Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has the price of football jerseys gone up?

• 14-05-2012 10:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭

I went to Lifestyle Sports this morning to have a look at the new Chelsea jersey which was launched on Thursday last. I expected it to cost €55 like they have in the past, but was shocked to see a price tag of €73. I looked at the new Spain and Germany jerseys beside - they cost the same. The Chelsea jersey in junior size cost €45 - the same as the price for the current Ireland jersey. I was wondering if anyone else has noticed this, or knows anything about it and could provide some closure?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

€73!!!! What the fúck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Funky G

I noticed this also - was in Lifestyle in Blanchardstown SC a few weeks ago, with the euro's fast approaching the price of jerseys have gone up. No doubt when august comes around every club team will more or less have a new jersey and the shops will cash in.

Best thing is just to shop around. Heatons are normally very competitive with their prices but i don't like where they put the security tag right in the middle of the crest, damaging and leaving a hole in the jersey. can they not put it on a more inconspicuous area of the jersey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,358 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

And they wonder why people are buying from abroad.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,410 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

try going to Barcelona.

i was there 2 months ago and their jersey was, not kidding, in and around €100 depending on where you went - nothing cheaper than €80 unless it was on sale or a tacky replica.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭recyclops

Funky G wrote: »
    Best thing is just to shop around. Heatons are normally very competitive with their prices but i don't like where they put the security tag right in the middle of the crest, damaging and leaving a hole in the jersey. can they not put it on a more inconspicuous area of the jersey?

Best thing to do is get online and order 3 for the price of one, its truly scandelous how they can charge that for one jersey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,358 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Probably a bit of price fixing going on too.

They know that people are now in the market for jerseys, what with the Euros about to get started, so jack the price up a bit as people will buy them anyway.

Best not to buy them and that will force the price down. Scandalous prices considering they probably cost about €5 to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,281 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I can remember back around 1999, Lifestyle Sports in Bray charging 42 in old money for the latest Man U jersey.

They've always been ridiculously expensive. I can't remember the last jersey I bought. Think it was an Atletico Madrid one which was on sale for €50 in the Vicente Calderon. Jersey's are expensive in shops but actually worse if you get them directly from the clubs, in my experience.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The new Marseille third-choice jersey has just gone on sale for €150!

It's reversible though, so almost like two jerseys in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,856 ✭✭✭✭kippy

That's the cost of supporting a football club in the Financial Fair Play era. (http://www.uefa.com/uefa/footballfirst/protectingthegame/financialfairplay/index.html)

It is a joke btw, that a piece of material, that probably costs less than a euro or two to produce is retailed at this cost.
    I would never pay this kind of money for a jersey (that essentially is an advertising hoarding for whatever company sponsors it)

Vote with your feet people, don't buy one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

CFC1905_NK wrote: »
    I went to Lifestyle Sports this morning to have a look at the new Chelsea jersey which was launched on Thursday last. I expected it to cost €55 like they have in the past, but was shocked to see a price tag of €73. I looked at the new Spain and Germany jerseys beside - they cost the same. The Chelsea jersey in junior size cost €45 - the same as the price for the current Ireland jersey. I was wondering if anyone else has noticed this, or knows anything about it and could provide some closure?

Yeah I shopped around last Thursday for that Chelsea jersey. I had held off on buying online for €50 as I wanted to see it and thought lifestyle would throw in free printing on launch day like in the past, but no.

It's €65 elsewhere but the guy in Champion did say all the jerseys have gone up, so the answer to your question is yes.

Not sure where you've seen the current Ireland jersey for €45, cheapest I've seen in the shops is €62. Let me know cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

When I was in Newcastle our home jersey was £40 in the club shop and £35 in Sports Direct... £5 extra for a bag with the crest on it...

Play.com aren't too bad for jersey's. Got this season's Newcastle jersey for €40 with free delivery which wasn't too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭CFC1905_NK

Not sure where you've seen the current Ireland jersey for €45, cheapest I've seen in the shops is €62. Let me know cheers

It was Lifestyle in Dun Laoghaire Shopping Centre, now that I think about it I may have seen it wrong as it was just a fleeting glance, but I'm pretty sure of what I saw.

Also, further to the previous point someone made on buying directly from the club, on the Chelsea online megastore it's £51.25(€63) before postage and packaging.

I was living in France for the past 9 months and in-season jerseys of most teams sell for roughly €75 there as well. They sell two versions of the official French kit - a "replica" version and an "authentic" version. The replica is akin to the other jerseys you buy in a sports shop and costs €75. I think the authentic was based on the jersey they actually wear on the pitch to the exact specifications. For example, on the replica, the crest is embroidered, whereas it's lighter and I think heat-pressed on the authentic. The "authentic" costs €110.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The 'authentic' jerseys use TechFit (at least in the case of OM) while the 'replica' ones use a cheaper material. Even the cheaper one is €90 for next season though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,964 ✭✭✭✭klose

Sports direct is where I get my clobber off re. Jerseys although I did pre order the new liverpool jersey off their shop be interesting to see the price of that seeing as its a brand new brand around here.

Lifestyle have nice stuff but are so pricey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

I suggest you visit here

€70+ is a joke for a jersey. Normally I buy genuine shirts for my club + country every year (not club this year anyway, Ken Bates can go f*ck himself) and get a crap load of others that I like from Asia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

I haven't bought a jersey online or in ireland for the past few years. I go over a couple times a year, and thats the only time I would buy one but even then I feel too old to be buying one every year at this stage as I only wear them when playing football. No matter what people say though every year all the kids have the new kits so they are still selling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,584 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Yeah went to buy the Germany away jersey, was shocked that it was €75. Bought the Ireland training top for €42 instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

It was Lifestyle in Dun Laoghaire Shopping Centre, now that I think about it I may have seen it wrong as it was just a fleeting glance, but I'm pretty sure of what I saw.

Also, further to the previous point someone made on buying directly from the club, on the Chelsea online megastore it's £51.25(€63) before postage and packaging.

I was living in France for the past 9 months and in-season jerseys of most teams sell for roughly €75 there as well. They sell two versions of the official French kit - a "replica" version and an "authentic" version. The replica is akin to the other jerseys you buy in a sports shop and costs €75. I think the authentic was based on the jersey they actually wear on the pitch to the exact specifications. For example, on the replica, the crest is embroidered, whereas it's lighter and I think heat-pressed on the authentic. The "authentic" costs €110.

Hi mate,

Could have been the kids jerseys, I've just gotten my lads 2 and it was 90 euro for the two.

I'm gonna try squeeze into a xtra large boys : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,958 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Yeah it's ridiculous. I was shocked when I was in Alicante airport and it was €75 for the Spain jersey!

I wait until the end of season to get jerseys now. It's just too expensive. I got the Manchester United one on Saturday for €25 in Lifestyle in Liffey Valley.

Picked up Liverpool's home and away for £5 each a few months back.

Granted they have now changed to Warrior, but it was a cracking deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭RayCon

Sports direct is where I get my clobber off re. Jerseys although I did pre order the new liverpool jersey off their shop be interesting to see the price of that seeing as its a brand new brand around here.

Ditto ... just pre-ordered the new Liverpool jersey (long sleeve) for £39.99 - less 10% Carlsberg coupon + £7.99 postage ..... Total : £43.98 (approx €56)

Do Sports Direct deliver to Ireland?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

Not just in Ireland either. I was in munich recently, and I was dying to get the german jersey. Same price as here €75, I couldnt believe it. Lovely jersey though.

Yeah I noticed that a fair few years ago in relation to continental Europe, but not until today with Ireland & the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,964 ✭✭✭✭klose

Do Sports Direct deliver to Ireland?

Yeah I ordered 4 shirts and a zip hoody on a monday everning and was at the door the friday via dhl, got a big ass mug also!

Its 7.99 for p+p though so might aswell get a few things while your at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,422 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

sportsdirect.com - They were selling the 11/12 Hamburg jersey for only £35 last August. Think I paid €51 in total with shipping. The official store charges €79 + €13 shipping to Ireland!

Anyone who uses sportsdirect might want to check Soccer Scene. I think they are the same company, same prices for everything listed on both sites but more jerseys available.

http://www.soccerscene.co.uk/soccer-scene-kit-room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I noticed that the price has crept up,traditionally rugby shirts were more expensive but now the football ones are on a par with them pricewise.

In Spain I saw the Real Madrid one in a sports shop for €95:eek:

Last one I bought here was the white United away shirt as it was on offer in Heatons for €32,friends of mine paid nearly double that in another shop.

Next one I'm ordering is coming from Asia,€15 ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,526 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

The new Marseille third-choice jersey has just gone on sale for €150!

It's reversible though, so almost like two jerseys in one.

That's the Techfit version though isn't it? I just bought this season's Techfit 3rd jersey off their website for €49

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

For anyone ordering from SportsDirect here's a link to get 10% off your order

http://www.carlsberg.co.uk/LDA.aspx?u=%2fsportsdirect%2fdownload-voucher%2fdefault.aspx

Plus multipacks of Honky Dory crisps have a link to get 10% off any order aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Just noticed that littlewoods.ie have the current season shirts for around 33 euro, checked chelsea and liverpool and most sizes available if thats any good to anyone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Just noticed that littlewoods.ie have the current season shirts for around 33 euro, checked chelsea and liverpool and most sizes available if thats any good to anyone

If you're buying off littlewoods, check bargain alerts section because there's often 20% discounts posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

the Lifestyle i go into
    i'd be only in ther a minute & there asking me what size i am practically making me buy something

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

thats what happens when players get 1 million a month.

back in the 80s there was none of this b0llocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I wish I was either smaller bigger. Being a medium is ****e. Can never find anything in my size on the bargain websites, and I can't fit into an XL Boys jersey any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

city home jersey €17 @ littlewoods (2011/2012 season)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭fox007

Ireland jersey €67 on littlewoods.ie, is anywhere in Ireland selling these cheapier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Here's the reason why from a report on next season's Shalke home shirt:

"The new shirt costs 79.95 euros, as will the away shirt and the third shirt in future. Two years ago Schalke declined to pass on the price increase introduced by adidas, but that is not possible this time. According to adidas, the price increase is due to a continuous rise in the cost of raw materials, wages and shipping plus the strengthening of Asian currencies against the euro and the US dollar."

http://www.footballshirtculture.com/12/13-kits/schalke-04-2012-2013-adidas-home-football-shirt.html

Even if Adidas are telling the truth, if they sell enough shirts at their new price points, they'll obviously continue to do so.

I agree though with the general sentiment here. I don't like fake jerseys to be honest and I would buy an official shirt for say, €50, but €73 is far too much. Also, the fact that every club team has at least two new kits every season and that international shirts no longer seem to last two years is infuriating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

fox007 wrote: »
    Ireland jersey €67 on littlewoods.ie, is anywhere in Ireland selling these cheapier?

Champ sports had it for 65 and Elverys had the jersey at 62. Pricy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭davehey79

I see the new man united jersey is up for pre/order in elverys for 70 euro ! It's 51 and change on man utd.com some jump from 50/55 euros last year !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

kippy wrote: »
    That's the cost of supporting a football club in the Financial Fair Play era. (http://www.uefa.com/uefa/footballfirst/protectingthegame/financialfairplay/index.html)

It is a joke btw, that a piece of material, that probably costs less than a euro or two to produce is retailed at this cost.
    I would never pay this kind of money for a jersey (that essentially is an advertising hoarding for whatever company sponsors it)

Vote with your feet people, don't buy one.

Explain international kits, then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,856 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Explain international kits, then?

I can only assume that if a person will pay X for a club jersey those behind the Jerseys believe people will also pay X for an international jersey.
    That said, I think International Jerseys are generally cheaper ( I have seen English and Irish Jerseys around the 60 quid mark.) Still a complete rip off by the way.