Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Online Dating Thread 3..**READ 1ST POST Oct 2012**

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Hi everyone,

I'm back in the dating game again after seeing a guy for a short while. It fizzled out so I called it off. I don't think he's that bothered about it to be honest, he never made much of an effort to see me even though he lives a ten minute walk away from me :pac:

Onwards and upwards! I'll stay on OKC & PoF but might look at other options like speed dating in the New Year :)

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭riveratom

Hi everyone,

I'm back in the dating game again after seeing a guy for a short while. It fizzled out so I called it off. I don't think he's that bothered about it to be honest, he never made much of an effort to see me even though he lives a ten minute walk away from me :pac:

Onwards and upwards! I'll stay on OKC & PoF but might look at other options like speed dating in the New Year :)

Good to mix it up and get out into the 'real world' too sometimes! If you're giving speed dating and the likes a bash, I'd recommend checking out www.firstdate.ie :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Larianne wrote: »
    This happened to me where I was mailing a guy who in his photos didn't look anything special (that sounds terrible, but you know what I mean) but we had the same interests and the mail conversations were good. I nearly died when I met him. He was gorgeous, as in way outta my league!!! Pity it never got past the 2nd date though :(

Actually, I think most dates I've gone on, the guys have been better looking than their photos. :)

Photos are so tricky. I did have a little inward giggle at the advice to just take a camera with me on the first night out after I dye my hair. I was like "If only it were that easy!" I am ridiculously unphotogenic and there's about 1 in 100 photos of me in existence that I would deem worthy of putting on an OD profile.

I've been on dates with guys whose photos did them no justice whatsover, and I've been out with guys whose one photo was, erm, flattering, to say the least. That's why I think it's really important for everyone to put up at least three photos up.

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Photos are so tricky. I did have a little inward giggle at the advice to just take a camera with me on the first night out after I dye my hair. I was like "If only it were that easy!" I am ridiculously unphotogenic and there's about 1 in 100 photos of me in existence that I would deem worthy of putting on an OD profile.

I've been on dates with guys whose photos did them no justice whatsover, and I've been out with guys whose one photo was, erm, flattering, to say the least. That's why I think it's really important for everyone to put up at least three photos up.

I've spotted a few of your pics on here....suuuuuuuure you are! ;)

riveratom wrote: »
    I've spotted a few of your pics on here....suuuuuuuure you are! ;)

Dude, they're culled from thousands!

Haha, I did that spot that reference alright. Heavily selective editing so :)

Still.... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

I don't know if I'm unphotogenic or just ugly! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

GRMA wrote: »
    I don't know if I'm unphotogenic or just ugly! :pac:

I remember a guy telling I looked shocking in one of my photos. :( I thought I looked grand. Always good to get a second opinion though.

Hope you told him where to go!!

I'd rather look better in real life than the other way round!

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

riveratom wrote: »
    Hope you told him where to go!!

Nah, I valued his opinion actually. Took the pic down. He didn't say "shocking" but that I looked better in the other photos. I read between the lines. :D
    I'd rather look better in real life than the other way round!

Oh defo. I know I look better in person. Very rare to get a decent picture of me.

Now that I think of it, maybe that's why people keep up old photos??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Armaghmagic

Mince Pie wrote: »

Maybe instead of jumping to rash judgements she might have been giving benefit of doubt. Sometimes there's chemistry upon meeting and sometimes it grows.
    Hardly a crime and deserving of physical violence.
    Jaysus and ye wonder why women are a bit reluctant to meet up.

In fairness I dont think Tony meant it literally.

I understand that the spark can go after some dates but I think I would have deserved a phone call if not face to face contact......think I deserve more than a text!

"In fairness" it's not something that's appropriate to joke about, ever.

Of course not, but come on......if that was his honest opinion he would be in Mountjoy/Portlaoise right now!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

I think I'm pretty good looking but I photograph terribly. I always blink when the camera goes off.

f30fd24c56e1bcfc926883d6a51d5a00.gif

Of course not, but come on......if that was his honest opinion he would be in Mountjoy/Portlaoise right now!!

It doesn't matter, it's a ridiculously offensive thing to "joke" about.

Anyway, the mods dealt with it, so let's get back on-topic.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

I understand that the spark can go after some dates but I think I would have deserved a phone call if not face to face contact......think I deserve more than a text!

"In fairness" his post doesn't make any reference to her texting you but to the fact that she wasted your time by not telling you after 2/3 dates that it wasn't happening for her. And whether it was after 7 dates or 107 dates advocating violence against a person is inappropriate.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I think I'm pretty good looking but I photograph terribly. I always blink when the camera goes off.
    Is this why some people are always wearing sunglasses in their pics?! :pac:

miamee wrote: »
    Is this why some people are always wearing sunglasses in their pics?! :pac:

No, that's because they know that *everyone* looks good in sunglasses...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

A lot of us on here don't think we photograph very well so maybe we should set up a photography club for our OD photos. :)

I hate having my photo taken and I struggled to find some to use in my profile.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

I think the eastern european girls can have those kind of photos but irish women would look silly. My cousins are good looking (no Shelbyville) but they got some soft focus 'glamour' style photographs done a few years back and that **** was hilarious. They're framed in the hallway and my brother and I spent a good 5 minutes laughing at them. One of their now husbands dubbed it the porno wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭finipops

f30fd24c56e1bcfc926883d6a51d5a00.gif

That animation is brilliant.

Just not my weekend.

Went out with a friend of mine to try and forget about the b*tch who dumped me......but low and behold she was there, even though she said she was going away for the weekend. To cap it off she had her tongue down someones throat all night.

Had a lucky escape as stated be a previous poster.

The Offline Dating scene is grossly overrated!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Just not my weekend.

Went out with a friend of mine to try and forget about the b*tch who dumped me......but low and behold she was there, even though she said she was going away for the weekend. To cap it off she had her tongue down someones throat all night.

That must have been a right kick in the guts ! The only good thing about this weekend is the fact that it gives you a chance to find a woman who will make you happy rather then a b1tch who will make you miserable ! Best of luck in your new search :)

Thanks you are bang on.....Didnt even have a drink yet still sent her a message giving out about how I was treated.

Was about to apologise for it but dont think I will as I mean every word!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

delete the number man, don't waste any more time on her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Photos are so tricky. There's about 1 in 100 photos of me in existence that I would deem worthy of putting on an OD profile.

I've been on dates with guys whose photos did them no justice whatsover, and I've been out with guys whose one photo was, erm, flattering, to say the least.

That is true. I have a few female friends in work who are attractive but most of their facebook photos are terrible. They look much better in person. The thing is, most people don't know how to pose for a photo, and most people don't know how to take one.

As a budding photographer myself, I know there are plenty of ways to make people look better in photos. You'd be amazed at the difference a change in body position or how you use the light can do to a photo. As long as you don't go overboard with the photoshoping you'll be grand.
    A lot of us on here don't think we photograph very well so maybe we should set up a photography club for our OD photos. :)

I hate having my photo taken and I struggled to find some to use in my profile.

I might be able to offer my services there. ;)
    I think the eastern european girls can have those kind of photos but irish women would look silly.

I don't see how the Irish would look silly. You don't have to go down the glam route. Some nice outdoor photos with a plain uncluttered background would do the job. So many people go for the, "look at me, I like to party" photos. There's no harm in having 1 or 2 of those photos, but a lot of people seem to be reluctant to put up photos of just themselves. You want to be able to get a proper look at the person. With some profiles it feels like you're playing Where's Wally.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,783 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Just not my weekend.

I hate to be the one to tell you, but with online dating there is always the possibility, that until a couple declares exclusivity, that one or other of the people involved might meet someone that they are more attracted to. That could well have happened in this case.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 seeker11

What do you gurus think?
    I had a few dates with a guy... Varied dates, drinks, dinner, take out, movie etc. Chemistry, got on pretty well, good craic, etc. He stayed over on Fri and next day had a day out. At end of date he said nothing about meeting again, either did I. Had a few messages from him since but I see he's still online everyday. Hmmm. Don't know whether to say something or not and my gut is saying nothing. I feel if he's not interested I don't want to waste anymore time and woukd chalk the experience down to 'good-times' but I would be interested in seeing him again. So should I say something, continue to play it cool and say nothing... Tips? Btw, I've not really been logging on, I just checked to see if he was.
    Tips?

• Registered Users Posts: 30 seeker11

What do you gurus think?
    I had a few dates with a guy... Varied dates, drinks, dinner, take out, movie etc. Chemistry, got on pretty well, good craic, etc. He stayed over on Fri and next day had a day out. At end of date he said nothing about meeting again, either did I. Had a few messages from him since but I see he's still online everyday. Hmmm. Don't know whether to say something or not and my gut is saying nothing. I feel if he's not interested I don't want to waste anymore time and woukd chalk the experience down to 'good-times' but I would be interested in seeing him again. So should I say something, continue to play it cool and say nothing... Btw, I've not really been logging on, I just checked to see if he was.
    Tips?