 foot wide at most, with their mindset of there being an intruder in the house is absolutely terrifying. It is, again, asking for trouble and nothing more.

Mod

STFU about gun laws and such and keep it a light hearted thread like it was meant to be. Kthzbai!!

hey.this is my gun....and this is for fun(and ill polish it as hard as i want to):pac:

...like another poster said...

Is that all I am to you?

After everything we've shared?

*womanly squeak of disgust*

grindle wrote: »
    Is that all I am to you?

After everything we've shared?

*womanly squeak of disgust*
    yea,but like i told you in the pm.
    you wont polish my gun 3 times a week:mad:

yea,but like i told you in the pm.
    you wont polish my gun 3 times a week:mad:
    I offered 4... :confused:

grindle wrote: »
    I offered 4... :confused:
    yea,but without the gun lube:(:(

by the way my above post was for someone else's post that was deleted.but
    it worked out well to your reply:pac:

Your average home owner does NOT need a firearm and particularly now when there is no resources available in order to train these people how to use firearms in the confines of a home in a self-defensive manner. Shooting a gun indoors is entirely different to firing one in a field and it's absolutely ludicrous to be suggesting that the average punter should be getting one, storing it and then pulling it out when they think there's a threat in the house. It is asking for trouble.

It takes very little to trigger a gun and they've an enormous, and quite surprising even when you're expecting it, amount of force and the thought of some idiot who thought having a gun in the house would be a good idea running around in the dark with a weapon they've never fired, in halls that are likely to be 4 foot wide at most, with their mindset of there being an intruder in the house is absolutely terrifying. It is, again, asking for trouble and nothing more.

.. a mighty bang that the human mind simply cannot comprehend and will render the person in a state of permanent madness so he'd only be fit for the padded cell.

Unless he had training. An ould bit of training could solve this problem and give you the ability to shoot an intruder with confidence. I might just do the fas course on that one. Get the ould Level 5 on indoor intruder shooting, maybe the safepass as well so i'd be qualified to shoot him in an unfinished hallway as well and so i dont hurt me back dragging him out the door.

ah,ffs...
    Don't ever give it up:pac:

F

Y

P

Edit: flip it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,648 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The law has changed already to get a gun now you most get a doctors cert

No you don't.
    I know you can own a clock if in a club,but has to be stored thier.think about 20 glocks that are legal.
    Very hard to get one now(thats legal,i mean)

Can't own a Glock anymore..period..unless you have a pre existing licence for it..sorry Deco..back to the airsoft with ya:pac:

Blay wrote: »
    No you don't.

Can't own a Glock anymore..period..unless you have a pre existing licence for it..sorry Deco..back to the airsoft with ya:pac:
    sorry,blay,you are right.i left that out.but anyone that has one.
    can keep a hold of it.
    my bad,mate:o

sorry blay,but did i say you can still get a glock?think i just said thier are x amount of them that are legal?..must look back at my post.
    tbh you know a hell of a lot more a bout the law than me bud.
    i was just tryin to make a point to a poster here that got some posts
    deleted:D

i thought that if you are in a gun club like this,
    that they have to be stored there?
    No?

I know you can own a clock if in a club,but has to be stored thier.think about 20 glocks that are legal.
    Very hard to get one now(thats legal,i mean)
    yep,blay:pac:
    never said you can get one now:pac::pac:
    shoot ya later bud,in my multi cam puk:P

sorry blay,but did i say you can still get a glock?think i just said thier are x amount of them that are legal?..must look back at my post.
    tbh you know a hell of a lot more a bout the law than me bud.
    i was just tryin to make a point to a poster here that got some posts
    deleted:D

Ya just said it was hard to get them now(the quote is in my post there), the actual post is way back on page 3, I'm a latecomer to the thread so I'm not too sure who's talking to who etc:pac:

Edit: That multicam won't save you forever:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,527 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Anyone who has a gun and stores it responsibly would do so in a safe. Preferably with the bolt out, barrel off or dissasembled, if possible, and separate from the ammo.

So chances are, if you own a firearm, it would still be more practical to use your bedside lamp or a shoe than go for the gun.

I keep a sack of doorknobs beside my bed for defence.