Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alison O'Riordan returns

• 13-05-2012 12:12pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭

When did Alison O'Riordan come back? I thought she'd left the country to try her skills abroad.
    Noticed her name attached to a press article this morning in the Sindo in relation to a Dunne wedding.
    Son of developer Dunne ties the knot in Clane
    By ALISON O'RIORDAN
    Sunday May 13 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

So now she's back? From outerspace? I just walked in to find her there with that same sad look upon her face.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

Who :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

How much did she borrow now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Cassidy28 wrote: »
    Who :confused:

Someone who liked her 15 seconds of fame and wants more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

V
    So now she's back? From outerspace? I just walked in to find her there with that same sad look upon her face.

Turtyturd wrote: »

She did survive...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Nivek's father Kevin who she is named after (Nivek is Kevin spelt backwards) gave the beautiful bride away.

Fascinating stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

"Clongowes chapel was an obvious choice for the mass," said one source, referring to the fact that his father, Carlow developer Sean Dunne had paid out €1m to build Ireland's first all-weather rugby pitch when his sons attended the school.
    Sean Dunne has consented to an order being made against him, directing him to repay more than €185m to NAMA

Hey Mr Dunne.
    How about paying back NAMA before splashing out on flashy Celtic Tiger style weddings

Jaysus, one million on a football pitch while NAMA goes unpaid

The man should be living on no more then the dole until that money is paid back. Not flying in from the USA and owning houses around Ireland
    Media-shy Stephen Dunne, himself a property developer, is a past pupil of Ireland's leading boarding school, Clongowes Wood College, near Clane, Co Kildare, where he yesterday married Nivek Begley, from Blackrock, Co Dublin.

Friends from private secondary school Alexandra College in Milltown, south Dublin, from where the now events services professional Ms Begley graduated in 2004 were in abundance, driving an array of Mini Coopers.

What's with all the name dropping?
    Why is going to private secondary school such a big deal for Alison?
    Nivek's father Kevin who she is named after (Nivek is Kevin spelt backwards) gave the beautiful bride away.

They may have money but they sure don't have class :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Oh Christ, and to think that I almost bought the independent this morning. Thankfully I just stayed in bed instead of going to the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

For those that don't konw she is the freelance "journalist" who writes atrocious pieces and then flogs the same pieces to a few periodicals and is a generallly self centered idiotic individual who blames everyone else for her excesses.

Like buying a shoe box with no parking for half a million and ranting about it to any rag that would publish it.

She seems like a fcuking lunatic.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Hey Mr Dunne.
    How about paying back NAMA before splashing out on flashy Celtic Tiger style weddings

The man should be living on no more then the dole until that money is paid back. Not flying in from the USA and owning houses around Ireland

The pitch was built back when his son first went to the school.

Did you read the article at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

It's a sign! A truck just went past my house with 'Kevin' on it!

brb

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

This was the original epic boards thread I signed my life away for the sake of city centre apartment

I thought she'd gone to the States to try out something new but she must've returned unnoticed. I don't understand how she gets paid to write the stuff she does.

The pitch was built back when his son first went to the school.

Did you read the article at all?

Condescending attitude to someone not reading one of her 'articles'?.........Really?

She's not bad looking :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Shatner

Did she graduate from Columbia?

Her writing hasn't improved much.

Maybe Alison and Niamh Horan will become the Woodward and Bernstein of Dublin, breaking major scoops on high-class spas buying face creams from Aldi and such and such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

She's no Samantha Brick.

Unfortunately you are in the minority thinking that or she would have other avenues to explore for paying for her shoebox.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Aren't we here at Boards prohibited from discussing her after the last time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I saw she was back writing in Ireland a few weeks ago. According to an article in Irish Central she went and did a masters in Journalism in Columbia University.

Condescending attitude to someone not reading one of her 'articles'?.........Really?

Of course, if you are going to complain about something then do it right...complaining about something which isn't even an issue just distracts from the important parts, like Alison being a talentless wench.

Also, don't forget about all them free drugs she was finding.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056076700

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Hey Mr Dunne.

Maybe they should rip the pitch up or something? :confused:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Maybe they should rip the pitch up or something? :confused:

Weed killer tbh.

Unfortunately you are in the minority thinking that or she would have other avenues to explore for paying for her shoebox.;)

I'm just desperate at the minute :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

In before the lock.

She is a stupid head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Just had read through the original article in the other thread and came across
    It was, however, weeks before the collapse in the middle of 2008, when prices tumbled. I ignored repeated warnings both from my parents and the Central Bank and instead ploughed in head first and handed over the money.
    Absolutley no sympathy for the gob****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I like Alison, I also like lamp!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭oceanclub

I never saw this article where Broadsheet were forced by the Irish Times to remove a photo of her and replaced it with an artist's rendition:

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2010/10/15/update-the-alison-oriordan-backlash-escalates/

http://files.broadsheet.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/alisun.jpg

Near laughed up my breakfast.

P.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭MysticalRain

I saw she was back writing in Ireland a few weeks ago. According to an article in Irish Central she went and did a masters in Journalism in Columbia University.

She obviously didn't learn much about journalism if she's still writing pieces like this one.

Just read the article there myself it's ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Just read the article there myself it's ****e.

no its not. Its 'glamourous'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

All of a sudden my apartment was worth less than I paid for it, I literally died.

Top journalist to be fair.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Top journalist to be fair.

Literally the best journo ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Shatner wrote: »

Maybe Alison and Niamh Horan will become the Woodward and Bernstein of Dublin,

There'll be only one way they will be connected to "Deep throat", and it won't be through journalism....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Literally the best journo ever.

...lacks the turn of phrase that Waters has though. Sometimes he'd make so many, he'd have the sentences tied in knots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Nivek's father Kevin who she is named after (Nivek is Kevin spelt backwards)

I literally died when I read this line.

Seriously, my ghost is writing this post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭pennypocket

"Media-shy Stephen Dunne, himself a property developer, is a past pupil of Ireland's leading boarding school..."
    Columbia didn't teach herself much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

aw I couldnt find the tv3 interview with this wagon. What a spoon.

saa wrote: »

She went on television with this garbage?
    What awful person hosted he......oh let me guess, was it the late late show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

Can I just check - was it Columbia University for sure? maybe she just did a masters in Columbia the country. Ummm that links with all the 'free drugs' stories too ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Quote:
    Originally Posted by saa viewpost.gif

She went on television with this garbage?
    What awful person hosted he......oh let me guess, was it the late late show?

Yes, the late late show on TV3...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

BornToKill wrote: »
    Can I just check - was it Columbia University for sure? maybe she just did a masters in Columbia the country. Ummm that links with all the 'free drugs' stories too ...

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/I-never-thought-Id-leave-Ireland-for-the-American-dream--118159014.html

I wasn't expecting her back until September tbh. Maybe masters courses are shorter in the USA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭PhoenixParker

I don't think she ever actually went to Columbia.
    I'm pretty sure she's been in Dublin for the last year.
    Not sure what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I don't think she ever actually went to Columbia.
    I'm pretty sure she's been in Dublin for the last year.
    Not sure what happened.

...the fees, I'd reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

I can't get past the bride being called Nivek.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Coal1978

Is she back? Does that mean the cranberries are back together?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

Ahh, its 2006, Let us sit back, crack open a bottle of cristal and see what bulgarian apartment block were going to buy this weekend.

Sea Filly wrote: »
    I can't get past the bride being called Nivek.

Yeah. Sounds like the emporor of the lizard people or summit.

Nodin wrote: »
    ...the fees, I'd reckon.

Yes, how on earth can a woman with her debt afford to study abroad, in America of all places.