Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

ever invent a new word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Scup.

Still have to find out what that means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

Funglegunk wrote: »
    Scup.

Still have to find out what that means.

Where i come from its like a cross between g'wan and up

"scup outta that"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,512 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

"cousband" is a perfectly cromulent word.

It's a type of green been used in Surinamese cooking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

Witchie wrote: »
    Tonight I was trying to explain to some friends who a guy in our company was and that he was a cousin of another mate but somehow I got it mixed up and called him her "cousband".

I think I should patent the word and sell it to red necks in America and people from Dundalk as am sure cousins who are also their husbands is quite a common thing.

This coming from a Monaghan man... really? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Babycakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Volcan0wned - when Icelandic Volcano Eyjafjallajökull erupts and pwns the sh*t out of half of Europe's population, who already booked flights and had hoped to travel, but got volcan0wned at the last second.

See also, Mount Vesuvius.

Usage: Man, those Vesuvians really got volcanowned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Wogging

half jogging half walking :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Witchie wrote: »
    Tonight I was trying to explain to some friends who a guy in our company was and that he was a cousin of another mate but somehow I got it mixed up and called him her "cousband".

I think I should patent the word and sell it to red necks in America and people from Dundalk as am sure cousins who are also their husbands is quite a common thing.

Your signature pic is HUGE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭shygal

haha this is why i love boards:D

I invented two words: Yarden = garden plus yard and Baget= bag plus packet

feel free to use them

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

No but I love the word vaganus. (Va-Jane-ES)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Pighead wrote: »
    Shut up you stinking Cisco loving nerdlinger.

Offetty: Petty comeback used for when you are offended by something somebody has said to you.

Be careful lest I ling my nerd in your direction.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭diabloro

Scarperapperell - robbed clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

bigneacy wrote: »
    This coming from a Monaghan man... really? :pac:

How dare you! I am not a Monaghan Man. Feck sake.

Am a Monaghan woman! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Your signature pic is HUGE

That's coz our need for support is HUGE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Impossibible.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

I invented the word "Truple" for people like myself in a relationship containing three people rather than the standard "Couple" with two.

Jaysus. Could you imagine the Scrabble score if there were four of ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Scradruple?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

I invented the word "crapisimo", or at least introduced it into the English language. Basically it means "crap".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

forfuxsake wrote: »
    No but I love the word vaganus. (Va-Jane-ES)

I know someone with one of those. She removed the space between the vagina whole and the anus hole.

Jaysus. Could you imagine the Scrabble score if there were four of ye?

I did try to see how far I could go by making up words for 4 people, 5 people and so on. I got bored around 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,573 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

was it your bedtime then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I tried to start the trend of saying something is a bit of a Larry Downer when describing something as depressing. It didnt take off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭gdavis

a ladies genatalia.....her bunscrunge.say it out loud,it so suits it!

Facecake
    {v}
    Definition: The generous application of a cake to another person's face, or vice-versa.

He called me a cunt so I facecaked him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I invented the word 'fo'shizzle'

You see, its a hip new way of saying 'for sure'

...my nizzle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Odaise Gaelach

Pilllion (n)
    Definition: 1000000000000000000, that is, a billion billion, or a million trillion, or a thousand gillion.

(Not to be confused with pillion, which only has two 'l's.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Has this been tried before? I always thought this would be a good idea so basically my word is Wan -Definition: Water in a can! Pronounce the an as in fan ya get my drift:D
    Hey you, are you thirsty? Then have a nice cold can of wan! Got me a slogan an all:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

stoneill wrote: »
    splange

Shíte - someone already invented it:
    Splange
    The slightly over eger weed smoker who hogs the joints, gets way too high and and doesn't put in.
    "I can't ****ing believe this Matt you prick, next time you come round you'd better bring some weed, you ****ing splange."

Wow! In my (tiny little) mind, I always had you pegged as Stephen [EMAIL="O@Neill"]O'Neill[/EMAIL].

I never realised you were just stoned and ill.

Sorry man. Here, have a liquorice all-sort!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Shart.. it s something that starts out as a fart but ends up something else. or a fart which has the lasting smell of ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

Complify - it's kinda the opposite of simplify

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

Yes.

This - http://bit.ly/Jqqsfe

is a BluGalu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I'm going to invent one right now.

Enbibe: to give someone else a drink.

Seja Vu - The feeling one should have done this before now.

Loosely based on Terry Prattchetts "Reja Vu" which is the feeling you are going to end up doing this again.