Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Online Dating Thread 3..**READ 1ST POST Oct 2012**

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Feisar wrote: »
    One question, is there something frivolous in you're profile that they can ask you about?

I'm not really sure what you mean by frivolous?
    I've quite a few jokey bits in there if that's what you mean?
    Dubsta wrote: »
    If there is no sighting then Mr.Christian Grey has turned up at my door! ;-) <3

Why do girls like that guy? He's a borderline psychopath.

*changes profile text to this*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I really don't understand the Christian Grey thing. I mean, I've read the books (terribly written trash for anyone who is wondering!), and all I see in it is a gorgeous man who is completely fúcked up, needs extreme mental health treatment, was sexually abused and who likes to physically and emotionally abuse his partner. Anyone who believes that men miracuously change just because some woman loves him is nuts tbh. :pac:

Christian Grey is the epitome of the type of man I want to avoid, especially while ODing. :pac:

Also, haven't logged in to POF all day, feels so liberating! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

I think I'm going mad cause I'm half thinking of joining OD again, after saying I'd never do it agai.
    Don't really wanna pay to join a site but then didn't have a great experience on pof, any suggestions?

blacklilly wrote: »
    I think I'm going mad cause I'm half thinking of joining OD again, after saying I'd never do it agai.
    Don't really wanna pay to join a site but then didn't have a great experience on pof, any suggestions?

OkCupid. It has a much smaller userbase, but as you're in Dublin (according to your info), you should do fairly okay for messages and such. Tends to be less messers, and better profile quality too.

Thanks Lynda think I'll give it a go. Fingers crossed

• Registered Users Posts: 32 The outlaw

I think it's a bit ironic that the first time I check out POF, I see a girl up the road!, I would have been interested in years ago. I know it would be creepy maybe getting in touch but a part of me sais I've nothing to lose! It makes you think what's the point in OD but it's good to hear other peoples good stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Ugh

Friday night in and I find myself filling out a profile on okc. Was on AnotherFriend but sooooo many kinds of no replies!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Hope this doesn't sound too smug, but I've parked my profile for the last week, in pursuit of an offline development that is going really well, and got a message today on POF from a girl I had been chatting to before.

Have to say, I feel completely empty and indifferent at the moment towards OD, from a position of having actual chemistry back in my life, as opposed to trying to believe in a vision of me some day maybe finding chemistry and a strong mutual attraction with someone, while the reality as I see it is that I was being emotionally dragged a little in the opposite direction with every date I went on through OD.

Dates which in theory were a success as we had no problem chatting or whatever, but from my obviously withheld view, were ultimately a complete waste of time because after the date, I was no closer to finding what I was actually looking for, than I was beforehand...

Just sayin'...

gatecrash wrote: »
    Ugh

Friday night in and I find myself filling out a profile on okc. Was on AnotherFriend but sooooo many kinds of no replies!!!

I'm about to do the same so you're not alone

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Joe24

Just reading over the last few pages.

When online dating works, happy days :)

When it doesn't, it sucks :(

It's not the type of thing that lends itself to a happy medium I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

blacklilly wrote: »
    gatecrash wrote: »
    Ugh

I'm about to do the same so you're not alone

Were you on AF too?

Joe24 wrote: »
    Just reading over the last few pages.

When online dating works, happy days :)

When it doesn't, it sucks :(

It's not the type of thing that lends itself to a happy medium I guess.

Tbh, I don't think there is any happy medium in dating really. You're either happy after a date or you're not.

That said, online dating doesn't 'suck' for me because if something goes wrong, tbh I just laugh it off.

No was never on that

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Hellfireclub made some interesting points about peoples friends settling down and also the issue with money. My male friends are settled down too so I don't go to the clubs as much. When I ask the lads they usually say, "Ohh I better check with the missus first." Even when they do come out its just not the same.

This is true for a lot of people, myself included.

What is a guy supposed to do when all his friends are tucked up at home with she who must be obeyed? because that's the reality.
    Not cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

So annoying, I literally have friend requests, and matches on tagged left, right and centre, a few (very) decent ones as well, but the whole 'you don't look like you do in your pics' from this girl I was talking to(we ended up meeting each other by coincidence) has me mad self conscious! I couldn't be that different! Although my skin and stuff is always near flawless in pics, and to think I used to think/Hope I just wasn't photogenic!

What is a guy supposed to do when all his friends are tucked up at home with she who must be obeyed? because that's the reality.
    Not cool!

I genuinely think it's more down to people being a LOT wiser with their money these days than being under the thumb to be honest. If I was in a relationship and was lucky to have 100 quid a week to socialise with, I sure as fúck wouldn't be giving it to a pub or a club.

There would have been times where I'd have had the money to go out 1-2 nights a week with my mates and also with my girlfriend but those days are well and truly gone I can tell ye!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Hellfireclub made some interesting points about peoples friends settling down and also the issue with money. My male friends are settled down too so I don't go to the clubs as much. When I ask the lads they usually say, "Ohh I better check with the missus first." Even when they do come out its just not the same.

Not cool!
    I've got news for you - their wives aren't out partying with their mates either. Ever! In fact among my married-with-children friends, the men still get out with their friends more often than the women, albeit not very regularly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭smallgarden

just got " hello fatso x" as message, now i am a little overweight but no need to say that in a message, why would you even bother sending insults, ill take the awkward compliments any day

• Registered Users Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

just got " hello fatso x" as message, now i am a little overweight but no need to say that in a message, why would you even bother sending insults, ill take the awkward compliments any day

They're just a nasty person. I wish there was some way of identifying people who sent messages like that so everyone else could avoid them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭sharper

Someone probably just rejected him and he felt a need to lash out. People that deal with their own problems by hitting out at others are obviously best avoided.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭smallgarden

ah yeah,wasnt too offended,thought was odd chucking in the x, wonder sometimes are people trying too hard to be funny!

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Dubsta

Or maybe that's his way of flirting?? Doubtful but might be the case!!

On another note I'm sure there are hundreds of these "married friends" online dating unknown to the loving wives sitting in with them *Sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Don't even take it personally. We all get some strange comments, I remember I was in a club and this girl was like 'you look like an old man' hahahah now if there's one thing I don't look like is an old man, I turned around and a different girl was like 'shouldn't you be home in bed, you've school in the morning'(obviously meaning I look young) so meh forget it!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Dubsta wrote: »
    Or maybe that's his way of flirting?? Doubtful but might be the case!!

On another note I'm sure there are hundreds of these "married friends" online dating unknown to the loving wives sitting in with them *Sigh*
    ... and loving husbands...

Galvasean wrote: »
    Why do girls like that guy? He's a borderline psychopath.
    You just don't get it ....... it's 'fantasy'! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I don't get the Christian Grey thing either. It's not for me.

Crap week ... Absolutely wonderful date last weekend ... hand touching and caressing, kissing softly in middle of conversation, warmth, gorgeous .... texts me in mid week to say bad time of her life, too busy ... goodbye :(
    Yesterday quite pretty girl with potential, for coffee ..... arrives caked with so much cosmetics on her face I thought it would crack if she smiled... yuk ! :eek:

Oye ... it's so emotionally wearing :confused:

Piliger wrote: »
    Crap week ... Absolutely wonderful date last weekend ... hand touching and caressing, kissing softly in middle of conversation, warmth, gorgeous .... texts me in mid week to say bad time of her life, too busy ... goodbye :(
    Yesterday quite pretty girl with potential, for coffee ..... arrives caked with so much cosmetics on her face I thought it would crack if she smiled... yuk ! :eek:

Oye ... it's so emotionally wearing :confused:

I've been on a few dates lately, where the chat was grand, but afterwards, I didn't feel that it was worth a second date. Then when I went to explain that, I got made feel like I was some kind of a bastárd or something. You're dead right, it is emotionally draining and the more I think about it, if I'm being 200% honest, I was only going on the date at the time out of absolute boredom. While I was open minded to meeting someone for the purposes of maybe something emerging from a first date in terms of a proper romance, I was just going along with something out of boredom really.

Not a good sign although I do understand it. But not fair to the other party, let's be honest.

What really bugged me about this cosmetic girl at the end was that I said that we didn't seem to click in a romantic way and then that I really liked her and thought she was a lovely girl ... then as she reached for her purse and coat I hear her say in a low voice but still directed at me 'well your opinion doesn't matter to me'. Jeeeeeeeeez I am so glad I dodged that one :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Piliger wrote: »
    Not a good sign although I do understand it. But not fair to the other party, let's be honest.

What really bugged me about this cosmetic girl at the end was that I said that we didn't seem to click in a romantic way and then that I really liked her and thought she was a lovely girl ... then as she reached for her purse and coat I hear her say in a low voice but still directed at me 'well your opinion doesn't matter to me'. Jeeeeeeeeez I am so glad I dodged that one :rolleyes:

Jasus that was a bit rude. It must be awkward though when someone really likes the person they're on a date with, but the other person doesn't feel the same way. I suppose there's no point in beating about the bush.