Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iron man race

• 17-05-2012 5:05pm
    Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭

There is a iron man race on sat in lanzarote yours truly happens to be staying opposite the start finish line.So how long dose the race take,it is starting at 7 am.

I'm trying to time it so we back for the finish of the quicker people thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

For this course, the lead mens should be around 8 1/2 hours....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

It's worth getting up and heading across to the beach for the swim start (incase you were planning on sleeping in late that morning ;)).

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

Thanks lads,as for the start I am 25m from the beach on the top floor as luck would have it I have a great view.7am:eek: its €2 a pint just up the road:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

Class!

(I think....) :o

Maybe in 2015 or whenever I move up to that distance I can look forward to it :D

Keep an eye out for Bryan McCrystal going for his first ironman.
    OK, so you're not going to be able to spot anyone realistically! :)

He didn't exactly chose an easy one it seems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Fazz wrote: »
    Class!

Maybe in 2015 or whenever I move up to that distance I can look forward to it :D

Keep an eye out for Bryan McCrystal going for his first ironman.
    OK, so you're not going to be able to spot anyone realistically! :)

He didn't exactly chose an easy one it seems!

Tough bike will suit him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

2015? That's a fierce long way away fazz.. better off just doing it next year to get it out of the way. Entry opens may 22nd :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Class!

One of those things that seems enticing, then you remember what an Ironman entails....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

TOTD Yeeaahhhhh!!!!!!! :D:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭peter kern

One of those things that seems enticing, then you remember what an Ironman entails....

it entails less training than being really good at the olympic distance ;-0
    so many people seem not to realize that the good Oly guys train way harder and often more hours than 90% of Ironman.

kingQuez wrote: »
    2015? That's a fierce long way away fazz.. better off just doing it next year to get it out of the way. Entry opens may 22nd :D

Next year! Hilarious!! :D

I've still got too much speed to gain at sprint and olympic to even consider an ironman!
    Next year will prob be similar to this but hopefully faster, and maybe an extra 70.3 thrown in.
    2014 who knows but prob 70.3 mainly, so 2015 is most likely :)

There's no rush for me thanks, but it is defo on the horizon as I'm sure it is for most triathletes.

For me its something that comes and goes. Not overly pushed to be honest.
    Something like Alpe D'Huez, be it the tri or La Marmotte, hold much more appeal to me that an Ironman at present.
    I am also repeatedly told that under no circumstances am I ever going to be allowed do one!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

The one thing i will say is when you do one IM you cross the finish line and say never again am i doing that. Later that evening after a few beers and exchanging war stories you start to change your mind. The next morning you find yourself entering in your credit card details going WTF i signed up for another one!!

I am doing things backwards, starting off with IM's and work backwards to sprint distance races:) In fairness i think i suit the longer distance stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

peter kern wrote: »
    so many people seem not to realize that the good Oly guys train way harder and often more hours than 90% of Ironman.

Likewise marathons and 5-10kms - one of my pet hates that people "step up to", or "take things seriously now so am going longer".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

...and your family & friends remind you that they still exist too!

It can't be easy to balance the training durations needed for IM distance with family, work, life etc. Always wanted to do a full distance race, but always wanted to do justice to it. I won't be happy to 'just' accomplish a finish, I want to give it socks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭griffin100

Whisper it quietly but *doing* an ironman is not that hard nor does it require endless hours of training. I know someone who did Challenge Barcelona well within the cutoff on a few (max 5-6) hrs training per week. However *racing* an ironman or giving it your best possible effort is a different sport entirely. There's a big difference between training for and going sub 9 or 10 and having a leisurely bike ride with a swim for a warm up and a jog for a cool down (which is how I do it).

Doing an Ironman or doing well at IM requires less training than Olympic? No interest at the moment, but knowing me that may well change. Don't see the point unless I feel I can go at least sub 12.

I'm too young for IM anyway. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Doing an Ironman or doing well at IM requires less training than Olympic? No interest at the moment, but knowing me that may well change. Don't see the point unless I feel I can go at least sub 12.

Ah, here....

Izoard wrote: »
    Ah, here....

That's just my high expectations of myself. I expect I'll go do one, full of confidence and end up doing 16 hours. :D

philip graves was 20 I think when he won his first IM
    thomas hellriegel 24 ( i think maybe 25) when he won hawaii ;-)
    but i agree speed first.

doing an Olympic distance well requires very hard work
    doing an Ironman well requres v hard work .

finsihing an Ironman dosnt need much work.

hawaii winner and olympic champ train to their utmost potential like a 100m olympic champ does .

Arthur lydyards 800m olymic champs did more mileage than today s Irish marathon runner ;-) but yes you can become 800 olympic champ with less mileage but then you have to work harder when you train
    the ordinary punter thinks longer is better and I think isnt that the reason we talk about this duffy fellow.( deca Ironman not even sure what his name is)
    Alan ryan would kill this man over any challenge he choses but this man used what general punter thinks ( longer is harder) to his great advantage ( and fair play to him )

• Registered Users Posts: 3 onlinepaul

any one that can do an iron man and beond fit but run the risk of being over trainned and sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

onlinepaul wrote: »
    any one that can do an iron man and beond fit but run the risk of being over trainned and sad

ya what now michael?

onlinepaul wrote: »

I wholeheartedly agree. Well said.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

Just to break the mood a little.we are just back from a stroll along the street in puerto del carmin wher there are 1700 bikes lined up on both sides of the road waiting for the off.

Well the start of the swim was sight to see,a Irish guy called mat was no 5 or 6 on the road after the swim (diddent catch his surname).

08.30 brian and Sean from Ireland just went out on their bikes,the commentator is not giving surnames

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

Bryan McCrystal - 1h 03 mins swim
    Matt Molloy - 50 mins

• Registered Users Posts: 17 splurge

Wait for Mc Crystals bike !
    I know we might be waiting a while :)
    Will there be a new Irish record at the end of the day ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Snacks on here swam a 63, good start from him.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭dx22

Is there an athlete tracker webpage anywhere? i cant find one?

Good first bike split for mc crystal - 2.42 - no sign of Molloys bike split time yet

dx22 wrote: »
    Is there an athlete tracker webpage anywhere? i cant find one?
    http://ironman.com/events/ironman/lanzarote?show=tracker&race=lanzarote&year=2012#axzz1vJCBErnb

splurge wrote: »
    Good first bike split for mc crystal - 2.42 - no sign of Molloys bike split time yet

Molloy 2.51 (wind starting to pick up)

Wait for Mc Crystals bike !
    I know we might be waiting a while :)
    Will there be a new Irish record at the end of the day ?

No

On paper you'd imagine it'd be a good battle between Molloy and McCrystal.

Molloy has the experience at this distance though, but McCrystal will be looking for a gap off the bike and can run as fast if not better, though running a marathon off a hard bike is new ground I'm sure.

Probably won't be much more than 5-10mins in it at the end ?
    Hard call over who to favour ahead though, especially as BMC's first Ironman.

You seem pretty sure - why so ?

It's not a fast course, and Irish records set last year were on a fast course.

Fitness improvements aside, some courses just won't yield records as they are not designed that way.

Its probably the toughest IM course about, the bike is slow from a combination of wind and hills. Its not a race to set records on.

Molloy has the experience at this distance though

Molloy's main experience is blowing up half way through the bike tho ;)

I reckon BMC should finish ahead of him.

mloc123 wrote: »

I reckon BMC should finish ahead of him.

I do agree, but a first ironman and on a very hard course, all be it suiting a strong biker is still going to be completely unknown ground for him.

Saw the video most of ye prob did also with an interview of BMC, said he's no expectations just looking to finish it.

http://youtu.be/z1s_e4NzWJ4

Saw the video most of ye prob did also with an interview of BMC, said he's no expectations just looking to finish it.

http://youtu.be/z1s_e4NzWJ4

We all say **** like that. Not buying it. He has a target and it's not just finishing.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭dx22

We all say **** like that. Not buying it. He has a target and it's not just finishing.

Especially as he has just posted the 4th fastest bike split at 5:03:09 from what i can make out! Fair play to him

Has about 14mins on Molloy now.

thats a bit below the belt.
    after all he has by far the fastest Irish IM time in hawaii and he has only done 2 im an the other was the 2nd fastes first time Irish ironman.

Also he has a power meter so this can not happen ;- )
    as I am being told thats where power meter come into their own ;-) ;-)

I wouldn't say below the belt, a bit harsh maybe.

Powermeter or not, perhaps his ego got in the way for the first half of his bike split in Austria :)

It looks like that bike has brought him from 290th overall, up to 14th! :eek:

Not sure if it was a mass start for pro's also, but if so then he'd have passed 276 others on route to T2. :D:eek:
    They wouldn't have known though... it would have just been like a train going by :pac:

Looks like he flew through the first 6km on run in 3:44/km pace, but has now slowed to over 5min/km pace.
    Possibly related to hills on the run I'm not sure.

Hopefully it's course related and he continues to reel them in.

Up to 12th at the 12km Run mark it looks like.

Has about 14mins on Molloy now.

Up to 18 mins through first 6km Run marker.

He has an interesting way to train for the IM bike. Still the facts of his overall times are the facts.
    Its hard to argue that any Irish Ironman has done better in his first 2 Ironman.
    9.13 at hawaii is the best ironman done by an irish athlete in my books (normalized performance) .
    I have to say from a coaches point of view its v interesting to see what he is doing and his coach is an interesting person too ( ex coach of spencer smith )

Think BMC is up to 10th overall now and just 1min behind 9th.

That's a superb performance up to the 25km Run mark.

Let's hope he can hang in there as he's running strong and sub 3hr marathon pace off the 4th fastest bike split.

Bit concerned for Matt Molloy, no sign of him moving into the 9km run marker.
    Don't think he'd have slowed to be 16km behind BMC so possibly a problem or else timing issue.

EDIT - Timing does seem to be throwing a fit so prob that hopefully.

He has an interesting way to train for the IM bike. Still the facts of his overall times are the facts.
    Its hard to argue that any Irish Ironman has done better in his first 2 Ironman.
    9.13 at hawaii is the best ironman done by an irish athlete in my books (normalized performance) .
    I have to say from a coaches point of view its v interesting to see what he is doing and his coach is an interesting person too ( ex coach of spencer smith )

What do you mean interesting way to train for IM Bike?

As in the racing or volume he is doing or other?
    He seems to do a lot of races, but has a lot of volume each month to cope with it and obviously recovers well enough.

from the texas Ironman

Another tip from Greg and Chrissie: Do core / strength work. It will help with posture on the bike, among other things. Just check out how stable and comfortable Jordan Rapp looks on the bike. Unfortunately, as the race goes on, many age group athletes begin to slump over their bars. Core work will help.

what a classic ;-)
    i think they picked the wrong person here ;-)