Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Battle Lines Are Drawn:Bayern Munich VS Chelsea (UEFA Champions League Final )

1192021222325»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

kitakyushu wrote: »
    Ah not forever, just until it happens again.

In the paraphrased words of homer simpson: It's not the worst day of their lives...its the worst day of their lives so far :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

digging.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

monkey9 wrote: »
    I'm also delighted he was blocked out of lifting the trophy on tv by a black lad!!

I think Lampard did most of the blocking (2:05)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I like the way Drogba tried to move the players aside to make room for Terry & Lampard. Didn't really work though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Deserved win for Chelsea no doubt. Bayern had numerous chances to kill the game but their finishing was woeful last night. Found it strange that they stopped trying to find/feed Gomez in the second half - yeah he missed a few chances in the first but he was getting into those positions and I was sure he'd score given another couple. But then they had the likes of Robben not knowing when not to shoot and generally picking the wrong option too many times. And he's a poor peno taker so that's another area where Bayern blew it.

Still find the whole AVB thing a bit strange - how the players were able to push him out of the club like that. I don't know if anybody saw the pre-game build-up on Sky but there was a bit where Lampard pulled RDM out of a hat and had to say a good and bad thing about him - good thing was something along the lines of "RDM picks me unlike that other guy". I dunno, seems like AVB never had a chance with players like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Robben is so predictable. Right wing, 1 trick, bit of pace, shift the ball in field, take a swing with his left foot. Bayern may have had 35 shots in the match but i'd say there must be 7-10 of them which were Robben swingers from 25 yards, which ended up in Row Z.

It's strange that a star Dutch player is so one-footed.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Fair play to Chelsea, defensively they were too solid for Bayern. It left them frustrated and it showed when they crafted good chances to score, totally bottled them. It was a big win on penos considering Bayern had the home advantage. Was also very surprised to see Neuer take a peno lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Well he was still able to create the space. It might be predictable at times but that doesn't mean it's easy to stop. The problem, imo, was his decision making when he did cut inside/go down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

nuxxx wrote: »
    digging.gif

She's rooting for Chelsea

Panthro wrote: »
    She's rooting for Chelsea

Looks like she was unable to pick a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Was it a tactical error taking Muller off?
    He would have taken a peno, no?

He's German, of course he would've.
    The G8 reaction.

g8.png

Cameron is a tool. Obama probably hasn't a clue what's going on. Merkel looking hot as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

spiralism wrote:
    gutted for bayern in front of their own fans. This will haunt forever.

I used to have those feelings. Now I just remind myself never to feel sorry for anyone who gets paid north of 10k per week to play football.

Seriously, they're obviously upset right now but their amazing lie should help them recover. TBH I'm more p1ssed off that I have to go to work on Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

gosplan wrote: »
    I used to have those feelings. Now I just remind myself never to feel sorry for anyone who gets paid north of 10k per week to play football.

And it won't haunt them if they win one. Bet Terry's forgotten 08 already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Hey Keith16, this one's for you :pac::

579463_415727875128331_111400652227723_1306554_815150525_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

probably the stupidest most insensitive post in the entire thread! well done!

Jose Boswinga is his name (not some 'black lad'). People have names. Are you delighted he was blocked out of lifting it on tv by some white lad too? Ya know that white lad? Frank Lampard.....

More to the point, innocent until proven guilty. Ashley Cole, Didier Drogba, Florent Malouda etc, all good mates with John Terry, all of a different skin colour. It may just transpire Terry maintains his current innocence.

Whoooooosh!!!Never mind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

I'm absolutly over the moon today, and it still hasn't sunk it yet to be honest, but....

All joking aside I really do feel for the Bayern fans. I know what I feels like to lose a CL final on penalties, it's really not nice, I don't think i've felt as bad / down as I did that night of the final in Moscow :( I wouldn't wish it on any fan TBH. Chin up I hope they go on to win it in the next few years, just not against Chelsea ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

The other end of the scale...

article-2147069-1330D1C3000005DC-876_634x417.jpg

article-2147069-1330D0BB000005DC-952_634x417.jpg

article-2147069-1330D0AD000005DC-671_634x425.jpg

article-2147069-13309B95000005DC-140_634x388.jpg

article-2147069-13310669000005DC-758_634x417.jpg

article-2147069-13310571000005DC-27_634x423.jpg

Feel sorry for Lahm. Robben? Not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Munich are some tits

that is all.

probably the most ill deserved win in a CL final ever.

I rarely get into an argument over the internet, but I think a few people from Milan will dispute this.

The bitterness from some people is just, as Gary Neville would say, unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Robben's a bottler, Bill!!

J. Marston wrote: »

Feel sorry for Lahm. Robben? Not so much.

Ribery's g/f wanted to attend the reception too but it was past her bedtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Originally Posted by carbon nanotube viewpost.gif
    Munich are some tits

that is all.

probably the most ill deserved win in a CL final ever.

Oh, I'm sorry, your going to be disappointed then because

Chelsea are the Champions of Europe and JT lifted the trophy

And we beat the "mighty" Barca along the way

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭BlueBaron

Well, we're not all Chelsea through and through and hence we can say what a joke it was that Terry was parading about in his regalia!! It was embarrassing to look at.

It takes nothing away from what Chelsea achieved tonight! They are Champions of Europe and deservedly so,but Terry was a joke! Maybe it should have it's own thread or something be cause it's obviously going to start a ****storm when Chelsea fans should celebrate!

i wasn't on about you being chelsea through and through, but obviously terry is, let him enjoy the moment for christ sake!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Was it a tactical error taking Muller off?
    He would have taken a peno, no?

Quite possibly although at this stage and considering how the game had gone so far it was a fair assumption the single goal was going to be the match winner. With Torres coming on it wasn't an outlandish decision to bring van Buyten for Mueller and move Timo into the double 6 with Schweinsteiger and advance Kroos into Muellers position. Going that tad more defensively. Just didn't work out.

When it went into extra time I was thinking 'is it legal to bring Mueller back on, reverse the substitution?'
    I wonder can you actually do that or is a player thats being substituted out for good?

Boskowski wrote: »
    When it went into extra time I was thinking 'is it legal to bring Mueller back on, reverse the substitution?'
    I wonder can you actually do that or is a player thats being substituted out for good?

Gone for good. I do reckon in future that the rules will change to mirror many other sports where players can come on and off repeatedly depending on the situation.
    Best you can do for now is sub the sub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Killinator

I couldn't quite tell but did one of the Munich players(Kross maybe?) touch the trophy as he walked past it coming out of the tunnel,
    I would have thought after Gattuso in Istanbul, no player would ever attempt to touch it until they had won it.

As great as it was to see Lamps lift the trophy, I was somewhat disappointed to see most of the other lads do their level best to stop him getting to the front to raise it, especially Bose who was determined, despite Drogs's best efforts, to get more of a hold on the trophy than Lampard for the raise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Well, we're not all Chelsea through and through and hence we can say what a joke it was that Terry was parading about in his regalia!! It was embarrassing to look at.

It takes nothing away from what Chelsea achieved tonight! They are Champions of Europe and deservedly so,but Terry was a joke! Maybe it should have it's own thread or something be cause it's obviously going to start a ****storm when Chelsea fans should celebrate!

You keep going back to Terry though. Why is it not a joke that Ivanovic did it?
    keith16 wrote: »

Then you have last nite where JT practically demanded to be the center of attention during the celebrations. He is as classless as they come.

More demandign than the guy sitting up on the crossbar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,481 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

JT almost single handedly cost Chelsea the trip to Munich in the SF and yet he is feted as some kind of returning hero. A despicable human being to boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

come on man!! Cantonas kung-fu kick ruled him out from Jan to May with United chasing the double. He still went on to be United Captain. Zidane headbutting Matterazi ruled him out of the penno shoot-out, who is to say that didn't cost France.

What Terry did in the semi was stupid, petulant and retarded. In perspective, what he did was give a girly knee in the back. Straightforward red, suspension and cost himself a place in final, should chelsea reach it, which they did. He paid the price for this by missing out on playing in one of the biggest nights of his career.

Point is, Cantona, Zidane, Terry.....all 3 were/are vital to the success of their teams and anybody saying things like "he has some nerve" has obviously never played football at any level. Even in sunday league games in Ireland, if you were a mug and got suspended for a local derby or cup final, if your team wins you celebrate just as much, if not more, than the rest of the lads. It's part of being in a group and putting in all the effort in training and on the pitch. It's also partly relief that the boys won in spite of your actions!!

It's pure begrudgery being witnessed here. Like the next man, i think Terry can be some plum at times off the field, but can't argue with all the years of service he has put in for that club on the pitch.

It's ridiculous the way some people go on about certain players.

Zidane was pretty much absolved of blame from the WC. IIRC , people were calling Materazzi a scumbag and blaming him. Poor Zidane forced to headbutt him :rolleyes:

Look at the stuff about Terry around the time of the story about him and Bridges missus and compare it to the few jokes and a slap on the back Giggs got for ridign his sister in law for 6 years and having a go on Imogen then trying to bury the lot in money.

Cantona has done far worse than kicking that clown of a Palace fan yet look at the thread here recently , pretty much no mention of smacking teammates round the head with the studs of his boots, trying to chop players in half on he pitch or stamping on John Moncurs chest.

Certain players get a free ride.

At the end of the day, at a crucial time in a match with an opponant about to score and the only way to stop it is to put your face between the ball and his foot, theres very few players I'd pick that would do it. Terry would be right at the top of that small list though and you clearly cant buy that commitment seeing as there are players on 50k and a lot more per week ducking out of the way of bloody free kicks and conceding goals week in week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

^As much as I dislike JT, you are spot on in that post.