Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Words that you rarely hear any more...

• 18-05-2012 6:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭

And I don't mean please and thank you! :D

I don't why it suddenly popped into my head - advancing senility probably - but a word my Grandfather (born 1881) used to use when describing things that he had heard politicians saying - blatherskite. http://www.worldwidewords.org/weirdwords/ww-bla1.htm He died in 1970 and I certainly haven't heard anybody else use it since. Anybody else got any weird ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

A donnybrook, to describe a fight, fcuking great word :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Guttersnipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭lorebringer

"pinny" for an apron - heard someone say it the other day that was not over the age of 80!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭jos28

Had a discussion about this last week when we realised that nobody says diddies or gic anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

krudler wrote: »
    A donnybrook, to describe a fight, fcuking great word :D

How old are you? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16 ruskey!

AAhhh that brings me back - to the 1960's - :)
    havent heard blatherskite for years - and while i'm at it - how about someone being described as a "neuck" - a buachaill dána too cute for his own good, devious, sly.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Guttersnipe, i'm going to try and bring that one back.

Come here you ya little guttersnipe, i'll box the ears off ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Couldn't give a fiddlers fart
    Never hear that anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭bowsie010

pissmire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

No.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

Recession

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

Scutter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

How old are you? :D

well I remember the day Johnny "The Tower" MacGavin went 200 rounds with a young Albert "Slobberknocker" O'Donnell, what a day that was, all of us riled up on gobstoppers and giving each other jip, what ho!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

"information superhighway"

"the web"

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Bullrush

Rubber dollies - runners
    Jagging - going out with someone
    Bazzer - haircut

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Mega

To describe something that is/was great (not in relation to size/mass)

In a hoola hoop ( hungover or in bad way(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭jos28

ruskey! wrote: »
    AAhhh that brings me back - to the 1960's - :)
    Remember the song - gic, gic, la, la, it's all down your leg gic gic,la la.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

catch a nígger by the toe

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Fornication;)
    Bohareen

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭Dub12Dave

Do you remember the last time you called someone a 'Goon'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Gobble (eat fast)
    Rounders (pre Celtic tiger field game)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Slanty... as in "dear god that lads awful slanty looking of late!"

Let's bring slanty back into the Irish lexicon!

parlor
    scullery

The grandparents had these rooms, I bet your grandparents did too

Now I'd call them a living room and a utility room, probably American influence

The parlor was an important room and young whippersnappers weren't allowed in there
    That was for important visitors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Caddywhompus

Christy Brown
    Ah ya Christy, you're some retard
    Hey Christy, yeah you

Early nineties when the film came out

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Urquell

Thank You

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

What the Dickens

Cassette tape

Tape recorder.

VCR

Remolds (Although this may comeback :p)

Extreme Unction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭livinsane

Enough of your high falutin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Girdle
    Courting
    Doing a line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Accepting CV's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Lighted.
    Fustigation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

superfragilisticexpialidocious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Ruralyoke

Not exactly archaic but "shall" has never really been popular in this country but these days it's almost extinct except in comedic poncy type proclamations.

Which is kind of a good thing in my book - never liked the little sh1tty b@stard of a word. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

mikemac1 wrote: »
    parlor
    scullery

The grandparents had these rooms, I bet your grandparents did too

Now I'd call them a living room and a utility room, probably American influence

The parlor was an important room and young whippersnappers weren't allowed in there
    That was for important visitors

Adding to that vocabularly: the haggard.

Suppose it would be called a back yard now.

And a word you'd only really hear from an auld lad at a hurling match these days but was a threat back in the day: "skelp"
    i.e "stop acting the eejit before I hit ya a skelp"

Never hear kids sayin let's play kick the can

Awww - that sounds really sad and nostalgic at the same time!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Ride me sideways was another one.

Rounders (pre Celtic tiger field game)

Have they stopped playing this in schools?

I used to love playing rounders in primary school. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

codswallop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

wankstain

Get up the yard, the smell of bengy off ya!

<something> is da solid finehist
    Not heard that in a long time

mikemac1 wrote: »
    bengy

Right that's it - for the first time in this thread I haven't a clue??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Never used the expression myself but oldies used to 'spend a penny' whereas my generation used to 'have a slash' both seemed to have died out.

Ruralyoke wrote: »
    Right that's it - for the first time in this thread I haven't a clue??

Do you remember Glenroe?
    Before that were was Bracken, a very young Gabriel Byrne was in it ;)
    Before Bracken there was The Riordans

'Get up the yard, there's a smell of Benjy off you!' came from that and became widely know, even decades later

Showing my age :o

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

"Gurrier" describing a little scumbag

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭nick 56

I learnt that wellington boots were called cossacks, I got out of a car by the GPO and got whoo hard by some guttersnipes as in "look at your man in his cossacks" -- much joy and laughter.

Geezer (for a cat)

cuddly sack (a cul-de- sac)

I will in me bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Maybe this is just a kilkenny thing but back in the 90's people used to say weapon as a means to describe something great. Then the cool kids shortened it to wep.

Interchangable with 'awesome' now I suppose. Feckin yanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

Seventy

• Registered Users Posts: 16 ruskey!

spend a penny - thats when it was affordable pre celtic tiger !!!!
    we're talking euro now......... so you gotta spend in style !!