Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Enda Kenny tells protester "You could do with a day’s work, I’d say"

12346»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

K-9 wrote: »
    35K for a Government department doesn't seem unreasonable, why do you think both cases are wasteful?

One seems pretty reasonable unless you have some reason to think it isn't. The other seems ridiculous and indeed comparing them makes it look even more so. There is no defending the SF TD and I don't understand the need for whataboutery in this case, seen that when the story broke as well.
    Just for clarity though, that money (35K) was for the office of the main man himself.
    I don't argue in any way against the mad money spent by SF in ink toner - that was just as nuts too.

Both Enda and the other SF mad spender really should be looking at ways to save money, not this toner daftness.

If each wants to debate about austerity and measures to bring it about, they each need to look to themselves too, not just us all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

No he wasn't. He gets paid the exact same as every other TD.

All Sinn Fein TDs take only the national industrial wage. Everything else is put back into the party. They cannot opt out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Even if he was selling the cartridges on Ebay he was making less money than any other TD!

Joe Higgins wasn't in the last Dail but I'd say he'd claim less and he takes the average industrial wage.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

All Sinn Fein TDs take only the national industrial wage. Everything else is put back into the party. They cannot opt out of this.

They get paid the exact same as every other TD and they spend this money how they want. No different then every other TD. SF TDs decide to put the money back into the party, if a FG one decided to pay lots towards a golf membership every year you wouldn't claim he only gets paid his wage - his golf membership.

Joe Higgins wasn't in the last Dail but I'd say he'd claim less and he takes the average industrial wage.

Sorry, their are other members who don't take the 90k wage and fair play to them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Biggins wrote: »
    Just for clarity though, that money (35K) was for the office of the main man himself.
    I don't argue in any way against the mad money spent by SF in ink toner - that was just as nuts too.

Both Enda and the other SF mad spender really should be looking at ways to save money, not this toner daftness.

If each wants to debate about austerity and measures to bring it about, they each need to look to themselves too, not just us all the time.

It would depend on how many would work in the office if it's reasonable or not. Sorry, just found the comparison strange.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

It would depend on how many would work in the office if it's reasonable or not. Sorry, just found the comparison strange.

No worries, partly (or mostly) my fault in not being clear enough. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Sorry, their are other members who don't take the 90k wage and fair play to them too.

Thats a falsehood.

What actually happens, is they take the full sum, but use it to pay for staff, etc, without pocketing it themselves. The taxpayer is actually making no saving on this.

Most members from the major parties like Fianna Fail and Fine Gael do this also, but don't make such a ****ing song and dance about it like Sinn Fein and the lefties do.

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Most members from the major parties like Fianna Fail and Fine Gael do this also.

I'm not saying that FG and FF are all in it for the money but I would be surprised if most of them only take the average wage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Mencken said, "Democracy is the worship of Jackals by Jackasses"

Never as true as in Parish Pump politics. Teachers and Lawyers should be barred from entering politics for obvious reasons.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Anyhow... what's the point of this thread now? All I'm reading is mindless bickering and I'm not sure if I want to join in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 121 ✭✭Bababa

Bababa wrote: »
    Fascinating stuff..

What? The facts? Yes, they are. Indeed, to someone such as yourself, facts are so foreign that they can only be fascinating.
    Funny thing is..the EU is on the verge of death anyway.

Oh look, another unfounded, politically and economically ignorant statement. Kid, you're best off not commenting on things you clearly have absolutely no idea about. You only look like an arse to anyone with a brain, although your fellow anti-government ranters are most likely impressed considering they, like you, haven't an original or valid point to make between them.
    China is where the money is...Not the collapsing and incompetent EU.

Ah, more bullshít. China is where the money is, is it? Do you know why this is? And if you do, you think we should be modeling ourselves on that?

China is an absolute abomination and the mere fact that you'd try to bring them up in a positive light highlights the same thing that I've maintained all along - that you haven't even the smallest bit of economical or political knowledge not only pertaining to our current situation as a country, but also our history as an economy.

So why is it that you feel the need to comment on something you've clearly no idea about? Does it make you feel smart to make shallow, unfounded statements over and over again? Do you think that if you believe your own bullshít enough, that it'll come true? No, my dear, it won't. Yourself and Gerry Adams haven't a positive contribution to make, you've the freedom to do so but like Adams, you're just making yourself look like an uneducated arsehole every time you open your mouth.
    If anyone(with a brain) is reading ur insults
    Well, that's you out of the picture so.
    and bile.. and agreeing with u..
    Well, you see, I happen to read a lot about the economy, the markets and politics both here and in the EU and form my own opinions based on it. The wonder of using all the information available, eh? I know, you know, reading and learning things is clearly a foreign concept to someone who tries to put China next to the EU and say China is a role model, but you really ought to give it a try some time.

Bile? Please. If you had the any knowledge on the above mentioned things you would realise that if anyone is spouting "bile", it is you and your anti-government, anti-EU, anti-progress bullshíte that has absolutely not one iota of actual knowledge or fact to back it up. Indeed, you tried to bring "patriotism" into the argument which was great - it merely served as further proof that you've no real argument to make.
    They will suffer ur fate also..in time. Considering ur disrespect for the disabled...and anyone that doesn't swallow ur shît. Ur obviously
    in for a big surprise!!

My fate? You mean, doing well for themselves? Compared to what, you? The uneducated nationalist who is spending their time commenting on things you've no knowledge about?

Well, thankfully you and your ilk, well, we know your fate. A quick look at the losers who turn out to SF, ULA, SWP, Eirigi and others shows where you lot are headed - ****ty jobs, unemployment and next to no contribution to the economy that you're so keen to comment on.

Tá an EU MAIRBH.....SLÁN EU...Go raibh míle maith agat a chara!!!
    RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE

Uneducated, nationalist bullshít. Delude yourself all you like, you're in the minority and you've nothing to contribute to ... well ... anything

U are in severe need of anger management therapy(as I said before...have u made ur appointment?)...piece of trash. Rant away about ur mammy in Europe. Ur a robber, a rip off merchant and an ignoramus like ur fellow bullshítters.

You really do sound like someone who is doing well for themselves..all day and night talking shïte on this yoke. Obviously you're employed by ur monkey mammies to do so!!!

You also clearly have an issue with disabled people,the sick, the elderly(closing hospital wards and stealing peoples pensions), Irish speakers, anyone who doesn't think
    like you...hmm does the word NAZI sound familiar to you? NAZI FG? NAZI EU?

I bet Enda, his mammy and his followers really need someone like u to bully people into believing ur rubbish and threats.

China is an abomination? Why was ur buddy enda kenny and co. over there with the trocaire box recently so? More of ur horseshït again.

Tá an EU MAIRBH.....SLÁN EU...Go raibh míle maith agat a chara!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Uneducated, nationalist bullshít. Delude yourself all you like, you're in the minority and you've nothing to contribute to ... well ... anything

I can't decide whether you're either a staunch FG supporter, Enda Kenny himself, or a troll. Your condescending comments are preventing anyone from taking you seriously.

Of all the posters arguing here, I really don't think you have a clue about economics. If you do, you're not showing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭WolfgangWeisen

Ladies and gentlemen,

I post this only as a warning to all
    http://imgur.com/Qb6OL

Be careful which of the socialists you interact with on here, before you know it your inbox could be filling up with hate filled messages so quickly that you haven't even a chance to respond to one before another 3 come in.

Worrying behaviour, I've alerted the administration to it but I just felt that people here should know in case they unintentionally put themselves in the firing line of this person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ladies and gentlemen,

Be careful which of the socialists you interact with on here, before you know it your inbox could be filling up with hate filled messages so quickly that you haven't even a chance to respond to one before another 3 come in.

Worrying behaviour, I've alerted the administration to it but I just felt that people here should know in case they unintentionally put themselves in the firing line of this person.

Are you 14? Whatever about that person sending you PMs, you're coming across as a bit of a dick yourself, in this thread and in others.

It's ok, it's dealt with now, thankfully. It only took receiving 20 abusive messages from him and 2 reports to administration, but it's sorted :)

My_name_is_URL, no, I was merely warning others. I made the mistake of responding to the person which seemed to set them off running, and once they began they were unstoppable (by me anyway). I didn't want anyone, on either side of the argument, to spark such bullshít unintentionally for themselves also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

seamus wrote: »
    Actually, I agree with Kenny on that one. Browne has been a long-time critic of Kenny's specifically and has shown himself continually incapable of chairing a debate without getting involved.
    What Browne said in reality was so far off the mark that he should have been fired from his slot. Regardless of anything else, this would indicate to me that Kenny has no respect for the producers in TV3 or any reason to believe that they will find a more competent host for any debate. Which seems fair enough to me.

Though in reality it would be worth his while facing it off and organising a debate that's broadcaster-neutral. But who's going to pay for that?

What?

No it wasn't, it was a figure of speech, like saying "fall on your sword".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Bababa2012

Ladies and gentlemen,

Are you 14? Whatever about that person sending you PMs, you're coming across as a bit of a dick yourself, in this thread and in others.

Well said.

Oh dear.

You poor, poor thing Bababa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Cut out the childish bickering. /mod

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Sure we could all do with a day's work couldn't we?
    30% of the population apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

surely the abuse should be directed at Aherne and Cowen , the clowns who actually created or oversaw our current mess

thebaz wrote: »
    surely the abuse should be directed at Aherne and Cowen , the clowns who actually created or oversaw our current mess
    Hey, you, enough with the logical approach to things. Cowen and Aherne are old news. The anti-everything crowd need something current to make ... "witty" ... remarks about such as changing their names to things such as "Alan Shítter" and referring to the country's leader as the "Mayo bollix".

It's not cool to approach things intelligently, it's cool to attack whatever is current for the sake of attacking it.

You and your "facts" and "logic" can feck right off out of here, or sure yer only defending that oul Mayo bollix parasite nazi cúnt and his zionist sidekick Alan ShíteHead wha' ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

Hey, you, enough with the logical approach to things. Cowen and Aherne are old news. The anti-everything crowd need something current to make ... "witty" ... remarks about such as changing their names to things such as "Alan Shítter" and referring to the country's leader as the "Mayo bollix".

It's not cool to approach things intelligently, it's cool to attack whatever is current for the sake of attacking it.

You and your "facts" and "logic" can feck right off out of here, or sure yer only defending that oul Mayo bollix parasite nazi cúnt and his zionist sidekick Alan ShíteHead wha' ?!

i am pleased you are not too unhappy with the government....after all, they are doing their best.

Oh I agree. They're certainly not perfect, I have my issues with them, but they're the best we've got and I'm generally happy with the job they've done so far.

Tough times, nobody is going to be popular in doing the right thing for the country but at least they're not taking the regressive,populist bollocks stance and are trying to do what is best for the country.

Pearse Doherty on VB making an utter arse of himself, for all those still up with nothing to do.

The anti-everything crowd need something current to make ... "witty" ... remarks about such as changing their names to things such as "Alan Shítter" and referring to the country's leader as the "Mayo bollix".

That's just nonsense. The name calling is stupid, yes, and tbh I think Gordon Hudson, as chairman of the campaign, doesn't do himself or the campaign any favours by getting personal. He should know better, as should any representative person. That goes for Enda Kenny too.
    Btw, 'the anti-everything crowd' ?

Johro wrote: »
    That's just nonsense. The name calling is stupid, yes, and tbh I think Gordon Hudson, as chairman of the campaign, doesn't do himself or the campaign any favours by getting personal. He should know better, as should any representative person. That goes for Enda Kenny too.
    Btw, 'the anti-everything crowd' ?
    Anti-everything is mostly a reference to SF, who in the entire history of Ireland in the EC/now EU have rallied to vote "No" against every single EU referendum put before us, despite the huge benefits we have had from being in the EU in that time.

SF will come out and be against ANYTHING that the ruling Government is in favour of and yes, it absolutely is for the sake of it as even though I think very little of SF, I don't think they're that genuinely retarded to be honestly against everything they've claimed to be.

Anti-everything is mostly a reference to SF, who in the entire history of Ireland in the EC/now EU have rallied to vote "No" against every single EU referendum put before us, despite the huge benefits we have had from being in the EU in that time.

SF will come out and be against ANYTHING that the ruling Government is in favour of and yes, it absolutely is for the sake of it as even though I think very little of SF, I don't think they're that genuinely retarded to be honestly against everything they've claimed to be.
    That's funny, because in any Sinn Fein leaflets I've ever seen in which they outline their reasons to vote No, never have I seen 'For the sake of it'. In fact, when it comes to the ins and outs and ramifications of the treaties, SF have been the most informed and informative. But hey, that's just my opinion.
    You're entitled to yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

He's refusing to appear on a TV3 debate next week. What an odious little toe-rag he is.

This really annoyed me. He makes childish excuses like I wont appear on anything with vincent browne in it ect. If hes afraid of vincent browne I really doubt he has the testicular fortitude to lead a government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

politicians....only learn by their mistakes.....after they are thrown out of office.....

and like all dreamers...they can spend billions.....until they get to the shops...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

The benefits are over now.

All Europe are at these days is trying to extort money from us so their banks can continue to operate as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Pearse Doherty on VB making an utter arse of himself, for all those still up with nothing to do.
    at least he has the b333s to appear on the programme, then again he is very well able to speak

steddyeddy wrote: »
    This really annoyed me. He makes childish excuses like I wont appear on anything with vincent browne in it ect. If hes afraid of vincent browne I really doubt he has the testicular fortitude to lead a government.

He has lots to say when he wants something - but when one of his previous fellow members gets found guilty of corruption, naaa... he suddenly (and his cronies) goes all quiet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

that debate could be hosted by the late late show, or kennys programme, does not have to be vb.