Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Watercooling my computer

• Registered Users Posts: 54,381 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Serephucus wrote: »

If I get the Silverstone TJ07, will this case working perfectly with the above without modding?

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭heid

Caselabs sth10 but too expensive. For external option you can get a stand for the phobya 1080 rad.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,180 ✭✭✭Serephucus

No. If you get the TJ07, you'll want a 480 rad (or two).

I'm not too familiar with it to be honest (never really liked it), so I'll leave that to someone else who knows the ins and outs of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭deejer

ya just change to a 360mm or 480mm rad. both drive bays will have to be removed for the 480mm rad which would provide enough cooling for a 2xGPU and CPU loop id say. Other option would be a 360mm and a 240mm up top and would let you keep one drive bay

• Registered Users Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

I'm really liking the look of the FT02 now. with some simple modding with a drill to get rid of some rivets, you can get a 540mm rad in there, which is fecking huge, and should cool everything with low fan speeds.

how good it can look:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=XM0LXxsmRYk

a slightly different mod:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhGN2rj0xr4

This would definitely be my choice, and something I'm interested in now myself.

Well I have an FT02 and had decided against using it for a WC build. But its looking so expensive for what I wanted to do that I think it could be a runner also

If it didn't have a window, I'd really like the TF02...

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    I'm really liking the look of the FT02 now. with some simple modding with a drill to get rid of some rivets, you can get a 540mm rad in there, which is fecking huge, and should cool everything with low fan speeds.

how good it can look:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=XM0LXxsmRYk

a slightly different mod:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhGN2rj0xr4

This would definitely be my choice, and something I'm interested in now myself.

That seems to be the best option, doesnt it, Tea?

I am surprised how dear the FT02 is thou

Can you link me a rad that I should but if I was getting this case?

If you're going the Tiny Tom Logan route, then you'll want this one.

If you want to go the route of the Youtube video, then get this.

Silverstone FT-02 case

If you want to go the route of the Youtube video, then get this.

So that's everything I need to do lvl8hacker build?

I think this is the best way to go tbh, what you think Serephucus?

Do you have a dremel and a drill? If you're alright with pulling the hard drive cage apart and cutting a bit out of the back panel, then yeah, certainly looks to be a nice setup.

I dont think you have to cut the back of it with lvl8hacker build because he took out the fan filter and used magnets to magnetize it to the bottom

Ah yes, but you'll need to pop the hard drive cage out (drill), and cut a couple of bays off to fit it back above the radiator (dremel).

Ask tea that :D

edit

btw i love the idea of that filter lvl8hacker has on the tubing

how many HDDs do you have? and do you have a drill? I'm not dremmeling. not someone else's case anyway. don't wanna **** up.

you need to get a tube cuter too.

just a HD and SSD

Have a drill alright but no dremel

Would there be much Dremel in that? I presume its take the hd cage off and cutting 2 bays off it

that all?

I won't want to dremmel at all. the HDD and SSD can be mounted in your 5.25" bay anyway.

Your only choice is to get a pump/res combo that fits in those bays too. there is no space for them anywhere else.

I'll point you in the right direction when I sober up a bit :o

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    I won't want to dremmel at all. the HDD and SSD can be mounted in your 5.25" bay anyway.

Your only choice is to get a pump/res combo that fits in those bays too. there is no space for them anywhere else.

I'll point you in the right direction when I sober up a bit :o

I hope you'll be sober if you get to work on my pc :D

Headshot wrote: »
    just a HD and SSD

Have a drill alright but no dremel

Would there be much Dremel in that? I presume its take the hd cage off and cutting 2 bays off it

that all?

There is an SSD mount on the back of the case so only need to worry about the HDD. There might not be a need for the hd cage at all, although it is handy for hot swap drives.

Hope to have my Silverstone FT-02 case soon :) I'll be moding te case of course for that large rad

Can some link me to what I need please

Reservoir and pump
    radiator
    The cpu and gpu blocks from earlier then are fine. Again tubing is up to yourself, usually say about 10feet. I count 8 fittings on that setup. You are probably going to need a couple of 45degree fittings in that as space will be limited. As was said earlier will need to map the path of the tubing for a clearer picture.

I have a rotary tool that you can borrow no problem.

205729.png

Id say that quick release fitting looks like a good idea. You can see the problem he had with getting from the radiator to the reservoir and inserting that fitting made use of the length of tubing.

2 GPUs.

I count:
    5x45° fittings.
    1x90°
    an SLI bridge connection.(or alternative)
    2xnormal fittings.

maybe quick release/flow meter.
    tube cutters.
    3m of tubing.
    5.25" -> 3.5" adapter
    everyone seems to have problems with the psu cables being too short to work around the back. I'd suggest getting cable extensions. they look far better too.
    1xCPU 8pin
    1xmobo 24pin
    2xdual 6pin PCIe cables.
    silver kill coil.
    above mentioned pump/res combo.

do you have a drill headshot? I don't have :(

what psu do you have?

I'll give a full clean list when I'm off my phone.

Also, I'll split shipping with you cause I've to get a few things from specialtech myself if you like.

(OT) I got a D5T strong (24v) pump for €58 on eBay. happy days :D

right so this is what ive come up with.

Item|Price
    Pulse Modding 99.9% Silver Kill Coil|£4.00
    3 x XSPC 7/16" ID - 5/8" OD (11-16mm) High Flex Tubing : Black|£7.78
    5 x 1/4" Thread 45° Rotary Compression Fitting for 1/2" ID - 5/8" OD (13-16mm) Tubing : Black|£15.48
    XSPC Acrylic Dual 5.25” Reservoir with Alphacool VPP655 / Laing D5 Single Edition Pump Bundle|£103.25
    Magicool Slim 180mm Dual Radiator : Black|£70.00
    EK Supreme HF Easy Mount Universal CPU Waterblock : Copper Acetal|£52.49
    2 x EK FC5X0 GTX GW Full Cover Waterblock for NVIDIA 570 & 580 Graphics Card : Copper Plexi|£125.98
    2 x 1/4" Thread Compression Fitting for 1/2" ID - 3/4" OD Tubing : Black Nickel|£6.50
    1/4" Thread 90° Rotary Compression Fitting for 1/2" ID - 3/4" OD (13-19mm) Tubing : Black|£4.39
    1/4" Thread Varible Triple Slot SLI & CrossFire Fitting : Black Nickel|£5.39
    4 x De-ionised Water 1 Litre - Ideal for watercooling|£13.15
    Tubing Cutter|£3.79
    Shipping|£17.94
    Total|£ 430.10

what you're still missing is:
    cable extenders.
    flow meter and quick release.
    5.25"->3.5" adapter.

im not 100% certain on the parts and fittings. someone with more experience should double check my calculations.

ive gone for a tripple slot SLI fitting. i hope that is correct for your mobo, the MSI P67A-GD53. can someone confirm?

EDIT: i *might* be able to get you good water, so the 4L i added is only a maybe.

You can get distilled water from almost any chemist for less than €5, so I'd ditch that.

The 90° and straight compressions are the wrong size, you want these and these, respectively.

jebus lads ye are enjoying emptying my bank account

im in this for 680 euro now (including the case) and I still need cable extenders.
    5.25"->3.5" adapter.

680 doesnt include postage

And then someone to build it

ugh ugh

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭deceit

Headshot wrote: »
    jebus lads ye are enjoying emptying my bank account

im in this for 680 euro now (including the case) and I still need cable extenders.
    5.25"->3.5" adapter.

680 doesnt include postage

And then someone to build it

ugh ugh

If your in dublin I would love to build that for free :)

deceit wrote: »
    If your in dublin I would love to build that for free :)

The curse of living in tipp im afraid

flow meter and quick release stuff is expensive, thats why I left it out.
    the 5.25"->3.5" adapter is cheap if you get it from the right place.

If you can jump onto someone elses order from HWVS:

Item|Price
    InLine® HDD Einbauschienen, für 8,89cm (3,5") Festplatten|€1.23
    BitFenix 8-Pin EPS12V Verlängerung 45cm, sleeved schwarz/schwarz|€5.89
    4 x BitFenix 6-Pin PCIe Verlängerung 45cm, sleeved schwarz/schwarz|€27.56
    BitFenix 24-Pin ATX Verlängerung 30cm, sleeved schwarz/schwarz|€8.89
    Shipping|€18.99
    Total|€62.56

thats all the extensions you need, and a 5.25"->3.5" bracket.

as for price, i forgot to add this: XD

just kidding

I have no trouble with the PSU cable length. Would be best to hold off on the extension cables to check first