Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complete newbie Audio DVD question

• 13-05-2012 1:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭

Hi all, great forum here it seems and I hope you can help me with an issue I have.

I got a documentary in German on DVD for a Television company here in Germany. I was to edit it for sending back to family in Ireland.

The documentary has, as most documentaries, a voice over presenter who never appears in the video itself, and lots of people in the video who are interviewed and talk German.

My hope was to do some subtitling of the German speakers in the video and a complete replacement of the audio voice over from the presenter (probably with my own voice, not subtitles) without harming any of the rest of the audio on the video.

The DVD that came however has a VIDEO_TS directory and no AUDIO_TS directory. I am a complete newbie but I am guessing this means the Audio was coded into the video and not separately so I will need to separate it myself some how?

Does this make it impossible to do what I need or are they still separable... I have read through the sticky on editing software at the top of the forum but still not clear what would be the best software for my requirements here... I do not want to do any actual video editing, it would be all audio..... the subtitling I imagine would be easier but if possible, for scenes with more than one speaker, I would like to have different color fonts for the subtitles for each speaker.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

Well I learnt a lot reading the net this week.