Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

French Discussion and Help Thread

• 16-05-2012 2:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭

Hey guys, I thought I'd make a thread where we can discuss the French exam and help each other prepare for it! :D I wrote a little something to get us started, if yous could take a look at it and tell me if there's anything wrong with it I'd be chuffed! I'm obsessed with getting full marks in the French written pieces y'see :P If yous have any questions throw them in here and hopefully we can help each other out! I know there's quite a few people on this forum who are class at French so don't be strangers! :P Also post what topics yis are doing for the written pieces/how you're preparing :)

"De nos jours, l'immigration augmente de nombreuses fois. Cela va posera beaucoup de problèmes à l'avenir. Elle avait déjà provoqué des ennuis en France et partout. C'est normal pour on se demande - pourquoi il faut que ce soit un problème? Nous dit-on par certains que ces immigrés doivent rentrer à leurs pays natals. à ces gens qui sont mefiant de les immigrés, je dis cela: Pourquoi as-tu des préjugés raciaux? La diversité est une grande avantage. Je comprends que ce sera difficile de s'intègrer ces etrangers, mais, selon moi, si tu rendrait ces gens illicite, tu ne feras que créer un problème pour toi-même, et pour tous les autres aussi. Donc, un meilleur solution: traitez chacun avec respect, et embrassez les cultures étrangers. J'espère que cela devienne la norme à l'avenir."

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Britney_Spears

Hey guys, I thought I'd make a thread where we can discuss the French exam and help each other prepare for it! :D I wrote a little something to get us started, if yous could take a look at it and tell me if there's anything wrong with it I'd be chuffed! I'm obsessed with getting full marks in the French written pieces y'see :P If yous have any questions throw them in here and hopefully we can help each other out! I know there's quite a few people on this forum who are class at French so don't be strangers! :P Also post what topics yis are doing for the written pieces/how you're preparing :)

"De nos jours, l'immigration augmente de nombreuses fois. Cela va posera beaucoup de problèmes à l'avenir. Elle avait déjà provoqué des ennuis en France et partout. C'est normal pour on se demande - pourquoi il faut que ce soit un problème? Nous dit-on par certains que ces immigrés doivent rentrer à leurs pays natals. à ces gens qui sont mefiant de les immigrés, je dis cela: Pourquoi as-tu des préjugés raciaux? La diversité est une grande avantage. Je comprends que ce sera difficile de s'intègrer ces etrangers, mais, selon moi, si tu rendrait ces gens illicite, tu ne feras que créer un problème pour toi-même, et pour tous les autres aussi. Donc, un meilleur solution: traitez chacun avec respect, et embrassez les cultures étrangers. J'espère que cela devienne la norme à l'avenir."

You haven't stated the question, my advise don't dive in straight away. My teacher says the piece of writing should be progressive. But overall it seems very personalise which is gonna get you marks.

I'm worried about the writing I covered poverty, recession, emmigretion, fashion and violence. Anything else?

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

You haven't stated the question, my advise don't dive in straight away. My teacher says the piece of writing should be progressive. But overall it seems very personalise which is gonna get you marks.

I'm worried about the writing I covered poverty, recession, emmigretion, fashion and violence. Anything else?

We've done stuff for underage drinking, drugs, the Internet and phones, fast food, recycling, can't think of the others.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭checkcheek

"Elle avait déjà provoqué des ennuis en France et partout."

Is that the plue que parfait?

We've done stuff for underage drinking, drugs, the Internet and phones, fast food, recycling, can't think of the others.[/Quote]

thanks! I'll get startedon them. I forgot to mention the olympics and drugs in the olmpics.

checkcheek wrote: »
    "Elle avait déjà provoqué des ennuis en France et partout."

Is that the plue que parfait?

Yes it is, you are saying she has caused trouble before in France and everywhere? Wierd grammar but still plus que parfait

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭grantyrs10

"De nos jours, l'immigration augmente de nombreuses fois. Cela va posera(cela va poser-its the futur procher aller + infinitif) beaucoup de problèmes à l'avenir. Elle avait déjà provoqué des ennuis en France et partout. C'est normal pour on se demande - pourquoi il faut que ce soit un problème?(pourquoi devrait-il un probleme?- not sure bou the il faut construction ) Nous dit-on par certains que ces immigrés doivent rentrer à leurs pays natals. à ces gens qui sont mefiant de les immigrés,(je dirais aux ces gens ci qui sont méfiants(agreement plural) de les immigrés : Pourquoi as-tu des préjugés raciaux? La diversité est une grande avantage. Je comprends que ce sera difficile de s'intègrer ces etrangers, mais, selon moi, si tu rendrait ces gens illicite,(si tu rends ces gens illicité tu n'iras pas créer un probleme pour toi-meme--and you have a si rule clause ie: si + present = futur) , et pour tous les autres aussi. Donc, un meilleur(une meillure solution-solution is feminine) solution: traitez chacun avec respect, et embrassez les cultures étrangeres(la culture feminine). J'espère que cela devienne la norme à l'avenir."

Great idea for this thread... help us all who are sitting leaving this year. By the way, could you tell me how to write the accent grave (backwards fada ?? :D:D:D:D
    Thanks for yer post

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

grantyrs10 wrote: »
    Great idea for this thread... help us all who are sitting leaving this year. By the way, could you tell me how to write the accent grave (backwards fada ?? :D:D:D:D
    Thanks for yer post

Press the ` button (under Esc key) and the letter at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

Hoping I get my B2 in French, desperately want it and am doing a good bit of work for it at the minute! Got a C2 in the Mocks but had a really good Oral IMO, so hoping I can get it! I gave 4 essays to my Teacher yesterday, 2 today and i'll have 6 ready for her tomorrow. At least no-one can say I didn't work for it! Anyway here's a diary entry I did earlier, not great but let me know of the errors ye find if ye have time! Thanks!

'Un ami francais a décidé d'aller passer trois semaines en Australie avant d'entrer á la fac. Il vous demande de l'accomagner. Vous etes indécis'.

Cher journal,

Salut, quelle semaine bizzare! C'était une semaine ordinarie et j'étais travaillé dans une magasin en centre ville comme chaque jour depuis mes examens fini. Mais, en mardi, quand je suis retourné chez moi apres travaill, j'ai lu une lettre de mon ami francais (il s'appelle Franc), qui j'ai fait une échange scolaire avec l'année derniere.

Il annoné qu'il a projets d'aller en Austraile pour trois semaines avant la debut de fac, et il m'a demandé si je vais aller en Austraile avec lui!

C'est une idée et une experience incroyable, mais, je suis un peu indécis en ce moment. C'est très cher aller en Austraile et j'ai besoin beaucoup d'argent pour fac l'année prochaine. Je ne suis pas sur maintenant, c'est vraiment difficile pour moi!

Je penserai à propos de ce projet avant je décide, c'est une choix très grande!

Je suis fatigue, je pense qu'il vaut mieux que j'ailler me coucher maintenant.

À tout à l'heure,
    David.

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭JonnyMcNamee

what's everyone studyin for the obligatory written question? Would I be safe in just knowing my Qu'en pensez vous phrases and idioms inside out with some good general vocab or would I need to cover Le Recit? Seems like it could be tough to get top marks on it and I really want a good result in French!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Hoping I get my B2 in French, desperately want it and am doing a good bit of work for it at the minute! Got a C2 in the Mocks but had a really good Oral IMO, so hoping I can get it! I gave 4 essays to my Teacher yesterday, 2 today and i'll have 6 ready for her tomorrow. At least no-one can say I didn't work for it! Anyway here's a diary entry I did earlier, not great but let me know of the errors ye find if ye have time! Thanks!

'Un ami francais a décidé d'aller passer trois semaines en Australie avant d'entrer á la fac. Il vous demande de l'accomagner. Vous etes indécis'.

Cher journal,

Salut, quelle semaine bizzare! C'était une semaine ordinarie et j'étais travaillé (why etre here? it should be avoir, unless theres something i'm missing!) dans une magasin en centre ville comme chaque jour depuis mes examens ont fini (did you use google translate for that? :P). Mais, en mardi, quand je suis retourné chez moi apres travaill (I would say apres ayant travaille - after having worked), j'ai lu une lettre de mon ami francais (il s'appelle Franc), qui j'ai fait une échange scolaire avec l'année derniere. (I've never been great with the literal translation of "who I did ___ with", so I'd say 'avec qui j'ai fait', but thats just me and both might be fine)

Il annoné (probably a typo but should be annoncé) qu'il a projets d'aller en Austraile pour trois semaines avant la debut de fac, et il m'a demandé si je vais aller en Austraile avec lui! (I would say 'il m'a demandé d'y aller avec lui' - I think it flows better and it looks nicer)

C'est une idée et une experience incroyable, mais, je suis un peu indécis en ce moment. C'est très cher aller en Austraile et j'ai besoin de beaucoup d'argent pour la fac l'année prochaine. Je ne suis pas sur maintenant, c'est vraiment difficile pour moi!

Je penserai à propos de ce projet avant (I think a que might be necessary here) je décide, c'est une choix très grande! (une tres grande choix - grand(e) goes before the noun)

Je suis fatigue, je pense qu'il vaut mieux que j'ailler (just j'aille, not j'ailler) me coucher maintenant.

À tout à l'heure,
    David.
    Thats the best I can do. :D

Cher journal,

Salut, quelle semaine bizzare! C'était une semaine ordinarie et j'étais travaillé dans une magasin en centre ville comme chaque jour depuis mes examens fini. Mais, en mardi, quand je suis retourné chez moi apres travaill, j'ai lu une lettre de mon ami francais (il s'appelle Franc), qui j'ai fait une échange scolaire avec l'année derniere.

Il annoné qu'il a projets d'aller en Austraile pour trois semaines avant la debut de fac, et il m'a demandé si je vais aller en Austraile avec lui!

C'est une idée et une experience incroyable, mais, je suis un peu indécis en ce moment. C'est très cher aller en Austraile et j'ai besoin beaucoup d'argent pour fac l'année prochaine. Je ne suis pas sur maintenant, c'est vraiment difficile pour moi!

Je penserai à propos de ce projet avant je décide, c'est une choix très grande!

Je suis fatigue, je pense qu'il vaut mieux que j'ailler me coucher maintenant.

À tout à l'heure,
    David.

A diatry entry is all about emotions, being extremly angry or depressed....avoid being vague

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Thanks for yer post

Thanks a million for those wee corrections, makes a big difference :)

Patchy~ wrote: »
    Thats the best I can do. :D

It would be apres avoir fini not apres ayant fini. It is also used with the infinitif

eg: je suis allé au lit après etre retourné chez-moi.

:D:D:D

Cher journal,

Salut, quelle semaine bizzare(je viens de passer - shows venir de construction nicely)! C'était une semaine ordinarie et j'étais(j'avais travaillé-plus-que-parfait) travaillé dans une magasin en(au centre ville/en ville) centre ville comme chaque jour depuis mes examens (ont fini)fini. Mais, en(on tuesday = le mardi ) mardi, quand je suis retourné chez moi apres(apres avoir travaillé) travaill, j'ai lu une lettre de mon ami francais (il s'appelle Franc),(avec qui j'ai fait) qui j'ai fait une échange scolaire avec l'année derniere.

Il annoncé qu'il a projets d'aller en Austraile pour trois semaines avant la debut de fac, et il m'a demandé si je vais aller en Austraile avec lui!

C'est une idée et une experience incroyable, mais, je suis un peu indécis en ce moment.quoi faire? (bring in some emotional sentences, je suis vraimement boulversant! tous mes projets vont tomber à l'eau) C'est très cher d'aller en Austraile(nice idiom would be-les billets couteront les yeux de la tete) et j'ai besoin beaucoup d'argent pour fac l'année prochaine. Je ne suis pas sur maintenant, c'est vraiment difficile pour moi!

Je penserai à propos de ce projet avant que(subjunctive présent) je décide, c'est une choix très grande!(une grande choix!)

Je suis fatigue(a more emotional sentence perhaps -je suis crèvé/je suis éxténué),(bien que je sois dans un mauvais état , je pense qu'il vaut mieux que j'aille me coucher maintenant.

À tout à l'heure,
    David.

It would be apres avoir fini not apres ayant fini. It is also used with the infinitif

eg: je suis allé au lit après etre retourné chez-moi.
    Oh, cheers for that! I knew it sounded odd but I trusted my teacher, lol :rolleyes:

Here's some idioms! Does anyone know if you have to use idioms to get full marks in the written pieces?

• Registered Users Posts: 9 LanaMay94

We did road accidents, voting, the political system, television, mobile phones, drugs, sport, discrimination, violence in schools, bullying, the internet as well as all those mention before.

Also I think idiomatic expressions are needed in diary entries to get good marks.

Am I right in say the journal intime are always quiet generic?

Yeah - even when theyre more specific its still pretty generic. Its always some kind of fight or bad event, or really really good event, but then again they're not actually a guaranteed question. But its unusual that they dont appear. :)

Patchy~ wrote: »
    Yeah - even when theyre more specific its still pretty generic. Its always some kind of fight or bad event, or really really good event, but then again they're not actually a guaranteed question. But its unusual that they dont appear. :)

yea, I think it's just a matter of learning off general phrases. Can you predict the opinion writing, I have so many essays I need to narrow them down

Being honest I dont know if it can be predicted. I'd definitely study elections, immigration/racism, global warming and sport though, then have idioms, and vocab prepared on technology and obesity because they tie in with social problems/improvement. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9 LanaMay94

To narrow down the writing I was looking at everything that had come up since 1997, and drugs and discrimination/racism never came up so I think they'd be good ones to learn, maybe drugs will come up as drug usage in sports? Also the importance of languages hasn't come up in years, and my teacher thinks something on the political system could come up as its current

Can anyone tell me if there's mistakes in this or if I should change it, thanks! Also ignore backwards accents I've left out or the little triangles. I know where they they're supposed to be :)

'Tous les adolescents revent d'etre independants et de prendre leurs propres decisions. Pour vous aussi, est-ce qu'il est important d'etre independant?'

"Tout d'abord, l'indépendance et la confiance en soi sont tres importants. Depuis j'étais un enfant, j'avais essayé de prendre mes propres decisions et d'etre indépendant. De cette facon, j'ai essayé me developper en tout point. A mon avis, c'est le devoir de chacun de se developper afin qu'ils soient plus intelligent, plus capable, et plus fort a l'avenir, au point qu'ils aient leur indépendance.
    Si on s'est developpé comme enfant, on sera réussis - c'est un fait. De cette facon c'est vraiment important de promouvoir la confiance des ados et d'autres jeunes afin qu'ils soient plus confiant a l'avenir. Davantage, cette confiance restera avec les jeunes pendant toute la vie, et a cause de, ils auront un mieux niveau de vie."

Can anyone tell me if there's mistakes in this or if I should change it, thanks! Also ignore backwards accents I've left out or the little triangles. I know where they they're supposed to be :)

'Tous les adolescents revent d'etre independants et de prendre leurs propres decisions. Pour vous aussi, est-ce qu'il est important d'etre independant?'

"Tout d'abord, l'indépendance et la confiance en soi sont tres important(e)s. Depuis j'étais un enfant, j'avais essayé(j'essayais) de prendre mes propres decisions et d'etre indépendant. De cette facon, j'ai essayé(de me développer-as essayer de ) me developper en tout point. A mon avis, c'est le devoir de chacun de se developper afin qu'ils soient plus intelligents, plus capables, et plus forts a l'avenir, au point qu'ils aient leur indépendance.
    Si on s'est developpé( si l'on se developpe comme un enfant, on réuissira ) comme enfant, on sera réussis - c'est un fait. De cette facon c'est vraiment important de promouvoir la confiance des ados et d'autres jeunes afin qu'ils soient plus confiants a l'avenir. Davantage, cette confiance restera avec les jeunes pendant toute la vie, et a cause de, ils auront un mieux niveau de la vie."

There you go :D hope it's an aide !

Thanks man, you're an unreal help :) Just wondering how are you so good at french? :P

Hey guys, hoping for the B2 in French this year and am trying to get some good sentences and that sorted for some topics in case they come up- i'm thinking of preparing a couple of sentences on each of the following- does anyone think I should add any more to the list?
    • Racism/Discrimination
    • Drugs
    • Drugs in Sport
    • The Economic Crisis
    • Emigration
    • Pollution and the enviroment
    • Importance of Learning Languages
    • Tobacco
    • Unemployment
    • The Elderly
    • Position of Women in Society
    • Tourism
    • Famine in the World
    • Olympic Games
    • Computers/Technology
    • Formal Letters
    • Informal Letters
    • Diary Enteries
    Then i'm gonna try and know a couple of nice idioms, a subjunctive or two and try and make sure my grammar and that is ok. What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭ChemHickey

Hey guys, hoping for the B2 in French this year and am trying to get some good sentences and that sorted for some topics in case they come up- i'm thinking of preparing a couple of sentences on each of the following- does anyone think I should add any more to the list?
    • Racism/Discrimination
    • Drugs
    • Drugs in Sport
    • The Economic Crisis
    • Emigration
    • Pollution and the enviroment
    • Importance of Learning Languages
    • Tobacco
    • Unemployment
    • The Elderly
    • Position of Women in Society
    • Tourism
    • Famine in the World
    • Olympic Games
    • Computers/Technology
    • Formal Letters
    • Informal Letters
    • Diary Enteries
    Then i'm gonna try and know a couple of nice idioms, a subjunctive or two and try and make sure my grammar and that is ok. What do you think?

Seems like enough!

Question : Why only aim for a B2? You'll only ever get what you aim for... aim for an A.

ChemHickey wrote: »
    Seems like enough!

Question : Why only aim for a B2? You'll only ever get what you aim for... aim for an A.

Thanks, i'll aim for the A I suppose ChemHickey! We'll see how that goes :P. What marks do ye guys ussually get in the Tape tests? I ussually get around 55/56 out of 80 and i'm not really sure how to improve it- any tips?

French music! :)
    Coeur de Pirate (not our beloved Coeur, the musician :P) is great, and so is Carla Bruni. Its also helpful for grammar - like how you might rhyme off Irish irregular verbs, you can sing a bit of a song to make sure your syntax is correct, AND you get to do all of this effortlessly while you study <3 :P

Also the obvious doing the past papers since they tend to repeat a bit, of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Wesc.

Exact same advice as Patchy, I've been regularly listening to French music for the last month and doing exam papers for the aural and my standard had improved a lot! I got 77/80 in my last exam... a huge improvement from 62 in the mock!

But if I were you I'd concentrate more on perfecting your comprehensions and listening ability. I prefer to write about the less popular topics aswell because it's good to be different and from the chief examiner's reports students who tend to choose less popular topics do better! It is really hard to predict French after all.