Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 2012 - 'Improvers' thread

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭trigger26

Sorry for your loss D Chief, fair play to you to keep running

Trig

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭irfrm

No|Name|Plan|Week|Weekly Sessions|Miles/KM This Week| Total Miles/KM | Comments
    1|liamog|HH Inter 1|9|0|0.0 km| 232.1 km | Fully fit again, dying to run on Tuesday
    2|Micilín Muc|P&D:55-70|12|7|111.35km|1196.40km|A very high mileage start to the week which tapered off towards the end. Did the Half Marathon on Saturday and got PBs in every distance, including a Half PB of 1:34:55. Same format this week, ending in Sunday's Rathfarnham 5km - not really a target race for a marathon plan, but keeps the motivation going.
    3|RedRunner|HH Inter 1|13|4|40.09m|299.33| Good Week.Happy with 20 mile LSR today. Confidence up now for DCM
    4|Mike D|HH Inter 1|12|5|35m|299.1m|Got all my runs in this week and a swim on Monday. Looking forward to the 20m LSR:)
    5|beeduybe|P&D:33-55|11|5|48m|464m|Wasn't feeling great the start of the week but improved as it went on and was nice to get through a 20 miler feeling strong towards the end. Half marathon next weekend will give me a good indicator for how I'm set for marathon.
    6|Lizzy C|P&D -33-55|12|3|26.13m|4359.79m|Lowest mileage week so far. Did a PB in half marathon - 1:50:05....now wondering if sub 4 hours is beyond me:(
    7|Skidrow|HH inter1|13|4|37m|365m|Great week, 19m LSR @10min pace went well today, strong finish:).
    8|Younganne|Ecolis plan|11|5|37.17m|271.66m|much better this week. got 5 runs done and included 18m LSR, this was a big pyschological boost!!:D|
    9|run44|HH inter1||5|27m|62mm|Happy to get 5 in this week
    10|D Chief|P&D -55|10|5|70.9km|718.4km|Another week down and still on track. Got all 5 scheduled runs done and got out on the bike on Friday. This week is a biggie.
    11|Sideline warrior|HH Inter 1|5|5|28.5m|135.9m|Avg pace this week was 8.03 so am going to make concerted effort to slow down on the longer runs. Seems to be best practice. Am in France next week for 2 weeks and am concerned that due to heat it will be tough to get in runs especially LSRs. Will try early morning runs but am not an early runner!
    12|seanie_m|HH Inter 1|5|6|30mi|127.5mi|Was so happy with how this week was going, then for whatever reason my knee just gave up on me early on in tonights LSR, only managed to do half of it. Going to have to take a few days off I fear to let it recover. Aside from that though, was a good week
    13|doledude86|HH Inter 2|5|6|30m|155m|step back week this week
    14|irfrm|runners world|11|4|31 m|383m|Poor week with missing a few runs and cutting miles, Charleville half marathon yesterday PB 1:29. Deligted with steady splits and feeling good all the way around. Tough week ahead with 21 mile LSR on Sat.
    15|shels4ever|just run||9|50|50|Just lots of easy runs last week. Head not in the log runs jsut yet but hope to get to grips with them soon.
    16|jester1980|HH IINT 1|7|5|51km|273.5|Forgotto update last week. Lsr of 15 miles on sunday which went well. Having somone to train with is making life alot easier than when i did on my own before.
    17|Van.Bosch|P&D - 55|5|5|45.38M|172.44M|Good Week, got through all the runs and enjoyed the 16M with 10 @PMP.
    18|Mr.Wiggle|RunRepublic sub3.30|10|6|69km|609km| What a week. Got all runs in even though I was feeling tired and sluggish all week. Finished off with a pb sub 1hr32m Half-Marathon in Charleville this morning:D
    19|RedB|P&D - 55|10|5|44M|319M|Recovery Week. Easy week. First time doing VO2 session in a long time so took a few reps to get up to speed. Late night Sat meant Sundays med-long run got bumped out to this morning (Mon) so did half it at PMP on fresh legs.
    20|Trigger26 |Club coach sub 3.30|13|4|26|408M|Slight setback with calf injury, luckily this was a recovery week.
    21|Jim0 |P&D - 55|13|5|81.24km|891.60km|Generally squeezed all the runs in, minus a km here and a km there. Nothing much to report otherwise, still on track.
    22|engrish?|Build fitnes, build speed|2|2|19m|67m|Its getting a bit easier. Managed to keep a sub 10 min pace for 4.5 miles, by mile 9 I was up at 11:30 min. :( Half marathon this week.
    23|alanking|Run Republic|09|4|37m|504m|11m tempo on Monday then kept intensity low enough but needed a 15*200m to fire up the tired legs. 1:34 in the HM. Happy with that!

PB Charleville half marathon yesterday, really delighted with run and steady splits, big confidence boost for DCM and breaking 3:15.

Condolences on your loss D Chief, keep on the road it helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

trigger26 wrote: »
    Sorry for your loss D Chief, fair play to you to keep running

I'm sure its a tough time for you and your family D Chief. Hopefully the running will help as I know it can.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

1|liamog|HH Inter 1|9|0|0.0 km| 232.1 km | Fully fit again, dying to run on Tuesday
    2|Micilín Muc|P&D:55-70|12|7|111.35km|1196.40km|A very high mileage start to the week which tapered off towards the end. Did the Half Marathon on Saturday and got PBs in every distance, including a Half PB of 1:34:55. Same format this week, ending in Sunday's Rathfarnham 5km - not really a target race for a marathon plan, but keeps the motivation going.
    3|RedRunner|HH Inter 1|13|4|40.09m|299.33| Good Week.Happy with 20 mile LSR today. Confidence up now for DCM
    4|Mike D|HH Inter 1|12|5|35m|299.1m|Got all my runs in this week and a swim on Monday. Looking forward to the 20m LSR:)
    5|beeduybe|P&D:33-55|11|5|48m|464m|Wasn't feeling great the start of the week but improved as it went on and was nice to get through a 20 miler feeling strong towards the end. Half marathon next weekend will give me a good indicator for how I'm set for marathon.
    6|Lizzy C|P&D -33-55|12|3|26.13m|4359.79m|Lowest mileage week so far. Did a PB in half marathon - 1:50:05....now wondering if sub 4 hours is beyond me:(
    7|Skidrow|HH inter1|13|4|37m|365m|Great week, 19m LSR @10min pace went well today, strong finish:).
    8|Younganne|Ecolis plan|11|5|37.17m|271.66m|much better this week. got 5 runs done and included 18m LSR, this was a big pyschological boost!!:D|
    10|D Chief|P&D -55|10|5|70.9km|718.4km|Another week down and still on track. Got all 5 scheduled runs done and got out on the bike on Friday. This week is a biggie.
    11|Sideline warrior|HH Inter 1|5|5|28.5m|135.9m|Avg pace this week was 8.03 so am going to make concerted effort to slow down on the longer runs. Seems to be best practice. Am in France next week for 2 weeks and am concerned that due to heat it will be tough to get in runs especially LSRs. Will try early morning runs but am not an early runner!
    12|seanie_m|HH Inter 1|5|6|30mi|127.5mi|Was so happy with how this week was going, then for whatever reason my knee just gave up on me early on in tonights LSR, only managed to do half of it. Going to have to take a few days off I fear to let it recover. Aside from that though, was a good week
    14|irfrm|runners world|11|4|31 m|383m|Poor week with missing a few runs and cutting miles, Charleville half marathon yesterday PB 1:29. Deligted with steady splits and feeling good all the way around. Tough week ahead with 21 mile LSR on Sat.
    15|shels4ever|just run||9|50|50|Just lots of easy runs last week. Head not in the log runs jsut yet but hope to get to grips with them soon.
    16|jester1980|HH IINT 1|7|5|51km|273.5|Forgotto update last week. Lsr of 15 miles on sunday which went well. Having somone to train with is making life alot easier than when i did on my own before.
    17|Van.Bosch|P&D - 55|5|5|45.38M|172.44M|Good Week, got through all the runs and enjoyed the 16M with 10 @PMP.
    18|Mr.Wiggle|RunRepublic sub3.30|10|6|69km|609km| What a week. Got all runs in even though I was feeling tired and sluggish all week. Finished off with a pb sub 1hr32m Half-Marathon in Charleville this morning:D
    19|RedB|P&D - 55|5|5|55M|480M|Tough Week. Still feeling a bit under the weather with migraines and eye strain. Went for eye test but no problem there. Might be not enough sleep as only getting 6-6.5hrs last while. Changed training plan at weekend and got a good tough long run done. Tired still :rolleyes:.
    20|Trigger26 |Club coach sub 3.30|13|4|26|408M|Slight setback with calf injury, luckily this was a recovery week.
    21|Jim0 |P&D - 55|13|5|81.24km|891.60km|Generally squeezed all the runs in, minus a km here and a km there. Nothing much to report otherwise, still on track.
    22|engrish?|Build fitnes, build speed|2|2|19m|67m|Its getting a bit easier. Managed to keep a sub 10 min pace for 4.5 miles, by mile 9 I was up at 11:30 min. :( Half marathon this week.
    23|alanking|Run Republic|09|4|37m|504m|11m tempo on Monday then kept intensity low enough but needed a 15*200m to fire up the tired legs. 1:34 in the HM. Happy with that!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭PaulieC

I'm thinking of doing the 20 mile eco2run race on Sunday in Eastpoint. I'm scheduled for a 20 miler this Sunday anyway and I have a pain in my ass running alone, so I think this might give me a bit of motivation.

Question is - should I run this at my PMP (8-minutes per mile) ? Furthest run so far this training is 18 miles, and I did a 14 mile on Saturday just gone @ 7.50 pace.

What think ye ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭alanking

RedB wrote: »
    19|RedB|P&D - 55|5|5|55M|480M|Tough Week. Still feeling a bit under the weather with migraines and eye strain. Went for eye test but no problem there. Might be not enough sleep as only getting 6-6.5hrs last while. Changed training plan at weekend and got a good tough long run done. Tired still :rolleyes:.
    23|alanking|Run Republic|10|5|49m|553m|Great weeks running, my highest milage yet, good tempo sessions and speed sessions midweek, followed by really good LSR on Sun [EMAIL="20m@8:03"]20m@8:03[/EMAIL]. Just need to be careful I dont get carried away and overtrain.

[ /QUOTE]

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

8|Younganne|Ecolis plan|13|5|42.78|351.45|20m LSR done, happy enough with 10.05 avg pace!!:D|
    23|alanking|Run Republic|10|5|49m|553m|Great weeks running, my highest milage yet, good tempo sessions and speed sessions midweek, followed by really good LSR on Sun 20m@8:03. Just need to be careful I dont get carried away and overtrain.

My week 12 seems to be missing from the tables. Can everyone make sure they are quoting the last posted table so that noones data is been lost!!
    Only a few weeks to go, hope eveyone is getting on grand

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

D Chief, really sorry to hear about your Dads passing. Mind yourself and only run when you are able, the majority of the training is done so you'll be fine on the day of the Marathon.
    Look after yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

2|Micilín Muc|P&D:55-70|13|7|89.14km|1284.89km|Quick recovery from Dublin Half, did high mileage again at week start, tapered towards the end for Rathfarnham 5km on Sunday and finished in 19:54, first time to break 20 smile.png Next week is the last of the big high mileage weeks for me. Have pencilled myself in for sub-3:15 for DCM.
    8|Younganne|Ecolis plan|13|5|42.78|351.45|20m LSR done, happy enough with 10.05 avg pace!!:D|
    23|alanking|Run Republic|10|5|49m|553m|Great weeks running, my highest milage yet, good tempo sessions and speed sessions midweek, followed by really good LSR on Sun 20m@8:03. Just need to be careful I dont get carried away and overtrain.

Quick recovery from Dublin Half, did high mileage again at week start, tapered towards the end for Rathfarnham 5km on Sunday and finished in 19:54, first time to break 20 :) Next week is the last of the big high mileage weeks for me. Have pencilled myself in for sub-3:15 for DCM.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

I'm thinking of doing the 20 mile eco2run race on Sunday in Eastpoint. I'm scheduled for a 20 miler this Sunday anyway and I have a pain in my ass running alone, so I think this might give me a bit of motivation.

Question is - should I run this at my PMP (8-minutes per mile) ? Furthest run so far this training is 18 miles, and I did a 14 mile on Saturday just gone @ 7.50 pace.

What think ye ?

What training plan are you following? I've seen plenty of guys run 20 in 2:10, felt great and run 3:10 on marathon day so generally I would say don't run it all at PMP.

If you're looking at 8mm for the marathon maybe try 8:30 - 8:45 for the first 10 and 8:00 for the second ten. It's still a tough run and you'll get a training benefit from it but you'll recover much better than running 20 miles at your PMP.

P.S. If you're confident that you can comfortably run 20 miles at PMP now then your PMP might be a tiny bit soft.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Clearlier wrote: »
    What training plan are you following? I've seen plenty of guys run 20 in 3:10, felt great and run 3:10 on marathon day so generally I would say don't run it all at PMP.

If you're looking at 8mm for the marathon maybe try 8:30 - 8:45 for the first 10 and 8:00 for the second ten. It's still a tough run and you'll get a training benefit from it but you'll recover much better than running 20 miles at your PMP.

P.S. If you're confident that you can comfortably run 20 miles at PMP now then your PMP might be a tiny bit soft.

Plan is loosely based on HH Inter 1 (loosely as in it started a couple of weeks earlier than normal due to holidays/unavailability) and I have missed approximately 17 mile out of it.
    About the softness of the target, I'm not so sure. I did the DCM last year in 3.59.48 (exactly:D). This year I have done a 42minute 10k and a 75 minute 10 mile. I did a 14 mile run on Saturday at 7.52 average pace and was pretty wrecked after that (although that was just after a 4-day trip to Spain where there was a lot of "socializing" going on).
    I might go for the half and half as you suggest and then next week do an all out slow 22 miles.

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

2|Micilín Muc|P&D:55-70|13|7|89.14km|1284.89km|Quick recovery from Dublin Half, did high mileage again at week start, tapered towards the end for Rathfarnham 5km on Sunday and finished in 19:54, first time to break 20 smile.png Next week is the last of the big high mileage weeks for me. Have pencilled myself in for sub-3:15 for DCM.
    23|RunningKing|Run Republic|10|5|49m|553m|Great weeks running, my highest milage yet, good tempo sessions and speed sessions midweek, followed by really good LSR on Sun 20m@8:03. Just need to be careful I dont get carried away and overtrain.

Swift name change to enable anominity :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭jester1980

16|jester1980|HH IINT 1|12|4|63km|511.5|20 MIle run done on sat at a nice slow pace 9.30 min miles. Shoulder gave me little grief this week which is good, had physio and accupunture on it.
    23|Runningking|Run Republic|10|5|49m|553m|Great weeks running, my highest milage yet, good tempo sessions and speed sessions midweek, followed by really good LSR on Sun 20m@8:03. Just need to be careful I dont get carried away and overtrain.

Plan is loosely based on HH Inter 1 (loosely as in it started a couple of weeks earlier than normal due to holidays/unavailability) and I have missed approximately 17 mile out of it.
    About the softness of the target, I'm not so sure. I did the DCM last year in 3.59.48 (exactly:D). This year I have done a 42minute 10k and a 75 minute 10 mile. I did a 14 mile run on Saturday at 7.52 average pace and was pretty wrecked after that (although that was just after a 4-day trip to Spain where there was a lot of "socializing" going on).
    I might go for the half and half as you suggest and then next week do an all out slow 22 miles.

Thanks!

I corrected my earlier post by saying that I had seen people do 20 in 2:10 (not 3:10) and follow it up with a 3:10 marathon. Minor but significant change!

42 min 10k is heading towards a 3:15 time but the 75 min 10 miler suggests that you'd be pushing it to get to 3:30. Assuming that you had a similar fitness level for both races it also strongly suggests that you lack endurance.

I have had a quick look at the HH Inter 1 plan and it seems to me that it's targeting the marathon by making your two hardest runs of the week back to back at the weekend. If you have more or less followed the plan to this point then I think that you should stick to it. Do the pace run the day before and treat the 20 mile race as a supported training run. He talks about 3/1 runs where you run the last quarter of the race a bit faster than the first 3 quarters. He suggested a range of 30 to 90 seconds slower than PMP. Given that I wouldn't go any faster than 9mm for the first 15 miles and 8:30 for the last 5. The purpose of the runs within the schedule is to build endurance and within this particular plan it's very important that you do the pace run the day before so that you're already starting on relatively tired legs.

P.S. I didn't mean to suggest that your target was soft - I was more trying to point out that running 20 miles at PMP would be very difficult - I could have made that point a bit more carefully though. In fact, given your times for 10k and 10 miles you'll need a fair fitness boost between then and the marathon to hit 3:30 - entirely doable though.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Mike D

4|Mike D|HH Inter 1|13|5|43m|342.1m|Got all my runs in this week. Really pleased with 20m LSR as I felt good after and I'm usually in a heap! Tried for 10min mile pace and averaged 9.50. Swim today was very beneficial.
    16|jester1980|HH IINT 1|12|4|63km|511.5|20 MIle run done on sat at a nice slow pace 9.30 min miles. Shoulder gave me little grief this week which is good, had physio and accupunture on it.
    23|Runningking|Run Republic|10|5|49m|553m|Great weeks running, my highest milage yet, good tempo sessions and speed sessions midweek, followed by really good LSR on Sun 20m@8:03. Just need to be careful I dont get carried away and overtrain.

• Registered Users Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

4|Mike D|HH Inter 1|13|5|43m|342.1m|Got all my runs in this week. Really pleased with 20m LSR as I felt good after and I'm usually in a heap! Tried for 10min mile pace and averaged 9.50. Swim today was very beneficial.
    22|engrish?|Build fitnes, build speed|2|2|31m|98m|Hurt my back getting out of bed a week ago so no runs for a few more days...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Similar dilemma to cambo. Schedule calls for a 8 - 15km tune up race, followed by 17 miles the next day.

Considering the Eco race on Sunday but should I run 10 or 15 miles? I haven't raced a half marathon before so was thinking it might be useful to set a hm time ahead of DCM and jog the remaining 2 miles? That might be too much ahead of the 17 miles?

Or run the 10 miles flat out?

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Skidrow

QUOTE]

Hi Cambo,

Fed up running on your own?
    Check out the "Group Training Sessions - Where & When"
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055449727&page=156

You will get a warm welcome and plenty of support on these runs. I have used them a few times , great to have a bit of company for longer runs.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭jim0

If you're confident that you can comfortably run 20 miles at PMP now then your PMP might be a tiny bit soft.

Do you think? I would have thought that 5 weeks out, and taking taper into account, it's only reasonable to be able to run 20m at PMP right now. As we know, on the big day the real fun doesn't start until after 20m.

I plan to run the 20m as an assisted PMP training run, although (contrary to what this post may indicate) I remain open to persuasion!

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Skidrow

Well done Mike. Great to see so many others getting through 20m LSRs in the last few days and feeling strong - hope those who are stuggling get their mojo back soon.
    I tried the cold bath (just enough to cover the legs!) after my LSR on Saturday. Wasn't pleasant , didn't kill me, did it do me any good ? Don't know. This year's LSRs don't seem to take as much out of me as last year, more experience I guess. I take a home made smoothie (yogurt/banana/fruit juice) immediately after LSR. Also try to run steady pace 10min/mile.
    Some of the wise sages suggest not taking anything on LSRs. I've tried, but after 16m start to struggle, so I take a gel to get throught the last few miles.
    Keep up the good work everybody, we are neary there.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Mike D

Skidrow wrote: »

Well done Mike. Great to see so many others getting through 20m LSRs in the last few days and feeling strong - hope those who are stuggling get their mojo back soon.
    I tried the cold bath (just enough to cover the legs!) after my LSR on Saturday. Wasn't pleasant , didn't kill me, did it do me any good ? Don't know. This year's LSRs don't seem to take as much out of me as last year, more experience I guess. I take a home made smoothie (yogurt/banana/fruit juice) immediately after LSR. Also try to run steady pace 10min/mile.
    Some of the wise sages suggest not taking anything on LSRs. I've tried, but after 16m start to struggle, so I take a gel to get throught the last few miles.
    Keep up the good work everybody, we are neary there.:)

Cheers

I did the cold bath too for 5 mins!! LSRs do seem easier this year, like you say. This is the first time I have really stuck to a plan and the higher mileage (for me) seems to be working. I took a gel at 10 miles on Sunday but would probably do two for the big one. A lot of positive comments on the chart as we all get closer...

Its about now that I start toying with the idea of changing my target time from sub 4 to sub 3.45!! Stick to the plan says one voice...go for it says the other:rolleyes:

4m recovery run in the rain, with my dog. Loved it....no really, I did!! :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭jim0

Mike D wrote: »
    Its about now that I start toying with the idea of changing my target time from sub 4 to sub 3.45!! Stick to the plan says one voice...go for it says the other:rolleyes:

+1 to that. How does one come up with a foolproof answer?!

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭beeduybe

5|beeduybe|P&D:33-55|13|5|49m|563m|Another good weeks training including a 20 miler with 10 miles at MP
    22|engrish?|Build fitnes, build speed|2|2|31m|98m|Hurt my back getting out of bed a week ago so no runs for a few more days...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Ok guys, a quick question for you. Did the half marathon in 1:42:33, a nine second PB which I was happy with. Have done 2 20 Milers, both at at LSR pace and finished both in 3:08. Felt tired after them but in both did the first 12 miles slower and the last 8 at about 15 seconds over PMP (9-905).

This is my third marathon and I've failed at both in my sub 4 attempts. Mainly due to poor endurance post 15 miles. Ive been doing more miles this time (P&D < 55) and have got most runs in although missed the LSR yesterday. Aiming to replace this weekends 17 miler with the one missed yesterday, 18w14@PMP.

Based on these times do you reckon I'm on track? Thanks

Deleted my old boards account, opened another account with different name, and just found out that I need to have 25 posts to get some regular features such as 'thanks'...............so apologies in advance for lack of thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Jimh

RedRunner wrote: »
    14|irfrm|runners world|10|5|46 m|352m|good week, all runs done, good 16 m LSR.
    19|RedB|P&D - 55|10|5|44M|319M|Recovery Week. Easy week. First time doing VO2 session in a long time so took a few reps to get up to speed. Late night Sat meant Sundays med-long run got bumped out to this morning (Mon) so did half it at PMP on fresh legs.
    20|Trigger26 |Club coach sub 3.30|12|6|42M|382M|Did a 20 mile long run, went well, very happy with that week
    24|jimh|Marathon guru|08|5|50m|613Km|5 x 1Km reps Tues -19Km Wed-10K in 52Min Thu - 27Km Sat- 17 Km Sun

4 Consecutive 50+Mile weeks now

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Ok guys, a quick question for you. Did the half marathon in 1:42:33, a nine second PB which I was happy with. Have done 2 20 Milers, both at at LSR pace and finished both in 3:08. Felt tired after them but in both did the first 12 miles slower and the last 8 at about 15 seconds over PMP (9-905).

This is my third marathon and I've failed at both in my sub 4 attempts. Mainly due to poor endurance post 15 miles. Ive been doing more miles this time (P&D < 55) and have got most runs in although missed the LSR yesterday. Aiming to replace this weekends 17 miler with the one missed yesterday, 18w14@PMP.

Hi Van Bosch, I remember giving you some advice last year and being surprised at how wrong I was so take these thoughts with as big a pinch of salt as you like :D

If you've more or less stuck to the P&D <55m schedule and you've run a 1:42 half then all other things being equal you should go under 4 hours. If sub 4 is the goal no matter what then I'd stick like glue to the pacers. The only concern I have is that if you have been running more miles doing P&D I would have expected a bigger PB in the half.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Van.Bosch wrote: »

Hi Van Bosch, I remember giving you some advice last year and being surprised at how wrong I was so take these thoughts with as big a pinch of salt as you like :D

If you've more or less stuck to the P&D <55m schedule and you've run a 1:42 half then all other things being equal you should go under 4 hours. If sub 4 is the goal no matter what then I'd stick like glue to the pacers. The only concern I have is that if you have been running more miles doing P&D I would have expected a bigger PB in the half.

Good point re the PB at the half, didn't really prep as well this year but felt great last year. The issue with me last year was after 13 miles so the 20 milers gave me a boost, last year I only did one and a 19. Will do the Athlone 3/4, possibly all at PMP.

The call for DCM is whether to go at 850 pace or like you say stick to the sub 4 guys. Not a major difference but Sub 4 is the goal, guess I'll have a better idea after Athlone.

jim0 wrote: »
    Do you think? I would have thought that 5 weeks out, and taking taper into account, it's only reasonable to be able to run 20m at PMP right now. As we know, on the big day the real fun doesn't start until after 20m.

I plan to run the 20m as an assisted PMP training run, although (contrary to what this post may indicate) I remain open to persuasion!

I'm assuming that there's no let up in training and that it's at a volume that leaves the runner tired fairly frequently. If in a relatively tired state you can comfortably do a 20 miler at PMP then yes I think that the boundaries are probably not being pushed too hard. There's nothing particularly wrong with that. Loads of people will run a bit conservatively to hit a particular time e.g. 2:59 when they could probably have pulled a 2:55 out of the bag. It can be overdone though - I know one guy who got to halfway in 2 hours, realised he was just messing and did the 2nd half in 1:30. I think that he may have just lacked a bit of focus though.