Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Words that you rarely hear any more...

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭beaver111

gutties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

"Coniption", can't be bothered checking if someone posted it already, I'd have a coniption if I had to do that

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

My Dad has used the expression "to rear up cat":D...think it means something along the lines of "causing trouble"?

My sister and I were baffled, but he didn't seem to think it was an unusual phrase! Still not sure if it's just made up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Palytoxin wrote: »
    "Coniption", can't be bothered checking if someone posted it already, I'd have a coniption if I had to do that
    If I suggested another 'n' would you have a conniption?

humbert wrote: »
    If I suggested another 'n' would you have a conniption?
    Say what you like, I'll probably have a conniption either way, great word though! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭deandean

Oh, bugger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

No one says ditto as in "I think i love you"... "ditto". Its one of the few great annoying and impersonal words that should be resurrected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Malojeon, as in that song was malojeon

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Blackguard. Pronounced 'blagard' for all you young 'uns/non-culchies out there. :)
    krudler wrote: »
    A donnybrook, to describe a fight, fcuking great word :D

Isn't that an Australian word? It comes from Donnybrook in Ireland but I thought it was just used in Oz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The delph
    It's the good stuff, the kind you use for Christmas dinner when there are lots coming around

Haven't heard delph in a long while

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭swoody

Rasa

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

uch wrote: »
    Is it not malojend with a D at the end U? Though in the old song line "skinny malink malogean legs, umbrella feet" etc there's no D. Good one though. Still use it myself. :)
    Blackguard. Pronounced 'blagard' for all you young 'uns/non-culchies out there.
    Ah here, that's a Jackeen word. Feckin culchies nicking our shít. :D

I haven't heard "I'm only codding" in place of "I'm only joking" for a good while. Haven't heard "Sleeveen" for a sneaky person too often recently either and haven't heard "he's a real go by the wall and tiddle the bricks" to describe same in a very very long time. Decco for having a look at something another rare enough on. He or she "is on gur" meaning they're economising/poor. From gur cake a cheap cake I gather.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Fill it up with petroleum distillate, and re-vulcanize my tires, post-haste!
    -Mr.Burns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭mongdesade

Another Dublin word - Scuttin' - an unauthorised lift on the back of a bread van or other vehicle.

Veolia are running a series of safety posters on the red line at the moment saying 'Tram scutting is dangerous'

Very few ppl threaten to Burst their enemies these days.

I use it quite frequently :D

Derivative... 'Dat was cat malojeon !' :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Ye daw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Archeron

Jammer, as in a stolen car.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭funnilenough

creamer/cream cracker; traveller
    skullduggery ;to like it up the swiss
    up the swiss ;up your anus
    touch on ;to **** off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

That fella'd mind mice at the crossroads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭little swift

He or she "is on gur" meaning they're economising/poor. From gur cake a cheap cake I gather.

on gur, means sleeping rough , gur cake is also another name for fruit cake lovely with a bottle of milk :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Wibbs wrote: »
    Is it not malojend with a D at the end U? Though in the old song line "skinny malink malogean legs, umbrella feet" etc there's no D
    Whaaaat!!!
    Isn't it "big banana feet"???

mongdesade wrote: »
    Derivative... 'Dat was cat malojeon !' :D
    The rhyme goes "cat's malachy and goat's malogen, put them together and you've a mighty explosion."
    (Malachy=Malogen=Excrement) :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

I'll brain ya
    The smell of campfire off ya
    Get out of that garden
    Sick as a small hospital (when hungover)
    There wasn't what would ring a sow at it (when describing a small crowd)
    Up me arse picking dasies and getting browned off
    The curse a fu_ck on it
    Fu_ck this for a game of soldiers
    Look at the cut of ya
    He's blind in one eye and can't see in the other
    He's as slow as a funeral
    Nearly never bulled the cow
    He'd drink Lough Eireann dry
    If there was work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor
    He's too lazy to scratch himself
    Whelp
    Skelp
    Scutterpullet
    Chancer
    Nancy boy
    As dry as a November ass sh1te (talking about a boring person)
    As cute as a christian
    As sure as there's a tail in a cat
    As God is my witness
    The Theshing
    As weak as ferret's milk
    Hobnail boots
    A cut of bread (a slice)
    The place was black (a large crowd)

I'm broke, can I get a land of a score?
    Heading out tonight, just have a score to spend

Not heard score in years
    It was 20 punts, is it 20 euro now?

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I'm broke, can I get a land of a score?
    Heading out tonight, just have a score to spend

Not heard score in years
    It was 20 punts, is it 20 euro now?
    No.It's a small bag of heroin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Ergo, Vis a Vis, Concordantly, Apropos

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 363 ✭✭FishBowel

Golliwog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Davidson2k9

"Yes, I will sleep with you"

cambo2008 wrote: »
    No.It's a small bag of heroin.

Maybe for the Dubs it is

A score was £20 everywhere else

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Maybe for the Dubs it is

A score was money everywhere else

Ah the Dubs, drugs, drugs, drugs
    Sorry I can't read that.I'm tripping off my tits here. :rolleyes:

Nice ninja edit btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

Wireless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

property and tax

weekend shopping trip to New York

Was all the rage not long ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

property and tax

Post the referendum, you'll be hearing all about it again :D

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭DubCul

The Celtic Tiger (RIP)
    Voting Machines
    Honest Politicians
    Friendly Bank Manager
    Council Services
    Bertie Ahern
    Ban Gharda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nippledragon

"he's like a goose's sh1te" - tall, thin man

"he's like the thick end of a dogs sh1te" - he thinks hes always right

"ill playstation ya" / "ill give ya playstation" - threat to get off the playstation and do your chores

"hauld on till i get the wodden spoon (or a sally rod)" - your going to get a hiding

"ill redden your arshe ya, ya, ya little skitther ya"

"dont (slap) do (slap) that (slap) again (slap), ya little sh1tehawk ya" - being told during a hiding

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Whippersnapper

Flibbertigibbet - someone who is flighty or unreliable. My late gran used to use this and "rapscallion" a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Lon.C

"Nifty" - meaning cool. It was a real word your ma would use to be down with the kids.
    "I'm not wearing them"
    "What do you mean you not wearing them lovely brown corduroy trousers, sure they're nifty. Now g'wan out and play".

Woodbines
    Your grandparents called all cigarettes woodbines.

Now that I think of it pipe smoking seems be extinct!
    I don't know anyone who smokes a pipe anymore

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Big Ears (...as in Noddy character).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

no idea if my dad made these up or how they are spelled but I remember them from my childhood

sooner - a mongrel dog, cos he'd sooner p*ss up the curtains than go outside
    a possounder - often I was described as a lazy possounder
    yobathorn - kid hanging around street corner acting the yob

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Cat. As in, the sheets in that lasagna were hard. Ah it was ****ing cat.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Ah here now, "shall" is a totally normal word. Whoever says it's outdated is wrong. Wrong I tell ye! I'm only a young'un and I use it all the time; you shan't stop me :P
    Truley wrote: »
    Phrases like 'Mother O' God' 'Jesus Mary and Joseph' 'Please God' 'God Almighty' etc will probably die out from my mother's generation downwards. Younger people don't talk like that.

My granny still says stuff like this. It's really funny the way she pronounces it with her Cork accent too. A while back I had bright bright orange hair. My granny, on seeing it for the first time, exclaims, "Oh holy sweet Mother of Divine God!!" :pac:
    Lon.C wrote: »
    "Nifty" - meaning cool. It was a real word your ma would use to be down with the kids.
    "I'm not wearing them"
    "What do you mean you not wearing them lovely brown corduroy trousers, sure they're nifty. Now g'wan out and play".

Nifty and spiffy! :D:D Excellent, deeply uncool "cool" words. I love them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Full employment

Bonza

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

It's been a power of years since I've heard the term "rapid" used to describe something good.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Pace2008 wrote: »
    It's been a power of years since I've heard the term "rapid" used to describe something good.

Still popular round these parts! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

nogan=head
    The state of the nogin on him.
    The size of the nogin on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 donkeydc

Fianna Fail, they just up'ed and vanished like a fart in the wind. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

Haven't hear the word yonks in... eh.... ages