Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea are the EUROPEAN CHAMPIONS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭cadete

Newcastle fan here well done Chelsea! Delighted for the Chelsea old guard especially drogba what a game! Ashley cole my man of the match for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The sound you can hear is Bayer Leverkusen fans laughing.

Me? I can only look on with disinterest, coming from only 1-0 down hardly rates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

FatherTed wrote: »
    Terry and Meireles with their kits on running up there to get their medals. WTF? They have zero class.

Stupid post. Terry in particular did as much as anyone to get them there tonight, so why shouldn't he enjoy the win with the rest of the squad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

IrishAm wrote: »
    An Irish person supporting Chelsea is absolutely mental. They are the most anti Irish club in England.

Really? The Russian owned club composed mostly of foreign players are anti-irish? Jeez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Stupid post. Terry in particular did as much as anyone to get them there tonight, so why shouldn't he enjoy the win with the rest of the squad?

Good point, Meireles played his heart out away to Barcelona too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

aidan24326 wrote: »

You mean like getting himself sent off in the semi.

Roy Keane did more than John Terry to get Man Utd to the CL final 99 and wasn't parading around in a kit. Also Paul Scholes considers his 2008 CL win his only medal. Different folks I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

FatherTed wrote: »
    You mean like getting himself sent off in the semi.

Roy Keane did more than John Terry to get Man Utd to the CL final 99 and wasn't parading around in a kit. Also Paul Scholes considers his 2008 CL win his only medal. Different folks I guess.

From another forum about Terry in his kit: 'That's the quickest John Terry's got changed since Wayne Bridge came home early!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭mobby

Great win for CFC delighted for Drogbra, Terry and Lampard. :D:D
    Makes me feel even better when I see all the anti Chelsea Posters all jumping up and down with rage :D

CHELSEA FC CHAMPIONS OF EUROPE 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

mike65 wrote: »
    The sound you can hear is Bayer Leverkusen fans laughing.

Me? I can only look on with disinterest, coming from only 1-0 down hardly rates!

But Mike, it was over at half time, surely coming back from that is an achievement?
    This will be over by half time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sorry that was referring to my viewing habits on a Saturday night - the Bridge started a 9 pm and it was the last two episodes so it was all going to be over by half time for me! :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Congrats to Chelsea and woohoo for ye Chelsea fans!!!

It's been the season for the Blues!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Well done Chelsea.

Hard Luck Spurs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,914 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

donfers wrote: »
    sorry replace "play" with "contribute in any meaningful way"

Except of course for winning the corner that led to the equaliser.

JT still trolling the world and the world bites accordingly, love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Torres left a little club to win things and by god he has!

Doubble cups for Torres!

Aw!! That's cute!!

So a thread to say well done Chelsea has a good few Liverpool FC mentions!!! :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Oh the Obsessed!! The Obsessed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Barr

mike65 wrote: »
    Sorry that was referring to my viewing habits on a Saturday night - the Bridge started a 9 pm and it was the last two episodes so it was all going to be over by half time for me! :);)

Over by half time :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

When Didier put that penalty away, I couldn't believe it! I couldn't scream or anything, I just sat there crying. :D

Amazing, just amazing. :D

Oh, then I remembered that I bought a bottle of Champagne, just in case we won and then opened it about ten minutes later. LOL

An Irish person supporting Chelsea is absolutely mental. They are the most anti Irish club in England.

Don't talk such bollocks!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

I've head this before, but how are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,972 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

TaosHum wrote: »

Traditionally Chelsea's support have been very Loyalist, ring-wing, and racist. Links to Rangers and Linfield fans and the NF.

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭conor360

Even though i was going for chelsea , i felt so sorry for schweinsteiger at the end when the cameras were all over him. I blame robben for missing the penalty and gomez for such a **** performance in front of goal. Olic too for same reasons .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

TaosHum wrote: »

A section of their fanbase promote this "Blues Brothers" nonsense, which is their link to Rangers' and Linfield's fanbases, who generally dislike us down South of the border.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Traditionally Chelsea's support have been very Loyalist, ring-wing, and racist. Links to Rangers and Linfields fand and the NF.

And Bayern Munich supporters have TRADITIONALLY been right wing, Nazi sympathising supporters? So what?

Tradition. Bah. Only the good traditions need to be remembered imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭podge79

Still can't believe Chelsea have won... am I dreaming? C'mon you Blues!!

RDM Legend! Drogba.. give that man a new contract!! :D... Kalou not so much... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭podge79

Traditionally Chelsea's support have been very Loyalist, ring-wing, and racist. Links to Rangers and Linfields fand and the NF.

you could throw similar accusations at Celtic and some of its fans regarding links to SF and IRA but hey I guess just because it's Celtic and all with the good irish connections it can be overlooked :rolleyes:

don't judge an entire club or its support by a few idiots; people can follow whatever club they want/like... why does there have to be an 'irish' connection with a club to follow it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,972 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

kleefarr wrote: »
    And Bayern Munich supporters have TRADITIONALLY been right wing, Nazi sympathising supporters? So what?

Eh, no, they're not. Why are you making stuff up? :confused:
    kleefarr wrote: »
    Bah. Only the good traditions need to be remembered imho.

Well, that's your opinion. A question was asked and I answered it correctly. If you don't like that, tough.
    podge79 wrote: »
    you could throw similar accusations at Celtic and some of its fans regarding links to SF and IRA but hey I guess just because it's Celtic and all with the good irish connections it can be overlooked :rolleyes:

Nobody is overlooking Celtic :rolleyes: (who I couldn't give a toss about), a question was asked about Chelsea.
    podge79 wrote: »
    don't judge an entire club or its support by a few idiots; people can follow whatever club they want/like... why does there have to be an 'irish' connection with a club to follow it?

I never said there had to be an Irish conection, you're welcome to "support" whoever you want.

Eh, no, they're not. Why are you making stuff up? :confused:

Er, notice the ? at the end of that?

My point being, whether true or not, that politics and religion do not belong in sport.

Unfortunately there still some like you that keep dragging in on, Rangers, Celtic or whatever. Get a life.

Goodnight!

Chelsea!! The Champions of Europe!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Fair play to all the well wishers ye're well appricated.

Thank christ we won it.

Delighted for Torres, justified his move to a big club in England.

Also, Spura well done, but unfortunate :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I can die happy now. Two things I wanted to see happen (that I was never sure would happen in my lifetime) have both happened in the last 8 months: Dublin won the All-Ireland again and Chelsea won the Champions League.

How we won it, I have no idea... but all that matters is we did. And we did it the fúcking hard way, leaving the battered remains of arguably better teams in our wake. No arguably about it in the case of Barcelona, in fairness. They are a better team, but so what? 85% possesion... only 40% of the goals over two legs.

We were once again riding luck tonight like nobody's business: how many times SHOULD Bayern have scored, but didn't? And for Arjen Robben to miss a penalty and then to bottle out and not take a penalty in the shootout (where he would most likely have scored and taken it to sudden death or won the fúcking thing), it was bittersweet; a player I admire, but to hell with admiration tonight.

I'm fairly pissed as I write this, and my pizza is about to arrive, so I'll sign off with this:

"I told my little girls that Chelsea are the best team in the world, and tonight WE ARE! GET IN THERE!" -Frank Lampard, captain fantastic for the night...

gavredking wrote: »

Thank christ we won it.

Well done Atletico Madrid!!

Thank christ we won it.

You do realise, you're a mod!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

bitterness

ft9 wrote: »
    bitterness

I love this nonsense! You do realise that Chelsea could realistically be in the Championship in five years time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Killinator

monkey9 wrote: »
    I love this nonsense! You do realise that Chelsea could realistically be in the Championship in five years time!!
    How can you come out with a statement like that just after Chelsea life the European Cup and you expect it not to be seen as bitterness.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Just home from watching it; delighted for Chelsea! Hate Bayern's attitude; arrogant twats. Delighted for Drogba, he is a seriously inspirational footballer, what a hero. Fcuk Robben, Ribery and Neur; you amateurs.

Killinator wrote: »
    How can you come out with a statement like that just after Chelsea life the European Cup and you expect it not to be seen as bitterness.....

Abramovich has finally purchased the European Cup! He could well f*ck off now. That's why!!

Gary Neville is an amazing commentator! Fcuking love his passion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Thank christ we won it.

You do realise, you're a mod!!!

Banter and jokes my good man. i actually think Spurs were unlucky. They finished 4th and we robbed a UCL final.

Im not trying to wind ppl up but when your club wins a UCL i have to celebrate it.

I apologise if ive wound up Spurs fans, I honestly didnt set out to do that.

Its very rare that a club who finishes 6th will take a UCL place from a team who finishes 4th an I honesrly feel that Spurs can feel extremly hard done by but ye lads will be back next year.

I have a family of Spurs and West ham fans and they've all wished Chelsea well since the win so I cant wait to visit Upton park and renew rivalries at the Lane next year.

Bastian Bottler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Killinator

Abramovich has finally purchased the European Cup! He could well f*ck off now. That's why!!

Stop the presses so,
    Is that a definite could or just a maybe could,
    Nice shot about buying it though, once again doesn't sound like bitterness at all:rolleyes:

Banter and jokes my good man. i actually think Spurs were unlucky. They finished 4th and we robbed a UCL final.

Im not trying to wind ppl up but when your club wins a UCL i have to celebrate it.

I apologise if ive wound up Spurs fans, I honestly didnt set out to do that.

Its very rare that a club who finishes 6th will take a UCL place from a team who finishes 4th an I honesrly feel that Spurs can feel extremly hard done by but ye lads will be back next year.

I have a family of Spurs and West ham fans and they've all wished Chelsea well since the win so I cant wait to visit Upton park and renew rivalries at the Lane next year.

Tonight of all nights, i wouldn't have a go!! And i mean this after experiencing Istanbul! But i've been infracted for much less than your Spurs comment!!! I really really have!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,734 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Gary Neville is an amazing commentator! Fcuking love his passion!
    He was awful tonight, horribly biased and came out with nearly every cliche in the book. His blinkers were actually embarassing by the end of it.

CSF wrote: »
    He was awful tonight, horribly biased and came out with nearly every cliche in the book. His blinkers were actually embarassing by the end of it.

Biased? Commentating for Sky Sports with Chelsea in the final and that is a complaint from a Sky Sports subscriber?!? Jesus. English based player commentating on an English based digital channel with an English team in the final of the most prestigious club competition in the football world and you are complaining that he is biased!? What do you expect! I am delighted a hardcore Man Utd player can be delighted for a rival club now he has retired.

"It could never get better than this for English football". He emits spectacular sound bites!

ALSO just to mention Neuer's penalty. Haven't really seen it mentioned. Quality of the keeper to step up like that and take a good penalty like he did. Had some arrogance going in with the chin up too, stroked it home. Cole had the best penalty of the lot though IMO, went same side as he did against VDS in '08. VDS got a hand to it and couldn't stop it iirc, Neuer couldn't get a hand to it tonight. Smashed it into the corner, great peno.

Also Torres won the corner that Drogba scored from. If Roman noticed that then maybe he won't feel that bad about the €50 mil price tag :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

jive wrote: »
    ALSO just to mention Neuer's penalty. Haven't really seen it mentioned. Quality of the keeper to step up like that and take a good penalty like he did. Had some arrogance going in with the chin up too, stroked it home. Cole had the best penalty of the lot though IMO, went same side as he did against VDS in '08. VDS got a hand to it and couldn't stop it iirc, Neuer couldn't get a hand to it tonight. Smashed it into the corner, great peno.

Also Torres won the corner that Drogba scored from. If Roman noticed that then maybe he won't feel that bad about the €50 mil price tag :P

Watch it again. Neuer actually kind of scruffs it a bit. bobbles into the corner. Not a clean connection. Fair played to him for stepping up but he was clearly bricking it with that run up.

It went in and thats all that matters....but technically it was the worst peno of the lot.

Kirby wrote: »
    Watch it again. Neuer actually kind of scruffs it a bit. bobbles into the corner. Not a clean connection. Fair played to him for stepping up but he was clearly bricking it with that run up.

It went in and thats all that matters....but technically it was the worst peno of the lot.

Technically I thought Bastian Schweinloser hit a good penalty but was unlucky not to score. Irrelevant though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TerryTibbs!

Dedicate that to Spurs

Love, CHD

Kirby wrote: »

He didn't scuff it? He just stroked it in to the corner. Cech guessed the right way and still didn't get to it so don't know how it was the worst of the lot. Schweinsteiger arguably didn't hit the target (Cech did touch it, didn't look like it was going in anyway) so surely his is the worst of the lot. Mata's wasn't good either, went to place it instead of power it and didn't get it near the corner. Also I thought Neuer had the most confident run up of anyone, but that's just one mans opinion. Drogba was looking good too though, not much of a run up all d same! Frank was most composed me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

Fernando+Torres+and+Juan+Mata+(R)+of+Chelsea+celebrate