Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

madigans off licence robbed / beating.

• 15-05-2012 11:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭

Anyone else here bout this on radio ? Last night at 10pm 2 men went in and robbed the madigan brothers off licence and in the process beat the 2 elderly men !! Looks like waterford crime spree is taking off again it must be pay day for the drug dealers this week .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Partizan

jo06555 wrote: »
    Anyone else here bout this on radio ? Last night at 10pm 2 men went in and robbed the madigan brothers off licence and in the process beat the 2 elderly men !! Looks like waterford crime spree is taking off again it must be pay day for the drug dealers this week .

Thank God I left Waterford a long time ago. I do come back once or twice a month, mainly to see the Blues on a Friday night, the parents and catch up with the lads. Anytime I am in Waterford one does not fail to notice how dead and depressing the place is. When I am out on a Saturday night, one also gets a menacing air about the place. I could never go back there. The arse has fallen out of the town.

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

Stories like this and the arson attack the other day certainly put a dog being stolen into perspective...

Horrific.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

Partizan wrote: »
    Thank God I left Waterford a long time ago. I do come back once or twice a month, mainly to see the Blues on a Friday night, the parents and catch up with the lads. Anytime I am in Waterford one does not fail to notice how dead and depressing the place is. When I am out on a Saturday night, one also gets a menacing air about the place. I could never go back there. The arse has fallen out of the town.
    Thanks for telling us for the millionth time that you moved away from Waterford and how much you hate the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,171 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Add that to the chap who was robbed at knifepoint while he was at an ATM the other night. At least the Gardai caught the culprit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Partizan

Thanks for telling us for the millionth time that you moved away from Waterford and how much you hate the place.

Just happy to remind you once again that Waterford City is a modern version of Dickens' Coketown (with the mass unemployment).

Utterly depressing kip.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

Just happy to remind you once again that Waterford City is a modern version of Dickens' Coketown (with the mass unemployment).

Utterly depressing kip.

Nobody asked you to repeat yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭batm!ke

Utterly depressing kip.

Thanks for letting me know! I had no idea :eek:

I love my hometown, and it's the place I've chosen to raise my own family. I grew up in the last recession, but you know what? My son and daughter don't know how lucky they have it... the Waterford of today is a much changed place for the better and if you want proof... someone on here said the place was a rundown kip nowadays:

Since the turn of the millennium:
    The City has never been cleaner
    The City has never done as much to attract tourism
    John Roberts Sq. looks better
    O'Connell St. looks better
    Sections of the Quay look better (i.e. Plaza)
    The Mall looks better
    The People's Park looks better
    The Dunmore Rd. looks better
    The WIT has gone from strength to strength
    Clubs and societies to cater all tastes run across the city
    Companies who wouldn't have looked twice at Waterford have come here.
    And that's just the city.

Unfortunately the global recession and a cluster**** of a banking system and National Government have conspired to halt any growth, expansion, retention of jobs, whatever. It's not just us, it's everywhere. Obviously crime and drug use, alcohol abuse levels go up, it's a symptom. We dust ourselves off and if we're lucky enough to be in a stable job, we get on with it and wait for this cycle to be over until growth begins again. My generation is just one of the unlucky ones who happen to hit our peak years during a recession.

Call me naive but that's the way I look at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Alright, I get the fact that you're proud to be from Waterford - I spent the first 23 years of my life there, and always defended the place.

But after moving away for the guts of a year, let's be honest here - the place is a scum infested ****hole. I don't care for pretty streets when I don't feel safe walking through them.

I have some great memories of my friends down in Waterford, and I visit the odd time to see my family - but every time I arrive in the place, it's like a dark cloud falls over the County. All that meets the eye is closed up shops, and scum wandering about the town aimlessly. Every time I hear any news about the place, it's regarding someone getting robbed, beaten, or murdered.

I'm all for loving the City you were brought up in - but there's zero point in defending the place. When it gets to the point where elderly people are getting beaten and robbed for a couple of cans, retorting with how nice the Plaza looks does nothing for Waterford's image. It's like someone took a **** on your floor, and you covered it up with the carpet. The entire place is still going to stink of ****, whether people are going to acknowledge it or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Just heard now right on my door step, ****ing scumbags

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

Tellox wrote: »
    Alright, I get the fact that you're proud to be from Waterford - I spent the first 23 years of my life there, and always defended the place.

But after moving away for the guts of a year, let's be honest here - the place is a scum infested ****hole. I don't care for pretty streets when I don't feel safe walking through them.

I have some great memories of my friends down in Waterford, and I visit the odd time to see my family - but every time I arrive in the place, it's like a dark cloud falls over the County. All that meets the eye is closed up shops, and scum wandering about the town aimlessly. Every time I hear any news about the place, it's regarding someone getting robbed, beaten, or murdered.

I'm all for loving the City you were brought up in - but there's zero point in defending the place. When it gets to the point where elderly people are getting beaten and robbed for a couple of cans, retorting with how nice the Plaza looks does nothing for Waterford's image. It's like someone took a **** on your floor, and you covered it up with the carpet. The entire place is still going to stink of ****, whether people are going to acknowledge it or not.

Yeah all of that is valid but....sections of the Quay look better, like...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

Tellox wrote: »

Scum is everywhere and not just confined to Waterford. The fact that Waterford is so small, in comparison to other cities and towns, means that news (good/bad) travels fast. Similar size towns and cities have the exact same problems as those that are being experienced in Waterford.

If you are only living somewhere new for a year you're probably not even hearing half of what goes on where you are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Tim the Enchanter

How come these days every second thread here turns into a "Waterford is a ****h*le" thread? Christ i don't know where some people live but it must be some kind of utopia because there are places in Ireland much worse than Waterford. And I’m on the road 3-4 days a week to see them. The sight of the new bridge in the distance when coming down the motorway always puts a smile on my face after some of the kips I’ve been to during the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

How come these days every second thread here turns into a "Waterford is a ****h*le" thread? Christ i don't know where some people live but it must be some kind of utopia because there are places in Ireland much worse than Waterford. And I’m on the road 3-4 days a week to see them. The sight of the new bridge in the distance when coming down the motorway always puts a smile on my face after some of the kips I’ve been to during the day.
    Well said tim!! have any of ye ever been to arklow co wicklow?? now thats a kip!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,171 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Well said tim!! have any of ye ever been to arklow co wicklow?? now thats a kip!!!

Has a better shopping centre than Waterford.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭jennygirl

well said Tim -
    im not from Waterford either, but have lived here a few years now.
    i love the place, its people, its city centre.
    like everything, the recession has taken it toll,
    but most people still have their heads up and are proud of our heratige

• Registered Users Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭200motels

Waterford is no better or worse than anywhere else, the grass is always greener comes to mind, it all depends in what part of any city you live, scum bags are everywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭bradknowell

200motels wrote: »
    Waterford is no better or worse than anywhere else, the grass is always greener comes to mind, it all depends in what part of any city you live, scum bags are everywhere.

Aint that the tooth.
    to be honest I cant see why people are scared walking around. Yeah there's scumbags around but sure they're everywhere. I probably look to much like a scumbag so they leave me alone for looking like them or something :s

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

tonc76 wrote: »
    Scum is everywhere and not just confined to Waterford. The fact that Waterford is so small, in comparison to other cities and towns, means that news (good/bad) travels fast. Similar size towns and cities have the exact same problems as those that are being experienced in Waterford.

If you are only living somewhere new for a year you're probably not even hearing half of what goes on where you are!

Are you kidding me? No, Waterford has more scum than anywhere I've ever even travelled to. I'm not saying this based on the news I hear - I'm saying this based on just walking into town, and seeing more scum than people. Even take a look at some other regional boards on here - Waterford's one is practically full of crime related threads, as compared to anything else on here.

Plenty of **** happens where I'm living now - news travels fast, no matter where you are. I would say a lot faster in larger Cities, but I digress; Arson, Beating up the elderly, murder, those terms are becoming synonymous with Waterford. It's a scum infested ****hole. Hammering on about how nice the Plaza looks does directly after people express shock about an elderly man being mugged and beaten around a 5 minute drive from the Garda Barracks does not change that.

Every City and Town has scum, indeed - but as far as the general scum to people ratio goes, Waterford's way up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Ah jayus the Waterford lynch mob will be out soon to tell all the cynics to f*ck off and move away if they aint happy........lovely jubbly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

hardybuck wrote: »
    Has a better shopping centre than Waterford.

no amount of material goods will make life any less depressing in arklow

• Registered Users Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Any of the mods want to clean up this thread and bring it back to the incident in Madigans?
    Has anyone heard any more news on how the two old lads are doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

batm!ke wrote: »
    Thanks for letting me know! I had no idea :eek:

I love my hometown, and it's the place I've chosen to raise my own family. I grew up in the last recession, but you know what? My son and daughter don't know how lucky they have it... the Waterford of today is a much changed place for the better and if you want proof... someone on here said the place was a rundown kip nowadays:

Since the turn of the millennium:
    The City has never been cleaner
    The City has never done as much to attract tourism
    John Roberts Sq. looks better
    O'Connell St. looks better
    Sections of the Quay look better (i.e. Plaza)
    The Mall looks better
    The People's Park looks better
    The Dunmore Rd. looks better
    The WIT has gone from strength to strength
    Clubs and societies to cater all tastes run across the city

No offence but you're really clutching at straws to try and present a positive image. Elderly people being beaten up for a few quid, regular burglaries and extremely violent attacks, high unemployment and mass emigration, but you think the place is great because "oh sure look at that lovely clean street, isn't it nice?". You sound like a deluded old granny who can never call a spade a spade.
    batm!ke wrote: »
    Companies who wouldn't have looked twice at Waterford have come here.
    And that's just the city.

Eh, are you insane? We've had nothing but places shutting up shop and leaving. Which reputable companies have opened up in Waterford recently?

I emigrated just over 1 1/2 years ago and I always love coming back, I would prefer to live in Waterford if I could find a decent job. But you have to see things for how they really are and acknowledge that the city has gone downhill big time over the last couple of years.

It isn't the end however. Things like the Viking Triangle are a serious unique selling point that make us stand out from other Irish cities in terms of culture and tourism. There's no denying that Waterford's fortune could completely turn around and in 10 years time things could be radically different. We could have a thriving University renowned for specialists in a particular area and an internationally popular historical centre with the Viking Triangle amongst other things. I hope this will happen. But for now, things are bad and we need to face facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

right ive stood back in silence long enough.

Haters will yee shut the hell up badmouthing waterford. we need to make it look unreal so people will come here and spend their money. god like

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

I've said it before and I'll say it again. If you feel unsafe walking through town, there's something wrong with you.

There's no doubt that things have taken a turn for the worse as regards crime but that's a symptom of a recession and drug use. Unfortunately, that's what we're facing at the moment. But I would love to know where these perfect places everyone's moved to are. Seemingly there are no problems there!

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭jennygirl

i live in the city centre in a large apartment block, and feel safe in the city, both day & night. there is a lot of nice people out there. its the few that are spoiling it for the many.

• Registered Users Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Sorry for going off topic:mad:
    The two Madigan brothers are still in hospital after receiving a severe beating from two men.

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭natnifnolnacs

First of all, to those saying Waterford is dangerous and it has turned into a depressing place...well, I don't agree. There have always been robberies and the occasional mugging. It is unfortunately natural when you put thousands of people from different backgrounds in a (reasonably)confined space this will happen. In any town or city in the world. I'm not condoning it, but it isn't restricted to this city!

2nd - to those same people. Have you ever been to Limerick?? Now there is a place to feel unsafe.

3rd - I am only around the corner from madigans and hadn't heard anything about this. I didn't even realise the place was still open. I hope the 2 boyos are recovering well, that is a pretty nasty stunt to pull but unfortunately scum will always prey on the most vulnerable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭calvin_zola

mainly to see the Blues on a Friday night

sorry to hear about that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Dan133269 wrote: »
    No offence but you're really clutching at straws to try and present a positive image. Elderly people being beaten up for a few quid, regular burglaries and extremely violent attacks, high unemployment and mass emigration, but you think the place is great because "oh sure look at that lovely clean street, isn't it nice?". You sound like a deluded old granny who can never call a spade a spade.

Eh, are you insane? We've had nothing but places shutting up shop and leaving. Which reputable companies have opened up in Waterford recently?

I emigrated just over 1 1/2 years ago and I always love coming back, I would prefer to live in Waterford if I could find a decent job. But you have to see things for how they really are and acknowledge that the city has gone downhill big time over the last couple of years.

It isn't the end however. Things like the Viking Triangle are a serious unique selling point that make us stand out from other Irish cities in terms of culture and tourism. There's no denying that Waterford's fortune could completely turn around and in 10 years time things could be radically different. We could have a thriving University renowned for specialists in a particular area and an internationally popular historical centre with the Viking Triangle amongst other things. I hope this will happen. But for now, things are bad and we need to face facts.

Right, I've re-registered to reply to a couple of people on here as obviously noone is ****ing bothered reading my posts properly.

I never said anything about the crime, muggings, etc. My post was responding to the city looking like a rundown kip. I listed a few things that refuted the 'kip' claims, especially when looked at from the point of view of what things were like before 2000. If ye consider the town a kip now what did you think of it then ffs? The companies bit referred to the likes of AOL, Debenhams, Pandora, Costa, Audi, etc companies that people might have had to travel outside the city for. Obviously they don't always work out. I didn't word that very well.

Obviously crime has risen, but no-one can claim the place is like the wild west. Yes, it's disgusting what happened to the two lads in Madigans, I really hope this won't affect them in their daily lives from now on and that they get well soon. But if crime is on the rise, then why aren't we talking about the Gardai (or lack thereof) or the lenient sentencing or the lack of funding from the Government.

This negative image we are portraying to people who come on to boards looking for info about Waterford is really disheartening. I lived in apartments in the city centre for the best part of the last 10 years and have never been mugged, never seen a mugging and have only seen two fights, both were the result of drink. Like everyone else I'm horrified when something terrible happens, but scum are scum. I've always tried to keep away from areas / people / activities that would put me in close proximity to 'danger' and unfortunately in the case of the lads in Madigans they were completely innocent because some scumbags have no respect for their fellow human beings.

Apologies to everyone for going OT, just exercising my right to reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 wsopchamp

50 year old male taken in for questioning in relation to the Madigans incident.