Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Online Dating Thread 3..**READ 1ST POST Oct 2012**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

mood wrote: »
    It's good that he is not hiding it. Imagine if you did end up going out with him! You would need the STI clinic on speed dial. I'm sure there are plenty of men who might have done the same but would never admit it.

Ahh I'm sure he gets regular tests done and uses protection everytime. Sure its probably no more risky than fornicating with promiscuous wimmin that are picked up in nightclubs. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I was chatting to a girl on POF a few weeks ago and after a bit of yapping, she said she called off her imminent wedding after catching her husband to be on an adult/swingers website, swopping intimate pictures some woman. What scared her most of all, and this is as true for guys who use escorts, is that you don't need to even get off your sofa now to cheat, (assuming you are in a relationship).

What a f**king eejit.

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭tatumkelly

I always find that part of the night really cringey. Driving home through town is always an eye opener... I've seen everything.... the vomiting, the urinating in the street (not exclusive to men), the fighting, the running out in front of cars.... It's not pretty, and repeatedly reinforces my decision not to drink.

tatumkelly wrote: »
    I always find that part of the night really cringey. Driving home through town is always an eye opener... I've seen everything.... the vomiting, the urinating in the street (not exclusive to men), the fighting, the running out in front of cars.... It's not pretty, and repeatedly reinforces my decision not to drink.

At the risk of sounding sexist - there's nothing more off putting than a mouthy drunk, woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Good to see some of ye got some dates in over the weekend. Couldn't have happened to a sounder bunch. Hope the good luck keeps up.

edit: oh yeah. I actually got a reply on Friday. There was a 12 day gap since my initial message mind you. Is that normal/to be expected?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Ahh I'm sure he gets regular tests done and uses protection everytime. Sure its probably no more risky than fornicating with promiscuous wimmin that are picked up in nightclubs. ;)

A prostitute could sleep with a number of different men a night where as a promiscuous women might only sleep with a few a year so there is obviously a much higher risk of catching something off a guy who avails of their 'service'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Galvasean wrote: »
    Good to see some of ye got some dates in over the weekend. Couldn't have happened to a sounder bunch. Hope the good luck keeps up.

edit: oh yeah. I actually got a reply on Friday. There was a 12 day gap since my initial message mind you. Is that normal/to be expected?

I don't think that it's completely normal, but I have left a guy waiting 2 weeks for a reply at one stage, because I was busy so was only checking messages rather than replying. I'd give her the benefit of the doubt for the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Sometimes I read a message and if I'm busy forget to reply until I see it in my inbox again often many days later. I'd give them the benefit of the doubt initially at least.

She could have been away or was seeing someone so didn't log in. I think it's normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭riveratom

She could have been away or was seeing someone so didn't log in. I think it's normal.

Yeah very normal. The girl I'm seeing for our first date next Fri took a little while to get back to me. Now I know that she works/has training all the time so always good to remember that some people are just busy and not always online.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭cloud_dancer

Yeah I wouldn't mind the delay. Some people stop and start online dating...she probably wasn't online or could have been seeing how one date went before responding to anyone else.

Yeah, I agree with the 'benefit of the doubt' approach. That said, if we start conversing properly I'd hope to have to wait significantly shorter periods between messages :pac:

I've sent messages on POF and got no replies........

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭cloud_dancer

A prostitute could sleep with a number of different men a night where as a promiscuous women might only sleep with a few a year so there is obviously a much higher risk of catching something off a guy who avails of their 'service'.

I doubt a prostitute would sleep with anyone without a condom. From what I have read they don't even kiss on the mouth or eh go down without a condom. It's the moral thing of a guy seeing a prostitute I'd have rather than fear of catching anything. A guy who sleeps around with random girls would be more risky in an sti sense as there's a higher chance of him not wearing condoms with some girls.

Of course, I was been sarcastic. Although I wouldn't exactly call a few a year promiscuous. A few a month maybe, but not a year.

If they are one night stands then I think that is promiscuous.

We obviously have differing views on promiscuity. I don't think a woman who has an occasional one night stand is a slut. If she's doing it every weekend then yeah. Do you think anybody who has sex outside of a relationship is promiscuous?

I've just seen someone on POF who I find very attractive. WTF do I say to her in an introductory message??

I haven't got a clue!!???

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Wow... I was mailing a guy on POF this evening, seemed normal...

I asked how long he had been using online dating..POF is his first venture into online dating as such he said, however he has used the internet to find high class escorts on escort ireland when he has been between relationships. He then sent me a link to his profile on the escort website, where he has posted reviews of 29 of his 'dates'... oh my f****** god! :eek:

I'm really sorry but that is hilarious! Not for you of course, if you liked him...but holy mother of divine - what little bubble has he been living in where this is appropriate getting-to-know-you talk?

miamee wrote: »
    I'm really sorry but that is hilarious! Not for you of course, if you liked him...but holy mother of divine - what little bubble has he been living in where this is appropriate getting-to-know-you talk?

WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEIRDO

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I've just seen someone on POF who I find very attractive. WTF do I say to her in an introductory message??

I haven't got a clue!!???

Just a hello message, ask her about something she has mentioned in her profile - a hobby she has, a film she likes, her favourite music, anything like that and maybe tell her a little something about you that is not on your profile. Keep it light and breezy and make sure you say something like you are looking forward to hearing back from her. See how that goes :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Wow... I was mailing a guy on POF this evening, seemed normal...

I asked how long he had been using online dating..POF is his first venture into online dating as such he said, however he has used the internet to find high class escorts on escort ireland when he has been between relationships. He then sent me a link to his profile on the escort website, where he has posted reviews of 29 of his 'dates'... oh my f****** god! :eek:
    I actually snorted laughing when i read this earlier ... so much so i had to reply ...

Quality bloke for sure, interesting how you say .. he seemed normal, and then disclosed the real truth, makes you wonder what secrets others keep to them selves ..

WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEIRDO

I hope you mean yer man and not me :pac: :pac:

Of course.

Just a hello message, ask her about something she has mentioned in her profile - a hobby she has, a film she likes, her favourite music, anything like that and maybe tell her a little something about you that is not on your profile. Keep it light and breezy and make sure you say something like you are looking forward to hearing back from her. See how that goes :)

I've done that. It seems ye have to pay to upgrade to some features on POF???? Not doing that tbh. Not going to pay to join a site.

I actually snorted laughing when i read this earlier ... so much so i had to reply ...

Quality bloke for sure, interesting how you say .. he seemed normal, and then disclosed the real truth, makes you wonder what secrets others keep to them selves ..

Snorting? Attractive... :p

I've no doubt he is normal... everyone has their little secrets, though sometimes they are best kept as such.

I've done that. It seems ye have to pay to upgrade to some features on POF???? Not doing that tbh. Not going to pay to join a site.

What features? You should be able to use POF normally without upgrading anything or paying.

You don't have to pay to send and receive mail on POF. Paid features include a 'hottest girls list' and your profile pic appears bigger in women's searches. IMO there's enough features on the unpaid version.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Snorting? Attractive... :p

I've no doubt he is normal... everyone has their little secrets, though sometimes they are best kept as such.

Is it possible he was just trolling you to get a reaction out of you?? Just seems a tad ridiculous!

Larianne wrote: »
    Is it possible he was just trolling you to get a reaction out of you?? Just seems a tad ridiculous!

Perhaps... not sure why he'd bother though, given that he seemed pretty interested in me right up to him sharing his penchant for escorts...