Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proposed Che Guevara sculpture on the prom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Canvasser

Thanks I didn't know that.

Would it not be feared that it might isolate us from visits from American tourists which seems to be where the big tourism money is in Ireland as far as I know ?

Do you seriously think American tourists would boycott Galway because of Che Guevara statue? You have to remember that most American tourists don't come from places like Mississippi and Alabama.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Canvasser wrote: »
    Do you seriously think American tourists would boycott Galway because of Che Guevara statue? You have to remember that most American tourists don't come from places like Mississippi and Alabama.

Cuban tourists on the other hand .... Galway would only see the dozy feckers that swim the wrong way when they hit out for Miami.

I jest of course, the idea that a shítty little statue would attract or put off tourists is a stretch on either side.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

That is brilliant news and if it's true, I for one hope it happens. So..much....lol....can't....Stand it..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭dloob

Well having her father born in Galway beats Che's great grandfather being maybe born in Galway.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

We could piss off another large section of people by erecting one in honour of Lord Haw Haw..:pac:

Cuban tourists on the other hand .... Galway would only see the dozy feckers that swim the wrong way when they hit out for Miami.

I jest of course, the idea that a shítty little statue would attract or put off tourists is a stretch on either side.

He's a hero accross the whole Latin world.

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭celty

TBF to the Cuban guy it's about time somebody took the piss out of this Irish culture of claiming the tiniest link to famous people.

Diabhal ... are you one of the Beags from Connemara? I think we're related!:D

He's a hero accross the whole Latin world.

Canvasser,

Seeing as how you used to (still do?) canvass for Cllr Mike Crowe, I'm getting worried. Has your a/c been hijacked? Somehow can't see ye out on the Prom, celebrating the great Latin American revolutionary hero on the day the statue is unveiled :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

celty wrote: »
    Diabhal ... are you one of the Beags from Connemara? I think we're related!:D
    No, I'm the youngest of the Guevara family from Claregalway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

whats alabama and mississippi got to do with it.

Its only in South Floriday that there seems to be a problem - don't you know your history?

Canvasser,

Seeing as how you used to (still do?) canvass for Cllr Mike Crowe, I'm getting worried. Has your a/c been hijacked? Somehow can't see ye out on the Prom, celebrating the great Latin American revolutionary hero on the day the statue is unveiled :D

canvasser, shame shame!!:o

surime wrote: »
    This is crazy! Was not there in history enough real heroes and people who deserve a sculpture?
    Who is he for most of the people - a teenage T-shirt hero???
    He was responsible for a death of many people and he was a communist..

a "trendy rebel star" !

omg is this a serious post?

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Mr_A

Of course there will also have to be a statue of Fidelma Healy Eames handing school books to a beaming African child, while in the background her car is towed away by the Gardai.

• Subscribers Posts: 171 ✭✭Night Falls

Apparently now some goon of a Cuban American has suggested he'd like to pay for a statue of Lindsay Lohan in Galway ... as she has stronger Galway links than El Che
    I won't know how to feel about this until an unelected weirdo tells me what to think. Apropos of nothing, has Mr. Ganley made his feeling clear on this yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭sgthighway

DON'T WANT IT. Boards Polls don't reflect the real view.

sgthighway wrote: »
    DON'T WANT IT. Boards Polls don't reflect the real view.
    And what would the "real view" be then? Your view, is it?

Lads,

This thing about a Lindsay Lohan statue is pure rubbish.

ikmartraubt (?) the person who started this thread hasn't provided a link, despite a request to do so by Ficheall above, and has only joined boards this month, only posting three times ... all three posts about Che Guevara and Lindsay Lohan.

A Wikipedia search of this wonderful Florida business man is the grand total of one paragraph long and, miraculously, was only created last Thursday.

As if this issue hadn't been overblown enough already...!

I detect a very poor Troll!!

Lads,

This thing about a Lindsay Lohan statue is pure rubbish.

ikmartraubt (?) the person who started this thread hasn't provided a link, despite a request to do so by Ficheall above, and has only joined boards this month, only posting three times ... all three posts about Che Guevara and Lindsay Lohan.

A Wikipedia search of this wonderful Florida business man is the grand total of one paragraph long and, miraculously, was only created last Thursday.

As if this issue hadn't been overblown enough already...!

I detect a very poor Troll!!

They put a lot of work in though.

Google thinks the name is a typo and Elviro should be the rather more feminine Elvira.
    However it does find links on places like forbes, cbs news, miami times and huffington post among others.
    But they are all comment sections usually with a solitary posting about his lindsay lohan statue or his biopic.

The wikipedia link was also created by user "Moldovanstar" whos only other contribution to wikipedia are various acts of vandalism about various Moldovan and Spanish football players playing for Ireland and Cork City.

dloob wrote: »
    They put a lot of work in though.

Google thinks the name is a typo and Elviro should be the rather more feminine Elvira.
    However it does find links on places like forbes, cbs news, miami times and huffington post among others.
    But they are all comment sections usually with a solitary posting about his lindsay lohan statue or his biopic.

The wikipedia link was also created by user "Moldovanstar" whos only other contribution to wikipedia are various acts of vandalism about various Moldovan and Spanish football players playing for Ireland and Cork City.

Did they put a lot of work in Dloob? The same comment seems to be copied and pasted onto Forbes, CBS News, Orlando Sentinel, etc.

But there's no valid news piece, anywhere!

Troll exposed

Trolling or not, I still think it would be safer if Ganley just came out and gave his views on this hypothetical proposal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

Trolling or not, I still think it would be safer if Ganley just came out and gave his views on this hypothetical proposal.

He did, didn't he? Or was this some other troll?

http://www.thejournal.ie/che-guevara-monument-would-shame-the-people-of-galway-and-ireland-368920-Feb2012/

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Celebrating a Killer .

churchview wrote: »

I know what to think on the Guevara statue as our Glorious (unelected) Leader has imparted his wisdom on the subject. But for the love of Ganley, please let him speak on the hypothetical Lohan one, I'm going out of my mind with worry.

paddyandy wrote: »
    Celebrating a Killer .

One man's freedom fighter etc.

Good job there are no other statues or memorials in Ireland dedicated to people who may have taken lives in pursuit of their goals.

paddyandy wrote: »
    Celebrating a Killer .

Paddy,

I heard Lindsay Lohan is a wild young wan but I never heard she was a killer :D

Did they put a lot of work in Dloob? The same comment seems to be copied and pasted onto Forbes, CBS News, Orlando Sentinel, etc.

But there's no valid news piece, anywhere!

Troll exposed

I dunno they probably had to sign up to leave a comment, seems like a lot of bother to me.
    Maybe i'm just lazy.

dloob wrote: »
    I dunno they probably had to sign up to leave a comment, seems like a lot of bother to me.
    Maybe i'm just lazy.

Dloob,

I woudln't say you are lazy! But it does seem that the mystery poster above (with all of three posts, all this month) wrote a bogus news story and then posted it as a comment on three or four US websites, hoping it would take legs and probably get picked up by a media outlet here.

If you do a search you find nothing credible on the Net about this supposed Florida billionaire, whose anger at Galway City Council has somehow led to a proposal for a Lindsay Lohan statue.

Even Declan Ganley woudln't make that one up.

Strange how the poster above has never got back to Ficheall with an exact link, showing us where this originated from ...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

So disappointed this isn't true! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

if we name the street after the Famine queen and even a hotel then why would there be a problem with Che?

it might upset our financial benefactors, the Americans?
    If I am not mistaken Liam Mellows was a socialist come communist and his statue has pride of place in the city.

Fuinseog wrote: »
    if we name the street after the Famine queen and even a hotel then why would there be a problem with Che?

it might upset our financial benefactors, the Americans?
    If I am not mistaken Liam Mellows was a socialist come communist and his statue has pride of place in the city.

American investers don't give a toss. They'll invest anywhere they can make profits. It's just Ganley and some right wing Cubans trying to dictate to us.