Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone ever nasty to you for being Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭Feisar

Nevermind_ wrote: »
    Been called a "free state bastard" a few times while playing GAA against northern teams I usually just laughed at them.
    The Best one I've heard recently though is from a friend of mine who moved to Armagh and transferred to a local GAA team.
    He was playing a championship match when the guy marking him called him "a fcuking mexican" All my mate could do was burst out laughing.
    Sometimes bigotry can be very funny

I'm from the South and am working in Belfast at the moment. I get called a Mexican a fair bit, it's always in a good humored way though.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Ruralyoke

Feisar wrote: »
    I get called a Mexican a fair bit

Never heard this.

I assume it a poor neighbours coming here for the work reference?

woodoo wrote: »
    He is a tit

He's not trying to be offensive with it though.

AFAIK he like the Irish a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭yenom

Paz-CCFC wrote: »
    When I was travelling before, I took a ferry across the water. We got into Liverpool, and the minute I left the boat, a few scumbag locals copped that I was Irish. I tried to ignore it, but these lads just wouldn't let up. I just lost the rag and ran at them. Probably wasn't the best idea, seeing as I was on my own and there were a group of them. Thankfully, a few lads from Galway saw what was going on and hopped onto them, and I got out with only a few bruises.

Would ya not be disgraced to be running around a dock attacking the locals, on your own. Giving the Irish abroad a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Domo230 wrote: »
    Only abuse I have ever seen was when I was younger, living in Tenerife and my parents were mistaken for English.

Never seen a man go from being an asshole to the friendliest guy ever so quickly when he realised we were Irish.

or when he realised that he had just insulted you by getting your nationality wrong. How often do people mistake Kiwis get called Aussies and then try and make amends by being overly nice?
    the_syco wrote: »
    I think it's more of a case that when they hear someone speaking english they see you as being english, until you let them know that you're Irish.

Just make sure you let people know you're from Ireland.

Was in Nantes, France, trying to get a room for the two nights in hotels and hostels.

No room.
    All booked out.
    No speak English.

So instead of "do you speak english?" I asked "do you speak Irelanda?".

"Ah, you Irish. Let me check; yes we have two rooms."

Said two rooms had a nice fan on them, proper wooden shutters (to stop the room heating up in the morning), and ensuites.

As much as you get the odd twat that hates the Irish, lots more people hate the english but love the Irish - 90% of the French people I talked to (hotel staff/pub staff/security/police/taxi drivers/shop staff/random people on the street) seemed to have had a sister/brother/cousin/uncle/grandfather/friend/etc that had been on holiday to/studied at/lived in Ireland for random periods of time, who had a great experience, and told other of their fondness of Ireland.

So next time you experience bigotry from an english person, remember that they'll experience a lot more bigotry from lots of nationalities all around the world, and smile at them.

i was at Venice train station and the guy in front of me at the enquiries desk was losing his temper with the guy working there. "God damn it, can't you Eyetalians speak god damn English" and the like. The more this went on, the more the the guy behind the desk shrugged his shoulders until the American stormed off.

I went up and asked in my very poor Italian what was the best way to get to wherever it was i was going. He asked a question back and my face dropped. I quickly opened the phrase book to his amusement and was asked in perfect English "Would you like the fastest route, or the cheapest?".

He realised I was English and not American and was making an effort. I therefore deduce from that conversation that Americans are hated and the English loved.

When I was travelling before, I took a ferry across the water. We got into Liverpool, and the minute I left the boat, a few scumbag locals copped that I was Irish. I tried to ignore it, but these lads just wouldn't let up. I just lost the rag and ran at them. Probably wasn't the best idea, seeing as I was on my own and there were a group of them. Thankfully, a few lads from Galway saw what was going on and hopped onto them, and I got out with only a few bruises.
    yenom wrote: »
    Would ya not be disgraced to be running around a dock attacking the locals, on your own. Giving the Irish abroad a bad name.

Irish people being attacked in Liverpool? I guess they've never met anyone from Ireland before, I mean, it's not like the majority of the city is half Irish or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Yep, always make an effort :)
    The locals appreciate it and will do everything to help you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭granturismo

Ruralyoke wrote: »
    Never heard this.

I assume it a poor neighbours coming here for the work reference?

South of the Border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Irish people being attacked in Liverpool? I guess they've never met anyone from Ireland before, I mean, it's not like the majority of the city is half Irish or anything.

Sassenach joke fail

Bambi wrote: »
    Sassenach joke fail

why refer to me as a Sassenach?

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Yep, always make an effort :)
    The locals appreciate it and will do everything to help you*

* Warning: May not work in France

It does. It works everywhere, with the exception of Paris, where they are rude and ignorant to everyone, out of principle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

InTheTrees wrote: »
    The simple truth is the english envy the hell out of us.

They've buggered up their island with all the roads and people and urban sprawl and they're jealous of our unspoiled little sod.

I'd say they look after their green areas far better than we do. Ireland just looks mostly like a bare land where all the trees have been plucked from, scattered with massive ugly mansions in what should be scenic areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Dont worry yenom, I know this guy, this didnt happen, not in a million years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Here, I was in a bad mood. I was after leaving my home in Tuam for the first time, on my way to the port in Dublin, all the locals were taking the piss outta me, some arsehole stole most of my stuff and I nearly missed the boat. I had to jump on it as it was sailing away, much to the displeasure of the captain. He forced me to go down to the lower deck, with all the livestock that were being transported over. Then those fools in Liverpool acting up was the straw that broke the camel's back.

Still, those lads from Galway were sound out. We went away afterwards and had a good laugh.

All the roads around the place were very rugged, though.
    CHealy wrote: »
    Dont worry yenom, I know this guy, this didnt happen, not in a million years.

Is that you Mr Clifton? I haven't seen ya since I sent ya the lyrics of that song I wrote. Was it a hit in the end?

Here, I was in a bad mood. I was after leaving my home in Tuam for the first time, on my way to the port in Dublin, all the locals were taking the piss outta me, some arsehole stole most of my stuff and I nearly missed the boat. I had to jump on it as it was sailing away, much to the displeasure of the captain. He forced me to go down to the lower deck, with all the livestock that were being transported over. Then those fools in Liverpool acting up was the straw that broke the camel's back.

Still, those lads from Galway were sound out. We went away afterwards and had a good laugh.

All the roads around the place were very rugged, though.

when was this, 1845?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

when was this, 1845?

T'wasn't far off it.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭drunkymonkey

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    They seem to like us here in London. The only hassle I've got is from culchies hating on me for being from Dublin, but I never took that seriously!

Maybe if you stop calling them 'culchies' they mightn't be like that towards you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭upforit101

inda_kenny wrote: »
    i dont agree with that , irish people have been seen as fair game to be made the butt of jokes ( however gentle ) for centurys , so much so that we ourselves have become almost immune and expectant of it , even the paddy hazing is a form of patronising the lesser , its often been said that anti catholicism is the only remaining respectable form of prejudice , while not the same thing , their is a tollerance for disrespecting the irish which simply doesnt happen with most other nationalitys in europe or the west

all in all i think us irish are a very tollerant people and we give ourselves undue criticism for being racists when by an objective analysis , we are not or never have been an overtly racist people , its just not in us , we are not harsh enough , nor have we enough of a superiority complex

Paragraph one is true.
    Paragraph two is not.
    My partner is Polish and works in a job that delas with the public and says the amount of antagonism she receives because she is foreign is increasing all the time - though its almost exclusively from Irish women.

upforit101 wrote: »
    ...amount of antagonism she receives because she is foreign is increasing all the time - though its almost exclusively from Irish women.

Doesn't surprise me.

I know a number of Poles very well at this stage. I think the Polish "no nonsense" & generally not smiling unless there is something to smile about character (and I don't mean that as a criticism by the way) can be misinterpreted as aloofness and smugness - particularly by women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

1ZRed wrote: »
    Domo230 wrote: »
    Racially abused numerous times while living in Korea, was not a nice experience at all. When it's so obvious and in your face it really can push you to react.

Should have pushed back. He's Korean so he's obviously much smaller than you (and eats dog and has a small penis)

Stereotypes are fun :pac:

Koreans were actually quite big and I'm rather small. As for willies you know why they say a small man has a longer willy?!! I tried dog soup so I can't say much there and yes it was a very unpleasant experience but as they say when in Rome and all that...

I doubt that's fully true. It only looks bigger because he would be short. Put the same dick on a guy that's 6'4 and you'll see the short guy looks bigger. That's how some pornstars add extra inches to their stats because they appear larger than what they really are!:eek:

And taller guys generally would have bigger cocks because everything would be more or less in proportion. Can you imagine men 6'5 being small down south? Even if they were small by proportion they'd still have a good size to work with ;)

Thanks you've just ruined my life

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭missyb

stovelid wrote: »
    While you're right that we should never get into the mindset of straighforward denial that anti-Irish sentiment and racism exists, there is more than a kernel of truth in the fact that as a nation - perhaps like all nations - the Irish do love to endlessly rake over the coals of real and imagined greivance about the English while being outraged at any suggestion that we have our own minority of highly intolerant people here, like anywhere.

very true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Ruralyoke wrote: »
    Doesn't surprise me.

I know a number of Poles very well at this stage. I think the Polish "no nonsense" & generally not smiling unless there is something to smile about character (and I don't mean that as a criticism by the way) can be misinterpreted as aloofness and smugness - particularly by women.

Same with the Dutch and Germans, when we first moved to the Netherlands they came across as very rude.

Although over time (5 years) i've realised that they just don't want to waste time and are just direct.

Best example of this I can think of is a story my mate told me:
    2 Germans he knew were flying out of Farranfore to Frankfurt, they asked him how to get there by public transport.

He said, no bother, I'll drop you down, sure its only and hour in the car.

Drove down to Farranfore, got to the Airport and the 2 German guys asked how much they owed him for fuel.

He said: "Ahh jaysus don't worry about it"

They said: "Are you sure ? We can give you money for the fuel, its no problem"

He said: "Ah jaysus no way, don't worry about it lads"

They said "ok, thank you for the ride down here" got out of the car and headed into the Airport.

He finished the story with "Those tight básterds didn't even give me money for a bit of diesel, never again"

So when your Irish and you say "ah no its grand" they really mean, yes, give me the money but let me say no 3 times before you have to ram it into my pocket and run away. :pac::pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,651 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Irish slagging/irish jokes are commonplace around the world. I wouldnt consider it racist. Bigotry is a different thing altogether though.

However being Irish, are easy going attitude should mean that its water off a duck's back. When insults/slags have no effect other than to make you laugh, then it completely disarms the gobsheen issuing the slags.

You become the hero Ireland needs, rather than the hero she wants. Or something like that.

I was coming back from Istanbul for a work trip via London Heathrow. so i was flying with British Airways from Istanbul. The guy checking passports asked me 'You are British?' I replied no i'm Irish.. He then said 'yeah but aren't they the same thing?' I just replied 'No it's a whole different country'

He just waved my passport back at me with a smirk on his face and also i heard an English girl behind me snigger to herself.

I travel a lot to different countries every week, other than this incident i havent come across anything, other than the usual taking off of an Irish accent that they try. But that's all in jest in my eyes i don't take it to heart.

Saying that though i don't exactly have a 'strong' Irish accent so maybe a lot of people don't pick up that i am Irish. I've been told i have a neutral accent and often get asked where I'm from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I do be told i have a neutral accent and I do be often asked where I do be from

Speak like this, it'll help :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The only effect my Irishness has ever had on me abroad is that girls immediately warm to you once they find out you're Irish.
    Absolutely no idea why that is, considering the vast majority of us Irish guys are complete bollockses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

My girlfriend spent two years studying in London so I spent a lot of time back and forth and don't recall ever encountering any negativity whatsoever. She once had a "paddy" comment made by some drunk in a pub, who then got dogs abuse from all of her (English) friend until he left.

By contrast, one of her college friends (English, of Saudi descent) came over here to work for a few weeks, and spent a couple of hours in Rody Boland's with some friend-of-a-friend culchie making snide remarks about terrorism and giving him evils whenever he dared talk to a white woman (i.e. his english girlfriend).
    Eventually he got pissed off and laid the culchie flat on his back with a single deck before downing his Guinness, taking his coat and leaving. Proper class, I think the guy is actually Irish at heart :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Thanks you've just ruined my life

No problem;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Spent a few months In Lancaster northern England and never got any hassle, Lovely people for the most part. I have lots of family in England and in truth I have Irish, English,Scottish and Italian blood (Half of my great Grandparents where not Irish).

My family and ancestors are primarily from these Isles. As are most Irish and English peoples despite how 'pure' they might like to believe they are. I cannot understand why anyone would see a difference between Irish and English these days. We have almost exactly the same modern culture.

I don't play GAA, speak Gaelic or celebrate Paddy's day, so other than my accent I fail to see the difference between my own culture and your average British persons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Spent a few months In Lancaster northern England and never got any hassle, Lovely people for the most part. I have lots of family in England and in truth I have Irish, English,Scottish and Italian blood (Half of my great Grandparents where not Irish).

My family and ancestors are primarily from these Isles. As are most Irish and English peoples despite how 'pure' they might like to believe they are. I cannot understand why anyone would see a difference between Irish and English these days. We have almost exactly the same modern culture.

I don't play GAA, speak Gaelic or celebrate Paddy's day, so other than my accent I fail to see the difference between my own culture and your average British persons.

Taytos and Barrys Tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭LukeS_

Over in England going to a Man Utd game, and we took a deroute to one of the surrounding theme parks. I think it was Alton Towers but I'm not sure. One of the lads had a pink Bohs (for cancer awareness or something of the like) and a big group of English people confronted us out of curiosity, just small talk.
    But once the ball dropped to that we were Irish they start yelling "get back into your fucking caravan" and the like. Then chaos erupted for a good 5 minutes before both parties just walked away.

Thought nothing of it seeing as they were mostly likely just looking for a fight, seemed quite 'chavvy' too. Obviously not going to tar every English person with the same brush, but it made me open my eyes as to how some of them still view Ireland.

Through my experiences it's usually girls who seem to be more open-minded who enjoy Irish company, whereas guys seem to get defensive. I wish I knew the psychology behind it. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

LukeS_ wrote: »
    Over in England going to a Man Utd game, and we took a deroute to one of the surrounding theme parks. I think it was Alton Towers but I'm not sure. One of the lads had a pink Bohs (for cancer awareness or something of the like) and a big group of English people confronted us out of curiosity, just small talk.
    But once the ball dropped to that we were Irish they start yelling "get back into your fucking caravan" and the like. Then chaos erupted for a good 5 minutes before both parties just walked away.

Thought nothing of it seeing as they were mostly likely just looking for a fight, seemed quite 'chavvy' too. Obviously not going to tar every English person with the same brush, but it made me open my eyes as to how some of them still view Ireland.

Through my experiences it's usually girls who seem to be more open-minded who enjoy Irish company, whereas guys seem to get defensive. I wish I knew the psychology behind it. :pac:

So, basically you met some scumbags at a theme park. Sadly, they get off on bullying people and exist everywhere.

LukeS_ wrote: »

When i was on a J1 in California the American college lads didn't quite take to the Irish guys.
    Apparently it's because their women swooned over the Irish accent and the American guys got jealous (stealing their women and all that). No joke this was confirmed by a couple of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Solair wrote: »
    So, basically you met some scumbags at a theme park. Sadly, they get off on bullying people and exist everywhere.

I think he acknowledged that in his post.

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

Never got abuse abroad for being Irish , but often get slack off west Brits in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

Never got abuse abroad for being Irish , but often get slack off west Brits in Dublin for being a cluchie

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Racially abused numerous times while living in Korea, was not a nice experience at all. When it's so obvious and in your face it really can push you to react.

Lived and worked in the north west of England and it was great craic. It went both ways and still great pals with many of them today. Customers would often tell me to f off home though.

Back to the OP. After a few drinks that probably of wound me up big time. After going back down and for him to say it again probably did deserve a slap. Time and a place to stand up and fight back and that second comment would off pushed me to far.

What kind of things happened in Korea? I've heard before that they're quite forthright with their racism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I was coming back from Istanbul for a work trip via London Heathrow. so i was flying with British Airways from Istanbul. The guy checking passports asked me 'You are British?' I replied no i'm Irish.. He then said 'yeah but aren't they the same thing?' I just replied 'No it's a whole different country'

He just waved my passport back at me with a smirk on his face and also i heard an English girl behind me snigger to herself.

I travel a lot to different countries every week, other than this incident i havent come across anything, other than the usual taking off of an Irish accent that they try. But that's all in jest in my eyes i don't take it to heart.

Saying that though i don't exactly have a 'strong' Irish accent so maybe a lot of people don't pick up that i am Irish. I've been told i have a neutral accent and often get asked where I'm from.

Why in the love of jaysus does no one know that the Republic of Ireland is not part of the UK? I teach English here in Spain in companies. Highly educated, clever people and I've yet to meet one who knows that Ireland is not part of the UK. Recently met a Norweigan who fella insisted that the ROI was part of the Commonwealth. My own boyfriend said he only found out in his mid-20s and got the shock of his life, by all accounts.

I know Ireland is tiny but we've been in the news so much recently and included in newstories about the Euro that you'd think people would finally cop on that if we were part of the UK, we'd be using sterling and our country wouldn't be in a worse crisis than the rest of the UK. Plus "The republic of Ireland"...since when has a Republic been part of a monarchy? :confused::confused: Really fooking annoying. You just think, "What's the bleedin' point?"

I don't ask for much but getting this simple fact straight would be greatly appreciated, ye know?

Never got abuse abroad for being Irish , but often get slack off west Brits in Dublin for being a cluchie

Because you called them West Brits? Works both ways pal!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Why in the love of jaysus does no one know that the Republic of Ireland is not part of the UK? I teach English here in Spain in companies. Highly educated, clever people and I've yet to meet one who knows that Ireland is not part of the UK. Recently met a Norweigan who fella insisted that the ROI was part of the Commonwealth. My own boyfriend said he only found out in his mid-20s and got the shock of his life, by all accounts.

I know Ireland is tiny but we've been in the news so much recently and included in newstories about the Euro that you'd think people would finally cop on that if we were part of the UK, we'd be using sterling and our country wouldn't be in a worse crisis than the rest of the UK. Plus "The republic of Ireland"...since when has a Republic been part of a monarchy? :confused::confused: Really fooking annoying. You just think, "What's the bleedin' point?"

I don't ask for much but getting this simple fact straight would be greatly appreciated, ye know?

They feel it is part of the UK on the same way that Catalonia and the Basque region are part of Spain.

They have no clue that's it a republic either.

English speaking, Premier League supporting - can you blame them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Originally Posted by Paz-CCFC View Post

There was up until recently 3 different entry spots for Irish passenger ships into Liverpool ,Birkenhead ,Bootle and the terminal at the Pier Head ( now only takes the Isle of Mann Ferry ) and I did work on the Seacat Liverpool v Dublin Ferry out of the Pier Head for 4 years .I can't say I've heard of anybody been jumped the minute they left any boat in Liverpool but as in any city in Ireland or UK ,people can sometimes get into grief, which doesn't always come down to their accent or where they are from .

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I've had a few experiences in a number of countries, we'd want to get over ourselves we're not universally loved by a long shot. The most savage incident happened in Milan Italy, a vile city if there ever was one.

Myself and three friends who are all mild mannered chaps were drinking in a bar when all of a sudden one of our group was accused of stealing a drink by some irate Milanese bloke and bunch of his mates. The racism started with fcuk your Queen and a whole lot of broken English expletives. We actually piped in that we were Irish and things got a whole lot worse, we took a bad beating that night. An decent chap who managed to break it up and get us outside told us not to go to the police as we'd be the ones they'd arrest.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭CajunPenguin

I know, it gets to me so much. They can call me a paddy bastard, a dirty mick, a spud eater or whatever but when they say "but isn't Ireland in the UK?" "FÚCKING NO! IT'S NOT THAT HARD! WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?" maybe an overreaction but still

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭CajunPenguin

cloud493 wrote: »
    I've had loads of people be nasty to me for being English. including some of you lot :(

Sorry but saying "you lot" can't help

They feel it is part of the UK on the same way that Catalonia and the Basque region are part of Spain.

They have no clue that's it a republic either.

English speaking, Premier League supporting - can you blame them?

I used to teach 2 little boys English. They were taught in their class that Ireland was part of the UK. They were taught that in school! Ehhh...

Can I blame them for their ignorance? Yes as I'd take personal responsibility for my own ignorance on many subjects. It's a 2 hours flight from where they live and many, many Spanish have lived or had a holiday here. It's part of the European Union...I'd know my European geography fairly well....I'd at least know a basic fact like that. They'd be the same ones complaining about North Americans mistaking them for a South American country (because they speak Spanish).

I mean, most Irish know The Basque Country and Catalonia are still part of Spain..

Fact of the matter is they simply don't care enough. Nothing to do with many men in Ireland supporting a British football team (they're not aware of that by the way...). That's fine but it still gets on my ditties.

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭SWL

T'wasn't far off it.

Ha Ha Brilliant they still don’t get it:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 265 ✭✭unclejunior

some guy in australia asked me was i 'a paddy'. he came across as being a thick ignorant c.unt so i didnt take offence to it and just prentended i didnt understand what he meant. casual racism is the norm in australia and its not too often that irish people are on the forefront of it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

I used to teach 2 little boys English. They were taught in their class that Ireland was part of the UK. They were taught that in school! Ehhh...

Can I blame them for their ignorance? Yes as I'd take personal responsibility for my own ignorance on many subjects. It's a 2 hours flight from where they live and many, many Spanish have lived or had a holiday here. It's part of the European Union...I'd know my European geography fairly well....I'd at least know a basic fact like that. They'd be the same ones complaining about North Americans mistaking them for a South American country (because they speak Spanish).

I mean, most Irish know The Basque Country and Catalonia are still part of Spain..

Fact of the matter is they simply don't care enough. Nothing to do with many men in Ireland supporting a British football team (they're not aware of that by the way...). That's fine but it still gets on my ditties.

You think people in this country know that about the Basque region and Catalonia?

Not a chance!

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭SWL

You think people in this country know that about the Basque region and Catalonia?

Not a chance!

Don't judge people by your standards:confused: