Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Stupid stupid ads!

• 20-05-2012 2:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭

So i thought the Birds Eye ads with the cuddly polar bear living in the frezzer were funny at first, until I seen the latest one.

He's dreaming of home where his misses is walking though the kitchen with her front pixalated, why the hell isn't his pixalated.

Any other stupid ads, and not for what advertising, but just their content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

The done deal advert, where some bint sells her husband. Pisses me right the fuck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Moneysupermarket.com

wrecks my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

and of course go compare go compare :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

It's the companies that are tying their products in with the olympics that are getting on my nerves atm. Was in awe to see last night that Tampax have an olympic style advert out now. Tampax!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 _Moss_

This is just cheesy :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

I wanna do a poo in Paul's house... I hate the fecking add if I had a kid and they said that I'll drop kick them..

"know what u can have a poo out the back with the dogs"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

It's the companies that are tying their products in with the olympics that are getting on my nerves atm. Was in awe to see last night that Tampax have an olympic style advert out now. Tampax!!!

Is menstruation an Olympic sport now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Zombot

Nononsense.ie ... i Hate those ads :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

the blatantly racist dolmio ads...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Anyone see that ad where yer man is 'roped' in to some wine taste test and it turns out it's an ad for a supermarket or something (the value). It really makes him look like an alco.

Also if you really want to avoid getting your head wrecked by that Go Compare cock-end, hit the mute button on the remote as soon as the ads come on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I hate all of them except that one John West add from about 10 years ago maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

This... I just dont understand the mustache situation. Do you need one of them mustaches to insure a car with them. But when ever I see it I feel like thumping the F***ing wall. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,680 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The 3 network ad with Jedward on the phone to each other.
    "Sup John" "Sup Edward"
    :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

The 3 network ad with Jedward on the phone to each other.
    "Sup John" "Sup Edward"
    :mad:

"Sup santa?" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Shryke wrote: »

This one?
    http://youtu.be/CVS1UfCfxlU

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Wow, people still watch telly?

• Site Banned Posts: 109 ✭✭saspeir

Really focking annoying! Focking ret*rds people with zero sense of humor.

Also, think the salesperson and the grey haired dude are the same person. Cheapskates too! Using the same actor...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

This fúcking aural monstrosity for NRC taxis. This makes me hate people from Dublin. This brings out the angry and bitter culchie in me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I hate them Concern ads right when I'm about to tuck into a savage feed in d evenings.

Off topic here but that John West ad with yer man fighting d bear is fcuking brilliant.

• Site Banned Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Lionel Messy

Eamon Dunphy the Star "Not everyone's gonna agree with me on football, I wouldn't expect them to"

Stop at that point and you've got a great ad! How says he has 'conviction' i'll never know. He changes his mind so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Radio this time:

Today FM are running an ad for a ventriloquist, I thought that was a bit silly, then I read this on wikipedia:
    Bergen popularised the idea of the comedic ventriloquist. Bergen, together with his favourite figure, Charlie McCarthy, hosted a radio program that was broadcast from 1937 to 1956. It was the #1 program on the nights it aired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭okedoke

those stupid TV Licence ads on the radio - I have to turn off the radio as soon as it starts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,828 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Sergeant wrote: »
    This fúcking aural monstrosity for NRC taxis. This makes me hate people from Dublin. This brings out the angry and bitter culchie in me.

Where has that been shown?! I have never seen it before - agreed, I was not missing much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Out Of The Night

Maeve and her tiny babies........

The Kerrygold ad. I think that's what it is. The guy and his pregnant German girlfriend. His mother say's something like 'they export all our best'. Or something.

Those Denny's ads It's either the family having breakfast before the wedding. Wha?! A bride having a big greasy fry?

The Brennan's bread ad. Annoying family that grow their own vegetables.....

Who comes up with this crap!

I'd the misfortune to have Mtv on earlier, all those Jersey Shore ads :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah that Dubliner cheese ad is just embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Maeve and her tiny babies........

The Kerrygold ad. I think that's what it is. The guy and his pregnant German girlfriend. His mother say's something like 'they export all our best'. Or something.

KerryGold (and Barry's Tea) ads are so bad, they're good:D

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭D1976

Any of these by Paul Whitehouse

The bord na mona ads, "It's gonna be a long night!"

And this

It gets stuck in my head and I'm humming it for the rest of the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

too many insureance ads on TV these day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Those ads for the 48 mobile network.

"You're 18 now, go be a w**ker."

I really, really hate them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

FatherLen wrote: »
    the blatantly racist dolmio ads...

Racist ?

Come off it Len.

Overlty and ridiculously stereotypical maybe, but racist - no.

Those who are quick to play the race card often have no idea what the word means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Shryke wrote: »

Another great ad imo, this Snickers one:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Lapin wrote: »
    Racist ?

Come off it Len.

Overlty and ridiculously stereotypical maybe, but racist - no.

Those who are quick to play the race card often have no idea what the word means.

Yeah have to agree with this.

Which leads me to this (NSFW language).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Probably the most annoying ad ever:mad:

suffice to say ill never use this company for this annoying ad alone

I notice Meteor and eMobile are repeating ads from last year too, the Meteor ad was funny at the time but it's tragic they feel the need to repeat it all over again, the eMobile ad your wans name shows as Aoife on the screen yet she says her name is Annie head of no limits at eMobile:confused::rolleyes:

Being honest 85% of ads on TV are dreadful thesedays

jonnny68 wrote: »
    [...] the Meteor ad was funny at the time but it's tragic they feel the need to repeat it all over again[...]

The Meteor ad where he's speaking bad Spanish to a Scouser :pac:
    I hate it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

_Moss_ wrote: »
    I hate it

It was funny at the time but not anymore, they've started repeating it again.

I left Meteor last year anyway worst customer service ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I hate it

+1 (x 1,000,000)

She doesn't know how to say smile but she can say orthodontery? Where would she even learn that word? Does Junior Cert level Spanish require you to know words like "odontología"? Or did she accidentally sign up for "Spanish for dentists"?

Same here, joined vodafone... Which brings us to the Yoda ad :mad:

I think this should be brought back

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Stanley Devastating

A shiny new penny for anyone who can tell me what is the point in this ad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=oG-nnDlnWrA

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

They've been getting progressively more **** each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Blikes

The Knorr Sponsor ad on just before coronation street on tv3.

The most retarded smile right into the camera, i just wanna hit them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

The ad for Truly Irish meat with the one frying rashers that aren't full of water.

It's like they auditioned for the worst Irish accents to make the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

The McDonalds ads with yer man with the big smarmy head on him. I want to slap him every time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

All those damn Bingo ads all of a sudden! They seriously make you wonder if all Brits are over 80

Also this Blackrock Hair Restoration: First you see a ripe corn field, then a lion's mane, or the other way around. It's like someone had been following a "how to create a hair ad for dummies" manual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

the NDC ads promoting milk drinking, awful music, dreadful ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

How could I have forgotten about those milk ads.....they are monstrosities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭dmcronin

No Nonsense
    FBD

FFS What ad agency thought these would be in the slightest bit funny or clever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

This is just cheesy :p

Their "younger aunt" - younger then what?????