Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being a Kerry person...the list...

• 17-05-2012 9:06am

...so what do you have to do to really be "of" Kerry? Surely there is a list that could be compiled?

1. Swam at 2 of Caherdaniel, Rossbeigh, Inch or Banna
    2. Climbed 1 of Brandon, Carrauntoohil or Mangerton
    3. Been to the Rose Festival, either as a kid in the Town Park or as an adult drunk in Horans or...Spirals...
    4. Been to a County Football Final
    5. Attendeed a Cork Kerry game in Killarney
    6. Been out to either the Skelligs or the Blaskets
    7. Been to at least one stage of the Rally of the Lakes
    8. Drank in 2 of either the Harp Bar in Cahersiveen, Dick Macs in Dingle or the Square Pint in Kenmare

There must be loads more qualifier tests...

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

...so what do you have to do to really be "of" Kerry? Surely there is a list that could be compiled?

3. Been to the Rose Festival, either as a kid in the Town Park or as an adult drunk in Horans or...Spirals...
    8. Drank in 2 of either the Harp Bar in Cahersiveen, Dick Macs in Dingle or the Square Pint in Kenmare

9. you went to school with or grew up with at least 1 kerry footballer:)

great thread btw:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Been to the bog?

I know, probably a sterotypical thing but when I first starting going out with herself, a kerry woman, everyone kept asking have you been brought to the bog yet. I thought it was a piss take until I had to spend a week "in the bog". Great craic tho I must say with good banter but I had never heard of it til I ventured to south kerry!

9. you went to school with or grew up with at least 1 kerry footballer:)

great thread btw:D:D

Of course, yeah. I think there is one degree of separation between every true Kerry person and an inter county footballer! The thread is a bit of a rip off of that very good Killarney list that did the rounds lately...though that was pretty funny too.

10. Know at least two fellows who "could have been Kerry footballers" but were "mad for drink".
    11. Gone to Puck Fair.
    12. Swam in the Aquadome.
    13. Knows exactly where the "Bullring" is (yet often would never have heard of "Mitchell's Crescent"...)
    14. Has wondered just how long the corridors in Kerry General really are.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,387 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

14. Has wondered just how long the corridors in Kerry General really are.

And what exactly is at the end of them...?

15. Are capable of eliciting every piece of presonally identifying information from a stranger and be able to trace some family connection to them without them realising it whilst divulging nothing about yourself.

16. You say one thing and mean the opposite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭kevmol88

SeaFields wrote: »
    Been to the bog?

17 ^^^
    18. Got "The Shift" in Ballybunion
    19. Accused of being from Cork(the shame :pac:)by Northern Folk

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Lovin' this guys & with every post I am being re-assured that yes I am actually from Kerry

*phew :D

20. Ended up on a boat to see Fungi and spent the evening in a pub across the road before trying to find accommodation cause you're in no fit state to leave Dingle :o

21. Pucking around on a beach in South Kerry (oh Castlecove I love ya!)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭tvercetti

22. Been approached by a particular foreign woman outside your local post office, she has expanded outside Tralee recently.

23 How's the craic ? "old stock"

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

24 if your from the town you wer brought up on taytos and coke

25. Gone over on the Tarbert Killimer, just for the novelty of driving on to a ferry...in Kerry!
    26. Wonder is it so bad to think Kerry first, Ireland second.
    27. Stared around Dingle and try to think like Peig did on her first day there.
    28. Be very proud of the fossilised trackway in Valentia...but never seen it as it means leaving the car!
    29. Golfed in one of Killarney, Ballybunion or Waterville. Or drank in the clubhouse of one of them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭beertons

kevmol88 wrote: »
    23 How's the craic ? "old stock"

I thought of my brother in law straight away when i read that!

30. Would moving the cows or sheep count?

31. Been to a show in the INEC, or the Gleneagle..or the Aras Padraig.
    32. Been to Youth Club County Club day with what seemed like every teenager in Kerry.
    33. Really want to beat the Sem in sports. Or quizzes. Or just about anything (may not apply to students of the Sem).
    34. Be scared of getting sent to the Sem (may not apply to students of the Sem).

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭dealornodeal23

Milked the Cows
    spread the manure

37 Won (and lost) a fortune at The Listowel Races

38. Were a witness to some birthday celebrations down the Bishops' path

39. Gone on a boat-trip at Ross Castle and being able to laugh at the 'stories' being told off as facts to the tourists about the history of the lickle islands around you

40. Proud that here is where Kerrymaid is made

41. Bought a bodhrán or tin-whistle so you can join a local ceili group when on a night-out

Knowing where the Ho Chi Mhin (pronounced ming) trail is, and believing it was named after a chinese restaurant that once stood there.

Sunday afternoons in winter spent driving around the Dingle Penisulla in the grey mist.

Sunday afternoons in summer traipsing up to Torc waterfall.

Getting your confrirmation clothes in Cork or Limerick city.

Knowing which side of the Mall is for the cool kids and which is for the wannabes...

Getting chucked out of Harry Roaches as a right of passage.

Believing anyone in Kerry outside of Tralee is a culchie. Being shocked that the rest of the country thinks you're a culchie too.

Smocking in your school uniform under the smoking tree in the green, thinking your teachers can't see you.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Maybe Tralee more than kerry but...

47. Had a feed in the Burger shack
    48. Knows who Jimmy greasy is

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭whistlingtitan

Knowing there is only two kingdoms
    The kingdom of Kerry
    And the kingdom of god
    And are in that order

Falling out of the (old) abbey at 4 in the morning

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭tvercetti

Had a post thanked by kerry4sam

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Being able to understand Jackie Healy Rae. If you can do that, you are definatly from Kerry!

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭kingdumb

how did ye get this far without...

49: Detest people from Cork

kingdumb wrote: »
    how did ye get this far without...

49: Detest people from Cork

Ah surely not. Quite the opposite. I would say like people from Cork. Except when it has anything to do with gaelic football. Sure West Cork and South Kerry...it's almost one and the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭kingdumb

To tell the truth I find people from South Kerry are a bit strange too, Deas-Mhumhain innit :)
    Ah surely not. Quite the opposite. I would say like people from Cork. Except when it has anything to do with gaelic football. Sure West Cork and South Kerry...it's almost one and the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

Knowing there is only two kingdoms
    The kingdom of Kerry
    And the kingdom of god
    And are in that order

Falling out of the (old) abbey at 4 in the morning

And get a hot dog from the guy with the little wagon

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭shergar22

50. Got drink in the offie in the Goalpost
    51. Gone knacker drinking up The Nov (or at the back of the Ashe Hall).
    52. Gone to the Beat in the Street in Denny Street.

53. Attended the Fair Day in Kenmare

kingdumb wrote: »
    To tell the truth I find people from South Kerry are a bit strange too, Deas-Mhumhain innit :)

That's not "strange".

That's "cosmopolitan"...:p

shergar22 wrote: »
    50. Got drink in the offie in the Goalpost
    51. Gone knacker drinking up The Nov (or at the back of the Ashe Hall).
    52. Gone to the Beat in the Street in Denny Street.

I think our posts are not so much about identifying us as being from Kerry so much as identifying us as Tralee people of a certain vintage :o.
    That's not "strange".

That's "cosmopolitan"...:p

True, it's when you get beyond the Windmill that things start to get a bit, eh, "different".

/Gets (non-culchie) coat...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

You know who says, Sweet Blue Jesus, hanum di-al

You say Peg instead of throw

Went to Crag Cave on a school tour

There is a very important border at the County Bounds (Cork)

You have personally nailed green and gold fertilizer bags onto a Telephone pole to support Kerry.

Hate getting ate by midges whilst "footing" turf in the bog

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

55. going to Dingle for the August bank holiday & sleeping in tents in a field!

56. Ladies free on a Wednesday night in Spirals

57. the 'hurdy gurdy's during the festival & how the locals would get to go on the rides longer before & after the festival was on...my late Grandmother was friends with Mr. Bird the late owner of the funfair and he used to give her loads of passes for us every year! ah the memories :)