Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 2012 - 'Improvers' thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

RedRunner wrote: »

Just wondering if you have any advice on how best to rejing this weeks training for HH Inter 1 to fit in two races?

Mon - Cross
    Tue - 3m
    Wed- 6m
    Thur-3m
    Fri -Rest
    Sat -6m pace
    Sun -11m

I'm doing James Hospital Liberties run on Thurs ,6.5k and Fingal 10k on Sunday.

Would appreciate any thoughts/suggestions.Maybe move the cross from mon to wed and bring tues and Wed 1 day forward , replace thurs with race. How do I handle sat and sun though?

I'd drop the pace from the run on saturday and just run 6 easy. For the race on sunday you should ideally get in a warm up and cool down (20 minutes each) which should bring you close to 11 miles anyway?
    For thursdays race you whould do a warmup + cool down as well which means you can just do 3 miles easy on wednesday as thursday will more than cover 6 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Name|Plan|Sessions Completed|Miles/KM This Week| Total Miles/KM | Comments
    liamog|HH Inter 1|5|36.5 km| 76.5 km |swapped one of the shorts for a weekly club session. Joining up with Le Chéile AC this week.
    Micilín Muc|P&D:55-70|12|86km|174km|Easier than Week 1. Two hill races coming up in Week 3 :D
    RedRunner|HH Inter 1|5|22.97m|76.83m|Managed to get all runs in despite being on hols so really happy with that. Diet wasn't great though so a couple of pounds up this week.Touch of sore knee today but nothing serious.
    Mike D|HH Inter 1|15|23.6m|72.9m|Another good week. Ran some good hills this weekend.
    beeduybe|P&D:33-55|4|35m|72m|Completed 14 mile run pretty comfortably
    Lizzy c|P&D -33-55|8|36.24m|70.28m|Struggled a bit with the Marathon Pace Run [13 miles with 8 at MP] - but managed 6 miles at about 8 s slower than marathon pace so I'm ok with that...roll on week 3 :)
    Skidrow|HH inter1|||20m |
    Younganne|Ecolis plan|6|39.80m|3.28m| very happy with this weeks running:D|
    run44|HH inter1|4|21.7m|44.9m|One missed session this week due to sickness over the weekend. Happy to get the 10m LSR in though
    D Chief|P&D -55|5|67.5km| 125.5km|Week 2 went ok. Did ok on yesterday's 21k with 13k PMP, but 42k at that pace?? Early days yet though.
    PDCAT|HH Inter 1|10|8M| 51M|Overuse Injury - only got 2 runs in. Physio's orders to rest for a week. Hope to start back this Friday. Here's hoping.
    Sideline warrior|HH Inter 1|10|26.05m|51.7m|2nd week done. Very slow LSR 9.6m today at 8.51 pace - warm out
    seanie_m|HH Inter 1|10|26.5mi|51.5mi|
    knightmove|P&D -55|||16m|
    doledude86|HH Inter 2|15|26m|79m|step back this week, one more week till my holidays
    irfrm|run world|1|5m|5m|week 1 runners world 3:15 program

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

The only way I can see doing the two races and the LSR is:

Monday - 4 miles recovery (as slow as you want)
    Tuesday - 11 miles (slow)
    Wednesday - rest
    Thursday - 6.5km Liberties
    Friday - 3 miles recovery
    Saturday - crosstraining
    Sunday - 10km Fingal

You'll be one mile short of your weekly target mileage but the two races more than make up for that.
    menoscemo wrote: »
    I'd drop the pace from the run on saturday and just run 6 easy. For the race on sunday you should ideally get in a warm up and cool down (20 minutes each) which should bring you close to 11 miles anyway?
    For thursdays race you whould do a warmup + cool down as well which means you can just do 3 miles easy on wednesday as thursday will more than cover 6 miles.

Thanks to you both for taking the time to make a suggestion. Really appreciate it. Food for thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 seanie_m

liamog|HH Inter 1|5|36.5 km| 76.5 km |swapped one of the shorts for a weekly club session. Joining up with Le Chéile AC this week.
    Micilín Muc|P&D:55-70|12|86km|174km|Easier than Week 1. Two hill races coming up in Week 3 :D
    RedRunner|HH Inter 1|5|22.97m|76.83m|Managed to get all runs in despite being on hols so really happy with that. Diet wasn't great though so a couple of pounds up this week.Touch of sore knee today but nothing serious.
    Mike D|HH Inter 1|15|23.6m|72.9m|Another good week. Ran some good hills this weekend.
    Lizzy c|P&D -33-55|8|36.24m|70.28m|Struggled a bit with the Marathon Pace Run [13 miles with 8 at MP] - but managed 6 miles at about 8 s slower than marathon pace so I'm ok with that...roll on week 3 :)
    run44|HH inter1|4|21.7m|44.9m|One missed session this week due to sickness over the weekend. Happy to get the 10m LSR in though
    D Chief|P&D -55|5|67.5km| 125.5km|Week 2 went ok. Did ok on yesterday's 21k with 13k PMP, but 42k at that pace?? Early days yet though.
    PDCAT|HH Inter 1|10|8M| 51M|Overuse Injury - only got 2 runs in. Physio's orders to rest for a week. Hope to start back this Friday. Here's hoping.
    Sideline warrior|HH Inter 1|10|26.05m|51.7m|2nd week done. Very slow LSR 9.6m today at 8.51 pace - warm out
    seanie_m|HH Inter 1|13|13mi|64mi|Only managed to get 13mi in this week - football and then a bit of a knee strain made me decide to skip today. Here's to looking forward to a new week! The boots have been hung up now too! :)
    doledude86|HH Inter 2|15|26m|79m|step back this week, one more week till my holidays

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Skidrow

seanie_m wrote: »
    Skidrow|HH inter1|5|24m|71m |Week 3 went really well including PB in BHAA 5km race !
    seanie_m|HH Inter 1|13|13mi|64mi|Only managed to get 13mi in this week - football and then a bit of a knee strain made me decide to skip today. Here's to looking forward to a new week! The boots have been hung up now too! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭irfrm

seanie_m wrote: »
    irfrm|run world|5|21m|21m|week 1, missed out on LSR 9 miles:)

Good week, but missed 9 mile LSR, 5km race this Wednesday so will be going for PB, will have to rejig plan a bit.

Skidrow|HH inter1|5|24m|71 |Week 3 went really well including PB in BHAA 5km race !
    Younganne|Ecolis plan|6|39.80m|93.28m| very happy with this weeks running:D|
    irfrm|run world|5|21m|26m|Good week, but missed 9 mile LSR, 5km race this Wednesday so will be going for PB, will have to rejig plan a bit.

When doing the table, you need to remove the
    tags or the next persons can't quote your post with your update...i have added Skidrow & irfrm back in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

Skidrow|HH inter1|5|24m|71 |Week 3 went really well including PB in BHAA 5km race !
    irfrm|run world|5|21m|26m|Good week, but missed 9 mile LSR, 5km race this Wednesday so will be going for PB, will have to rejig plan a bit.
    RubyK|HH Inter 2|8|33.25m|48.85m|Still recovering from WVM. Tough enough 13 mile LSR, but happy enough with recovery/training.

Hope I haven't broken the table, and it's ok to join in. I enjoyed being part of the DCM'10 one, and it's a handy way to keep an eye on progress. Best of luck to everyone :)

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Mike D

Are we meant to be adding sessions completed this week or a running (!) total sessions completed?

Mike D wrote: »
    Are we meant to be adding sessions completed this week or a running (!) total sessions completed?

Sessions this week is my understanding. It would help if there was some consistency alright from contributors.:D

Name|Plan|Weekly Sessions Completed|Miles/KM This Week| Total Miles/KM | Comments
    liamog|HH Inter 1|| km| 76.5 km |
    Micilín Muc|P&D:55-70|||174km|
    Mike D|HH Inter 1|5|23.6m|72.9m|Another good week. Ran some good hills this weekend.
    beeduybe|P&D:33-55|||72m|
    Lizzy c|P&D -33-55|||70.28m|
    run44|HH inter1|||44.9m|
    D Chief|P&D -55||| 125.5km|
    PDCAT|HH Inter 1||| 51M|
    Sideline warrior|HH Inter 1|5|26.05m|51.7m|2nd week done. Very slow LSR 9.6m today at 8.51 pace - warm out
    seanie_m|HH Inter 1|3|13mi|64mi|Only managed to get 13mi in this week - football and then a bit of a knee strain made me decide to skip today. Here's to looking forward to a new week! The boots have been hung up now too! :)
    doledude86|HH Inter 2|||79m|
    RubyK|HH Inter 2|5|33.25m|48.85m|Still recovering from WVM. Tough enough 13 mile LSR, but happy enough with recovery/training.

I have updated the table if its ok with everyone to reflect those who have updated for the completion of week 3! Tell me to feck off if ye want...but not so busy in work today:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Name|Plan|Weekly Sessions Completed|Miles/KM This Week| Total Miles/KM | Comments
    Micilín Muc|P&D:55-70|6|93km|267km|2 good hill races in W3. A lot to be said for open water swimming as crosstraining for muscle recovery. Week 4 brings me to my first 100km week :D
    Mike D|HH Inter 1|5|23.6m|72.9m|Another good week. Ran some good hills this weekend.
    run44|HH inter1|||44.9m|
    PDCAT|HH Inter 1||| 51M|
    Sideline warrior|HH Inter 1|5|26.05m|51.7m|2nd week done. Very slow LSR 9.6m today at 8.51 pace - warm out
    seanie_m|HH Inter 1|3|13mi|64mi|Only managed to get 13mi in this week - football and then a bit of a knee strain made me decide to skip today. Here's to looking forward to a new week! The boots have been hung up now too! :)
    RubyK|HH Inter 2|5|33.25m|48.85m|Still recovering from WVM. Tough enough 13 mile LSR, but happy enough with recovery/training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Anyone any ideas on when you should introduce new shoes for race day?

Picked up a new pair of asics, €40 off, so wondering when to break them in or just start rotating them with an identical pair.

nerraw1111 wrote: »

Picked up a new pair of asics, €40 off, so wondering when to break them in or just start rotating them with an identical pair.

Heard before that you should change them every 1000 miles or 12 months. Not sure how good that advice is though as I heard it just through word of mouth so don't know how much science behind that.

I got a new pair last July and reckon I'll change them next month. It might be a good idea to break them in sooner rather than later so as to be sure they are the right shoe for you and you don't experience any new problems because of them.If they are just the same shoe again but new ones I'd expect you could leave it till a few weeks before the big race.

I'll defer however to those that would have more expertise than I:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Micilín Muc|P&D:55-70|6|93km|267km|2 good hill races in W3. A lot to be said for open water swimming as crosstraining for muscle recovery. Week 4 brings me to my first 100km week :D
    run44|HH inter1|||44.9m|

Guys, just taking my name out of the table as due to continuous injury problems, i won't be running a marathon in October. Have missed most of the last three weeks through injury and the fact that i'm still not fixed as yet - i'm dropping out.
    Won't be doing marathon until November/December timeframe. Best of luck to all of you. Hope your training goes great and you get the performance's you want.

PDCAT wrote: »
    Guys, just taking my name out of the table as due to continuous injury problems, i won't be running a marathon in October. Have missed most of the last three weeks through injury and the fact that i'm still not fixed as yet - i'm dropping out.
    Won't be doing marathon until November/December timeframe. Best of luck to all of you. Hope your training goes great and you get the performance's you want.

Sorry to hear that PDCAT. Hope your injuries clear up sooner rather than later and you get back training again and make your Marathon goal later in the year. Best of luck.

Cross today--20Km on exercise bike at home 39 mins, some stretching and core work too.

Can feel the legs are stronger now. A couple of months ago I would have been tired after that, now it feels easy. Bring on the rest of the week and those races!

PDCAT wrote: »

PDCAT, sorry to hear that....some people would just keep training so you're making the right decision and theres plenty of marathons to chose from now...Best of luck and heres to a quick & full recovery!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭beeduybe

beeduybe|P&D:33-55|5|42m|114m|Everything going to plan so far. Happy to get my 5 runs in despite having a few distractions.
    run44|HH inter1|||44.9m|

First 3 weeks of training has passed without any problems. Glad to get my second LT run out of the way. Tough session coming up next weekend with 10 miles @ PMP as well as a 5k race on Wed.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭Lizzy C

beeduybe|P&D:33-55|5|42m|114m|Everything going to plan so far. Happy to get my 5 runs in despite having a few distractions.
    Lizzy c|P&D -33-55|5|40.15m|110.43m|Week 3 down. Happy with my LT run this week - could notice improvement from same run two weeks before :)
    run44|HH inter1|||44.9m|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

nerraw1111 wrote: »

You want them reasonably new but broken in. Ideally probably around 100 - 150 miles in them including at least one long run + a race or tempo run. That's the ideal scenario. In reality there's a lot of flexibility either side of those numbers. It's the 'brand new' and 'ready for the scrap heap' conditions that you should avoid.
    RedRunner wrote: »
    Heard before that you should change them every 1000 miles or 12 months. Not sure how good that advice is though as I heard it just through word of mouth so don't know how much science behind that.

I got a new pair last July and reckon I'll change them next month. It might be a good idea to break them in sooner rather than later so as to be sure they are the right shoe for you and you don't experience any new problems because of them.If they are just the same shoe again but new ones I'd expect you could leave it till a few weeks before the big race.

I'll defer however to those that would have more expertise than I:)

Unusual numbers offered there. Standard advice offered is 350 - 500 miles depending on your weight. How much that's influenced by the manufacturers I don't know. If you keep an eye on the wear on the bottom of the runners particularly if it's uneven that should give you a good guide as to when a pair should be discarded. Remember that if you wait until you get injured that's too late! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,925 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Quick question for those of you following the P&D< 55 plan. For the speed sessions are these to be done after the GA element or during it? For example the plan for me today is 8 Miles with 10*100. Should this be 8GA and then 10 100 m sprints with 100 to 200 m walk/rest in between thus giving a total workout of 8.6 Miles.

I had been doing it as 8 Miles with ten sprints mixed into the 8 Miles itself.

How should it be done? Is there a difference?

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭run44

Lizzy c|P&D -33-55|5|40.15m|110.43m|Week 3 down. Happy with my LT run this week - could notice improvement from same run two weeks before :)
    run44|HH inter1|5|27m|62mm|Happy to get 5 in this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Quick question for those of you following the P&D< 55 plan. For the speed sessions are these to be done after the GA element or during it? For example the plan for me today is 8 Miles with 10*100. Should this be 8GA and then 10 100 m sprints with 100 to 200 m walk/rest in between thus giving a total workout of 8.6 Miles.

Do them at the end of your run. It doesn't really matter if you start them after 7 miles or 8 miles, but you should have all your GA miles done before you start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭potsy11

I am doing the 10km Fingal race in swords on Sunday and would love some advice on how to structure the week. I want to reaally test myself in the 10km.

I dont know how to reschedule my week. This is the plan. Can someone suggest actual.

Mon - Rest / CT
    Tue - LT 8 Mi w/4mi (4mi at 15k – half race pace)

Wed - Recovery 4 mi
    Thurs - GA 10 Mi
    Fri - Rest
    Sat - Recovery 4 mi
    Sun - Long 14 mi

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

liamog|HH Inter 1|4|42.5 km| 119.0 km | Really enjoying my recovery swims on a monday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

liamog|HH Inter 1|4|42.5 km| 119.0 km | Really enjoying my recovery swims on a monday
    shels4ever|just run|9|50|50|Just lots of easy runs last week. Head not in the log runs jsut yet but hope to get to grips with them soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Would I be mad to do this - http://www.26extreme.com/productdetails/1451/causeway-coast-marathon.aspx as an LSR ? On my plan I have 20 miles planned for that weekend, so it's not much more than it. I would plan on taking it well easy. The only think is that I have a 22 mile LSR planned for the week after

potsy11 wrote: »
    I am doing the 10km Fingal race in swords on Sunday and would love some advice on how to structure the week. I want to reaally test myself in the 10km.

I dont know how to reschedule my week. This is the plan. Can someone suggest actual.

Mon - Rest / CT
    Tue - LT 8 Mi w/4mi (4mi at 15k – half race pace)

Wed - Recovery 4 mi
    Thurs - GA 10 Mi
    Fri - Rest
    Sat - Recovery 4 mi
    Sun - Long 14 mi

I'd Drop the LT run from tuesday and replace it with the race on Sunday. Then maybe run the 10 mile GA on Tuesday/wednesaday and the LSR on Thursday or Friday.

Would I be mad to do this - http://www.26extreme.com/productdetails/1451/causeway-coast-marathon.aspx as an LSR ? On my plan I have 20 miles planned for that weekend, so it's not much more than it. I would plan on taking it well easy. The only think is that I have a 22 mile LSR planned for the week after

Yeah, that would be pretty mad alright :D
    Seriously that causeway marathon is pretty tough, the company are not called 26 extreme for nothing.
    There is no harm doing as many marathons as you want just don't expect it not to affect your goal marathon.