Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WA the most expensive state

• 21-05-2012 1:16am
    Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭

Something to think about if you believe that Perth and the surrounding areas are the place to be.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/business/local-business/wa-the-most-expensive-state-in-australia/story-e6frg2s3-1226361048056
    WA the most expensive state in Australia

HOUSEHOLDS in WA are paying more for everyday items - from a shopping basket of groceries to a pint of beer and even cinema tickets - than families across the country.

A national cost-of-living analysis by The Sunday Times has revealed we are consistently slugged extra, even regularly outstripping larger rivals Melbourne and Sydney.

While many households and businesses are reveling in our booming economy, many families are also paying a high price.

With a rapidly growing population and the lowest unemployment rate, we are being punished by above-average living expenses.

The Sunday Times can also reveal that rental property prices are skyrocketing - doubling in some Perth suburbs over the past 12 months, causing panic and "mania" among those looking for a home.

We are even slugged extra for a pub meal, up to $5 more than the average Sydneysider.

Premier Colin Barnett has acknowledged the cost of living pressures facing ordinary West Australians, but provided little relief in the state Budget.

"Despite the huge growth in revenue, households still find their budgets under siege," shadow treasurer Ben Wyatt said yesterday.

An analysis across all mainland capital cities comparing identical items revealed:

* A basket of staple groceries in Perth was more expensive than the identical basket bought on the same day in other state capitals, apart from Sydney.

* Regular and boutique beers cost more in Perth pubs than in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, Darwin and Hobart. For example, a bottle of Crown Lager will set you back $7.70 on average in Perth and $5.85 on average in Sydney.

* A typical pub lunch chicken parmigiana with chips will also bite a bigger hole in your wallet or purse here. The average price in Perth was $22.50 compared with $17.20 in Brisbane and $17.10 in Sydney.

* An adult going to the movies in Perth can expect to pay $18.50 compared with $14 in Brisbane.

Australian Hotels Association WA chief executive Bradley Woods said many factors influenced pricing, such as wages, penalty rates and property costs. But the biggest difference was that WA hoteliers and bar owners couldn't offset lower prices against pokie machine takings.

While the differences in our examples appear slight, over time the extra expense adds up for budget-conscious families, especially with so many locals being squeezed by record rents and galloping utility prices.

Though electricity, gas and water prices have soared in the past five years, our comparison showed we are paying less than most Australians on the other side of the Nullarbor for the same utilities.

And locals enjoy major savings on insurance premiums for motor, building and home contents when compared with what our eastern states' cousins are having to shell out.

In each state, The Sunday Times investigation sought quotes from at least three companies for motor insurance on a typical family car a 2008 Toyota Camry sedan, unalarmed, parked in a garage in a beachside suburb. The average Perth quote was lowest at $525.52 a year. The highest average was in Sydney at $869.39.

Similarly, we sought quotes for home and contents insurance on a typical single-storey unalarmed brick-and-tile house worth $500,000 with contents at $50,000. Apart from Hobart, Perth boasted the lowest average premium at $1100 (for Trigg) compared with the highest $1951 in the Brisbane riverside suburb of Bulimba.A spokeswoman for the Insurance Council of Australia said fire levies in Victoria and New South Wales meant those states were paying more. The devastating floods in Queensland influenced premiums there.

Consumer advocate Choice said variations were often found in fresh fruit and vegetables prices because of geography, what was seasonally available and the amount being produced.

Spokeswoman Ingrid Just said there had been an overall drop in the price of fresh fruit and vegetables as growers had experienced some strong seasons.

She said the belief that goods were more expensive in Perth could come from our distance from east coast-based processing plants and added freight costs to deliver them to WA.

"There may also be some sense that people in WA have higher incomes given the mining industry and prices may reflect that, but this is speculation," she said.

Parents who send their kids to Catholic schools in Perth also pay the lowest fees in the nation. An average annual fee for a Year 4 student at a local Catholic primary school ($1882) compares very favourably with other cities, particularly Adelaide where an equivalent school charges $3039.

The annual fee for a Year 10 student at a Catholic secondary school ($3500) was less than half that charged in Melbourne ($7963). "We believe we're a system that is parallel to state schools and we should be able to offer our parents the cheapest possible education," the director of Catholic Education in WA, Ron Dullard, said.

Mr Dullard said Catholic schools here received generous support from the State Government. But over the next three years or more, he said fees in WA would fall into line with fees charged in other states.

"We're certainly the lowest and what we've been doing is gradually bringing ours up to the medium," he said.

Childcare prices in Perth are also competitive. The average annual fee for a three-year-old in child care for three days a week is $12,480, compared with Sydney ($15,756) and Melbourne ($18,876).

Hopefully this sort of info will cut down the amount of WHVs coming here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Something to think about if you believe that Perth and the surrounding areas are the place to be.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/business/local-business/wa-the-most-expensive-state-in-australia/story-e6frg2s3-1226361048056

More of an effect on long time Migrants than WHV holders. A WHV can absorb the few extra quid in most things except rent which they get over by cramming more people into a house.

All I know is the carbon tax is coming bend over and brace for impact.

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭markymark21

If fairness things like mortgages, gas,electricity,child-care,water rates may not effect most WHV holders

So if you can make $1000 a week I don't think the fact a chicken parmi will cost you $20 will be that much of a hinderence!

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Smile it confuses people

WA the most expensive state in Australia

HOUSEHOLDS in WA are paying more for everyday items - from a shopping basket of groceries to a pint of beer and even cinema tickets - than families across the country.

A national cost-of-living analysis by The Sunday Times has revealed we are consistently slugged extra, even regularly outstripping larger rivals Melbourne and Sydney.

While many households and businesses are reveling in our booming economy, many families are also paying a high price.

With a rapidly growing population and the lowest unemployment rate, we are being punished by above-average living expenses.

The Sunday Times can also reveal that rental property prices are skyrocketing - doubling in some Perth suburbs over the past 12 months, causing panic and "mania" among those looking for a home.

We are even slugged extra for a pub meal, up to $5 more than the average Sydneysider.

Premier Colin Barnett has acknowledged the cost of living pressures facing ordinary West Australians, but provided little relief in the state Budget.

"Despite the huge growth in revenue, households still find their budgets under siege," shadow treasurer Ben Wyatt said yesterday.

An analysis across all mainland capital cities comparing identical items revealed:

* A basket of staple groceries in Perth was more expensive than the identical basket bought on the same day in other state capitals, apart from Sydney.

* Regular and boutique beers cost more in Perth pubs than in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, Darwin and Hobart. For example, a bottle of Crown Lager will set you back $7.70 on average in Perth and $5.85 on average in Sydney.

* A typical pub lunch chicken parmigiana with chips will also bite a bigger hole in your wallet or purse here. The average price in Perth was $22.50 compared with $17.20 in Brisbane and $17.10 in Sydney.

* An adult going to the movies in Perth can expect to pay $18.50 compared with $14 in Brisbane.

Australian Hotels Association WA chief executive Bradley Woods said many factors influenced pricing, such as wages, penalty rates and property costs. But the biggest difference was that WA hoteliers and bar owners couldn't offset lower prices against pokie machine takings.

While the differences in our examples appear slight, over time the extra expense adds up for budget-conscious families, especially with so many locals being squeezed by record rents and galloping utility prices.

Though electricity, gas and water prices have soared in the past five years, our comparison showed we are paying less than most Australians on the other side of the Nullarbor for the same utilities.

And locals enjoy major savings on insurance premiums for motor, building and home contents when compared with what our eastern states' cousins are having to shell out.

In each state, The Sunday Times investigation sought quotes from at least three companies for motor insurance on a typical family car a 2008 Toyota Camry sedan, unalarmed, parked in a garage in a beachside suburb. The average Perth quote was lowest at $525.52 a year. The highest average was in Sydney at $869.39.

Similarly, we sought quotes for home and contents insurance on a typical single-storey unalarmed brick-and-tile house worth $500,000 with contents at $50,000. Apart from Hobart, Perth boasted the lowest average premium at $1100 (for Trigg) compared with the highest $1951 in the Brisbane riverside suburb of Bulimba.A spokeswoman for the Insurance Council of Australia said fire levies in Victoria and New South Wales meant those states were paying more. The devastating floods in Queensland influenced premiums there.

Consumer advocate Choice said variations were often found in fresh fruit and vegetables prices because of geography, what was seasonally available and the amount being produced.

Spokeswoman Ingrid Just said there had been an overall drop in the price of fresh fruit and vegetables as growers had experienced some strong seasons.

She said the belief that goods were more expensive in Perth could come from our distance from east coast-based processing plants and added freight costs to deliver them to WA.

"There may also be some sense that people in WA have higher incomes given the mining industry and prices may reflect that, but this is speculation," she said.

Parents who send their kids to Catholic schools in Perth also pay the lowest fees in the nation. An average annual fee for a Year 4 student at a local Catholic primary school ($1882) compares very favourably with other cities, particularly Adelaide where an equivalent school charges $3039.

The annual fee for a Year 10 student at a Catholic secondary school ($3500) was less than half that charged in Melbourne ($7963). "We believe we're a system that is parallel to state schools and we should be able to offer our parents the cheapest possible education," the director of Catholic Education in WA, Ron Dullard, said.

Mr Dullard said Catholic schools here received generous support from the State Government. But over the next three years or more, he said fees in WA would fall into line with fees charged in other states.

"We're certainly the lowest and what we've been doing is gradually bringing ours up to the medium," he said.

Childcare prices in Perth are also competitive. The average annual fee for a three-year-old in child care for three days a week is $12,480, compared with Sydney ($15,756) and Melbourne ($18,876).

I'm a bit confused why do you want to stop whv's coming to perth if on ever age every whv that comes pumps 3000ish if not much more into Australian economy??....yes some work hard and save and leave but these are good hard working people??...the others are re pumping funds into Australian economy pumping up tourism and travelling around pretty harmlessly...yes there are a few troublemakers but more good people then bad who just want to travel or make something of themselves where they actually have a chance??....like what is so wrong with wanting to go to Perth on a whv?? I'm not trying to cause a row I'm just curious as to your reasons

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Bit of a snobby attitude if you ask me. WA might depend less on tourism than the other states because of a strong mining industry, but a downturn in demand from China, drying up of natural resources and you're cutting off your nose to spite your face.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I'm a bit confused why do you want to stop whv's coming to perth if on ever age every whv that comes pumps 3000ish if not much more into Australian economy??....yes some work hard and save and leave but these are good hard working people??...the others are re pumping funds into Australian economy pumping up tourism and travelling around pretty harmlessly...yes there are a few troublemakers but more good people then bad who just want to travel or make something of themselves where they actually have a chance??....like what is so wrong with wanting to go to Perth on a whv?? I'm not trying to cause a row I'm just curious as to your reasons

The influx of WHVs into Perth in the last 12 months is crazy, and it has lead to a lot of trouble (the recently locked thread here about the police email circulated to GAA clubs contains the details).

Plenty think that WA is the land of milk and honey where they can come and earn a few quid, do whatever the fuck they like, then piss off after a few months. I see it every weekend in the city with Irish lads acting the complete bollox.

Yes it's a snobby attitude and yes it's only a minority of people causing the problems but I like it here and don't want the place, or its reputation as a good place to live/visit, tarnished.

I'm hoping details like the above will stop such a mass influx like we've been seeing. The cream of the crop will still come, especially if they plan on giving it a go long term, but it's a way of weeding out the wasters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Plenty think that WA is the land of milk and honey where they can come and earn a few quid, do whatever the fuck they like, then piss off after a few months.
    Thats largely true though, innit

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭ellaq

The few things that concern me in that article would have zero impact on WHV.

Perth has gotten crazy in recent years, not just with price increases but also with the number of people living here. Traffic is just getting worse. Hopefully the boom will leave the mining industry in 2015 and things should start to settle down again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

I've got a lot of sympathy with Xavi's position.

Life isn't like Boards - your average Aussie isn't going to have a long-winded debate about how the fact that not every single Irish person is a bollix means you can't generalise that the Irish are bollixes.

Your average WHV'er may not particularly give a sh*t about what Aussies think, they just want to have a good time.
    But for those of us with long-term plans here, we don't want to be damned by association.

There definetely is a changing perception of the Irish here, and it's not for the better.
    Perth isn't geared for that sort of tourism, and doesn't really want it. I see no harm in offering some friendly advice to the waster element that they might have a better time elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Plenty think that WA is the land of milk and honey where they can come and earn a few quid, do whatever the fuck they like, then piss off after a few months.
    A view that's pretty endemic across WA, and not limited to Irish WHVers. Plenty of problems caused by alcohol in the regional mining towns, Port Hedland, Kalgoolie, etc due to FIFO workers and tension with locals. Not a backpacker in sight.

The whole issue of the Irish backpackers causing trouble is hyped up, in the same way the Liberal party have blown the supposed 'boat-people' invasion out of proportion. Always helps to have a scapegoat to deflect from actual problems

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Smile it confuses people

The influx of WHVs into Perth in the last 12 months is crazy, and it has lead to a lot of trouble (the recently locked thread here about the police email circulated to GAA clubs contains the details).

Plenty think that WA is the land of milk and honey where they can come and earn a few quid, do whatever the fuck they like, then piss off after a few months. I see it every weekend in the city with Irish lads acting the complete bollox.

Yes it's a snobby attitude and yes it's only a minority of people causing the problems but I like it here and don't want the place, or its reputation as a good place to live/visit, tarnished.

I'm hoping details like the above will stop such a mass influx like we've been seeing. The cream of the crop will still come, especially if they plan on giving it a go long term, but it's a way of weeding out the wasters.
    Then you don't mean whv's you mean scumbags - its not fair in the slightest to generalise them like that I happen to have quite a few friends in Perth who work very very hard don't go out that often accept for the beach and love the atmosphere of the place - they are in a combined group of 22 and all have the same attitude...you say you want to keep it as a good place to live visit well what on earth do you think the whv's are doing? They are visiting and travelling as they are entitled to do without being judged and frankly made feeling a burden for doing so - this is an unfair comment at the end I appreciated the info until I got to the last line! You don't want scumbags But you want people to visit-do still want the descent whv's I understand this but think it needs to be rephrased above as it causes huge offence!..to me it did anyway

I make no apologies for being self centred with my opinions, and I do mean WHVs because that's what the clowns are on. Fair play to the ones that are here going about their business in a normal manner but unfortunately the actions of others will always overshadow them.

Perth has seen a huge influx of Irish people lately and that has coincided with a lot more trouble and hassle in the city. It's not putting two and two together to make five, that's the reality of it unfortunately. All I'm saying is that we could do with a little bit of a cooling down period for a while and the info in the OP might help with that.

And btw, I'm not being smart but a bit more punctuation and a paragraph or two would make your posts easier to read. It took me a few goes to get through that one :)

04072511 wrote: »
    IMO these facts are used as nothing more than a pathetic pompous tool for starting up the “Antisocial Behaviour” topic again.

Well I know you're very familiar with the Report button so feel free to use it.
    Yes you are being smart, and it didnt take me very long to read the post at all actually :)

No I wasn't but thanks, as always, for your thoughts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Mod
    Play nice, petty squabbles benefit no-one, thanks.

I find the whole 'expats being anti-immigrant' thing fascinating.

The solution to this is your local legislators. Petition them stop issuing vast quantities of WHVs to unemployed plumbers who want to get pissed in the sun. Altough they will probably be a bit incredulous about recent immigrants lobbying against their fellow countrymen migrating also. Not to mention the hit on their tourism dollar.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

If i ever go to australia im staying away from perth:)

why do alot of irish go there i dont understand? it seems to be popping up a lot recently on here and not for good reasons,
    it being more expensive wont stop the irish going there and people on this forum wont stop the irish or any other nationality going there, the goverment make the call,

bladebrew wrote: »
    If i ever go to australia im staying away from perth:)

The thread works!* :pac:

(*That's a joke before anyone has a whinge)
    why do alot of irish go there i dont understand? it seems to be popping up a lot recently on here and not for good reasons,

It's just the current flavour of the month with a lot of people, though a lot more so in the last year. The weather's good and there's jobs going.

One of the biggest complaints about it though it is how expensive it is to those coming over with their Euro, and the article I posted was just pointing that out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

bladebrew wrote: »

why do alot of irish go there i dont understand?

RTE and Irish media mate! They keep saying there is a labour shortage in WA, truth is its a Skill shortage in a few select industries.

Joe Average is not going to cut it, and they turn feral.

Pompous much there?

They don’t “turn feral”. They were feral to begin with, and would be the same back home. And not all "Joe Average's" are feral anyway. Not everybody can be as wonderfully intelligent and gifted as yourself. :rolleyes:

Stop being so bleedin arrogant about yourself.

Ok just for you Average.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

If any of my nieces or nephews wanted to come out for on a WHV I'd advise them to save their cash and to spend as little time in Perth as possible. Only come if the weather on the east coast really sucks.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Joe Average is not going to cut it, and they turn feral.

Youre a gas man mandrake, maybe you should write a self-help book for 'Joe Average'.

'Mandrake04s plan - how to get invited to barbeques and influence people'

I'm sick of your posts. You provide lots of good information, but sadly it gets lost behind the arrogance you show on a regular basis. Constantly having pops at people on "inferior visas" to yourself, and at the actual visas themselves. Where does this need to belittle others come from? Be happy with your own achievements without having to act all high and mighty and above others. Nobody else cares about how great you are.

End of rant.

Mate I just tell the truth, that is your gripe with me. Where did I say I was great?

a) WHV by its very name a holiday

b) you are only a guest in my country.

I'm sorry if you have a problem with it.

Thread closed it will be re-opened after heads have cooled and possibly more infractions I'm off to the video Ref.

Mandrake banned for three weeks

No one can post another users personal info on this forum

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭markymark21

CiaranC wrote: »
    Youre a gas man mandrake, maybe you should write a self-help book for 'Joe Average'.

'Mandrake04s plan - how to get invited to barbeques and influence people'

haha :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Zambia wrote: »
    Mandrake banned for three weeks

No one can post another users personal info on this forum

It wasnt 04072511s full phone number was it? :pac:

RBA rate cuts today, but the interesting part for people thinking about coming to Perth is bolded below:

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/breaking/15549390/reserve-cuts-official-interest-rate/
    Reserve cuts official interest rate

Homebuyers and small businesses have been delivered an early Christmas present by the Reserve Bank which has cut official interest rates by a quarter percentage point.

Following its last meeting of the year, the bank today decided to slice the cash rate to three per cent.

If passed on in full by the nation’s banks, the cut will shave about $46 a month from a $300,000 mortgage.

It is the first time since early October 2009 that the Reserve has taken official rates to three per cent.

At that time, the cash rate was at a 50-year low with the economy was in the early stages of recovering from the Global Financial Crisis.

The three percent rate setting was described by the Reserve as an “emergency” level.

Bank governor Glenn Stevens said today that while there were some positive signs out of China, Australia’s biggest export market, domestic conditions were tough for those outside of mining.

The jobs market was softening, unemployment was pushing up,
    which would help keep inflation in check.

He said while monetary policy was accommodative, there was scope to ease cost pressures further.

“There are signs of easier conditions starting to have some of the expected effects, though the exchange rate remains higher than might have been expected, given the observed decline in export prices and the weaker global outlook,” he said.

“While the full effects of earlier measures are yet to be observed, the board judged at today’s meeting that a further easing in the stance of monetary policy was appropriate now.

“This will help to foster sustainable growth in demand and inflation outcomes consistent with the target over time.”

Mr Stevens said private spending was likely to improve but it would not match the levels seen before the GFC.

There were some signs of an improvement in the housing market but they were only tentative.

Prime Minister Julia Gillard urged the banks to pass on the rate cut to its mortgage customers.

“It is very close to Christmas and so if an interest rate reduction is made, the banks should take into account that Australian families will be looking to them to pass the interest rate reduction on in full,” she said ahead of the announcement.

Also weighing on the overall economy is the Gillard Government’s press to bring the Budget back into surplus.

New figures from the Australian Bureau of Statistics showed Government consumption fell by 0.4 per cent in the September quarter with public investment down by 8.2 per cent.

Combined, they will shave about half a percentage point from tomorrow’s September quarter GDP result.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Rod Hull Roofing

ive been here (perth) ten months now and i tell you i cannot wait for my visa to expire and i **** off back home. being a social welfare statistic is miles better than the vacuous existence out here in perth. the aussies in general are an amoral soul-less society, more inclined to focus on their looks than their personalities. then you have every business owner out to rob the hard working folk. then you have the night life. its so crap it beggars belief. uniform bars, queues to get in everywhere, 200 plus dollars gone on a night out, robbing taxi drivers (who now murder you). you get zero value for your dollar. i dont mind paying extra when the wages are in line but you get zero value ,clothes, rent, food
    i came here thinking the grass is greener, its not, its a ****ing sunny kip full of brainless aussies or pissed up culchies

^^^

I'd take the time to blow a lot of that out of the water but I'm too busy laughing :D
    i cannot wait for my visa to expire

Just piss off now tbh, there's no gun to your head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Rod Hull Roofing

nah i'l just squeeze the last of the stupid wages they throw at me to do a simple job and send it back home and use it in an economy that needs it

but i see you're the stereorsonic/ sets on the beach type of person living in this vacuous existence. more power to you son but for the people blessed with brains, perth isnt a place for them

• Registered Users Posts: 39,339 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

the aussies in general are an amoral soul-less society, more inclined to focus on their looks than their personalities.

But you have to admit some of them look good ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80375112&postcount=3